For starter try cleaning the air filter. Just cleaned mine, very dirty after using for a year. If using stock then change it..

haha mine also around this range but my odometer got prob but i agak agak is around there

Thank you :)

I think i found the problem to my crazy fuel consumption.

Will ride once again until empty tank to confirm again but its pretty obvious.

The hand brake pad had been tighten until it bite "just nicely" on the brake disc,

stopping low speed travel (or slowing the bike down) and it is not obvious until you free it.

Seriously cannot believe this little fine adjustment made so much difference and its like a hidden

problem. You wont feel it that much even when u spin it stationary on full stand

Edited by Nighthawk_250
grammer

Honda ..................and nothing else

• Replies 22.2k

Will ride once again until empty tank to confirm again but its pretty obvious.

not advisable to ride till empty tank cos it's bad for the fuel pump.

why not use the "refill amount" method instead?

see tech post #115Fuel Guage Calibration & Consumption

1) Refuel to full tank (level should always be the same for accuracy).

2) Reset trip meter to zero and start riding.

3) At next refuel (to same full level), note down km travelled and litres of fuel topped up; you have 1 data set.

4) Reset the trip meter and start riding again.

5) Repeat steps 3 & 4 for as many cycles (data sets) desired.

6) Compute FC as follows:

FC (km per litres) = Total Distance Travelled / Total Fuel Consumed

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Easier to do now with a mobile app. Move with time :p

see tech post #115Fuel Guage Calibration & Consumption

Done that, thanks.

Was curious about the last 4 reserve litres; if they are really usable to the last drop.

I had a 1L petrol container in the box and top it up immediately when the bike got slightest sign of fuel starve.

In your years of compiling the tech corner, have you come across anyone with this issue on the handbrake pad?

(its too deeply threaded for me to read all posting)

I would suggest anyone with fuel consumption issues go fiddle with the handbrake lock nut :p

Honda ..................and nothing else

Shiiii..... not so loud, be careful wall got ear... :)

bro, do u happen to have any contact (preferably email addresses) of the ppl at Boon Siew? (given ur experience wif ur vfr)

i am getting nonsense fr them nw :(...

how to wake them up fr the slumber uh?? o_O

honda japan not customer centric anymore (can't find their Contact Us wor..) :sian:

or the whole of the biz world's gone mad

Done that, thanks.

Was curious about the last 4 reserve litres; if they are really usable to the last drop.

I had a 1L petrol container in the box and top it up immediately when the bike got slightest sign of fuel starve.

In your years of compiling the tech corner, have you come across anyone with this issue on the handbrake pad?

(its too deeply threaded for me to read all posting)

I would suggest anyone with fuel consumption issues go fiddle with the handbrake lock nut :p

suppose your fuel sensor is working properly, the 4 litres of reserve is actually more than 4 litres.

many of us have tried heading straight to refill the moment reserve kicks in but could only top up near 4 litres, even to the brim (can see petrol). we think honda calibrated the reserve with some buffer.

problem arise when your sensor float becomes not so "sensitive" over the years (wear-n-tear), so reserve level "buay chun". if then still push to limit, higher chances of kenna play out lor.

recommendation is to refill not too far after reserve kicks in, plus estimate the die-die-must-go limit taking reference from FC.

handbrake issues? yes, one of the bro's FJS had his handbrake assembly jammed... close liow cannot "open", bike can't move.

so remember to service the handbrakes once in a while or it may get jammed the next time you use it.

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

bro, do u happen to have any contact (preferably email addresses) of the ppl at Boon Siew? (given ur experience wif ur vfr)

i am getting nonsense fr them nw :(...

how to wake them up fr the slumber uh?? o_O

honda japan not customer centric anymore (can't find their Contact Us wor..) :sian:

or the whole of the biz world's gone mad

BS ... :slapforehead:

Mr Toh at 9117 7624, think he is something like the workshop supervisor

~

Trips:

he is not service oriented enuf, or rather, he may b the problem..:sian:

so far for 3 weeks... he called me only once, and that was to inform me they mess up my bike:dot: so far no update from BS :mad:

today i called him, he said he's wif a customer & will call me back by 11... & i am waiting... hope he meant 11am & not 11pm :(

these ppl need to wake up man.. real soon

BS ... :slapforehead: since my youth ...

That time, my friend complain his exhaust rusty, they use sand paper to remove the rust ... in the end, the pipe gone ...

To Give away: SHAD 33 Box with base bracket.

WTS: 2008 JDM Honda Silver Wing 400

COE going up, petrol price going up....what else can you say...cost of living too

Selling a very well maintained Made in Japan Honda Silver Wing Euro 400. Very reliable and good hardworking transport bike. Lots of under seat space, front compartments and a rear box. Easy to swallow those loads of shopping bags. Store your helmet and laptop inside no problem..lol

2 owners.(I am sub rider and transferred as 2nd owner after completed payment in end Mar 2013)

Original Registration date: 3 Mar 2008. COE just pass 5 years.

COE expiry on 3 Mar 2018. Passed Inspection and road tax renewed to 3 Sep 2013

Plate : FBC4002D. Quite a nice ok number

Colour : Metallic Grey

Mileage : abt 73k km

Condition : 9/10. small scratches - aiyo other bikers parking bad habits,

You won't be disappointed.

Fully maintained and serviced regularly every 3000km use Elf Moto4pro fully synthetic EO , fresh oil filter, fresh plugs, blow air filter, gear oil (6 monthly) etc. Flushed coolant and hoses OK, Brakes flushed oil and replaced pads and hoses OK. Engine compartment fully washed of dirt and grime, Electrical Harness checks and connections OK. Front new tire Pirelli Diablo for Scooter. Clutch, belt, rollers and clips checked - OK, still have fast pickup. Wash and waxed regularly fortnightly

Selling : $9000 slightly neg upon viewing ( I paid much more during my sub rider term to complete full payment, not to make profit in this sale la, just to minimise loss)

Low ballers, pls don't waste time.

Contact me JJ @ 91272194 SMS or Call.

Viewing in the Northeast (Woodlands).

Viewing timing : After confirmation of appointment

Few extras added: Done in Feb / Mar 2013 - A BMW loud tone type electrical horns and relay (really loud for those warning constant changing lanes cars) $100, HID H7 12000K hi beam ($140), blue LED poles light $15, new Progrips grips $15, new heavy end balancers $40, a new front Pirelli Diablo for Scooter tire and balancing $100, Power Abuser ($70) for steady bright current flow, activate the emergency hazard light switch and wiring ($50) stock don't have connection, Driver seat rewrapped and seat condom and passenger seat with Honda Silver wing motif etc.......

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version Name: IMG_5586.jpg‎ Views: 93 Size: 36.3 KB ID: 274240 Click image for larger version Name: IMG_5590.jpg‎ Views: 78 Size: 32.3 KB ID: 274241

Went to do my EO change on Monday. asked ah choong about the 10w40 engine oil for final gear. he asked me to trust him la use gear oil.

faint....... how ah?

When's your bike?

Rubber time. "Will try to give by next week but no promise".

Finally, I'm getting my bike this Sat. But already given up trip slot to robinowyong :dot:

Haha. He don't know you....

Most would insist to use/buy 3 bottles of 10W40:

2.2L for Engine (with oil filter change) and 0.320L for gear.

Can keep the balance for next change.

Mine more complicated because I used diff EO for engine and gear.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Finally, I'm getting my bike this Sat. But already given up trip slot to robinowyong :dot:

Unless someone willing to give up his room (and share with another) or share with you...

Me... cannot. Got ECA.

like that how sia? drain out the gear oil n change to motor oil?

Easy job but need the correct squeezable container. I think those $2 dollar shop got sell.

When's your bike?

Unless someone willing to give up his room (and share with another) or share with you...

Me... cannot. Got ECA.

hmm...or go to Ipoh and come back next day together with Atlantic200 (or he also has CCA?)

Atlantic200 going Genting/KL for 2 nights after Ipoh.

He visiting 2 cousins there.

Atlantic200 going Genting/KL for 2 nights after Ipoh.

He visiting 2 cousins there.

Next time then :sian: I go visit my aunties :cheer: