how about this:

full time student, non-riding pillon: $15, must show proof of full time status.

others: $20

based on $70 per night for accomodation, and about 20-30 people, about $500 should be enough to cover if you are not having alcoholic substances. not top quality food either, but should be just nice.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by eyz@Mar 29 2006, 02:35 PM

bungalow?

i once went to a bungalow at changi yacht club or some other places..

tat unit was facing the seat.. and it's 3 storey high with more than 4 rooms.. geez..

i suggest.. jus a normal bbq will do.. or a small chalet.. no need to get a big 1.. unless ya got a confirm no. of people stay thru the period..

hey but actually, bungalow for the price of a small chalet... why not? :p

jus the donation part abit dumb la.. not that i discourage it..but i feel since we know we will have excess money, why dun we plan for a lower budget? this is jus the principle of stewardship.

anyway, i personally feel $30 is fine with me. jus that we could do with a better planned budget. i can donate to charity anytime i wan to on my own, need not give our loose change to them .

samuel, what say you? since you ever got good cheap food before?

on the other hand, dannis, you have caterer relatives?

i think giving balance to charity seems quite funny - not as if we are so rich, so we should not aim to give the balance to charity or something. As in, we should aim NOT to have balance, but of course, no deficit too.

Not as if I very uncharitable ah, but i think it is like we think too highly of ourselves if we think we can have enough balance to give to charity.

JUNE A.R.C. BBQ!!!

Date: TBC

Time: TBC

Venue: Somewhere in LOYANG

people sleeping over

1) benguin46 - 96988499

2) wacko - 93481465

3) dannis - 90214262

people not sleeping over

1) eyz

2) muser

3) mike1024

4) subzero

5) jazzyme

6) lazychoo

7) taiji

n there's bound to be more.. so lets fill up this list first.. once confirmed den we can confirm each person come out how much money.. those ppl under the "not sleeping over" section, if ur sleeping over.. pl shift yer name over to "sleeping over" section.. thanks.. :smile:

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/4760/presentation1re8.jpg

I still think S$30 for us, $15 for non-riding pilions, S$15 for NS personnal, S$15 for Students......... is just fine.

I delete all my post regarding this bbq liao....

Anyone who have confidence that $$ collected will be adequate pls go ahead to plan n organise this outing. If it is not enough, pls bear the remaining amount.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

Originally posted by Benguin46@Mar 29 2006, 03:06 PM

wah loa.. go la.. mascot leh.. haha

go is will go la.. but staying over or not depends lor

depends on who's staying over or depends on whether my alcohol itch is bugging me or not

Originally posted by mike1024@Mar 29 2006, 02:53 PM

samuel, what say you? since you ever got good cheap food before?

on the other hand, dannis, you have caterer relatives?

i think giving balance to charity seems quite funny - not as if we are so rich, so we should not aim to give the balance to charity or something. As in, we should aim NOT to have balance, but of course, no deficit too.

Not as if I very uncharitable ah, but i think it is like we think too highly of ourselves if we think we can have enough balance to give to charity.

wad i meant was...even if eat good food, no need that kind of money. :cheer:

becos we are buying in bulk...which copmpany dun wan to give us good price... if need me ask caterer..i can get good and cheap ones too!

but save the hassle la.. let dannis do the job..

i thought my plans n cater contacts are doubted. PLs samuel, organise this event n arrange all the things since u have the cheap cheap contacts.

My contact is able to cook properly but charge me the price of raw materials n a bit labour onli. The idea to collect enough is to have to consider having enough food n things to BBQ n to really enjoy the event. There will/might have some excess cash left-over afterwards n to donate it to charity doesnt mean just donate a dollar or 2 to them. Some of us will sure take out somemore n pass it to charity organization the very next day in the name of the club/Aprilia Riders.

U collect S$20 each then lets say if 20 persons turn up. 20x20=400 then whos gona cover the rest of the expenses. Have u thought of the drinks to supply 20-40 ppl from say 3pm-3am ??? How much will that cost?

Some of us prefer quality things, some prefer cheap cheap.... I prefer reasonable price but good quality.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

Originally posted by dannis@Mar 29 2006, 03:18 PM

i thought my plans n cater contacts are doubted. PLs samuel, organise this event n arrange all the things since u have the cheap cheap contacts.

My contact is able to cook properly but charge me the price of raw materials n a bit labour onli.

i am not doubting your plans and contacts...

i jus find your idea for charity is silly.. and amount spend sounds unwise.

raining heavily guys ride safetly!

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c273/JieLiang3284/20082008_010.jpg

To some they are neither here nor there, Some how we are still some where. One day we will eventually get there - JL 060608.

i think $30 is fine. but like samuel, i think giving to charity is not necessary la.

for $30, i'm sure we'll get very good food. And i am not doubting anyone. Just that we maybe should leave the giving to charity bit till after we have excess.

I'm sure if you post that there is intention to donate to a charity, there are going to be some who will say things like they need the charity more etc.

Maybe when we're big time, and holding D&D style gatherings at the Ritz Carlton, then we can consider giving to charity (hiaks: lucky draw, grand prize of and RSV for the 'poor' aprilians who cannot afford it :cheeky: )

I respect your intentions though. :thumb:

and I respect your initiative for doing this :cheer:

maybe also it's a bit like the enforced donation to charity - most don't mind it, but a lot of people do, and i for one think charity should be voluntary.

dannis, don't be so quick tempered la. :cheeky:

U have ur points mike... noted. I was thinking how to finish the remaining amount if there is excess.... say if 40ppl turn up.....

cost likely to be like this :

1) bunglow - 70

2) drinks - say 40ppl about 2/3cans each= 8-9 cartons

3) food - say $5/person x say 40=$200

4) satay - ??

5) other bbq necessitity things like charcoal, mesh, tamah....etc

6) n there r a lot more on the list.....

what if onli 30 turn up???? how to budjet like that???

Originally posted by dannis@Mar 29 2006, 03:52 PM

U have ur points mike... noted. I was thinking how to finish the remaining amount if there is excess.... say if 40ppl turn up.....

cost likely to be like this :

1) bunglow - 70

2) drinks - say 40ppl about 2/3cans each= 8-9 cartons

3) food - say $5/person x say 40=$200

4) satay - ??

5) other bbq necessitity things like charcoal, mesh, tamah....etc

6) n there r a lot more on the list.....

what if onli 30 turn up???? how to budjet like that???

let me give u a breakdown...

drinks - $12.90/carton... 10 x 12.90 = 129

bungalow - $70

food - $200

satay - $0.20 x 300 = $60

what nots - charcoal-3x$5.90 = $17

mesh - 2x 5 = 10

tongs- 3x $2.90 = 10

plates/tissue/utensils = $20

whatever not on the list - $50

i think u add urself.. wouldnt even hit $600.

Samuel, I opt for u to organise this BBQ event....

So if onli 600 then we assume 30 ppl going then each pay about 20 each lor... tomorrow I pass u my share. The remaining if not enough how? U pay first can?

wah lau i doubt ill be goin.. wait till i settle my stupid exhaust fine 1st zzzz

Character is doing the right thing when no one is watching..

2005 - 2005 Aprilia RS125 FR6755A

2005 - 2006 Honda Wave S FW5450J

2006 - 2007 Honda CBR 400 RR FQ6676A

2007 - 2008 Suzuki GSX-R600 K5 FZ414G

2008 - 200? Yamaha YZF R1 A* 86 *

2008 - 2009 Honda CB400 Vtec 1 FR8377U

2009 - 2009 Honda Wave S FX4974R

I think we have this BBQ talk hold back for a few days till Sunday when all of us meet-up then we draw up the outline n plans altogether. We shall discuss who should organise, who should be the treasurer, who should be paying just in case the expenditure is over budjet. If I organise n plan, expenditure will be slightly higher but if Samuel organise n plan, everyone will need to pay a bit lower. I go for quality more so I shouldnt do all the planning.

Andrew, surely $30 is affordable by u.... hope u will go for the BBq if it ever happens.

mai la.. dun arrow me.. i will be busy. dun even know if confirm can go for bbq anot.

the amount i quoted is taken from the last time i bought things for my bday. if price hike, dun blame me. :cheer:

Originally posted by dannis@Mar 29 2006, 04:47 PM

I think we have this BBQ talk hold back for a few days till Sunday when all of us meet-up then we draw up the outline n plans altogether. We shall discuss who should organise, who should be the treasurer, who should be paying just in case the expenditure is over budjet. If I organise n plan, expenditure will be slightly higher but if Samuel organise n plan, everyone will need to pay a bit lower. I go for quality more so I shouldnt do all the planning.

Andrew, surely $30 is affordable by u.... hope u will go for the BBq if it ever happens.

alamak.. 30 is not affordable when u haf nil in ur bank accnt, 20 in ur wallet, outstanding exhaust, mudguard and pavement parking fines.. wait till the dae gets closer den i will see if i can afford it anot

Character is doing the right thing when no one is watching..

2005 - 2005 Aprilia RS125 FR6755A

2005 - 2006 Honda Wave S FW5450J

2006 - 2007 Honda CBR 400 RR FQ6676A

2007 - 2008 Suzuki GSX-R600 K5 FZ414G

2008 - 200? Yamaha YZF R1 A* 86 *

2008 - 2009 Honda CB400 Vtec 1 FR8377U

2009 - 2009 Honda Wave S FX4974R

Originally posted by M@+r!X@Mar 29 2006, 05:11 PM

alamak.. 30 is not affordable when u haf nil in ur bank accnt, 20 in ur wallet, outstanding exhaust, mudguard and pavement parking fines.. wait till the dae gets closer den i will see if i can afford it anot

woooo....richer than me... now i only got $4 in my wallet.

sigh...today so lazy to work.. :weep:

Originally posted by sanishankin@Mar 28 2006, 09:23 PM

Amacam bro, lame tak dgr khabar.. :smile:

aku fine..as usual.thx..kau? jacket a* still have? i think vik is lookin 4 sumthin like dat.. :smile:

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Originally posted by Jie Liang+-->
QUOTE (Jie Liang)
raining heavily guys ride safetly![/b]

Weather is really quite one kind! Thank goodness I made it to work in one piece.

Originally posted by dannis@

I go for quality more so I shouldnt do all the planning.

Er, ok, the BBQ thing hor - I know Dannis said to wait till next meetup to discuss, so I won't talk too much. I just want to say that regardless of the details, I hope the BBQ goes ahead because it should be fun, and it's something that hasn't been done by Aprilians in years.

Also, regarding charity, I believe Dannis's overall intention was to have the BBQ price as cheap as possible without compromising quality. However, there will always be a little leftover cash, and since we're not legally registered as a society yet, hanging on to extra cash is a liability.

Lastly, I think we should have just one attendance list otherwise things get very messy. Also, regardless of face-to-face discussions, we'll still have to do the attendance list online, so perhaps there's no need to wait to our meetup to get it rolling. Unless people like keeping track of name lists over endless pages of posts, I suggest we keep the name list on the ARC forum. It's a suggestion only hor.