• Replies 22.2k

wonder if anyone mod their compartment... convert a section into fuel tank? :cheeky:

good idea but seems tough as it's higher than the fuel tank cap. can try to increase the original fuel tank but read before that the current fuel tank shape is already "optimised" for the frame / fairings.

but if it's for your refilling trip, easier to just put petrol containers in the underseat, or better still, customise a tank to the shape of the compartment. Imagine 50litres of fuel to last you 4 refills!!!

Edited by Uncle
Hi all I had this prob. There is some whistling sound comng from my rear wheel area when I move off. Any idea wat happen? It will only happen at stationary position or when I squeezing through jam when throttling is require at very low speed. During normal or moving rides no sound when I throttle.

suggest u go have the transmission system (variators A & B inner/outer, belt rollers, etc) checked by mech, and hope its not gear shaft problem coz it takes more time n $$ to repair that.

my ride had garak garak sound coming from rear part of transmission when idling at stationary, no sound at higher revols. changed bearings n shaft then ok liow.

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I change everythin already, belt, roller, clips, clutch bearing. Only left with the clutch pad and bell not change. Went to ah chong and he suggested to punch some holes at the clutch bell and I buy his idea and still have pipi sound at time when moving off.

He suggest to change the whole clutch system. When I did the full servicing he told me my clutch system is still v.good. After he did the change he told must change. Lol! So funny.

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

I change everythin already, belt, roller, clips, clutch bearing. Only left with the clutch pad and bell not change. Went to ah chong and he suggested to punch some holes at the clutch bell and I buy his idea and still have pipi sound at time when moving off.

He suggest to change the whole clutch system. When I did the full servicing he told me my clutch system is still v.good. After he did the change he told must change. Lol! So funny.

Maybe u should get an 2nd opinion before u change anything again, since you were saying the mech is giving your contradicting diagnosis.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

tks. intend to bring the bike to botak sometime soon :thumb:

Thanks ah long. Got the add for botak already. Thanks will give it a try

Edited by *fishermen21*

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

there's no perfect setup for all road conditions, that's why race cars adjust their settings to suit the conditions of the tracks they're racing on to obtain optimal handing which affects performance and also safety.

there's always a trade off... harder dampener/springs provide better handling but trades of the cushioning comfort.

if rear shocks are too hard, the pre-loading (there's a number marked on the lower cap) may be set too high. factory setting is at 3, maybe try lowering it to 2 or 1 by turning the cap, a tool is provided but bare hands will do. important is to make sure both are at same level.

Indeed.. now i feel my ride is more bumpier, but corners very well..

I can't use bare hands to turn the cap. It's too hard to turn even when i use the tool... LOL..

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2004-2004 DUcati Monster 400

2004-2006 Suzuki Gixxer 400

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

2011-current CB400 Vtec 1

By the way, botak better or ah chong?

What are they specialised in?

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2004-2004 DUcati Monster 400

2004-2006 Suzuki Gixxer 400

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

2011-current CB400 Vtec 1

actually your qn cannot be answered on the forum w/o being political.

Let's just look on a broader scale. Because SG does not have car manufacturers or courses on automobile, all SG mechanics got their skills from OJT experiences and mentorship (maybe except some MY mechanics who may have the chance to work for Proton/Lotus). Therefore a lot depends on whether they have solve the same issue for the same / similar bike.

Good to me means can solve the problem effectively, good worksmanship and have the proper tools. A good look around the workshop (cleanliness and tidyness) and a chat with the mechanic can tell a lot about the level of professionalism and passion. Tools are also important as you need the proper tools to do the proper job. A simple thing like torque wrench is missing from many workshops and most go by "feeling". Also things like cannot balance our scooter rear tyre tell a lot about the professionalism.

Of course, we live in a realistic economy and profitability counts a lot. If the shop cannot survive, then what's professionalism and passion. But it also cuts both ways as if you are generally good, then there's trust and repeat business from satisfied customers to make the business grow.

Just my mid-week blues thoughts and nothing defamatory. You have to decide for yourself :cool:

By the way, botak better or ah chong?

What are they specialised in?

both specialise in scooters. i know then for many years le. but botak do lesser big scooters.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

I've help u to clarify with Ah Choong. On surface look, yes, your clutch Still looks very good. but since u seem very concern abt the sound, He said he gave u 2 choice. To mod the clutch bell or change the clutch bell & pads. And since there was no stock for the bell, u agreed to mod. testing & countless stripping of the transmission. The whole process took the whole day at a very cheap cost u know. Any concern pertaining to this, Pls contact me or Ah Choong. We're more than happy to help.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

IMO... there's no point trying to rate the mechs in the forum since its all gonna be based on our past experiences plus personal bias factors such as preferences, character issues, friendship, vested interests, etc. etc. thou shall not go further into the dangerous waters :p

basically, a mech good in many bikes or scooters may not necessary be skillful in servicing/repairing the SW. even if the mech is familiar with SW, it also depends on whether he has encountered or solved the particular problem before.

servicing/repairing a defect is alike visiting a doctor for some illness. the doctor makes judgement/diagnosis based on the symptoms before prescribing the necessary treatment. in some sense, some informed "guessing" is made and we all hope they're right most of the time. unfortunately, we can't deny that there are cases where misadventures occurred... 马有失蹄... just hope it doesn't cost too much :(

even work class car maker toyota also got 失蹄 o_O

about the lack of proper tools and level of service we can expect from the workshops, the concept of trade off applies. consider how much we're willing or going to pay to service our bikes at a top class professional workshop, served by certified specialists in each bike/scooter, supported by state of the art tools and machines, etc. without doubt, most of us wants to keep maintenance costs down, the choice is clear :lol:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

1-Day Mersing & Labis Hot Spring/Waterfall Ride

Date: 28 Feb 2010

Day: Sunday

Time: 0800hrs

Meet: GP Petronas

Objective: Nice Beach, Hot Spring and Waterfall (80% Trunk Roads)

** Bring yr thongs/G-string and toiletries!

Itinerary:

1. 0800hrs - Meet up. * Please have own breakfast before this.

