Originally posted by Sub Zero@Jul 2 2005, 03:06 PM

hi guys!

Can anyone help to explain a CDI and what kind of restrictions it imposes? And how is it possible to tamper wit the odometer? I thought those things cant be tinked with?

And wat the implications of a bigger carb? I remember Law told me that no point put bigger/smaller carb on my bike coz the milo kong will make watever setting useless or sumthing like that..

CDI - capacitor discharge ignition - this is the unit housed under the pillion seat that electronically regulates your ignition system. Different areas of the rev range need the ignition needs to be either advanced (late spark) or retarded (early spark) to produce max power. These changing ignition requirements are mapped into a "curve", which is stored inside your CDI. If your CDI is missing or damaged, your bike won't work.

Common wisdom has it that recent RS125 generations (Y2K onwards, I believe, I can't remember) have a restriction built into the CDI, altering the ignition in the 5k-6k rpm range. This supposedly causes a flat spot in that range, right before the before the beginning of a strong powerband roughly at 7k-onwards.

But I don't buy it, and have a different theory. Ask me face to face, cuz I've posted it in detail before and no one seemed interested in discussing it.

As for bigger carbs - when tuned right, they potentially give you more power. To make the most of it though, as Law said, you'd need an unrestricted exhaust, etc. Bear in mind that when it comes to bikes, bigger isn't necessarily better.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by spiderman@Jul 2 2005, 05:02 PM

hi there, as far as i know... advance is earier spark while retard is later.... And i saw from the books once that cdi stands for controlled dynamic ignition.... :smile:

Heheh, yup, you're right, type so much blur liao, advance is to spark early, while retard is to spark late, thanks for pointing out the error bro! :thumb: But it only makes sense for CDI to stand for Capacitor Discharge since it work by a charge being stored in a capacitor, and then discharging to power the spark :confused: Though I guess it doesn't really matter what it stands for as long as we understand how it operates.

Originally posted by spiderman@Jul 2 2005, 06:15 PM

well ya.... just curious only lah....

so wat mods did u do to yr bike?

Only legal tweaks, and all mention about stuff that may potentially not pass regulations is only for the sake of discussion and sharing knowledge :D

How much does a 2nd hand valve motor and the valve cost?:help:

As for the prices of 2nd hand RS125, it really depends. These are the transacted prices i know for during late2004/early 2005.

(all Y2K)

FT - 3.2k

FT - 3.8k

FT - 2.6k

FS - 1.6k to bike shop, bike shop sold at 2.5k

FS - 1.5k

See, from the price, really cant say whether anyone of those new owners kenna chop. After all, it takes two hands to clap. If you think its ex, then dun buy. When I buy mine, i consider the price to be high. But I know that the condition is good. And the only thing that broke is the clutch cable. So, I am rather satisfied and dun regret paying a bit more. I rather pay a bit more for good bikes than to pay cheaper, but always visit workshop.

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

And wat the implications of a bigger carb? I remember Law told me that no point put bigger/smaller carb on my bike coz the milo kong will make watever setting useless or sumthing like that..

It's true, no point putting a bigger carb if you are using mk exhaust, more petrol/air goes into the carb but the output through your exhaust is the same as

it's restricted.

a point to take note is, everytime u stick in a new jet, make sure u use a new spark plug, coz a worn spark plug can give fake lean/rich indications. Last but not least, it's always better to be a little richer :D

thanks fibre for the tip about the spark plug,and i agree it's best to tune it to slightly rich to achieve max torque at 11krpm(if i am nto wrong).Another thing, i am always amused when i see the pic of your bird.(avatar i mean!)

To Spiderman: Hey spidey, how much you selling y2k side fairings for?(both sides), PM me, thanks.

Always be prepared.

Wah lao, I just had the most awful time tracking down what I hope is the latest ARC member's list from way back on page 240-something :giddy: A few months ago, Jude (Divine^ponytailz) suggested that we post the latest list on each page, and although we kept that up for a while, we trailed off. Shall we revive the practice?

Alex, please feel free to add any other details you'd like. Everyone else, please check the list to make sure it's accurate and I haven't screwed up, thanks!

I'm adding spiderman's details, which he just PMed me:

Aprilia Riders Club (ARC)

Active

amonamarth Benjamin (9782-8437) RS125

Axxis Chris (9125-6095) RS125 Woodlands

berukblue hanif (9477-3946) RS125 Woodlands

Bokers Julian (97441244) RS125 Replica East Coast

CMyRS Andre (9199-2019) RS125 Seletar

Divine^ponytailz Jude (9436-0943) RS250 Serangoon North

eyz Chin Kuan (9239-0400) RS125 Potong Pasir

gonggong (9637-7477) RS125 Tiong Bahru

lacrimosae Lawrence (9863-2724) RS125 Serangoon

lightbolt75 Godfrey (9336-1475) RS125 Y2K Braddell

M@+r!x Andrew (9855-4161) AMK (waiting tp not riding at the moment)

macan_putih Khai (9042-2503) RS125 Boon Lay

maiker Michael (9691-6356) RS250 Jurong

muser Chris (9740-5630) RS125 Tampines

myxilplix Rafeal (91255705) RS250 Marsiling

Roadster Mark (9675-1984) RS250 East Coast

servoprax wan (9822-6237) Former-RS125+RS250 Paris

snowparang Hansen (9479-0437) RS250 Bukit Batok

sPideR Marcus (9757-0644) Former-RS250 Pasir Ris I GOT RS125 ALSO WAD!!!! hmph...

spiderman Alex (9734-8976) RS250

(Sub Zero Viknesh (9182-0340) RS125 AMK (waiting for TP)

_wacko_ Syah (9012-6423) RS250 Boon Lay

warren84 Warren (9150-2864) RS250 Hougang

xiongzzz(9665-4547) RS125 Bishan

xxes123 Edwin (9826-5496) RS125 Yishun

Bluesea01 Henry (9877-5179) Serangoon

Inactive/Unconfirmed status

ACEVIPER107 John (8113-0265)

ahwing bert (9823-4294) Tampines

Bee Patrick (9852-0111) Ubi

bktan Bernard (9877-0874) Tuono125 (Present or former owner???) Lentor

cheng_xi07 (9021-0871) RS125 Novena (bike scrapped)

cruz cruz (9482-6421) Johore

CykeArtemis Andre (9852-5524) East Coast (Near Bedok)

daojeff Steve (9383-5822) Yishun

Den Dennis (9877-4776) RS250 Tampines

Edward1029 Edward (9800-5460) Bukit Batok

efferverscence dave (9008-8848) upper serangoon

em7 Emmett (9389-1111) Bukit Merah

Emperor Knights Mike (9767-7979) Bedok Reservoir

fibre Alex (9199-8979) RS125 Sengkang

fire_ufo kioki (9049-8583) Bishan

FuBby Kelvin (9847-2564) Pasir Ris

Greydium Kelvin (8113-3423) Former-RS125 Sengkang

gta James (9835-0577) Yishun

Gucci Briane (9688-5743) Former-RS125 Bedok

Hon Ryan (9686-9694) Punggol

hunt (9767-3284) Clementi

HUNTER Richard (8111-4463)

jasper (9431-5715) AMK

jimmy25 aka rvf7972 Kumar (9693-7264) Pasir Ris

kink galen (9046-9601) RS125 Holland Rd

kokakola eugene (9363-1448) West Coast

LostRose Haidar (9799-0070) Tampines

messiah Darren (9649-4321) Upper Bukit Timah

Navigator ZongHan (9007-1837) CCK...soon 2 be Serangoon

nicky Edmund (9369-7922) Queenstown

Onikage Hazam (9004-6162) Bukit Panjang

rogie Roger (9169-4411) Serangoon

ROTHMANS Derrick (9450-5124) Woodlands

sadistic Jason (9675-5040) Former-RS125 Bedok North

SafetyCar aka Guan (9848-8259) RS125 West Coast

siewsphone Wen Xiu (9482-6078) Potong Pasir

Supertzm Jerra (9737-3969) Jurong East

wqlin84 Weiquan (9698-5712) Hillview

Xiung Rudy (9125-0725) CCK

zaid Thaurinzil (9695-3344) Extrema Tampines

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Jun 28 2005, 06:16 PM

Very funny meh? Not funny at all! :mad:

Marcus 1 - Jude 0

You wait, you wait...

geeZ... tHat must haVe beeN aN aCCideNtaL goaL....

opps... i aPoLogiSe foR sCoRinG...:giddy:

Originally posted by muser@Jul 2 2005, 02:40 PM

Alex, isn't it Extrema that has 34mm carb, not Replica? Law's, fspider's, etc, Replicas all had 28mm carbs.

