Back home!

From Betong Modern Thai Hotel at 10.20am.... into my home at 7.10pm. wooohooo. almost 9 hours.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 22.2k

Constant 130km/h (metered) = 21km/L = full tank 336km range. : )

Change bike? I don't think so...

task...

nukye said:
I want to put a mesh wire at my radiator panel. But how do you guys make it stick to the panel?

most commonly used solution... cheap DIY

SW9000 said:
I think my radiator guard use cable tie nia.

alternative... hmmm... must have the tools or got workshop to do

Uncle said:
Use rivets

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

  HelmetBOX! said:
By the way my old sw is on sale at 7.5k.. Silver color.. Interested parties can pm me and I can give you the details

wah... you still tracking or stalking your EX arh? :p

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

  scoobydoo said:
wah... you still tracking or stalking your EX arh? :p

Just happen to see it.. Haha

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

  nukye said:
I heard from my friend that Silverwing or most scooters able to use Car Engine oil due to scooters using dry clutch and not wet clutch like the normal motorcycles..... is it true?

the SW's CVT & dry clutch transmission is not affected by the friction modifiers added to motor oils for cars, thus no problem of clutch slippage. next question is, whether the car motor oil is able to provide sufficient protection for your SW's engine based on your usage pattern.

imo, if for local commuting and some short makan/shopping trips up north, shouldn't be an issue... many scooterists have tried it. if for touring, involving prolonged periods of high rpms, maybe better to use a "specially formulated" motorcycle oil to be on the safer side. but hey! many advanced formula car oils claims to be able to run well at high rpms too :p

see post #56 Using Car Motor/Engine Oil in Silver Wing

~

Trips:

hey chairman, any cheap GPS to recommend? don't have to be waterproof since there is those waterproof case avaiable in the market.

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

GPS for touring, my $$ is on Garmin, pricier but proven and has community maps from MFM & MSM (the NT maps are not as useful). another good reason to use Garmin is the availability of MapSource, can manage your maps, waypoints (favourites), routes and tracks on the computer :thumb:

suppose your "cheap" is about $800+, i'ld say go for the 4.3" zumo 660 cos it's waterproof and comes with RAM kit (don't have to pay separately for it).

http://www.webbikeworld.com/garmin-gps/garmin-zumo-660-review/garmin-zumo-660-review-parts.jpg

another option is to buy from internet (e.g. GPS City), models such as Montana 650, zumo 660, Nuvi 500/550, etc.

for $229 (Sep COMEX price), can get 4.3" nuvi 2465LM non-waterproof set; 4.3" is better than the 5" (nuvi 2565) cos got more budget waterproof covers available and not as bulky.

http://itfairsg.com/comex2012/allbright-garmin-gps-navigator-nuvi-2575rlm-driving-price-list-flyer-brochure-9563/

for $149 (Sep COMEX price), 4.3" nuvi 40LM non-waterproof set is available but this set does not have routing function, better to get the nuvi 2465LM instead.

another non-Garmin

http://itfairsg.com/comex2012/eastgear-gps-navigators-tracknavi-holux-s-galactio-price-list-flyer-brochure-9624/

other

added:

if not willing to invest much, go for the $200+ nuvi 2465LM and get the RAM aquabox kit separately (adds to $300+), cheaper "boxes" also have at amazon but maybe not as good ba :)

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

If no need waterproof, just buy a phone GPS app. Sygic is quite good.

  scoobydoo said:
the SW's CVT & dry clutch transmission is not affected by the friction modifiers added to motor oils for cars, thus no problem of clutch slippage. next question is, whether the car motor oil is able to provide sufficient protection for your SW's engine based on your usage pattern.

imo, if for local commuting and some short makan/shopping trips up north, shouldn't be an issue... many scooterists have tried it. if for touring, involving prolonged periods of high rpms, maybe better to use a "specially formulated" motorcycle oil to be on the safer side. but hey! many advanced formula car oils claims to be able to run well at high rpms too :p

see post #56 Using Car Motor/Engine Oil in Silver Wing

So any good/affordable car full synthetic E.O to recommended that u guys already tried?

  Uncle said:

interesting. i suppose no need data roaming ba... else no point le.

just saw that they have a SG and SEA version... wonder how detailed are the POI, landmarks, etc.

if as detailed as MFM & MSM community maps, ho say liow :p

~

Trips:

  HelmetBOX! said:
hey chairman, any cheap GPS to recommend? don't have to be waterproof since there is those waterproof case avaiable in the market.

Uncle said:

Can consider route66 in android market. You can download the map no need pior to travel. They have monthly subscription package and something else. Go explore since HelmetBox is using Android device.

i'm using motorcycle oil (now amsoil, previously maxima & motul) cos tour a fair bit until lately.

in any case, the good car eo i'm using are either just as expensive or more expensive than motorcycle oil, so might as well use motorcycle oil outright :lol:

but heard that some SWingers are using the full synthetic 10w40 bought from Giant, dun think i'll try that :p

~

Trips:

  scoobydoo said:
interesting. i suppose no need data roaming ba... else no point le.

just saw that they have a SG and SEA version... wonder how detailed are the POI, landmarks, etc.

if as detailed as MFM & MSM community maps, ho say liow :p

No roaming data as maps are preloaded to phone. However, as phones are A-GPS, cellular data will speed up the satellite search. POIs can be imported. But better to use with charger if on gps.

  Uncle said:
No roaming data as maps are preloaded to phone. However, as phones are A-GPS, cellular data will speed up the satellite search. POIs can be imported. But better to use with charger if on gps.

the price of these software anin't cheap... at the price of approximately S$100.. unless you find cracked version..

  scoobydoo said:
GPS for touring, my $$ is on Garmin, pricier but proven and has community maps from MFM & MSM (the NT maps are not as useful). another good reason to use Garmin is the availability of MapSource, can manage your maps, waypoints (favourites), routes and tracks on the computer :thumb:

suppose your "cheap" is about $800+, i'ld say go for the 4.3" zumo 660 cos it's waterproof and comes with RAM kit (don't have to pay separately for it).

http://www.webbikeworld.com/garmin-gps/garmin-zumo-660-review/garmin-zumo-660-review-parts.jpg

another option is to buy from internet (e.g. GPS City), models such as Montana 650, zumo 660, Nuvi 500/550, etc.

for $229 (Sep COMEX price), can get 4.3" nuvi 2465LM non-waterproof set; 4.3" is better than the 5" (nuvi 2565) cos got more budget waterproof covers available and not as bulky.

http://itfairsg.com/comex2012/allbright-garmin-gps-navigator-nuvi-2575rlm-driving-price-list-flyer-brochure-9563/

for $149 (Sep COMEX price), 4.3" nuvi 40LM non-waterproof set is available but this set does not have routing function, better to get the nuvi 2465LM instead.

another non-Garmin

http://itfairsg.com/comex2012/eastgear-gps-navigators-tracknavi-holux-s-galactio-price-list-flyer-brochure-9624/

other

added:

if not willing to invest much, go for the $200+ nuvi 2465LM and get the RAM aquabox kit separately (adds to $300+), cheaper "boxes" also have at amazon but maybe not as good ba :)

just came back from challenger..

Price for 2465LM is S$249 - S$229 for member

Price for 50LM is S$199- member.. non member cannot remember.

Price for 40LM is S$179 - S$169 for member..

saw a used 2465LM going for 190..

Guess my best bet is to wait for Nov IT fair.. hahaha...

most probably going for 40LM or 2465LM...

  HelmetBOX! said:
the price of these software anin't cheap... at the price of approximately S$100.. unless you find cracked version..

US$25, installed on 5 devices, free updates and will follow me if I change to new devices. Pretty cheap to me leh...

  Uncle said:
US$25, installed on 5 devices, free updates and will follow me if I change to new devices. Pretty cheap to me leh...

I see.. Manage to find a used 2465 lm at 180...Guess should be getting that.

  Uncle said:

Simi software? The route66 very good voice direction but will cost about $100 after the free 1 month.

  SW9000 said:
Simi software? The route66 very good voice direction but will cost about $100 after the free 1 month.

Sygic..

I think buy GPS better... got resale value.. lolz...

just bought a waterproof pouch for the GPS.. with mount at only US$13.

  HelmetBOX! said:
most probably going for 40LM or 2465LM...

better to get the 2465

HelmetBOX! said:
just bought a waterproof pouch for the GPS.. with mount at only US$13.

u mean something like this for your "to be acquired" 2465?

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51qy0c8ZTuL._AA115_.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/Arkon-GPS032-Handlebar-Mount-3-5/dp/B003FMUP0K/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1351561091&sr=8-2&keywords=waterproof+gps+pouch

~

Trips:

  scoobydoo said:
better to get the 2465

u mean something like this for your "to be acquired" 2465?

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51qy0c8ZTuL._AA115_.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/Arkon-GPS032-Handlebar-Mount-3-5/dp/B003FMUP0K/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1351561091&sr=8-2&keywords=waterproof+gps+pouch

Yes.. but i got it from ebay.. US$13 with free shipping..