2. 0815hrs - Move Off.

3. 1015hrs - Air Papan Beach, Mersing via route 3 (167km).

4. 1300hrs - Lunch at Labis via route 50, J16 and J150 (182km).

5. 1345hrs - Labis Hot Spring (1 hr)

6. 1500hrs - Labis Waterfall (1.5 hr)

7. 1730hrs - Yong Peng via route 1 (55km)

8. 1830hrs - GP Tian Lai Seafood Dinner or Bukit Indah (104km)?

Anyone can join.

Just meet at GP before moving off time.

SMS me @ 98194170 if late.

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk126/daviz123/LabisTrip28Feb2010.jpg

:mad: :sian: my majesty needs to go yoga and no one to take care the kid :mad: :sian:

:mad: :sian: have to give a miss :mad: :sian:

unfortunately, we can't deny that there are cases where misadventures occurred... 马有失蹄... just hope it doesn't cost too much :(

about the lack of proper tools and level of service we can expect from the workshops, the concept of trade off applies. consider how much we're willing or going to pay to service our bikes at a top class professional workshop, served by certified specialists in each bike/scooter, supported by state of the art tools and machines, etc. without doubt, most of us wants to keep maintenance costs down, the choice is clear :lol:

on motorbike, I think cannot 失蹄 ... else jialat!!!

this year's forecast not very good for me ... so need to be extra careful :pray:

thought u going ah Choong there yesterday?

TEAM RedBull Singapore

why pay to watch F1 seeing the cars zoom by in a matter of split seconds when we can watch live on TV with commentaries and zoom in views, plus a beer in one hand and chips on the other? heh heh... to some, it may be beer n babes instead :lol:

~

Trips:

err...hehe

Is just like watching Porn movie or doing it in the actual event.

You decide.

Some ppl just love the burning rubber and noise.

Me won't pay to see cars go round and round and round... very dizzy.

Some more the route very boring. Cannot overtake de. Win by luck and not skill.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

err...hehe

Is just like watching Porn movie or doing it in the actual event.

You decide.

Better to watch AND do.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

hahaha..true.:cheeky:

I've help u to clarify with Ah Choong. On surface look, yes, your clutch Still looks very good. but since u seem very concern abt the sound, He said he gave u 2 choice. To mod the clutch bell or change the clutch bell & pads. And since there was no stock for the bell, u agreed to mod. testing & countless stripping of the transmission. The whole process took the whole day at a very cheap cost u know. Any concern pertaining to this, Pls contact me or Ah Choong. We're more than happy to help.

Big cow, the problem is solve. I did suggest to ah chong to remove the clutch pad to wash and then fix back. But he told me it's no use. And claim that is my bells problem. So in the end uses his method and the prob occur continuously and I feel uneasy with it. Spend almost half day there.

At first tot he just grind the bell so the clutch still haven't season yet so move out to far side of sg to try but it's still the Same and yesterday did the same thing and sound is still there and getting worst so I post the prob up and fellow forumer recommended me botak so went over there just now and he service the clutch pad and wa la! The prob solve! But of cos each have their style. I better dun comment further if not it will become more complex. Netizens are very sensitive to words. No hard feeling everyone.

Hahah happy rider again! But still doesn't like the feel of swing as compare to my fazer n Honda manual bike. Hmm.. Miss them. Maybe consider getting manaul "toa gu" again.

Testing water on the pricing for swing now.

Big cow, the problem is solve. I did suggest to ah chong to remove the clutch pad to wash and then fix back. But he told me it's no use. And claim that is my bells problem. So in the end uses his method and the prob occur continuously and I feel uneasy with it. Spend almost half day there.

At first tot he just grind the bell so the clutch still haven't season yet so move out to far side of sg to try but it's still the Same and yesterday did the same thing and sound is still there and getting worst so I post the prob up and fellow forumer recommended me botak so went over there just now and he service the clutch pad and wa la! The prob solve! But of cos each have their style. I better dun comment further if not it will become more complex. Netizens are very sensitive to words. No hard feeling everyone.

Hahah happy rider again! But still doesn't like the feel of swing as compare to my fazer n Honda manual bike. Hmm.. Miss them. Maybe consider getting manaul "toa gu" again.

Testing water on the pricing for swing now.

so u saw wat botak added or do to your clutch pads? u didn't solve the problem permanently. its only temporary. i know him very well for many years le.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Better to watch AND do.

u mean like at sri betong... free "football" channel to keep u on fire http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/TV_and_Movies/zombie-en-feu.gif

~

Trips: