Calderon: United should let Ronaldo go

Real Madrid president Ramon Calderon believes Manchester United should be 'happy and proud' to let Cristiano Ronaldo leave the club in what he believes would be 'the transfer of the century'.

Calderon was set to meet United chief executive David Gill today, with the Premier League side expected to issue an official 'hands off' warning to Real.

Yesterday the Real president seemingly conceded defeat in his attempts to capture the Portugal winger after admitting it would be difficult to convince United to sell.

But 24 hours later he told Spanish newspaper AS that it was Ronaldo's wish to join his club and the English champions should allow him.

Calderon said: 'I think that, first of all, it's the desire of the player (to join us), but, of course, Manchester shouldn't be angry and they should open up their stance.

'We can't be blamed if nearly every player wants to come to Real Madrid. If I was Manchester United I'd be happy and proud to be able to negotiate such a transfer for one of my players.

'Everything would be a lot easier if United realised that they could pull off the transfer of the century.'

Calderon appeared confident a deal could still be reached, as he believes that if a player wants to leave then there is little a club can do to stop him.

But he again insisted the Spanish champions would not act on their interest until United agreed to talks.

Calderon continued: 'It depends on the player, on Ronaldo. Since I've known football it has been the case that the desires of the footballer are what decide matters.

'If Ronaldo wants to leave Manchester, he'll leave. If he wants to stay, he'll stay.

'I don't think you can keep anyone in a place where they don't want to be, not even in a family.

'But I insist that for a formal negotiation to start Manchester United will have to open their doors to us. Manchester have to want to talk.'

On Ronaldo's ankle injury Calderon added: 'At the moment that is something which should only concern the player and United.'

The Real chief admitted there was no plan B should the club fail prise Ronaldo away, insisting there would be no 'comings and goings' this summer.

That includes reported Chelsea target Robinho, who Calderon claims the club are not willing to sell.

'We have no intention of making any little touches to the squad, no comings and goings,' he said.

'The squad is young and it's fine as it is. There is no negotiation going on at the moment for Robinho to leave the club.'

He is at it again....

This president is really a pain in the arsehole. 1 moment this, another moment that. The bottomline is very simple, MU doesn't want to sell. Not the Glazers, not Gill, not SAF, basically not anyone in the management is in favour. I agree to the fact that if this deal does go through, it will thus show that MU is inferior to RM in terms of world class status. Money may not be the most important factor in case of this. It's about MU making their stand and taking a step forward to establish themselves above RM.

Class 3 - 11 January 2006

Geely C.K. (SGW *** J) - 07 June 2007

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

Honda NSR SP (FS **** G) - 28 March 2008

http://www.werther.fr/goodies/hr/cbr_dessin.jpg

• Replies 5k

Robinho & Sneijder also unhappy about the part exchange nonsense.

Raul clause in his contract really :slapforehead:

He just scare he cannot keep his number 7 jersey.

I heard it is also stated in his contract that he is the only player that can wear the number 7 jersey.

He must be very down when Spain won Euro 2008 without him. :D

I am sure no players like to be offered as part of a deal. It's like being treated as a piece of meat being offered around. Ala the olden days where women were treated as gifts for treaties and alliance. Then again, it's just how the football world works. :slapforehead:

It's true that Raul is King of Madrid, and he is 1 man bigger than the club, probably the only one in the world. With Aragones stepping down, chances are the new coach will call Raul up for the national squad. Well, not everyone is as strong-willed as Aragones. :D

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

The Real chief admitted there was no plan B should the club fail prise Ronaldo away, insisting there would be no 'comings and goings' this summer.

That includes reported Chelsea target Robinho, who Calderon claims the club are not willing to sell.

'We have no intention of making any little touches to the squad, no comings and goings,' he said.

'The squad is young and it's fine as it is. There is no negotiation going on at the moment for Robinho to leave the club.'

He is at it again....

dis guy is damn bloodly mangkuk sia...

he want man utd to sell ronaldo to RM but insist nobody leave d club..

dey themself nt willing to sell Robinho n yet wan man utd to sell Ronaldo to dem...:slapforehead:

WTF

:gun: :gun: :gun: :gun:

btw guys, do u read ystd newpaper or d dae b4?

it stated dat huntelaar is giving AF a hint, come n get me thingy..

hope AF buy him cos he's good...:pray:

same style s RVN...

dey themself nt willing to sell Robinho n yet wan man utd to sell Ronaldo to dem...:slapforehead:

WTF

Everything and anything RM do, they it's all right. White can become black, black can become white.

Such a shame this kind of club exists and they claim to be the best in the world. In terms of ethics such low class, none in the EPL comes even close. :rolleyes:

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

same style s RVN...

This guy's smart, he knows his style is wanted at OT. Personally I would prefer him to Berbatov. Younger, more skillful, more techinal ability. :slurp:

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

same style s RVN...

really?? tt's a piece of gd news ... :clap:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

all speculations at this stage.

