Hm.. I understand wad you're saying, rex. Just trying to put my point across. Guess that didn't go so well. But anyway, part by part every month, and I'll be able to join you guys on the track. I rather send my bike to the mech, at least I know it will get done.

BTW, tat time I mentioned something about my gear box, gear slips and false neutrals have been drastically reduced, it's due to the ageing gear oil inside. Replaced by fm (probably rockoil gear oil), not sure of the viscosity though, will make a point to find out. But now its harder to find neutral while at a stop, still trying to master the rev to 5k method.

Is it possible to DIY jetting w/o a working RPM meter?

2b: mito, 2a: rvf, 2: 06 zx-6r

• Replies 15.4k

Hi guys I need help. Recently when I want to park my bike it's very hard to put into neutrel. From 2nd to neutrel also cannot. Then after afew try the bike just stall. I try to switch off the ignition n on again still cannot start. I try many time just useless. There is nothing wrong to the valve cos there's is ssss ssss sound. I have to wait for awhile then can start again. Do u guys know wat happened??? Izzit something wrong to the clutch? cos can't be the ignition coil. I just did a servicing

Yamaha TZM history

Cagiva Mito history

Yamaha X1 reality

Ducati HM history

Vespa LX150 reality

Originally posted by RedHare@Oct 5 2006, 12:26 AM

Hi guys I need help. Recently when I want to park my bike it's very hard to put into neutrel. From 2nd to neutrel also cannot. Then after afew try the bike just stall. I try to switch off the ignition n on again still cannot start. I try many time just useless. There is nothing wrong to the valve cos there's is ssss ssss sound. I have to wait for awhile then can start again. Do u guys know wat happened??? Izzit something wrong to the clutch? cos can't be the ignition coil. I just did a servicing

You can try to kill the engine by pressing the off button, then kick to neutral from there. If at traffic lights, rev to 5k and try kicking to neutral, (I'm still mastering this method). Similarly, try changing gear oil. If i recalled rightly, someone told me its cause the clutch plate sticky, so hard to seperate, so need to rev, then can seperate.

Another way is, when you about to park and the bike is still rolling to the parking slot, you can kick to neutral on the move. Hope this helps!

You can try to kill the engine by pressing the off button, then kick to neutral from there. If at traffic lights, rev to 5k and try kicking to neutral, (I'm still mastering this method).

err... is that possible? wah dunno sia.. coz i usually maintain throttle at gear one or before reach traffic light go neutral.

as when i wanna park, usually its very hard for me to go neutral, so have to stop at gear 1, still clutch in, rock the bike back n forth.. or the easiest. stall engine, rock back n forth till get neutral. but does that harm the bike in any ways?

I'd rather get a Leo Vince than a Louis Vuitton.

try half clutch with a bit of throttle then kick to neutral from gear 1. it works on my rs125 and also those mito i have try. its the same as the rev to 5k thingy.

Mr Rex i m going in dec. Riding my spark there.

Mm u want bring ur Mito? Tourer Rex on a touring Mito! After KL now gian for further place sia.

Not very advisable leh, thats y in e past i actually sold my 2 stroke kup n bought a X1 just to travel there.

Anyone actually think that its possible to travel 900km straight for like 10 hours at full or 4/5 throttle for a Mito or a 2 stroke? Can we have a discussion on this? I mean yar its possible but defintely its safer to use a 4 stroke cos u dont want anything happening a few hundred km's away from SG. I full throttle all e way on my X1 to n fro.

Any high compression high rev (short stroke) engine is defintely ill suited for continous long hrs of travel. FYI a Mito has a much shorter stroke than a Aprilla.

Yanwei try to not use ur engine kill switch. Its actually a EMERGENCY switch for bikes if u read their manuals. Well not too sure what will happen if u use regularly but hearsay is that it will screw ur electric system up.

Can do jettings w/o RPM meter. Ever see how e experienced 2 stroke mechs do it? Listening.

I just know fast shoot up is best but on e leaner side? Slow come down? Want faster response must go a bit leaner?

Sticky clutch plates eh? Cause by what? Clutch springs? Gearoil? I always tot cannot kick neutral when stationary prob is cos of e gearbox bearings prob.

Why four strokes when all you need is two?

Syarif u want go track on e Mito?

Good can fight with e Aprilla cos i strongly believe Mito, other than its looks, is a better bike than e Aprillas! No chance to race Alan properly once but our timings not that far ah though i still lose. *paiseh*

But frankly speaking based on e specs a Mito an Aprilla should have no diff? Anyone?

Originally posted by gekokujyou@Oct 5 2006, 08:35 PM

Good can fight with e Aprilla cos i strongly believe Mito, other than its looks, is a better bike than e Aprillas! No chance to race Alan properly once but our timings not that far ah though i still lose. *paiseh*

But frankly speaking based on e specs a Mito an Aprilla should have no diff? Anyone?

Wah..

You training new blood to challenge me ah.. Now can mever touch you liao... you RS250, i RS125...

Pls, bring it on!! hahahaha

But jokes aside, track is the best place to really know your bike.. And it's best to go with veterans and ppl at your skill level to really learn and practise..

Me, i'm just a noob who had too much fun scrapping sliders, till scrap whole body!

Kai Wei, i know you use Mito 7 for track.. u tell us how it is la.. I think a 6 gear bike would be better..

But cornering wise, on paper, Aprilia is afterall the 2nd best in the world.. I dunno where is Mito on the list..

Anyway, it's not the bike.. it's the rider... I think Wan is one of the best i've seen on mito or aprilia.. hehe..

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by syarif@Oct 5 2006, 11:48 AM

err... is that possible? wah dunno sia.. coz i usually maintain throttle at gear one or before reach traffic light go neutral.

as when i wanna park, usually its very hard for me to go neutral, so have to stop at gear 1, still clutch in, rock the bike back n forth.. or the easiest. stall engine, rock back n forth till get neutral. but does that harm the bike in any ways?

Regarding the neutral gear which's very hard to locate thingy, I believe most mitos will still have this prob no matter how good gear oil you're using. I believe mastering the art of kicking down to Neutral before coming to a halt is the best option. I've given up on finding the best gear oil/gear service option by mastering the above mentioned method. And I'm used to it ever since. :cheeky:

AMG Mercedes - The combination of Speed and Luxury

Feb 2004 ~ June 2004 - 1994 Cagiva Mito Mk2

Nov 2004 ~ April 2005 - 1995 Aprilia RS125 Extrema

Mar 2006 ~ Jan 2007 - 1993 Cagiva Mito Mk2

Mar 2005 ~ May 2008 - 1994 Cagiva Mito EVO

JuL 2007 ~ JuL 2008- 1993 Honda Civic EG8

Dec 2006 ~ JuL 2010- 1997 Aprilia RS250

JuL 2008 ~ ? - 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX

JuL 2010 ~ ? - 2005 Yamaha R6

yah.. wanna go track.. bt still practicing on my corners.. play around my house till get sian. there was once i really tried hard to scrap off my footrest. hahas. and i still wanna noe what to buy for track ie suits n all..

Anyone actually think that its possible to travel 900km straight for like 10 hours at full or 4/5 throttle for a Mito or a 2 stroke? Can we have a discussion on this? I mean yar its possible but defintely its safer to use a 4 stroke cos u dont want anything happening a few hundred km's away from SG. I full throttle all e way on my X1 to n fro.

Any high compression high rev (short stroke) engine is defintely ill suited for continous long hrs of travel. FYI a Mito has a much shorter stroke than a Aprilla

i think it IS possible but when u reach the destinations 500km up, u'll be left with ur tires and damper. IMO its jsut not safe for long distance. im even scared of riding my mito to school for 3 straight days. dun wanna stress the bike in distance. but i LOVE whacking it at tpe. heh..

and i think it IS the rider. its proven. my best pal with his wave whacked my friend's krr. the one on the krr doesnt even have a license then. so.. its proven.

and its so heartache to see him riding a wave n now... a blardy cbr400.. extreme upgrading man..

I'd rather get a Leo Vince than a Louis Vuitton.

