Guest R1szuan

is orite that you couldnt make it. for your bike batt problem u may want to discuss with simon saintdudu.. he seems to have the same problem as you mention.

• Replies 995

maybe you want to check the connection from the battery to the ignition it might have come lose... that what happen to mine after i a long time of not starting my bike due to my accident

http://www.honda.co.uk/motorcycles/en/picture/product/BLACKBIRD_CBR1100XX/Main/prd_main_Banner.jpg

Katsumoto Moritsugui オスマン

Originally posted by lightspeed@Sep 5 2004, 11:46 PM

Bike been running as per normal. After stop for 5hrs, unable to start the bike. Sound like the battery was week. After release the starter, clock reset and all LED on (as when turn on the key). Thinking the battery was weak/die, so resort to push start. The bike was able to start then (normal condition, without any abnormal syntoms).

Hi LightSpeed,

PushStart a BB? Just Curious, did u do it alone?

Nit

Originally posted by nitro@Sep 6 2004, 12:59 PM

Hi LightSpeed,

Nit

Hah... you tot me superman ha... no lah, luckily that time go with my friend. I not scare the pushing part, I just scared that when the engine on, before I can clutch in, the bike just go without me.... 100km/hr in 3sec, not even blink my eye yet...

bought a charger today, will try to charge it first. From the YUASA website suggest for low amp charger, overnight to recover the bat. High amp charger will do surface charging only, cant hold the volts long enough. If this still connot, maybe its time to get a new bat. Also read that it is adviseable to do full charging once a mth to make sure no sudden die battery and to increase the lifespan of battery. For this reason, I get a charger too. Now my battery a charging next to me.

Anybody free to check their battery, esp from 01 to 03 bike.

Get confuse here....

Spec say...

97-00 use YTX12-BS (white wordings)

01-03 Use YTZ12S (yellow wordings)

But some shop I ask here only sell YTX12-BS, even FJT too. Does it mean the YTZ are not sold here in Spore?

SPEC:

Honda - CBR1100XX 1997 - 2000 1100cc

Battery Family: Maintenance Free

Battery Type: YTX12-BS

Voltage: 12

Capacity: 10

Dimensions: 6" x 3.4375" x 5.125"

Weight: 7.5 lbs.

Metric Dimensions: 150mm x 87mm x 130mm

Metric Weight: 3.4 kg

Polarity:

Acid Volume: 0.6

Amps: 1.2

C.C.A.: 180

Honda - CBR1100XX 2001 - 2003 1100cc

Battery Family: YTZ Factory Activated, Maintenance Free

Battery Type: YTZ12S

Voltage: 12

Capacity: 11

Dimensions: 6" x 3 7/16" x 4 3/8"

Weight: 8.1 lbs.

Metric Dimensions: 150mm x 87mm x 110mm

Metric Weight: 3.7 kg

Polarity:

Acid Volume: N/A

Amps: 1.1

C.C.A.: 210

For the YTX, here are the price that I ask ard.

DIY

Regina: 75

FJT: 80

With installation

219: 150

Loois: 100

Guest R1szuan

Hi all

i decided to put a list of all the cost of repair and replacement part for birds for reference. Hence it will also be a rough guide how much

Cost for replacement of bird parts

1: Replace Chain Tensioner $85 to $80

2: Cleaning injector and tuning $50

3: Replace shims,valve clearance,tuning,replace top gasket $350

4: Replace batt and rectifier

5: Replace clutch plates

6: Replace chain and sprocket(using original sporcket rear and front with DID O ring chain)

7: Replace of steerin cones

8: Replace of Wheel bearing front and back

9: Replace and Bleeding of the whole brake system using DOT4

10: Replace and Bleeding the Clutch Fluid DOT4 $15

11: Replace of Front Fork Oil Seal,Fork oil to heavier oil and Dust Seal $75 1 side of the fork

12: Replace batt $100 to $150

DISCLAIMER NOTICE:

The above quote and prices is SUBJECT to CHANGES.

PLS CALL and CHECK TO VERIFY.

This to act as a REFERENCE and GUIDE only.

It is NOT MEANT TO FOLLOW the pricing.

IF you could find it CHEAPER than what was posted here then GOOD for you.

And i AM ALSO NOT ADVERTISING FOR ANY BIKES SHOP or WORK PART TIME FOR THEM

If you were quoted differently, I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DISPUTE OR ARGUEMENT.

If you are quoted differently then dont go there and do it.

This is not a comphrensive list but the more commons ones.

Originally posted by nitro@Sep 6 2004, 12:59 PM

Hi LightSpeed,

Nit

haha.. can be done... did that twice at sgp custom... :p

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

Guys, sorry for let go the aeroplane. Seem like Tiger airways SD1 promotion was to hard to be true. Think something screw ups with my battery.

