yo Fusionjaz

congrats on your purchase of your very first GPS and welcome to the Garmin GPS fraternity :smile:

now that you have bought the Garmin set, you'll need to go though a learning curve and some standard activities towards making it really useful.

Some FAQ answers:

* basically, garmin sets can use 3 "versions" of maps in Sg... City Navigator NT (from garmin), Malsing Map (free community map, Sg/My/Br) and Malfree Map (free community map, Sg/My/Th). many of us use MFM cos it provides the most details and covers Thailand :D

* points of interests or POI are additional "tips" added onto those already included in the maps. you can try disabling them via the "tools - settings - map" module and see what's the difference. POIs may be saved in microSD card under folder Garmin\POI\

* garmin nuvi 1xxx series with new firmware are able to "carry" multiple maps, unlike the older firmware where only the GMAPSUPP.IMG is the recognisable map.

simply create a folder in root of your microSD card (or unit) called Map\ and save your maps there. you can name the maps with any name with an .IMG extension, e.g. MFM_mar11, MFM_110309.IMG, etc.

* DO NOT enable ALL maps as they will overlap and cover each other. i.e. enable only 1 map at one time.

* getting a fix (your location) for the first time usually takes much longer than under normal use as the set needs to "familiarise" itself to the operating geographical area/environment.

some useful links:

* learn/understand the ups/downs of the garmin 1350, many trick/tips are also discussed there; every make/model has their inherent issues... no set is perfect

Garmin Nuvi 1350

* download the latest MFM maps (Sg + My + Th)

Free Malaysia & Singapore GPS Map: MFM-Garmin YYMMDD

* download the latest MFM Points of Interests aka POI (Sg + My + Th)

Free Malaysia Garmin Custom POI: MFM-CPOI v2.08 (30/03/10)

* how to install or extract the MFM maps

MFM-Garmin Installation Step by Step Guide

* how to install Garmin Mapsource... optional but useful for planning on a PC then sending the "plans" (routes) to the GPS unit, good for backing up your favorites/waypoints.

How to install Garmin Mapsource

enjoy your new toy :thumb:

Thank you Chairman.

I have to wait for my wife to go to bed before I can play with my new toy.

Seems I have to get the Ram mount cradle for the gps

• Replies 22.2k

Chairman go with us la, then dont need learn hindi liao.

So, start from manali? Good idea, i will post up e itinerary my fren gave me on tuesday.. I actually hope to go to e place where dalai lama staying... Cant remember e name now..

.. I actually hope to go to e place where dalai lama staying... Cant remember e name now..

place is called Dharamsala, but exact place of HH Dalai Lama's temple is McLeod Ganj. that place felt like a mini tibet when i was there in 2006, tibetan people/stuffs everywhere.

hehe... i got to meet HH Dalai Lama (depending on timing, can attend his teachings at his temple but must register for an entry pass) and HH Gyalwang Karmapa at his Gyoto monastery located elsewhere in dharamsala.

manali-mcleod ganj is not a very long journey at about 220+km but the roads there won't allow travelling at speeds like those along NS h/w, may require >5hrs on a bike.

our mini-bus drive from new delhi to dharamsala took us around 13+hrs to cover the about 480+km, setting off at 6.30am, stopping by at chandigarh (common stopover at foothill of himalayas) for lunch and arriving only about 8+pm.

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Hindi lesson 1... Namaste

Namaste is the common spoken greeting in India (and Nepal). Unlike English where we have separate greetings for morning, afternoon and evening, it is used regardless of time. Namaskar is also commonly used, especially in Nepal.

Script or writing for Hindi is Devanagari where each letter represents a consonant, which carries an inherent schwa vowel. E.g.

Namaste = नमस्ते

न .. na

म ... ma

स्ते ... s~tay

add all together, pronounced as "na~ma~stay"

similarly, scoobydoo = स्कूबीडू

स्कू ... s~k~oo

बी ... b~hi

डू ... d~oo

add all together, pronounced as "skoo~bhi~doo"

have fun :smile:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

only once, on a darn old vespa (change gear by twisting left handle type, very hard to control) in a small village in chennai, state of tamil nadu in south india :p

saw people riding the enfield bullet around (very stylo) but didn't get to try.

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

hmm... i only know "soon-nih" & "boon-neh" :lol:

History :angel: --> Cagiva Mito3, Yamaha RX100, Yamaha TZRR125, Yamaha RXK135, Honda 150SP, Honda CBR400RR, Honda Wave 125R, Honda CBR900RR, Yamaha R6 '05, Subaru Imprezza I 1.6M, Honda Silverwing SW-T400, Honda Super 4 Version S, Yamaha Spark 135 RX

Present :thumb: --> Yamaha Tmax 530 Iron Max, Perodua Viva 1.0L

Wah. Encik Pat's group back from their Rainbow Falls trip but didn't make it to the waterfall.

It was flooding at SG Lembing... at this time of the year...

Well, I think better pray for good good weather for next Sunday ride.

Most of the time they don't fail me. hehe.

So far.. 9 bikes going?

No bikinis? Pls don't imagine me in 1... ewww.

Wow...I was supposed to join them for this but went KL instead...blessing in disguise??? :angel:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Here's my rough itinerary of the trip. Of cos still can do changes. I'm thinking of doing the sach pass. But so far, there isn't much info about it's route online. I need to do more research on it.

Bike rentals from Soni Motors Karol Bagh Delhi rates are as follow:

Royal Enfield Bullet

900rs/day

10,000rs deposit required

What I didn't add in but wish to visit too is Srinagar. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Srinagar

Seems like very nice place, but will end up being a very big loop.