CHALET OUTINGS on the SAT 28TH OCT. Jonathan543 and myself have booked the chalet located in Pasir Ris (Coasta Sands) to celebrate our birthdays. Invitations are open to all, hope that more riders, old and new will be able to take some time off for this outing. :cheer:

1. amgm125 - 98209985

2. jonathan543 - 94899660

3. Linglila - 91651571

4. jackson- 91811129

5. geko- 91466152

The problem with Mito's changing from 1st/2nd gear into Nuetral has been a issue for many many years!!! I face the same problem the very first day i rode my Mito 8 years ago.

I would not suggest what parts to change, but below are the problems. It is up to the individual who are fiancially able to rectify it. Dun come and blame me for suggesting this and that, and yet the $$$ thrown in still haven't solve the problems. :cheeky:

When a Mito (apply to the Aprilia too) has reach a certain mileage or life span, the clutch sysytem starts to wear off. And i am not refering to the clutch plates only. Parts like clutch cable, clutch springs, clutch basket and the clutch housing. All these parts are starting to wear off/ loosen due to wear and tear. When the clutch cables are stretched for a long period of time under stress, they will be lengthened. And there would be enough travel to disengaged the clutch completely. These causes the clutch plates to be rubbing against one another(something like half clutch) even though U have clutch-in fully. And for some cases they are worst, the bike can still jerk/move forward even after u come to a complete stop. Eventually the engine stall. The only way to rectify the problem is too make sure that the clutch plate are not rubbing against one another, then will u be able to shift into Neutral without any difficulties. For those who owned a fairly new Mito (less than 2 years), u won't find yourself having problems like this. :thumb:

However there are still ways of getting the gears into Neutral without spending any money. For example, the easier way is to shift the gears into Neutral while the bike is slowing down 10-20 metres before u come to a complete stop. It will be much easier to change from 2nd to Nuetral compared to changing from 1st to Nuetral. Maintaining the throttle at a complete stop position will be causing the clutch more harm. Do avoid this. Maybe u guys can start trying out this technique first before resolving to spending $$$ to fix the problems.

I must admit to that all Italian bikes are having more problems than most japanese/Thai models that i have ridden all this years. And the parts are usually more expensive and hard to come by. But it is the trill, the outlook, the performance and the excitement of the bike that make everyone in this thread now talking to one another. There is no way a japanese bike can responds to a corner as stable as an italian. Because the bike is produced for track use. It has never been meant for the road.

I end off by saying these words "Italians. Born To Race" :smile: U guys agree with that??? :smile:

Just my 2 cents worth of advise! :thumb: guys. ( and i'm still waiting for the next italian outing).

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

Originally posted by yanwei@Oct 5 2006, 08:54 AM

You can try to kill the engine by pressing the off button, then kick to neutral from there. If at traffic lights, rev to 5k and try kicking to neutral, (I'm still mastering this method). Similarly, try changing gear oil. If i recalled rightly, someone told me its cause the clutch plate sticky, so hard to seperate, so need to rev, then can seperate.

Another way is, when you about to park and the bike is still rolling to the parking slot, you can kick to neutral on the move. Hope this helps!

The problem is. If i fail to go back from gear 1 to neutrel the bike will stall and when it stall u can't start the bike even if u off n on the ignition it's still useless. I got to wait till like for sometime then start again. This problem happen after I do my servicing. I just think maybe something happened to the clutch impossible for EO to cost such problem right? Anyway I m using rock oil from FM.

Anyway going to seek ah seng for help

Yamaha TZM history

Cagiva Mito history

Yamaha X1 reality

Ducati HM history

Vespa LX150 reality

for those whom had trouble kicking to neutrals when stopped, try 5w50 4t oil. i personally felt dat maxima lasts longer than motul.

it's rumored dat using the engine kill switch'll create power surges koz the switch uses a closed circuit to kill the engine. and this surge might fried or cook the cdi or the ecu or wadever it's called through time. but i think this will affect 4t bikes more koz 4t bikes are using more sophiscated electronics to run the bike, unlike simpler 2t bikes which the engine can be left running even when the power's cut off.