Riding 2001 model, 2nd batch FI. Stock bike without any add on esp on electrical side(except stupid IU unit that keep sucking money from the cashcard). No recent mods prior to problem. Bike been running as per normal. After stop for 5hrs, unable to start the bike. Sound like the battery was week. After release the starter, clock reset and all LED on (as when turn on the key). Thinking the battery was weak/die, so resort to push start. The bike was able to start then (normal condition, without any abnormal syntoms).

Riding back for 30min rides averaging 90km/hr, with hope to charge back the battery. Before off the engine, try to throttle to check the RR was in good shape. Headlight brighter when throttle more (RR in good codition I believe). Unable to measure the volts and amp as no multimeter around.

With multimeter to check the next day, the battery volts show 12volts (should be 13 to 13.5), amp from 19A and drop to 15A within 3-4sec. So I believe the battery not in good shape. Likely battery problem. Appreciate any help out there... just to confrim before going down to buy new battery. BAttery seem able to charge properly, so dont seem stator problem too. Guess I might be wrong too... :sweat:

Tomorrow would be no XX to office, just a slow MRT. Need to head down much earlier than normal... sigh..

hey man..

did u let ur bike idie for veri long n ur fan is activate for too long?

as for the batt.. at rest it should be at around 12.3-12.7v...

how is the charging at iding ?

my problem was 12.1-12.2v onli...

charging begins when we ride...

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

Guys, sorry for let go the aeroplane. Seem like Tiger airways SD1 promotion was to hard to be true. Think something screw ups with my battery.

Riding 2001 model, 2nd batch FI. Stock bike without any add on esp on electrical side(except stupid IU unit that keep sucking money from the cashcard). No recent mods prior to problem. Bike been running as per normal. After stop for 5hrs, unable to start the bike. Sound like the battery was week. After release the starter, clock reset and all LED on (as when turn on the key). Thinking the battery was weak/die, so resort to push start. The bike was able to start then (normal condition, without any abnormal syntoms).

Riding back for 30min rides averaging 90km/hr, with hope to charge back the battery. Before off the engine, try to throttle to check the RR was in good shape. Headlight brighter when throttle more (RR in good codition I believe). Unable to measure the volts and amp as no multimeter around.

With multimeter to check the next day, the battery volts show 12volts (should be 13 to 13.5), amp from 19A and drop to 15A within 3-4sec. So I believe the battery not in good shape. Likely battery problem. Appreciate any help out there... just to confrim before going down to buy new battery. BAttery seem able to charge properly, so dont seem stator problem too. Guess I might be wrong too... :sweat:

Tomorrow would be no XX to office, just a slow MRT. Need to head down much earlier than normal... sigh..

i had ExACTLY the same syntoms while on my holiday up on cameron highlands.

push start did the trick.

at first i also thought that the batt was weak already...

but up till now, 1mth liao, still as per normal.

i spoke to my mech and he advised me to change the batt and install the grounding wire to preserve the batt life

ground wire aside.

i intend to do so at the end of the year.

so ... how are u going to solve your problem ?

kun bought tensioner and gasket from FJT for around 45. 10 min diy job

i did mine at sanfu for 90

6: Replace chain and sprocket(using original sporcket rear and front with DID O ring chain)

11: Replace of Front Fork Oil Seal,Fork oil to heavier oil and Dust Seal $75 1 side of the fork

was quoted 95 for 12v batt and installation at ET

ground wire costs another 70 bucks

ive seen a vfr800 did the wiring there too. and honestly, im tempted

Guest R1szuan
Originally posted by josean@Sep 8 2004, 02:03 PM

kun bought tensioner and gasket from FJT for around 45. 10 min diy job

i did mine at sanfu for 90

was quoted 95 for 12v batt and installation at ET

ground wire costs another 70 bucks

ive seen a vfr800 did the wiring there too. and honestly, im tempted

10 min job to replace chain tensioner? Care to demo how u do it?

Guest R1szuan
Originally posted by josean@Sep 8 2004, 02:00 PM

i spoke to my mech and he advised me to change the batt and install the grounding wire to preserve the batt life

ground wire aside.

what the purpose of grounding the wire? any side effects?

Originally posted by R1szuan@Sep 8 2004, 02:10 PM

what the purpose of grounding the wire? any side effects?

i guess the side effects would be to spread out the load so that the batt wont be so taxing and it can last longer too.

negative effects... it will lead to an outflow of financial resources that will make u poorer by seventy dollars for the week

example.

for me when i put white lights in sg... everything okay. once i go my to whack, next day the bulb sure blow. dunno why...

but if i put ground wire, the bulb wont blow anymore.

mech tell me wan

Originally posted by R1szuan@Sep 8 2004, 02:09 PM

10 min job to replace chain tensioner? Care to demo how u do it?

dun ask me. ask kunz

by the way,

over at ET, costs 30 bucks to flush the entire radiator with waterwetter.

heard how good it is and im going to have a go at it.

anyone else keen ?