So much places to see!!!

Day 01

Arrive New Delhi

Day 02 (Seems abit long, but we only hit mountain roads at Chandigarh)

New Delhi --49.3km--> Murthal(eat the most original prata) --41.3--> Panipat (Ancient City) --160km--> Chandigarh --77.9km--> Swarghat --83.9km--> Sundernagar (412km)

Day 03

Sundernagar --23.3km--> Mandi (River Beas, Temples) --62.2km--> Kullu (Famous Handloom Shawl) --62.2--> Manali --41.7km)

Day 04

Manali --117km--> Keylong --121-->Sir Bhum Chum

Day 05

Sir Bhum Chum --238--> Leh

Day 06

Leh --112km--> Diskit Gompa --112km--> Leh

Day 07

Leh --22km--> Thiksey --????km--> Sach Pass

Day 08

Sach Pass --171km--> Dalhousie

Day 09

Dalhousie --108km--> Dharmshala (Dalai Lama)

Day 10

Dharmshala --128km--> Mandi

Day 11

Mandi --185km--> Chandigarh (or maybe Sundernagar) --259km) New Delhi

Day 12

New Delhi Tour

Day 13

New Delhi > Mathura > Agra (Taj Mahal) Whole day cab rental est. 3000rs

Day 14

New Delhi Tour

Day 15

Home

Edited by zesture

Itinerary looks good. * Might wanna stay at Leh longer cos heard it is a nice place.

The off-road and rough terrain gonna hurt...

Disco/Pub? Indian massage? local 'guides'?

But... they no have XR4 or DRZ?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Disco/Pub are in New Delhi ba. That one can ask chairman for recommendations.

Seems like only Bajaj or Enfield... and worse still, brakes pedal or the left, gear lever on the right. Opposite site!

Off road terrain can remove if don't want. Then go longer distance on highway lor.

disco & pubs in new delhi are found mainly (dunno if its only) in hotels... as far as i know.

best place to stay there is around connaught place which is near local shoppings, cheap and good makan and also many hotels.

visiting agra...

if things haven't changed since 2006 (the last of my 3 visits to Agra), Bhopal Shatabdi express is the best way to go there, fast and seldom has "surprises" which other road modes often have. taxi takes >4hrs from delhi to agra... subject to surprises :p

for our 1 day agra trip, we boarded the shatabdi express at new delhi station for departure about 06:15am and travelled by aircon chair car (

1st stop is to restaurant for breakfast, then to the famous Agra Fort and where we spent the rest of the morning, its a big place to walk around. after lunch, we visited the baby Taj before crossing the yamuna river to see the real Taj Mahal. we spent the rest of the day lazing around the gardens around the Taj till evening before going for dinner at nearby restaurant and finally to train station about 8pm for the return trip also via Shatabdi. arrival at new delhi and hotel is about 10+pm.

~

Trips:

all are welcomed

fyi, none of our kakis are using the J.Costa in their SW so can't really review/comment on whether its good or worth changing.

but according to a ex-SWinger who've jump ship to a yammy, it improved the pickup of his current Tmax significantly. but bear in mind the Tmax is about a "pillion" lighter than the SW so may not get the same kind of effect.

imo, the stock set is a very reliable, durable and reasonably performing member of the SW. change rollers every 20k, u-clips 20k or 30k, belt every 30k... that's like $230+ over 1~2 years for some SWingers, wallet-friendly stuffs :thumb:

but if you have spare cash to splash, some improvement in pickup performance may well be more desirable than economy :p

~

Trips:

yo Fusionjaz

is your updating of the MFM 110309 map and POIs successful? quite straight forward right?

the next few things you should do are:

* "plug" the unit into your PC (any generic mini-USB cable will do) and have it charged,

* turn it on and leave it near your window to get a initial satellite fix (even better if outdoor)... 1st fix usually takes longer, depending on strength/availability of satellite signals

* buy the RAM cradle & diamond for nuvi 1350 (can ask Ridesaddon if she has)

remember to bring it tomolo, we can do a simple EUT :smile:

~

Trips:

Hi guy can i join u all tis thur? and i though of installing the J.costa from Ah-choong... Nt sure whether is good anot?

J costa, due to e design different from stock, will definitely make u feel a difference.

Pick up will improve, but moving off rpm will be higher than stock.

Throttle will feel more responsive n light, but might feel noiser.

If u wanna install jcosta, dont install stiffer clutch spring n torque spring etc, it will increase vibration n move off rpm.

Another thing to take note is that the rollers might last only ard 10-15k km..

yo Fusionjaz

is your updating of the MFM 110309 map and POIs successful? quite straight forward right?

the next few things you should do are:

* "plug" the unit into your PC (any generic mini-USB cable will do) and have it charged,

* turn it on and leave it near your window to get a initial satellite fix (even better if outdoor)... 1st fix usually takes longer, depending on strength/availability of satellite signals

* buy the RAM cradle & diamond for nuvi 1350 (can ask Ridesaddon if she has)

remember to bring it tomolo, we can do a simple EUT :smile:

Yup I have installed MFM 110309 map and POIs successfully.

The challenge now is how to put in the way point.

How to set the destination.

I am pretty confuse with the GUI

I can only join the Thursday kopi session after 8pm.

I have a badminton game 6-8pm.

4some?

Need cameramen?

Need cheerleaders?

Not worried you will be late. Just afraid that you no want to come becos of other 'ECA'...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/