Benguin, Alex is right, be careful that the mileage on the odometer hasn't been tampered with.

As for CDI restrictions, that's a long story.

miNe waS a y2k...

wiTh 34....:faint:

Anyone interested in meeting for Kopi? Sorry for such late notice.. Meet me at YCK Mrt station and i'll show you the way to a near by coffeshop.. Meet me at 11.20..

So far, it's jus me, Andrew and Jianhan.. All are welcome..

Anything call me or sms me at 91820340...

Viknesh

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by muser@Jul 2 2005, 10:19 AM

I'm so glad Saturday's my day off, I'm really tired, but at least now got chance to sit down and post at leisure.

The most significant discovery I've made lately is that the Replicas and Y2K versions of the Aprilia RS125 have different recommended carburetor jetting settings.

The recommended base main jet settings for Replicas is 145, but for Y2Ks it's 125. This would explain a lot of confusion when those who ride Replicas (eyz, xxees123, Law) share their jet settings with Y2K owners, and when those who change their carbs don't check the jettings before installation.

After switching from 145 to 125 for my carb's main get, my Y2K no longer has any noticeable flat spots (a smooth and progressive powerband all the way from 3k to 11k rpm), and has never run better.

Naturally, I'm not resposible for whatever you do with this info - use at your own risk.

hey chris, ya bike shud not and will not have a flat spot..

if ya using a racing cdi...

kelvin aka gonggong had told me how the bike feel when he was on it as he'd tested the bike before...

a 120+ jetting only works with a 28mm carb... ya can't use such a small jet for

a 34mm carb.. and if the 120+ works well for ya bike...

that means the carb is not right...

and yes, only the extrema has a 34mm carb.. the rest 28mm...

but mayb the earlier replcia version which are using the rotax 123 engine (1000cc), it might be using a 34mm carb as wel...

i believe chin kiang, the guy who sold ya bike shud be using a 34mm carb, racing cdi and etc... cos he's really a rich dude and got the spending power to do all those mods..

wat worries me is that all these stuffs are not there anymore..

mayb shud take a good look at ya stuffs... sorry

i ain't trying to scare ya...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg
Originally posted by muser@Jul 2 2005, 02:40 PM

Alex, isn't it Extrema that has 34mm carb, not Replica? Law's, fspider's, etc, Replicas all had 28mm carbs.

the last replicas (98) use the rotax 123 which comes with the 28mm carb n the cdi restriction

hope this information is useful to potential rs125 buyers

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

anyone ard?

muser said he's very lonely at home and he wants to zoom ard with his new bike setting...

hence asking for a kopi session...

anyone interested?? hahaha

i'm putting words into muser's mouth like i put into gonggong's mouth

Wah wah wah, heheh, didn't know my few posts caused so much activity that eyz just called me! :sweat: Ok, I'm going to bend our rule about discussing mods on this board a bit since so many people are curious at the same time. As I just told eyz:

I don't think my so-called race CDI is what Tang made it out to be. The short story is that he paid Ah Boon for what was supposedly a race CDI, but never checked, nor did he watch Ah Boon install it. It's also the only thing I didn't check before buying the bike because I didn't feel like taking out the single-seater.

Well, turns out it's what appears to be a stock CDI (black box, stock serial numbers and Jap brand) with a broken-bridge (the so-called DIY derestriction method) and sealed back with pink silicone. It does appear to be doing its job though.

Flat spots: I had a slight flat spot between about 5.5k to 6.8k up until a few days ago. Galen (kink), who owns an '03 RS125, has a flat spot in the same part of the rev range, except that his is worse, because his bike is stock. Flat spots can be caused by more things than CDI restrictions, and it's quite obvious to me now that carburetion was causing my flat spot. May the flat spot rest in peace :cheeky:

And as for the carb. The numbers etched into the side of the carb clearly say it's a 34mm, and William at Racewerkz is certain that Y2Ks require smaller jets, even for 34mm carbs, than previous generations. Most importantly, the results speak for themselves - guys, my bike's really never felt this good lah. It's not jetted for high-end, but it has a wonderfully wide powerband. I sat there the entire time, saw William take out the carb, show me the 145 main jet and return it to me, put in the 125 jet, and install everything back.