Guest R1szuan
Originally posted by josean@Sep 8 2004, 02:15 PM

i guess the side effects would be to spread out the load so that the batt wont be so taxing and it can last longer too.

negative effects... it will lead to an outflow of financial resources that will make u poorer by seventy dollars for the week

example.

for me when i put white lights in sg... everything okay. once i go my to whack, next day the bulb sure blow. dunno why...

mech tell me wan

wah...zuan...u sold ur box to Kun fer so cheap..haiz..i was too buzi to scout ard...

aniway...guys..mY RPM will flucuates at idling....think nid to do sumting about it..

wat should i do?

REmapping? clean injectorS?

i know rpm flucuates can due to mani reasons..but i think my bike the tuning is off abit...

anione got such problem?

Honda CBR1100XXX Super Black Bird-Invalid entry

Originally posted by josean@Sep 8 2004, 02:15 PM

example.

mech tell me wan

Well about that grounding wire... I'm still not to sure a friend of mine did it .. he says it improves pick up, lessens the engine braking so that the force of the engine brake won't throw you off balance when closing throttle at high speeds. About the battery portion... I have no idea... just as clueless cause it stil doesn't make sense how grounding wires improve pick up and lessens engine braking.

http://www.honda.co.uk/motorcycles/en/picture/product/BLACKBIRD_CBR1100XX/Main/prd_main_Banner.jpg

Katsumoto Moritsugui オスマン

Originally posted by josean@Sep 8 2004, 02:00 PM

ground wire aside.

bought a battery today. Anyway, by charging my old battery slowly for last 2 nite, its looks like quite ok liao. but when i chekc inside, no liquid. I dont know its supposed got liquid or not. Maybe the old one become my spare. will use the new one tomorrow. dont know the old one can tahan till when. worried it break down outside spore. after every ride, measure the voltage around 12.5V

it is suggested by Yuasa to charge the battery once a mth, to increase battery lifespan and prevent sudden failure.

About the CCT, I also saw the mech change, very easy. easier than taking out the fairing... ha ha

Originally posted by lightspeed@Sep 8 2004, 08:22 PM

bought a battery today. Anyway, by charging my old battery slowly for last 2 nite, its looks like quite ok liao. but when i chekc inside, no liquid. I dont know its supposed got liquid or not. Maybe the old one become my spare. will use the new one tomorrow. dont know the old one can tahan till when. worried it break down outside spore. after every ride, measure the voltage around 12.5V

it is suggested by Yuasa to charge the battery once a mth, to increase battery lifespan and prevent sudden failure.

About the CCT, I also saw the mech change, very easy. easier than taking out the fairing... ha ha

how much did it cost u?

is it a 12v battery ?

Originally posted by josean@Sep 8 2004, 08:47 PM

how much did it cost u?

is it a 12v battery ?

75... die die cannot bargain. give me 2 tube cover... looks like rocket. Put in the acid and charging now. tomorrow morning only then change.

yes 12V. i buy for old model, ytx that 'dry' cell that have acid inside. But it is MF. Actual one use YTZ, pure dry one, no acid add on. expensive... more than 100. even those guys from CBR1100XX.org web suggest to get ytx, performance wise similar i think... but price much different.

Normal battery should still able to see the acid. Looks like my old battery going to die soon... anyway... can use as spare. Anybody need urgently one can loan from me. But not guarantee lah.... :sweat:

Originally posted by Moritsugui Katsumoto@Sep 8 2004, 07:40 PM

Well about that grounding wire... I'm still not to sure a friend of mine did it .. he says it improves pick up, lessens the engine braking so that the force of the engine brake won't throw you off balance when closing throttle at high speeds. About the battery portion... I have no idea... just as clueless cause it stil doesn't make sense how grounding wires improve pick up and lessens engine braking.

mi bike got 3 grounding wires...

effects?

i duno...haha

still feels..ride.....the same as my frd bike....not much diff..

next time i try to post the grounding wires connection pictures..

Honda CBR1100XXX Super Black Bird-Invalid entry

Guest R1szuan
Originally posted by Duper_four@Sep 8 2004, 06:37 PM

wah...zuan...u sold ur box to Kun fer so cheap..haiz..i was too buzi to scout ard...

aniway...guys..mY RPM will flucuates at idling....think nid to do sumting about it..

wat should i do?

REmapping? clean injectorS?

i know rpm flucuates can due to mani reasons..but i think my bike the tuning is off abit...

anione got such problem?

first come first serve. Good kaki and frens... Sell cheap cheap lah.. Small margin i earn lah.

first come first serve...hehehe the rack is solid rack lah that is for sure.

Since he need to use it daily. I use it Rarely so it is abit logical to sell it to him. Actually the previous owner wanted to sell the box and rack at higher price than than i sold to kunz. Gees!! :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

Bike idling erratic either the injectors is dirty, petrol not the type for birds or u need to whack the bike...

I got erratic idling when using caltex petrol at jb area. But when pump petronas or shell the idling improves.

Maybe u try the STP the black Bottle the EFI cleaner. Use that for about 5 times and observe again. It should help out abit. Get the super concerntrated type.