Originally posted by dannis@March 21, 2007 10:25 pm

Take this experience of mine into comparision :

RS125 vs RS250 maintenance

1. 2T : (125) about 1litre/1000km vs (250) about 1 litre/2000km

2. Gear Oil : (125) change every 2000km vs (250) change every 10,000km

3. Valve : (125) wash/service every 2000km vs (250) wash/service every 10,000km

4. Petrol : (125) about 20-25km/litre vs (250) about 13-16km/litre

5. Carbrator servicing : (125) every 2-3mths vs (250) every 6-9mths

6. Spark Plug : (125) change every mth/2000km vs (250) change every 10,000km or more.

Aprilia RS125 engine is a "Rotax" engine whereas Aprilia RS250 engine is "Suzuki" engine. Well, Rotax engine is not as reliable... usually RS125 rider wil experience a overhaul during the time they own the bike (about 2 yrs) unless u really take great care of the engine n not going at high rpm often but if u do that, it does not serve the purpose of getting an Aprilia. Aprilia works when you bring the rpm up ..........whereas RS250 owners.. seldom hear engine overhaul except changing the wear n tear piston. But must consider although the engine seldom breakdown, if u need to change parts, usually the price is double as it has 2 pistons, 2 exhaust, etc.

Hope this helps but I have to say... I might not be accurate and some people might have other opinion abt this comparision. RS250 is generally more powerful than 125 and thus, the fuel consumption is relatively much higher and u will be surprised to have 9km/litre when u travel at NSW at higher speeds. RS125 is better at handling than any other bike in general.... I still miss the easy handling of my belated 125. If you are thinking of using Aprilia as a transport bike, .... good luck to you. If just for evening rides or weekend bike, it will be a good choice.

Thank you it seem like the maintain of 250 is cheaper but the partol can vs wif class 2 liao, I plan to use as transport bike everyday and weekend sometime go play. I heard ah pek tok abt valve. Did RS125 valve very easy to spoilt compare wif RS250 and engine seem like RS 250 is easier to spoilt than RS125.

I got a wave and wish to change either 1, pls the expert give me more advice as i dun wan buy then regret and change another 1

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

call me if got anything on tonight..

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

Originally posted by Sub Zero@March 22, 2007 06:04 pm

You shld... If you can keep up la.. hahaha

Thank god for editing your signature!!! I sick of seeing your smiling face eh!

My face very ugly meh? :spam:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9692/img9124zb3.jpghttp://img259.imageshack.us/img259/8310/alanhv3.png

Aprilia Riders Club Singapore (ARC)

a place where all aprilians gathers and have fun together!

Kopi Session

Time: 9.30pm

Organiser: Sub-Zero

"...enjin motor ni takkan mati selagi aku tak mati sekali." - Remp-It

Translation - "...this bike engine will not die unless i die along with it."

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/8594/aprilialife.jpg

Originally posted by Zack De Mongrel@March 22, 2007 07:11 pm

Kopi Session

KNN... Add names la...

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Kopi Session

1)Sub Zero

2)Alanhim

3)Zack

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by Sub Zero@March 22, 2007 07:25 pm

KNN... Add names la...

hahaha sorry dude :sweat:

Kopi Session

1)Sub Zero

2)Alanhim

3)Zack

Originally posted by BikerItalia@March 22, 2007 07:54 pm

Anyone Gotta Spare Valve And 39/40Mm Carb?

Pls PM Me.. Thanks

I have spare valve..

I will sell it for $170.. How?? :sweat:

Hi guys, anyone know whether i can change jus the mirror in our side mirror ? and also to weld back the small extension on our side stand ? My bike was drop by some idiot and my mirror was broken and also the extension on my side stand was broken. The person did not even leave a note. There are a few more deep scratch on my bike. Haiz. If anyone know can tell me roughly how much is the repair cost ? Sob sob... My poor bike...

WR200 Dec 06 - Feb 07

RS125 Mar 07 - Mar 08

CBR400 Dec 07 - Apr 08

RS250 Jul 08 - Nov 08

DRZ400SM Dec 08 - Jan 10

HUSKY510SMR Jan 10 - Mar 10

BMW now........

Originally posted by LoVELyRaCer@March 22, 2007 06:12 pm

Thank you it seem like the maintain of 250 is cheaper but the partol can vs wif class 2 liao, I plan to use as transport bike everyday and weekend sometime go play. I heard ah pek tok abt valve. Did RS125 valve very easy to spoilt compare wif RS250 and engine seem like RS 250 is easier to spoilt than RS125.