Yup, William at Racewerkz did my bike, not Lawrence, as some assumed, heheh. I heard good things from Ben so decided there was no harm trying him out, just to satisfy my curiosity.

Ok, I hope that clears things up :bounce: I'd better get going so I can meet eyz on time at YCK MRT station, heheh *run*

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Jul 2 2005, 10:30 PM

Anyone interested in meeting for Kopi? Sorry for such late notice.. Meet me at YCK Mrt station and i'll show you the way to a near by coffeshop.. Meet me at 11.20..

So far, it's jus me, Andrew and Jianhan.. All are welcome..

Anything call me or sms me at 91820340...

Viknesh

fibre, muser and myself are going down to meet Sub Zero, cos ya know...

muser is really bored... so we'll be companying him tonight!~

if anyone wanna join us, pls call 91820340 (Viknesh) or myself @ 92390400

Originally posted by muser@Jul 3 2005, 12:34 AM

I sat there the entire time, saw William take out the carb, show me the 145 main jet and return it to me, put in the 125 jet, and install everything back.

wah from 145 change to 125 main? the jump of 20 is a lot for a 125cc.... yr jet size goes in the increment of 3 right? Think u better check the colour of yr plug to see if its too lean

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Aprilia Riders Club (ARC)

Active

amonamarth Benjamin (9782-8437) RS125

Axxis Chris (9125-6095) RS125 Woodlands

berukblue hanif (9477-3946) RS125 Woodlands

Bokers Julian (97441244) RS125 Replica East Coast

CMyRS Andre (9199-2019) RS125 Seletar

Divine^ponytailz Jude (9436-0943) RS250 Serangoon North

eyz Chin Kuan (9239-0400) RS125 Potong Pasir

gonggong (9637-7477) RS125 Tiong Bahru

lacrimosae Lawrence (9863-2724) RS125 Serangoon

lightbolt75 Godfrey (9336-1475) RS125 Y2K Braddell

M@+r!x Andrew (9855-4161) AMK (waiting tp not riding at the moment)

macan_putih Khai (9042-2503) RS125 Boon Lay

maiker Michael (9691-6356) RS250 Jurong

muser Chris (9740-5630) RS125 Tampines

myxilplix Rafeal (91255705) RS250 Marsiling

Roadster Mark (9675-1984) RS250 East Coast

servoprax wan (9822-6237) Former-RS125+RS250 Paris

snowparang Hansen (9479-0437) RS250 Bukit Batok

sPideR Marcus (9757-0644) Former-RS250 Pasir Ris I GOT RS125 ALSO WAD!!!! hmph...

spiderman Alex (9734-8976) RS250

(Sub Zero Viknesh (9182-0340) RS125 AMK (waiting for TP)

_wacko_ Syah (9012-6423) RS250 Boon Lay

warren84 Warren (9150-2864) RS250 Hougang

xiongzzz(9665-4547) RS125 Bishan

xxes123 Edwin (9826-5496) RS125 Yishun

Bluesea01 Henry (9877-5179) Serangoon

Speedkills Samuel (91060925) Yew Tee (waiting for TP) RS125

Inactive/Unconfirmed status

ACEVIPER107 John (8113-0265)

ahwing bert (9823-4294) Tampines

Bee Patrick (9852-0111) Ubi

bktan Bernard (9877-0874) Tuono125 (Present or former owner???) Lentor

cheng_xi07 (9021-0871) RS125 Novena (bike scrapped)

cruz cruz (9482-6421) Johore

CykeArtemis Andre (9852-5524) East Coast (Near Bedok)

daojeff Steve (9383-5822) Yishun

Den Dennis (9877-4776) RS250 Tampines

Edward1029 Edward (9800-5460) Bukit Batok

efferverscence dave (9008-8848) upper serangoon

em7 Emmett (9389-1111) Bukit Merah

Emperor Knights Mike (9767-7979) Bedok Reservoir

fibre Alex (9199-8979) RS125 Sengkang

fire_ufo kioki (9049-8583) Bishan

FuBby Kelvin (9847-2564) Pasir Ris

Greydium Kelvin (8113-3423) Former-RS125 Sengkang

gta James (9835-0577) Yishun

Gucci Briane (9688-5743) Former-RS125 Bedok

Hon Ryan (9686-9694) Punggol

hunt (9767-3284) Clementi

HUNTER Richard (8111-4463)

