• Replies 2.6k

hi, im looking for good quality gps device but also at a low cost,any place in mind that can get it?how bout the mounting?does it comes with bracket for bikes?what is the price range?

FalconRider:cool:

FT502S-CBR1000RR

hi, im looking for good quality gps device but also at a low cost,any place in mind that can get it?how bout the mounting?does it comes with bracket for bikes?what is the price range?

hi, please refer to page 28 of this thread under post #1386

low cost and good quality? Garmin devices are of great quality with different

price ranges, you could consider those within your budget. There are 2 types: handheld gps and bike gps.

Handheld have lower price tag which should fit your budget. They normally don't come with any mounting brackets, so you have to source for yourself. Please read more about their spec under Garmin site.

no worries mate.

meet up soon! i would like to see u give a demo of your gps, intending to make a purchase this wkend.

looking at something both for car and bike use

waterproof, AA batteries would be a big plus if not replaceable rechargeables would be essential.

an advantage car gps has is that its a lot cheaper and comes with at least a 4" touch screen.

so many models to choose from........o_O

many many to choose from bro... you are right... make a wise decission... cause it will stay with you or years to come....

Rajeh | Triumph Rocket 3 Touring | +65 8722 1313 :thumb:

bro you looking for GPS for what vehicle? maybe if you tell us what's ur vehicle then we can probably advice you....

Rajeh | Triumph Rocket 3 Touring | +65 8722 1313 :thumb:

Hi all, jus to share...my choice is and will be Zumo..Tried and tested it for my recent trip ..It is waterproof and mainly design for bike.. occasionally I also use it for my car..It cost slightly more than an Oregon 300...e set is about $1k...maps are ur important choice and selection to get..not update and non-routable are a no-no...It helps me on my trip to Cambodia and North Thai..:thumb:

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE

i considered quite a no. of gps, from handheld to bike/car ones from accross different brands.

spec wise, they are mostly similar.

but 2 very impt issues to be taken into account are

1. service support - the gps would most likely be a well travelled device.

it goes everywhere with you, like your mobile but has

to last at least 12-18mths before most ppl consider a

change? So, if anything goes wrong, there needs to be

a decent agent who can get your device fixed.

2. Maps - the best spec gps with an ultra fast processor and 7" wide screen

means nothing if u cannot get updated maps for it. and for garmin,

theres plenty of help from forums. FREE too i might add :)

i ended up with a garmin nuvi for car/bike use.

i did consider the zumo but at double the price, I do not think the price is justified.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Hi all, jus to share...my choice is and will be Zumo..Tried and tested it for my recent trip ..It is waterproof and mainly design for bike.. occasionally I also use it for my car..It cost slightly more than an Oregon 300...e set is about $1k...maps are ur important choice and selection to get..not update and non-routable are a no-no...It helps me on my trip to Cambodia and North Thai..:thumb:

cheers to u using zumo...am oso using a zumo...1 yr liao

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

hi peeps.. i just bought a Zumo 550.. but hv yet to test the unit for touring.. price quite ex den other garmin units. guess its worth with all the wonderful specs, water resistant, bluetooth, text-to-speech and its sleek rugged design specially for bikes. it oso comes with cap suction for cars.. awesome..!! :thumb:

kudos for u getting zumo 550. Zumo 550 is the best GPS device for ur bikes

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

hi peeps.. i just bought a Zumo 550.. but hv yet to test the unit for touring.. price quite ex den other garmin units. guess its worth with all the wonderful specs, water resistant, bluetooth, text-to-speech and its sleek rugged design specially for bikes. it oso comes with cap suction for cars.. awesome..!! :thumb:

If u got fr perfect Watch..I believe U got the Garmin asia maps...DO a lot of research on its usage and also mapping...U can plan route thru ur PC..mapsource...I took time to test it...Believe u will need to use it in Sgp and M'sia Rd on daily basis just to get u familiar with it...Cheers have Fun....:cheer:

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE

I have got a new german brand catalog for this kind of mounting if u wan to come have a look pls call me - 93891138. :cheer:

im interested, what brand is this?

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

http://www.elecom.com.sg/Images/a4050_1.jpg

http://www.elecom.com.sg/Images/a4050_product_img_header.jpg

http://www.elecom.com.sg/ProductInfo/a4050.asp

i'm using their car gps...........for reference

TiBo??

I've tried one of their higher end car GPS...

Here's my review.

:puke: Hated it!

Why?

1. Maps are super out dated.

- Some blocks in Punggol has been around for almost 5 years now but it's still not reflected in the maps.

2. Connection time is outrageously long

- Tried in MSCP, cannot connect... understandable.

- Tried in moving car... cannot connect @ all most of time...

(Maybe trees??) and needed to reset many times.

- Tried in stationary car... Open area.. better but still took a couple of mins.

3. Hangs. :mad:

4. Shortest route was not the shortest route!

Wanted to get to Holiday Inn Park View from AMK.

Fastest route was CTE and exit Orchard Road and turn into Kramat.

This thing told me to exit Bukit Timah, when I continued to go straight, it told me to exit the next exit and make a U-turn! WT Hell???

5. Car setting to go by highway - mega fail!

Coz the highway preference sometime may not be shortest as well...

So it'll take you in through the smaller roads rather than the highways.

6. Went to Malacca...

- Went by Woodlands... New Checkpoint so not there... fine...

- But after pass through the Msia customs... the GPS took us all the way to 2nd link to NSHW!!!!

7. Cannot use postal codes

8. Cannot find HDB blocks @ the search function.

There are some good points none the less...

1. It has one of the fastest processors in the market.

- But IMHO, if the logic in the program fail!, no matter how fast the GPS's processor is... it's still useless.

But in the end, it still brings you to point A to B.

It's usually not the bike, Check the Biker

hey LACRIMOSAE,

tested ur Oregon 300 so far? how is it?

need reviews man haha!!

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

TiBo??

- Some blocks in Punggol has been around for almost 5 years now but it's still not reflected in the maps.

Even in the latest MSM map for garmin, it does not have a single HDB block polygon. Even the NT map does not have this info. MFM map, and Jerome map have that but MFM map of Singapore has been disable temporary for an internal audit.

- Tried in stationary car... Open area.. better but still took a couple of mins.

Tibo uses the latest SiRFstar III Chipset which is similar to the upper range of the Garmin GPS.

It is a known fact that some tinting materials used in car windows block the signals which make the GPS difficult to lock on to the satellites.

A few minutes to obtain a fix from cold startup is normal. Only the later Garmin models with this feature known as hotfix which can obtain a fix in a much faster time.

Because Tibo is running on Window CE

This thing told me to exit Bukit Timah, when I continued to go straight, it told me to exit the next exit and make a U-turn! WT Hell???

6. Went to Malacca...

- But after pass through the Msia customs... the GPS took us all the way to 2nd link to NSHW!!!!

The route calculation is based on the system algorithm however there should be some user input parameters to alter it.

Typically, the shorter route means shorter by physical distance. Faster route means to get to the destination in the quickest time based on the speed limit of the chosen route.

I don't think any system can do that 100%. MSM can do only postal code search for HDB blocks only.

As above answer

Every brand and model of GPS has it's strength and weakness even with all the money in the world, there is no perfect GPS. Just learn to make the best use of it.

TiBo??

I've tried one of their higher end car GPS...

Here's my review.

:puke: Hated it!

Why?

6. Went to Malacca...

There are some good points none the less...

1. It has one of the fastest processors in the market.

- But IMHO, if the logic in the program fail!, no matter how fast the GPS's processor is... it's still useless.

But in the end, it still brings you to point A to B.

i agree with u.... on part of these review....

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

Even in the latest MSM map for garmin, it does not have a single HDB block polygon. Even the NT map does not have this info. MFM map, and Jerome map have that but MFM map of Singapore has been disable temporary for an internal audit.

Tibo uses the latest SiRFstar III Chipset which is similar to the upper range of the Garmin GPS.

It is a known fact that some tinting materials used in car windows block the signals which make the GPS difficult to lock on to the satellites.

A few minutes to obtain a fix from cold startup is normal. Only the later Garmin models with this feature known as hotfix which can obtain a fix in a much faster time.

Because Tibo is running on Window CE

The route calculation is based on the system algorithm however there should be some user input parameters to alter it.

Typically, the shorter route means shorter by physical distance. Faster route means to get to the destination in the quickest time based on the speed limit of the chosen route.

I don't think any system can do that 100%. MSM can do only postal code search for HDB blocks only.

As above answer

Every brand and model of GPS has it's strength and weakness even with all the money in the world, there is no perfect GPS. Just learn to make the best use of it.

I guess to be fair... this is the first GPS that I have tested on.

And I tested it quite intensively over the 3 days that it was with me.

1st - 2nd day - SG to Malacca and back.

2nd - 3rd day - SG only.

But IMHO, these are some of the "must have" functionality for a GPS.

1. Getting from point A to B.

2. Getting a lock in 1 min or less even while the vehicle is in motion.

3. Ability to search / locate the destination "pin point".

*The ability to look for Blk 123B Punggol Walk / Via Postal code.

Most if not all GPS will do 1.

But as you mentioned, 2...

When I said afew mins... I was being nice.

Honestly.

A couple of times... I couldn't get a lock for more than > 10 mins even after I reset the device.

As for 3...

Well, as you mentioned, it's a fault with all maps, not only TiBo's map.

But IMHO, A HDB block that's been around for 5 years and it's still not in the current map?? I find that quite...

sorry but lack of a better word... crazy and ridiculous.

It may be a better idea to stick to the street directory then?

Oh yes...

My car's front window is not tinted @ all.

It's usually not the bike, Check the Biker