I got a wave and wish to change either 1, pls the expert give me more advice as i dun wan buy then regret and change another 1

U seem not to understand.... RS250 is a very low maintenance bike and the parts dont get spoilt most of the time.... well, maybe u didnt understand my post.... but it is ok... the choice is up to you.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

Originally posted by Sub Zero@March 22, 2007 10:53 am

INteresting bro...

is it easy to get used to the 4 stroke braking and cornering?? I'm very worried abt tat part man.. like i'm so used to down shifting and full blasting thru corners with my Aprilia.. i dont think i can do with my RVF liao..

hmm... i think it should be okay one lar, dun worry, just jagah that right hand, jagah the throttle, can leowz. Progressively adjust your style to bike power delivery, should be can onez. But must be patient lar hahaz, must sort out what gears to use, at which rpm during the turn when it feel just nice and not too abrupt and not too bogging down, and also the timing to initiate the lean into the turn i think, i got this bad habit i took frm last time riding the 125 is that i initiate the lean quite late, seem to work well that time coz it very light but now it seem to sometimes go quite wide sial, can kena heart attack, use different gear enter also liddat, can see the inner rumble strips like getting too far away leowz, lost leowz hahaZ. I wanted to ask spiderman about this that time but he seemed like very sian like that so i din ask too much haHaz.

Nemind lar, next track day or what i will practice more on this againZ. I feel so terrible mi so lousy.. sad sad...

Originally posted by dannis@March 22, 2007 12:09 am

Remember liao mah? hahahhaaaaa... my dreams inside can take photo meh?

wah you arh, i oni poke you two time oni u realli ki siao until like that hahaha. until use photo of alan as evidence...you damn hornee fella arh.. or is it my finger horny? hmMmm... but alan quite photogenic hor? can be feature as one of da most eligible bachelor leowz... or mebbi mens health magazine...aHemZ..

good night everybody ..

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/6591/dsc01134ix7.jpg

28 may 2007 - Class 2B

24 june 2008 - Class 2A

09 july 2008 - Class 3

11 aug 2007 - Honda NSR150SP - FT345*P

14 july 2008 - Honda RVF400 - FR*99U

31 july 2008 - Honda FIT 1.3 - SJH2*2*C

Originally posted by junda15@March 23, 2007 01:42 am

good night everybody ..

Good morning!!

Originally posted by andiorama@March 23, 2007 02:38 am

hi, can anybd help me here? wers the best deal for rs125? i mean at bikeshops...

Let me be frank. A good deal for Aprilia is a myth.. it's the stuff of legends..

Most Aprilia in bikeshops are in lousy condition.. Those that are in passable condition are overpriced..

What's your budget? How much cash you have on hand?? let me know, maybe we can work things out..

for those who are coming on Sun 25th march for DIY Session, plz dun forget to gimme a call IF you're coming. . . . .

later on at nite y not we all have a little gathering at Seletar Dam???

Waddya say Vik? :thumb:

Hi guys, anyone know whether i can change jus the mirror in our side mirror ? and also to weld back the small extension on our side stand ? My bike was drop by some idiot and my mirror was broken and also the extension on my side stand was broken. The person did not even leave a note. There are a few more deep scratch on my bike. Haiz. If anyone know can tell me roughly how much is the repair cost ? Sob sob... My poor bike...

can anyone help mi with the above ? i will be going down to first motor later.

Anyway Zack call you on the day itself ? what time is the gathering tonite ? izit on ?

WR200 Dec 06 - Feb 07

RS125 Mar 07 - Mar 08

CBR400 Dec 07 - Apr 08

RS250 Jul 08 - Nov 08

DRZ400SM Dec 08 - Jan 10

BMW now........

Originally posted by d3rRiCk@March 22, 2007 10:09 pm

Don't think you can just change the mirror inside. You have to change the whole side mirror. Should be less than $30 if I remember correctly. Check with ideal. As for welding back the small extension on our side stand, you can check with ah Seng later. First motor got do welding. Welding back shouldn't be very ex. Less than a $100 should able to settle both. :goodluck:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9692/img9124zb3.jpghttp://img259.imageshack.us/img259/8310/alanhv3.png

Thanks alot for your help. I called FM they say the side mirror cost $90 !!! Hope they have 2nd hand one. Does LAB sell the side mirror ? I will check with Ideal.

WR200 Dec 06 - Feb 07

RS125 Mar 07 - Mar 08

CBR400 Dec 07 - Apr 08

RS250 Jul 08 - Nov 08

DRZ400SM Dec 08 - Jan 10

BMW now........

Originally posted by d3rRiCk@March 23, 2007 03:34 pm

Thanks alot for your help. I called FM they say the side mirror cost $90 !!! Hope they have 2nd hand one. Does LAB sell the side mirror ? I will check with Ideal.

$90 that's a killing. The mirror definitely does not cost so much. Try to check around first. Not sure if LAB have but even if they have it will not be original one. But it's up to you.

That is what i was quoted from FM. I was shock to hear that it is so ex also. Anyway can tell me where Ideal is ? Is it behind FM ? Heard of it but had never been there.

WR200 Dec 06 - Feb 07

RS125 Mar 07 - Mar 08

CBR400 Dec 07 - Apr 08

RS250 Jul 08 - Nov 08

DRZ400SM Dec 08 - Jan 10

BMW now........