Guest celestar

Hello, need yr kind advice!

My Phantom200 hv difficulty starting in the morning (when engine is cold). Its a new bike FV plate. Once I change engine oil @ a shop Balong Motor in Geylang area, & the mechanic recommend to put cooler in my engine oil tank so that the engine won't be 2 hot when goin long distance, but after that it will not start properly in the morning when I start the engine & I have to rev the throttle then the bike can start in the morning, I have change the engine oil many times but why the bikes difficult to start in the morning, I suspect it's the coolent liquid that the 'apek' put in my engine oils that causes the problem!

How to completely flush out the coolent in the engine oil tank completely. Which bike shop, pls recommend, pls help!!!

• Replies 16

Coolant in the engine????? Thats the 1st time i ever hear of such a thing.....coolant when mixed wif ur engine oil will cause the engine oil to become a thick light greenish liquid.......in turn will damage ur engine.......

Weird guy to tell u that......... If i'm wrong pls correct me cos i'm not too sure abt it........

Not 100% sure how to remove the coolant but if i'm not wrong ya haf to empty the gunk out ie drain......den use petrol to flush the entire casing n everything......blow dry, fix back n put new engine oil n ya're ready to go!

bad news bro!!!

oil n water dnt mix! the engine oil n coolant has probably been churned into sludge by now. try to tow yr bike to a reputable shop n have thm flush yr engine.

do not use petrol for flushing!!! petrol damages o-rings n seals!!! engine flush is available at most DIY shops n petrol stations.

Coolant in the engine????? Thats the 1st time i ever hear of such a thing.....coolant when mixed wif ur engine oil will cause the engine oil to become a thick light greenish liquid.......in turn will damage ur engine.......

Weird guy to tell u that......... If i'm wrong pls correct me cos i'm not too sure abt it........

Not 100% sure how to remove the coolant but if i'm not wrong ya haf to empty the gunk out ie drain......den use petrol to flush the entire casing n everything......blow dry, fix back n put new engine oil n ya're ready to go!

Do not use petrol to flush yr engine! It damages o-rings n oil seals!

not sure new bikes has this problem but my Phantom TA150 usd to have this cold start problem also...

juz do alittle push start the let the engine run can liao lor...

of cos put the choke on also lah..

should consult the PK brudders...

:smile: :cheer: :cheer:

Access to the photos Vypower collection,

Visit...

Here

Everytime u pump V-Power,

Remember MarVyPower!!!

Hi, which motordiam u went ar? The mechanics bluff u is it ? first time heard mechanics say put cooland into engine. There meant to be only oil inside. If u have coolant inside be it u put it or somehow there is coolant inside and the oil turn milky. then maybe the rubber seal near the engine side is worn out. that was what it happen to my ex- TZR.

i also had this problem ... now riding a TZR the coolant also went into the oil there ... then can see from the window it became green ... this will spoil ur gears and clutch lining ... if this is wat happens to ur TA200 ... better go change the rubber seal ... dunno TA200 have it or not ...

but .. will this cause the engine to be difficult to start in the morning ??

are u with me ???

Sori for fishing out this old forum but i personally feels that this shop goes all out to con newbies like me. Once my Fu phantomTa200 cant start after refilling at the nearby shell station in the morning. On seeing a bike shop ( Balxxg) nearby, i juz push over and ask for their advice. After the mac took a look, he say he need the bike to be left in the shop for a check and call me in afternoon to collect the bike. Before I left i also ask them to change the engine oil.

At about mid afternoon, the boss called me and told me my bike is ready for collection. I asked him what happen to my bike. He claimed there is some "dian zi" problem (electrical problem) on my Ta200. So i went down to the shop, after seeing my bike i saw all my chrome screws were change to those cheapo screws. There was a tear in on rubber cover which covers the spark plug. Lastly i was inform that my batt no power, was change to another batt. They told me they put in a shinco batt which "veri good". so being a newbie i listen to them. But the most shocking was the bill they qoute me, it was $160. I immediately reason out with them but they refuse to reduce the price and also refuse to say what they have repaired or remove. I was realli angry and also stupid enough for being a carrot for them to chop. anyway I L L pay the money and left the shop.

Fellow bikers, has anyone being a victim of this shop?

Don't bother with any small stuf! Go to the nearest police station, report that the mechanic at the shop has STOLEN the fitings from your bike, that is the Steel screws and bolts etc.

They are not cheap to replace and will cost you $$ to fix, plus the cost of fitting. Stealing like this is exactly the same as a customet changing the price tag on an item for a cheaper tag.

Don't get fobbed off with bullshit either, make sure you get a written copy of your report, provide a list of names of the shop, the manager and the mechanic, have them all charged.

I did this years ago and it worked very well.

Originally posted by celestar@Aug 4 2003, 11:15 PM

Hello, need yr kind advice!

My Phantom200 hv difficulty starting in the morning (when engine is cold). Its a new bike FV plate. Once I change engine oil @ a shop Balong Motor in Geylang area, & the mechanic recommend to put cooler in my engine oil tank so that the engine won't be 2 hot when goin long distance, but after that it will not start properly in the morning when I start the engine & I have to rev the throttle then the bike can start in the morning, I have change the engine oil many times but why the bikes difficult to start in the morning, I suspect it's the coolent liquid that the 'apek' put in my engine oils that causes the problem!

How to completely flush out the coolent in the engine oil tank completely. Which bike shop, pls recommend, pls help!!!

Bro to me i dun think is becos engine oil or the watever coolant thats inside it that make it difficult to start lah. u try use ur choke and without trottle and start, if it start no problem with ur bike lah. when the engine is cold, bike should be able to start with choke on and without trottle, if not it will start with a little throttle and without choke. if it start using any of the 2 method, ur bike is perfectly normal lah. bike difficult to start usually is carb wrong tuning or ur plug cap or coil is giving problem and also might be ur plug. should nothing to do with engine oil.

It is scary to heard, people are using all kind of method to kill own people...

mixing the coolant in to engine oil??? What will they do next? adding sugar or sand into the engine oil???? So as you will come back to them for overhaul???

SAD :nono:

i also first time hear coolant in engine...

engine hot, coolant boil, then.. dry... then...

shrugs

i think the best is to be present when servicing, unless u have been there long enough to trust that they will do a good job (like i always put at Ah Koons when I got no time to stay, else i just sit and chit chat disturb them)

Sori for fishing out this old forum but i personally feels that this shop goes all out to con newbies like me. Once my Fu phantomTa200 cant start after refilling at the nearby shell station in the morning. On seeing a bike shop ( Balxxg) nearby, i juz push over and ask for their advice. After the mac took a look, he say he need the bike to be left in the shop for a check and call me in afternoon to collect the bike. Before I left i also ask them to change the engine oil.

At about mid afternoon, the boss called me and told me my bike is ready for collection. I asked him what happen to my bike. He claimed there is some "dian zi" problem (electrical problem) on my Ta200. So i went down to the shop, after seeing my bike i saw all my chrome screws were change to those cheapo screws. There was a tear in on rubber cover which covers the spark plug. Lastly i was inform that my batt no power, was change to another batt. They told me they put in a shinco batt which "veri good". so being a newbie i listen to them. But the most shocking was the bill they qoute me, it was $160. I immediately reason out with them but they refuse to reduce the price and also refuse to say what they have repaired or remove. I was realli angry and also stupid enough for being a carrot for them to chop. anyway I L L pay the money and left the shop.

Fellow bikers, has anyone being a victim of this shop?

wah this is ridiculous leh. The moment u see all ur screws changed u should immediately pursue this matter to the end liaoz. i would not pay no matter what. lastly u shld insist that they do a break down of the prices of each and every single parts they have changed so u have proof to go to CASE to complain.

I hate bike shops that change mi stuff for mi w/o permission. Since they have ur no. they should at least call u to ask for permission to change and carry on onli after it is granted. Somemore battery low batt got very obvious symptoms one leh, hw can it become low batt in a matters of hours?

BTW $160 to fix some electronic problem is bulls.hit as the amt can nearly overhaul the whole bike's electrical connection liaoz.

LOL posted at 2003.

now 2007 liao debate is still going on!?!?

haha i know its 4 yrs old liaoz but seeing this kind of injustice happening really makes mi blood boil. :)