Honda Steed, SHadow or what other make or model

I have finally save enough to buy a 400cc bike and have the above for consideration.

Would brothers and sisters out there who has their own experience share with me which is a better bike. Is the Virago or the Yamaha ones better.

As I have lost touch with the biker world for a long time any opinion is greatly appreciated.

:)"Someone once asked me if I dressed up like a biker on the weekends." I said, "No, I dress up like a businessman during the week.":shades:

• Replies 42

hi..

i think the shadow slasher is nice... someone in the forum selling for $6k+. but i bought a cheap but good in a steed. hehehe... cannot afford the slasher... money no enuff...

if i have to explain, you wouldn't understand...

ts125,typhoon125,cb400,duke400,vara125,steed400,dr350,dr350,250exc,drz400sm,wr400f,xr400r,xr400r,drz400s...

You mean you bought a steed. What is the main difference between the 2 in terms of power, ride, specs of the 2. Is the steed a good bike to ride and own. Can you fine many accessories and options? How about maintenance?

:)"Someone once asked me if I dressed up like a biker on the weekends." I said, "No, I dress up like a businessman during the week.":shades:

You mean you bought a steed. What is the main difference between the 2 in terms of power, ride, specs of the 2. Is the steed a good bike to ride and own. Can you fine many accessories and options? How about maintenance?

Steed VSE owner here. Riding it for nearly a year now. No complains other than its fuel consumption (mine is 15km per litre and tank is only 10-12litre). Other than that, its a wonderful bike to ride. Comfortable. Not as heavy as a Shadow but still heavy if you are used to a lighter 2B bike. Rear wheel is rim and its very wide, making cornering very easy but low clearence means dun go as low as sportsbike. Comfortable for both pilion and rider. Not a problematic bike. If you take sufficient care of the bike (like me 2 months change oil, 4 months oil filter and always do minor preventive DIY) the bike will practically take care of itself. Handling quite smooth.

Can ask other users here.

Thanks Bro Wildcat for the sharing your personal experience. Seems like most of the bike I checked are VLX and not VLS.

What is the main difference between the two? Also, I find there to be many more Shadows on the streets. What would be the reason for it to be more popular?

If the bike is it good condition, how much should I pay for a 97 or 98 VLS or VLX?

Please give me some info bro and sis. Thank you

hi..

i think the shadow slasher is nice... someone in the forum selling for $6k+. but i bought a cheap but good in a steed. hehehe... cannot afford the slasher... money no enuff...

Pls dun say that, which ever bike you are riding, you should feel proud of it. It carrys you to your destination without much complain unless she is sick.......this is what i feels for them. :shades: same like us human in society, irregardless who we are we contribute. :cheer:

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

not complaining... just shring that slasher is nice... why would i buy steed if i want to complain about it. :lol: :lol:

ts125,typhoon125,cb400,duke400,vara125,steed400,dr350,dr350,250exc,drz400sm,wr400f,xr400r,xr400r,drz400s...

Steed and Shadow are almost the same machine, almost only, but when look closely, they are different.

Power wise Steed score a goal. Lighter (215kg)than Shadow with same cc of muscle.

Handling. Shadow ACE is heavier and thus more 'woon' aka stable, but due to it's bigger in size, it tends to be more 'clumsy' when doing manouvers. Shadow Slasher 217kg dry wt 'maybe' better a very little bit than ACE or other Shadow brethens 2002 Shadow 400 225kg dry wt. It's becos it is smaller in size and thus a bit easier to ride her. you see, they only heavy by abt few kg, but it's also if their form design plays apart.

data for steed history:乾燥重量(kg) 199(~'93), 201(’93~) 204('95) 203('96~),203(VSE) 211(VLS)

basically Steed is getting heavier.... :giddy:

Ride comfort Shadow ACE type scores.....Big, wide and thick seat for both rider and pillion. Wide handle bar for lighter load when turn the bar.

For power, go for Steed, for relax and better ride comfort, go for Shadow ACE type.

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

not complaining... just shring that slasher is nice... why would i buy steed if i want to complain about it. :lol: :lol:
:cheers: No lah.....dun get me wrong. not saying that you are complaining la......i just said a very general remark only.....hehehehe.....sorry pal. :sweat:

its ok... just kidding only... :D

Guest enGuy78

y only tok on hondas...

yamaha dragstar oso good...shaft driven leh...

if really only prefer honda, low budget then get steed VSE be cos of rear sport rim and nicer compare 2 VLX which already a very old model...

high budget then get Shadow...

comfy can depends on modification of handlebar, seat, forward control...

Thanks Bro Wildcat for the sharing your personal experience. Seems like most of the bike I checked are VLX and not VLS.

What is the main difference between the two? Also, I find there to be many more Shadows on the streets. What would be the reason for it to be more popular?

If the bike is it good condition, how much should I pay for a 97 or 98 VLS or VLX?

Please give me some info bro and sis. Thank you

I think VLX is the first model. Has the attributes of a typical cruiser (a bit longer forks, brake light just behind seat, relaxed riding posture). VSE, I feel, is like a "sports edition" of Steed (rear solid rim, brake-lights under the seat, smaller tank). VLS is like the VSE except it has spoke rear wheels and has this two spring shocks attached to the front forks. Whether they work or not, have to ask VLS owners here...

Tot the Steed with 2 springs on the fork also known as the Springer right? Heard tat the fuel tank is small. True?

:smile: :smile: springs worksssss

and for tank capacity max is 9.3 litres won t ever excced.dun ever

try will :D :D

i would like to noe e fuel tank capacity of e following bikes.....

dragster 400 :

shadow slasher :

steed VLX/VSE :

Thanks !!!

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

i would like to noe e fuel tank capacity of e following bikes.....

dragster 400 :

shadow slasher :

steed VLX/VSE :

Thanks !!!

I once hit 270 km on a full tank of RM15 Vpower. so mine average about 25km per lt. ( 90 -100 kpm)

Apr '99 - Jun '00 --- TZR125

Jun '00 - May '01 --- Chauffeured by SBS & TIBS drivers

May '01 - May '02 --- Skipper125

May'02 - Nov '03 --- Steed400(VLX in VSE clothing)

Nov '03 - May '05 --- Wave125

Nov '06 - .......... --- Rebel125

Actually whats yr budget here man?

if u got 2-3 k, properably u can get

1. a steed but small tank not very nice (1.8k - 2.5k)

2. a vulcan classic big tank, big forks n signal lights quite nice but no power ( 3k)

3. a old model dragstar too low if u r heavy n bad cornering forward control. (3.3k)

4. virago 400cc but not nice...i thk..

5. intruder 400cc ....

normally if really into the looks get a vulcan classic cos it look big n nice but the engine sound is terrible....as far as i notice....

as far as i notice, steed got better pick up n dragstar is fastest i thk...

The wind is blowing...

The sky is getting dark...

The storm is approaching...

But my bike still ride on...

Blue Thunder Forever...

Guest Slow**Rider

I have finally decided to turn to community of Cruiser riders for advice... :cheer:

What consideration are there to look out for when looking at the following 400cc bikes:

Savage

Intruder

Steed

Shadow

DragStar

And where can I look at for Cruiser Mod parts in Singapore...

Thanks all,

G.

Bro Tom K,

Actually, it'll be useful if you mention your budget. There are many Shadow ACE going in the region of $4k at motodiams. If from private owners, maybe even at the high end of $3k. So, there is still a chance for you to get a Shadow! :)

Thank you all Bros and Sis' for your recommendations and information. Finaaly bought a Steed VLS(Springer). I liked the little tank and the overall design of the bike. The look is quite unique.

Can't wait to unleash it's potential.

Happy riding to all....

I have finally decided to turn to community of Cruiser riders for advice... :cheer:

What consideration are there to look out for when looking at the following 400cc bikes:

Savage

Intruder

Steed

Shadow

DragStar

And where can I look at for Cruiser Mod parts in Singapore...

Thanks all,

G.

My 2cents.

Savage - single piston = rough ride, hard to find parts, block cannot be rebored.

Intruder - carb, airbox & batt maintenance nitemare. everything seems to corode easy.

Steed - tried n tested super heavy duty engine. get the one with the tubeless tire rear rim.

Shadow - the 400 is underpowered as its body is made for the 600 engine.

DragStar - same sucky engine as the virago, low wheelbase resulting in plenty of coolant pump breakages while going over humps with heavy load. plus point its shaft driven.

My 2cents.

Savage - single piston = rough ride, hard to find parts, block cannot be rebored.

Intruder - carb, airbox & batt maintenance nitemare. everything seems to corode easy.

Steed - tried n tested super heavy duty engine. get the one with the tubeless tire rear rim.

Shadow - the 400 is underpowered as its body is made for the 600 engine.

DragStar - same sucky engine as the virago, low wheelbase resulting in plenty of coolant pump breakages while going over humps with heavy load. plus point its shaft driven.

Erm, think the virago engine is air-cooled....... but agree that it's quite sucky! :sweat:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Erm, think the virago engine is air-cooled....... but agree that it's quite sucky! :sweat:

yeah i was comparing sucky engines. not engine models... :smile:

i jus remembered that the DS also had a carburettor manifold problem. it was too long, exposed to high heat drom the engine and has a tendency to turn brittle n break.

Thank you all Bros and Sis' for your recommendations and information. Finaaly bought a Steed VLS(Springer). I liked the little tank and the overall design of the bike. The look is quite unique.

Happy riding to all....

Nice looking bike! May I know how much and where did you buy it from?

I love pussies! er...I mean kittens!

Happy riding to all....

Great looking bike! ;)

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first