Test ride a FJS400D today. Somehow din feel as easy to ride compared to my 135cc Nouvo. Maybe my 功夫 not good enough?

• Replies 22.2k

I noticed that the engine is cut / cannot start when the side stand is down. Any reasons for such design?

How often do u clean the transmission area? I was told the honda clutch pads tend to chip easily and cause the clutch bell to be scratched, so even after replacing, got to maintain the clutch area regularly. I wonder how long can my clutch assembly last. Until clutch slippage occurs?

25k (after hatyai trip), 35k (after betong trip), 45k (after krabi trip), coincidentally around every 10k.

good to get it cleaned after each dirty ride, dun get the wrong idea hor... whahahahaha :lol:

maybe i'm lucky or no whacking or maybe its becos i kept it clean, still using the pegs that comes from the factory, no scratches on the bell so far (touch wood).

guess we can get it cleaned when pigeons come, or do preventive measures by cleaning it every 10k during servicing; i service my bike every 5k (eo/filter & gear oil) so its easy to monitor :p

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I noticed that the engine is cut / cannot start when the side stand is down. Any reasons for such design?

Safety design inbuilt in almost all the bigger cc bike...

Imagine when i was riding the phantom and the side stand way down when u rode off... 1st corner ... BUANGed >_

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Safety design inbuilt in almost all the bigger cc bike...

Imagine when i was riding the phantom and the side stand way down when u rode off... 1st corner ... BUANGed >_

I think that's why I see SW mostly parked on mainstand so that can start in the morning to warm up the engine. Actually 2A experienced rider should not forget to up the sidestand. Any way to disable this "safety" feature?

Test ride a FJS400D today. Somehow din feel as easy to ride compared to my 135cc Nouvo. Maybe my 功夫 not good enough?

handling a SW has to be different from a nouvo and definitely require more effort and technique...

a) nouvo's curb weight is only some 128kg while SW is near 120kg heavier; its almost impossible for small build asians to manhandle the near ¼ton SW compared to a nouvo or spark

b) nouvo's wheels are 16" while SW's are only 13" (rear) and 14" (front), thus the cornering characteristics are different

c) nouvo's wheel base is 1290 while SW's is a lot longer 1595. commonly said that the longer, the bigger is the turning circle

d) nouvo's 1950x678x1080 LWH size is so much smaller than SW's 2275x770x1430

with such major differences in specs, i'ld be surprise if the handling is about the same as a smallish nouvo, spark, kup, etc. similarly, the SW can't be compared to a goldwing or hayabusa :p

a little homework beforehand will help in developing correct expectations when test riding a bike :thumb:

SW specs from BS http://www.schumansco.com/boonsiew/admin/product/upload/FJS400%20Silverwing.pdf

good luck and happy searching :angel:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Found my SW already! If all goes well, will see me on 14 with SW :)

Date: 14 Jan 2010

Day: Thursday

Time: 7pm~10pm

Place: KKFC

if weather allows and our expert agrees, we'll get someone to demo something simple like:

. air-screw synchronisation

. adjusting idling revs

. changing sparkplugs

too bad cannot do change of eo/filter or coolant... whahahaha :lol:

can I volunteer my bike for the demo please? :pray:

also can run through this "clutch cleaning" / "pigeon sound" thing? Is it something that can / should DIY?

The weight,size,turning radius need time to get used to it...esp the weight when travelling at lower speed. I dont know why with the side stand cut off...some of the bikes also got this thing...maybe scare u didnt kick up the side stand n move off?

I think that's why I see SW mostly parked on mainstand so that can start in the morning to warm up the engine. Actually 2A experienced rider should not forget to up the sidestand. Any way to disable this "safety" feature?

other than for warming up, its also becoz the CVT doesn't have neutral gear. imagine the engine running while on side stand and someone accidentally or intentionally (prank? forget?) rev the throttle... SW will fly and rider will cry :(

experienced is one thing, forget is another... we all make mistakes and will forget something along the way. i've seen a TP riding along CTE with side stand down, do a hard kup on his left and we may see a white superman. there're also many cases where pp ride off without taking out the disc lock on their wheel, u know what follows next lor :p

btw, this safety feature can be disabled... but not recommended

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

also can run through this "clutch cleaning" / "pigeon sound" thing? Is it something that can / should DIY?

Grats..which model n how much u got it?

welcome to the SW club :clap:

allow me to give this same advise to every new SWinger... handle it with tact and not with might. trick is to maintain it within the "upright threshold" when going at slow speed (e.g. making a u turn, negotiating bends when parking, etc) and avoid doing a max turn on handlebar (other than when pushing around) as once handlebar "locks", bike will tilt over. muscling the ¼ton bike back upright on its way down, think most of us will have problem. then the nice paintwork/exhaust kiss tarmac and goodbye liow :faint:

cleaning needs the assemblies to be stripped, DIY? no tools leh.

suggest you go KC and let ah choong get the job done.

check these out

[/url]Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/misc/multipage.gif 1 2)

in particular the last post

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Grats..which model n how much u got it?

Can't bear to part with $17k and the commitments, so no SW-T400 or SW-GT :cry:

Got a

Edited by Uncle

Congrates Uncle.

be it 2nd hand or new.. still a good Scoot!

Pigeon killing DIY method without opening the clutch housing, go 2nd link wack to Bukit indah then come back.. Pigeon sure die

Pigeon killing bikeshop method.. pay $$ they open up .. clean all the dirt and put back....

Under the guidance of Mr Scooby ..... Ur bike should be in tiptop condition!!!!

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

I'd like to thank all silverwing bros for being so helpful and giving good advice. The bike will be transferred tomorrow and straight-away will check into KC to do a check / maintenance. Any bros want to meet me there at around 10.30am? The journey to finding my wing has been mind boggling, frustrating and yet rewarding. I had travelled almost whole of SG and visited most motorshops. Majesty? Burgman? x8/xevo-400? JDM SW? Euro SW? New machine price high. No good 2nd hand arounds as pple has no much choice after they sell (sell high, buy high). Bike number not nice. Old bike cannot sell. Motorshop want to chop by forcing to take loans with 8% interests! Glad all these will be over soon (except still need to sell current Nouvo. if anybody needs a good 2B auto, do recommend pls :) ) I supposed the next step is to enjoy the ride and mod!

... straight-away will check into KC to do a check / maintenance.

I supposed the next step is to enjoy the ride and mod!

when there, look for ah choong and tell him you're daniel (bigcow) and joseph (scoobydoo) friend, tell him u just got the bike and wants a full servicing n cleaning, he'll know what to do :p

can see the tech thread for some suggestions on what servicing to do

ya mann, enjoy the ride... wanna join us for touring :angel:

~

Trips:

Initial findings....

Bumboat to Pengerang $9 each (1-way). Return = $18.

Mountain bike rental (via Tristan Park) = $10 per day per bike.

Free transfer between Jetty and Tristan Park.

http://www.tristangroup.com/mtb/mtb.html

Hmm... expect S$28 each for transportation only, excluding FOOD.

So... leg power or wrist power?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

when there, look for ah choong and tell him you're daniel (bigcow) and joseph (scoobydoo) friend, tell him u just got the bike and wants a full servicing n cleaning, he'll know what to do :p

can see the tech thread for some suggestions on what servicing to do

ya mann, enjoy the ride... wanna join us for touring :angel:

Thanks, will do that but can only go in PM as Queen complained need to have bf lunch together.

Will love to go touring but sometimes legs are tied due to family and young kid. Used to go Sepang for F1 every year until kid comes out. Went for durian trip last year and was quite an experience on only drove in MY previously and not ride. Will see if opportunities allow :)

Need to learn from you guys on 14 the easiest way to put and unmount on mainstand. Was afraid it will fall right and thus don't dare to put too much strength but not enough strength can't lift the bike. Somebody should invent a right side sidestand so that it will not fall right just in case.

Juz ro check since SW has HISS, does it mean we cannot use remote start?

Also any decent raincoat and rainboots to recommend, price and where to get? Wear raincoat but still get wet!

A dead battery or lose your key... your bike is in a coma liao.

Remote start? hmm... never crossed my mind.

Rain coat can only take a certain amount of rain. Beyond some point, all raincoats will become wet suit.

Furthermore, most can lasts only a few months or a few times of wearing due to wear and tear (constant folding & rubbing).

If no need to look handsome in the rain, a cheap $25 type will do. Replace after half a year.

My $60 raincoat also couldn't make it after 4 months.

But my $120 RS Taichi Drymaster is still ok after 2 years... becos each year only use about 4 times for longer trips.

A dead battery or lose your key... your bike is in a coma liao.

Remote start? hmm... never crossed my mind.

That's why manual says can program up to 4 keys and when left 1 key, better make another or need to change the whole FI-PGM when all 4 keys used up!

But dead battery maybe not as the codes are stored in flash memory :)

Rain coat can only take a certain amount of rain. Beyond some point, all raincoats will become wet suit.

Furthermore, most can lasts only a few months or a few times of wearing due to wear and tear (constant folding & rubbing).

If no need to look handsome in the rain, a cheap $25 type will do. Replace after half a year.

My $60 raincoat also couldn't make it after 4 months.

But my $120 RS Taichi Drymaster is still ok after 2 years... becos each year only use about 4 times for longer trips.

I see. Maybe I will buy those waterproofing spray aerosol (those sold in camping equipment to waterproof the tents) and spray my jacket regularly.

This one also for those MIAs and especially the guy who Finished-Exam-But-Still-No-Time-For-Friends.

Date: 14 Jan 2010

Day: Thursday

Time: 7pm~10pm

Place: KKFC

apart from the http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Animals/animals-32.gif and TCSS, its also a good time to see what enhancements others put into the already very smooth SW :shades:

also hope to see the new SWT400 or GT there :pray:

if weather allows and our expert (who ahh?) agrees, we'll get someone to demo something simple like:

. air-screw synchronisation

. adjusting idling revs

. changing sparkplugs

too bad cannot do change of eo/filter or coolant... whahahaha :lol:

no need to post attendance, just be there :thumb:

I see. Maybe I will buy those waterproofing spray aerosol (those sold in camping equipment to waterproof the tents) and spray my jacket regularly.

I saw these spray at Giant a few days back (at camping stuff section), abt $18++ I think.