we use the word "passion" to overlook italian bikes' costly bad points koz it had loads of charactor and the uniqueness factor everytime u saw one on rd.

to me, italian bikes vs siamese bikes = charactor+soul vs practicality+power.

some ppl wans to get the fastest or the most powerful bike in it's class. but i prefer to travel in style, demand attention and respect(for forking out so much cash for a 2b bike!) wherever i go.

in italy, style is everything. the design stood the test of time very very well. take a look at the ducati 916. nothing much had been changed to the design and outlook of the 1st model through the years yet it still got most of the bikers' attention by it's sheer killer looks, even now!

i think it might be pretty much the 1st bike which had undertail exhausts and single sided swing arm, which even the modern jap bikes had started to incorporate in their latest superbike models.

powerwise, i think if an siamese 150cc bike is to compare wit an italian 125cc bike, with similiar setup, the 150cc would outran the 125cc. a diff of almost 20% less engine capacity had already made the 125cc alot less torque than the former be4 the exhaust valve opens.

on a final note, take any popular jap bike out there which had everyone lusting over now, and see if the design or the charactor of the bike would still appeal to bikers for another 5 or 10yrs? :nono: :bouncefire:

]

I second that to the italian design and style. Well, italian machines have a design that looked 'different' to their thai/jap or even some German/British counterparts. For example, take a Mito 5 design vs the TZR, or the Mito 7/916 vs NSR125/CBR900, Obviously pple will know which design stood the test of time.

To add on: italian machines also can be an everyday transport bike, maybe if you would put in a bit more cash to maintain it. Given my travelling needs, almost 100km a day for the past yr it's very gd for a mito le hahas.

geko- we covered over 900+km in our recent sepang+kl trip eh. though we're not travelling very fast- oni ard 80-90km/h on my meter, my planet and other 2 mitos had shown no significant signs of stress or breaking down. we try not to let the rpm rip, remain in top gear wit minimal throttle openings and our bikes had safely seen us to and fro sg and kl.

i think if we were to remain constant at 110km/h, which is the speed at my top gear where my valve started to open wit my sprockets 14t x 39t, our bikes most prob would have made it too without much of a fuss.

waa... 4/5th throttle at top gear for a 2t bike... u wan clear meter ah? maintain 100km/h think need less than 1/4 throttle wit no valve openings on the top gear nia eh..

actually read up somewhere, 2t engine can be made to ran for long periods of time reliably at high rpm, koz its of lower compression than 4t engines(runs cooler), and its much simpler operation. though the wear and tear rate and fuel consumption is alot higher than 4t engine, as long as there's no sudden reduction on the constant supply of correctly jetted fuel mixture and 2t oil(koz of enginebreaking) for taking excess heat away and lubricating the moving parts respectively, it can be run for long periods safely.

]

Originally posted by gekokujyou@Oct 5 2006, 08:29 PM

Yanwei try to not use ur engine kill switch. Its actually a EMERGENCY switch for bikes if u read their manuals. Well not too sure what will happen if u use regularly but hearsay is that it will screw ur electric system up.

Can do jettings w/o RPM meter. Ever see how e experienced 2 stroke mechs do it? Listening.

I just know fast shoot up is best but on e leaner side? Slow come down? Want faster response must go a bit leaner?

Sticky clutch plates eh? Cause by what? Clutch springs? Gearoil? I always tot cannot kick neutral when stationary prob is cos of e gearbox bearings prob.

Ok, so for switching off:

Turn key, press off button, or just turn key, leave the button in run?

I've been:

Press off button, turn key.

But i observe ah seng usually will just turn key and leave button in run position.

Ya, but leaner = higher chance of piston jam? Faster response? Not sure, but just want smooth response, not with flat spot. (Mine's riddled with a flat spot at every gear unless i open more throttle) Simply bth, and a waste of good Sg/Msia fuel. So long as it's a setting that will not invite piston jams at too high a rpm. I don't speed/race. Just a weekend/outing bike.