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

huntelaar is a better choice than berbatov because of his age and attitude...I don't think berbatov will be able to take his status downgrade if he comes into the squad...from no.1 in spurs to very possibly on the bench for united...plus he's 3 years older...

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

WTF

Real madrid should be 'happy and proud' to negotiate a deal to take robinho to England :rolleyes:

Carlo Queiroz leaving United 2 tk over Portugal ...

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

Carlo Queiroz leaving United 2 tk over Portugal ...

i think CQ goin to portugal is a loss to Man U...coz...he noes how to bring good players to Man U...:sian:

SAF desperately needs a no 2....hmm...who wud that be....?? o_O

THERE ARE TWO KINDS OF FAILURES:

THOSE WHO THOUGHT AND NEVER DID,

AND THOSE WHO DID AND NEVER THOUGHT.

This guy's smart, he knows his style is wanted at OT. Personally I would prefer him to Berbatov. Younger, more skillful, more techinal ability. :slurp:

n also tall. i can tell u pple he will b much better than RVN.:D

really?? tt's a piece of gd news ... :clap:

DEFINITELY!!!!:bounce: :bounce:

i think CQ goin to portugal is a loss to Man U...coz...he noes how to bring good players to Man U...:sian:

Every time wen SAF no.2 quits, united nvr win any single domestic trophy. for ex. brian kidd, steve mclaren n now carlos queiroz...... the new appointed is brian mc clair will he able to lift united for next season???

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

HANDSOME!!!!! hmm... r u a guy or a gal???? if u r a gal, ok but if u a guy u muz b bloody GAY!!!!! OOOpppsss!!!

ya btw wat u say is true Ruud is definitely a legend. but If we do get Huntlaar what will the starting team be??? hunterlaar the lone striker, support by rooney-tevez link or ronaldo-rooney??? midfield wise anderson, carrick n hargreaves or scholes?

n also tall. i can tell u pple he will b much better than RVN.:D

DEFINITELY!!!!:bounce: :bounce:

Every time wen SAF no.2 quits, united nvr win any single domestic trophy. for ex. brian kidd, steve mclaren n now carlos queiroz...... the new appointed is brian mc clair will he able to lift united for next season???

brian mcclair or Rene Meulensteen

I don't think that would be easy. Ruud van Nistelrooy is a legend.

It is not that easy to overtake his record at Man Utd.

I also prefer Huntelaar than Berbatov.

Faster, younger, more skillful & more handsome. :cheeky:

RVN is legend :bow:

prolific striker in europe

beat denis law record in europe :bow:

handsome?:faint: ...haha

HANDSOME!!!!! hmm... r u a guy or a gal???? if u r a gal, ok but if u a guy u muz b bloody GAY!!!!! OOOpppsss!!!

ya btw wat u say is true Ruud is definitely a legend. but If we do get Huntlaar what will the starting team be??? hunterlaar the lone striker, support by rooney-tevez link or ronaldo-rooney??? midfield wise anderson, carrick n hargreaves or scholes?

No comment.

Chill guys, we are all United fans. Let's not get too insensitive with our words and disrupt the harmony. Morever, it's pointless to squabble over such an issue.

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

slapforehead: haha.. Haha.. :cheeky:

;4446509']brian mcclair or Rene Meulensteen

RVN is legend :bow:

prolific striker in europe

beat denis law record in europe :bow:

handsome?:faint: ...haha

Roberto Martinez is another speculation but nothing is confirmed as this point of time. But whoever is appointed, he must be of some substance. I believe SAF has a clear idea on who to appoint.

For Huntelaar to match RVN will take a long way. RVN managed to hit a century of goals for MU is also due to playing regularly. From they way it seems, Hunt is brought in to complement the existing strike force. In the event where the beautiful game of 1-2 and dribbling pass opponents does not work, Hunt will be deployed as a target man to play a more direct style of football in order to break down opponent's defence. This will be another English style of putting in crosses from flanks for the striker to put in a header. Yet with Hunt's technical ability, I believe he can offer more than just a target man.

All in all, he will add another dimension to MU's attack. It will be exciting if he really goes to OT.

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

OOppss :slapforehead: haha.. relax bro dun freak out man.... i'm juz joking brader. Haha.. :cheeky:

Looks wise I prefer Anderson.

If he was a little taller and built up, he would look like the PREDATOR. Thanks to his hairstyle.

Class 2B - 27 March 2008

nt only tt ... read in TNP tt he's the link between the players n SAF ...

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

People come and go. We can take pride in the sense that MUFC does not have the tradition of sacking managers. This is 1 important reason why SAF can take MUFC to such heights. No doubt the departure of CQ is a loss, there will always be something else to look forward to.

Class 2B - 27 March 2008