hey S4 bros?...i was wondering..is it important to change the spark plugs before touring?..what happens if i dun change them?...

I RIDE BECAUSE OF PASSION...NOT FASHION!!

Previously Riding : Yamaha TZM 150

Currently Riding : Honda CB400 Hyper Vtec Spec III

• Replies 12

well..its to malacca only...not that far rite?...but wat happens if i dun change them?...

Spark plugs are small items, you can actually just bring some spares just in case your spark plug burns out due to prolonged non stop operation.

Best is to change to those that is more suitable for long distance riding, heat is the main worry.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

So its recommended that i change?...is the normal ones good enuff?..or should i change to the iridium ones?

recommend anot.. depends on u.. and most imptly.. hw long has ur sparkplug been used

normally i recommend interval of plugs change is 5000-10 000kms.. depending on plugs.. normally 5000km change.. so if urs is near.. n u're going far.. better u change it

and..

iridium and normal no much diff.. only diff is the price.. iridium power onli last for the first few kms.. say 500-1000km.. after that it perform just as good as the stock..

to me stock even better, more lasting and more power in the long term.. change one stupid iridium i can change plenty of stock.. which cost only $5/plug @ LAB.. u can even change it every 2000km for better power.. dun believe try it urself..

make sure ur bike is touring ready.. check ur coolant.. issit dirty/etc.. if yes.. flush it.. check your chain/sprockets issit wearing.. if yes.. change it.. brakepads.. if starting to go low.. change it.. make sure ur bike is touring ready.. u wont want anything happen during touring

recommend anot.. depends on u.. and most imptly.. hw long has ur sparkplug been used

normally i recommend interval of plugs change is 5000-10 000kms.. depending on plugs.. normally 5000km change.. so if urs is near.. n u're going far.. better u change it

and..

iridium and normal no much diff.. only diff is the price.. iridium power onli last for the first few kms.. say 500-1000km.. after that it perform just as good as the stock..

to me stock even better, more lasting and more power in the long term.. change one stupid iridium i can change plenty of stock.. which cost only $5/plug @ LAB.. u can even change it every 2000km for better power.. dun believe try it urself..

make sure ur bike is touring ready.. check ur coolant.. issit dirty/etc.. if yes.. flush it.. check your chain/sprockets issit wearing.. if yes.. change it.. brakepads.. if starting to go low.. change it.. make sure ur bike is touring ready.. u wont want anything happen during touring

normal spark plug @ LAB is $5/plug?!?!?! serious??...i didnt know that...does that include installation??

can say that my bike is ready for the trip..i changed EO, brake pad, rear tyre, checked coolant, all done at Unique. Just the spark plugs havent changed yet...i havent changed them in the last 10 000 click. gonna change soon. Thanks a lot for the words of wisdom bro !

lolx...i've been riding my S4 for about 1yr+ liao...Nv change spark plugs before sia...This weekend finally going to change liao le..Going for the iridium ones...

Didn't noe that plugs cost $5 at ah boy sia...but i tink if wan them to fix for u the waiting time is priceless ! lolx...:angel:

Malacca ! Went there a few months back...Not far lah....but it's better for u to change the plugs sia...just like bro kurarensu mentioned..U won't want anything to happen during touring trips ! :thumb:

i bought the normal Denso plugs @ L.A.B. its $5.50/plug. NGK is $7.50. i fixed the plugs myself. quite easy and straight forward .

bro where u all buy the ting that turn the spark plug out?

go to any diy hardware shops.. they shld haf it... bring ur sparkplug along.. i forget the size is 7/8 or 1 1/2

shld be 7/8 size..