jasper (9431-5715) AMK

jimmy25 aka rvf7972 Kumar (9693-7264) Pasir Ris

kink galen (9046-9601) RS125 Holland Rd

kokakola eugene (9363-1448) West Coast

LostRose Haidar (9799-0070) Tampines

messiah Darren (9649-4321) Upper Bukit Timah

Navigator ZongHan (9007-1837) CCK...soon 2 be Serangoon

nicky Edmund (9369-7922) Queenstown

Onikage Hazam (9004-6162) Bukit Panjang

rogie Roger (9169-4411) Serangoon

ROTHMANS Derrick (9450-5124) Woodlands

sadistic Jason (9675-5040) Former-RS125 Bedok North

SafetyCar aka Guan (9848-8259) RS125 West Coast

siewsphone Wen Xiu (9482-6078) Potong Pasir

Supertzm Jerra (9737-3969) Jurong East

wqlin84 Weiquan (9698-5712) Hillview

Xiung Rudy (9125-0725) CCK

zaid Thaurinzil (9695-3344) Extrema Tampines

wa...i jus came back from yishun after a show! wasted didnt read thread earlier on..if not would join ya guys....next time :thumb:

Originally posted by speedkills@Jul 3 2005, 01:08 AM

wa...i jus came back from yishun after a show! wasted didnt read thread earlier on..if not would join ya guys....next time :thumb:

You could have just given us a ring.. We stayed pretty late.. in fact, I just got home.. Dont worry bro, there'll be more of all this Kopi sessions.. We'll have another gathering soon.. After you pass your TP, you organise outing and treat us lor.. Sure everyone come down! :smile:

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Thanks to everyone who made it for the impromptu gathering just now, I really had a great time! It's like we took a discussion on the thread (jetting and all), and brought to the coffee shop - very cool :thumb:

Originally posted by spiderman+-->
QUOTE (spiderman)
wah from 145 change to 125 main? the jump of 20 is a lot for a 125cc.... yr jet size goes in the increment of 3 right? Think u better check the colour of yr plug to see if its too lean[/b]

Thanks for the suggestion Alex, but not to worry, cuz my previous jetting was so rich that my plugs were fouled every month, not just black. I think the 145 jetting was a plain inappropriate mistake for my generation of RS125 (Y2K). Now, starting from this new appropriate jetting, I'll move in small increments if the need arises. My current setting is obviously slightly on the rich side - apparent both from the sound of the engine/exhaust, and the generous spread of torque, especially in the low-mid rev range. Whether or not it turns out to be still too rich remains to be seen in the coming weeks as I stock up on fresh spark plugs and maybe take my bike to the track.

UPDATED.. PLS CALL ME OR SMS ME IF YOU COMING!!! CHECK ANY ONLINE STREET DIRECTORY FOR MY HOUSE LOCATION, IT'S NEAR YCK MRT.. SORRY, I'M TOO TIRED TO PASTE A PIC OF THE MAP!!

Just an update abt the DIY this sunday...

1stly, it will NOT be held at NTrust.. there will be a change of venue as it will not be available for the DIY.. Instead it will be held at my place(or rather an area near my place) at the same timing.. those who interested pls add your names by Sat nite so i can have a rough idea of how many ppl will be coming.. The plan is to pick up watever oils or stuff you need at Ntrust and go over to my place to start on your washing/servicing of bikes..

I'm staying in landed property and there's a small park jus 3 houses down fm my house tat will be perfect for doing your maintance.. Water can get from my house as long as you dont use a ton(I'll be paying my dad money to use water lor). Lawrence will be dropping by to supervise and help out although he cant stay thru the whole duration so hopefully sone of the regulars can be around the whole period.. Add your names below.. Thanks..

New Venue:90 Yio Chu kang Gardens S568137

Along Yio chu kang road close to joining Thomson road there.. Just after Castle Green condos and after AMK Community hospital..

Time:10am to 2pm

1. Sub Zero

2. Matrix

3. Visor

4. benquin

5. Jianhanz

Viknesh