I believe my gearbox is damaged, but still working. Sometimes can stationary put to neutral, but I've given up on purposely stop and put neutral. Just rolling neutral will do for me. Works fine. But, gear oil definitely plays a part in whether its hard or easy to change gears. Not sure about engine oil. Using rockoil gearoil. Sticky plates or not, it's layman's terms to me, just heard it from ppl. Anyways, I probably need to get it checked to find out what's wrong.

Anyways, I understand my posts invite flames and advice that may seem wrong. But what I post is what I genuinely feel and think about and works for me. If any part of it sounds wrong or offends readers, pls point it out to me or you can pm me about it.

Jonathan has a point there. I used my rs125 to Sepang 4x n quite a number other times tour to a few parts of malaysia covering 300km-1200km per trip. It works fine if maintain at the rpm b4 ur valve opens but bear in mind to open velve at times to clear the valves... dont think u want a jammed valve. I add 50ml 2t into 14 litre petrol just to play safe also.

But the piston wear n tear will be a lot higher when u clock milage on a 2 stroke. For me, well, ensure u give the bike enough rest like 20-30mins every 45-60 mins of riding. And make sure u bring spare spark plugs n extra 2T.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

very well said jonathon..

As for riding up to Hatyai, i sincerely believe it is possible...difficult, but possible

Unfortunately, i am too strapped for cash incase i go on this trip and something screws up..

btw, i have been itching to go track recently.. just need to get a suit and boots..(amazingly haven been to track even though i've had my Mito for 18months)

maybe i'll join the new mito owners in a major track newbie session.

eh gecko, if you going in Dec, i might be able to ride up with my friend's Super4.

Just gotta book 2A Tp date only...:sweat:

Its not about hard you can hit, its about how many times you can take a hit and remain standing

About the difficulty in finding Neutral.

Honestly, i've had this prob since i got the bike and initially thought there was a problem with the gearbox.

I was then told by my friend(an ex-mito rider) that its common and not a concern. So since then i have been kicking into Neutral before i stop. Not too much of a hassle once you get used to it...

I wouldn't worry about it actually, there are so many other things that could worry one about this italian beauty.

Anyway, im thinking of getting GPR70 tyres next month... wads SOP for that...by from HKL then ask other mechanic to fix?

or does FM have ready stock?

Its not about hard you can hit, its about how many times you can take a hit and remain standing

Jon n Dannis yup i understand u all made it to Sepang n back. But still e total dist from Hatyai n back is 1800+km which is much more than what u all had done b4.

Anyway from what u all said travelling speed have to b lower n resting time longer than a 4 stroke. Prob is its not recommended to rest for more than 15 mins on long trips cos it makes u sleeply. Speedwise 100kmph still needs a bit of patience.

Another concern is security. The only Thai-owned big bike i saw in Hatyai is a S4 type n its a TP bike. Well Lee garden's carpark should b qte safe cos i parked there b4. There r other big bikes from Msia too.

Rex, LAB will always have e cheapest eh. Anyway i also just changed my GPR70 at HKL b4 selling e bike. 140 rear 110 front costs 255. Its not i dont change my tyres at FM; just that they dont do tyre balancing which i feel is a very impt part of stability for track. SG wise not too much of a prob.

Yanwei, turn key n leave the button in run.

Vik, actually np at all with e Mito 7 although a Mito 6 will have gear ratios more suited. Anyway for a Mito 7 e highest gear on e back straight is 5 which is nuf to hit 165kmph. Gear 6 and 7 ratio is already below 0.90 so no pt at all. Similarly for e Mito 6 gear 5 will b e max gear on track. The Mito 7 7th gear is for cruising n maintaining only.

Originally posted by syarif@Oct 5 2006, 11:48 AM

bro...don stall the engine as it might shorten the bike lifespan....when i rode the bike in the past, normally when i saw there's red light in front when i was approaching towards...i'll closed the throttle and and try your best to kick it to neutral before the bike comes to a complete stop. adn during that period, rev the bike a bit will do good to the engine too.

bro..anything u just contact me directly..i'll try my best to help you...

:cheer: :thumb:

All mito riders are invited for my BDAE celebrations tonite..

Adam Road Food Centre

7.30PM

Contact Kai Wei/Geiko if u coming...

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg