Need to know where you guys send your wing to for servicing. Heard of AC Motor but no idea where the shop is llocated. Thanks.

WingmanPT

Current ride: 2012 GL1800A & 2015 SWT

"Friendship Thru Winging"

• Replies 22.2k

Need to know where you guys send your wing to for servicing. Heard of AC Motor but no idea where the shop is llocated. Thanks.

AC motors located at First East Centre,10 Kaki Bukit Road 2*(#01-22),*417868, Singapore

RIDE for Charity Family and for Life

AC motors located at First East Centre,10 Kaki Bukit Road 2*(#01-22),*417868, Singapore

I believe AC Motor is well versed with scooter .. rite? Need to send in for the 700km servicing. Thanks for the info.

WingmanPT

I believe AC Motor is well versed with scooter .. rite? Need to send in for the 700km servicing. Thanks for the info.

wah... brand new SWT :thumb:

in case you need more info, we have a Tech Corner with lots of FAQ, DIY guides, and poisons :lol:

[h=1] Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner[/h]

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

if planning to tour, strongly recommend to use 10w40 engine oil... owner's manual also say use "10w40 motor oil".

* Normal Gear Oil For Final Transmission? Not Recommended!

btw, our engine bay needs 2.2L of EO... 2 bottles not enough, 3 bottles got spare. why not just use the spare on the final drive? :thumb:

some of us have tio cheng and had to spend >$500 to get it fixed, for using gear oil on our trips up to tongyam-land.

while on tour, we ride at high rpms over prolonged periods (e.g. 1+ to 2+ hrs) along the NSHW for each leg, causing the final drive elements to undergo higher stress and heat... thus needs more lub and cooling.

many motortiams may tell you gear oil is ok. imo, ok to use gear oil for local riding, but not for touring.

would you be riding locally at >110 km/h and for >1hr? no right? :p

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

if planning to tour, strongly recommend to use 10w40 engine oil... owner's manual also say use "10w40 motor oil".

some of us have tio cheng and had to spend >$500 to get it fixed, for using gear oil on our trips up to tongyam-land.

while on tour, we ride at high rpms over prolonged periods (e.g. 1+ to 2+ hrs) along the NSHW for each leg, causing the final drive elements to undergo higher stress and heat... thus needs more lub and cooling.

many motortiams may tell you gear oil is ok. imo, ok to use gear oil for local riding, but not for touring.

So for touring and daily riding i use EO 10w 40 then.....anyway thanks for the advise on top...hehe:)

Edited by bobbyyankee

RIDE for Charity Family and for Life

wah... brand new SWT :thumb:

in case you need more info, we have a Tech Corner with lots of FAQ, DIY guides, and poisons :lol:

[h=1] Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner[/h]

Many many kamsia. Any nearby rides to Sg Rengit for seafood lunch @ Jade Garden or kopi session @ Kluang Rail .... let me know. Thanks.

WingmanPT

btw, our engine bay needs 2.2L of EO... 2 bottles not enough, 3 bottles got spare. why not just use the spare on the final drive? :thumb:

Chatomatae chatomatae !!! I'm a little confused here! Using EO on your final drive ??? Scooter ... can use same EO for the final drive? On my othe bike, I use SAE 90 for the final drive ! Correct me if I'm wrong. Need the sifus here to guide ..... Thks

WingmanPT

that's the same doubt many mechs have when they heard us wanting to put engine oil into the final transmission/drive.

there're mechs who insist that using engine oil there is wrong, put gear oil inside their clients' SW, and vouched that "sure got no problem cos many SW using gear oil also ok".

guess what? i believed one of those mechs (won't mention shop's name) in 2009, and allowed him to put in gear oil during my pre-tour servicing for trip to tongyum-land. came back and discovered some funny "garak garak" sound coming from the final drive area. went back to complain, mech say that one due to wear-n-tear, not becos using gear oil... grrr o_O

i can only blame myself for not following the service manual.

so is using engine oil there safe?

sounds abnormal, but somehow, honda recommended the use of 10w40 motor oil with API classification SE, SF, SG. this is listed in honda's service manual for SW (relevant page is extracted and posted in Tech Corner, we can't post too much of the manual due to copyright).

good news is, it's proven that using engine oil there is ok. our SW have clocked hundreds of miles and one even challenged Mae Hong Son without returning with problem using engine oil in the final drive.

my personal recommendation is, don't use gear oil during tours, use it for local riding,

but ... you decide lor :smile:

~

Trips:

I just got my sw last tuesday and i just love the way it cruise along the expressway (was riding a dirt bike previously lol). Its a 2nd hand SWT and there's a few questions i would like to ask.

1) After riding it for 30-45 mins and when i stopped, there is this screeching sound at the left side of the bike when i want to move off. Any idea what caused the sound?

2) Handling - is it normal for the bike to wobble a bit, especially front tire when lane splitting? I am not sure if its cause i rode a dirt bike before and the suspension is a bit soft to accommodate off road trails and as such i don't experience such thing.

3) Any regular shop to recommend? I used to go botak back in 2009-2010 when i am riding majesty, not too sure if he's at the same address at macpherson

Tot of meeting up last thursday, but was caught up with work. Maybe if the next meet up i might join. Thanks!

See see my comment.

I just got my sw last tuesday and i just love the way it cruise along the expressway (was riding a dirt bike previously lol). Its a 2nd hand SWT and there's a few questions i would like to ask.

1) After riding it for 30-45 mins and when i stopped, there is this screeching sound at the left side of the bike when i want to move off. Any idea what caused the sound? Most probably the clutch weights (pads) are dirty or worn already. Need open the belt compartment and service.

2) Handling - is it normal for the bike to wobble a bit, especially front tire when lane splitting? I am not sure if its cause i rode a dirt bike before and the suspension is a bit soft to accommodate off road trails and as such i don't experience such thing. SW minor wobbly at 50km/h is quite normal, due to bike length and possibly tire slightly unbalanced. Might also because rear suspension too soft. Turn up to number 4 or 5 if necessary. Alternatively, could be the tires worn already or insufficient pressure.

3) Any regular shop to recommend? I used to go botak back in 2009-2010 when i am riding majesty, not too sure if he's at the same address at macpherson. Go AC Motor. Got address a few post back. Specialised in maxi scooters.

Tot of meeting up last thursday, but was caught up with work. Maybe if the next meet up i might join. Thanks!

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

See see my comment.

Hi bro, thanks for your advice. Will visit AC Motor month end to let them check on my SW.

hi hulud, welcome to SW community

2) Handling - is it normal for the bike to wobble a bit, especially front tire when lane splitting? I am not sure if its cause i rode a dirt bike before and the suspension is a bit soft to accommodate off road trails and as such i don't experience such thing.

other than worn/unbalanced/under-pressured tyre and rear suspension issues mentioned by SW9000, other possible reasons why you feel the slight wobble when land splitting are...

* worn or loose steering cone ... this you can do DIY checks

* worn bearings at front wheel

* alignment issue... seldom but possible if bike's chassis was injured before (e.g. lang-gah)

* feedback from the tyre when it go over the raised lane markers... worn steering cone and/or bearings makes the "running to side" sensation more apparent

* leng leng loose feeling while riding

* bike steers to one side when moving hands free... strongly not advisable

* when turning (bike leans over on turning side), you can feel as if there's a force pulling your steering towards the same direction you turn the handlebar

* for very serious case... when braking using only front brake (especially straight ahead), can feel a small "jut" at the steering cone (as wheel comes inward)

can try this DIY test...

(a) put bike on main stand

(b) jack the bike's front up such that front tyre leaves floor, or

. . . get someone heavy to push down the rear so that front wheel lifts up,

. . . then put something strong/sturdy with just sufficient height to hold

. . . bike's front up such that front tyre leaves floor

© hold the 2 forks at front (aligned straight ahead) and try to move them in-n-out (along the bike's fore and aft) by pushing and pulling gently, feel if the fork is loose

~~ if cone is OK, forks shouldn't feel loose or move along the gentle push/pull action, movements means steering cone needs servicing

(d) gently turn the forks left and right, feel if there's any special feedback

~~ if can feel some restriction to turn, or the turning seems to stop a a certain angle (probably caused by a groove), means steering cone needs servicing

Notes:

if slightly loose, can tighten; if very loose, gotta change whole thing

the SW Tech Corner has lots of info for your reading/understanding about your new ride, do check it out ya

Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner

~

Trips:

Hi scoobydoo, thank you bro... i was thinking along that as well, steering cone, but i didn't want to go there as i just want to believe its just the tire lol. Maybe i may change the tire first and if the feeling is still there, then will go have the steering cone checked. I've tried hands free, thankfully the bike went straight instead of going one side.

Steering cone and wheel bearings can be checked together when changing tires. Part of the necessary process.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Went AC Motor a while ago to have my front wheel/steering checked. Was surprised to see someone i used to send my runner back in 06, Ah Choong himself. So i told him my long story and he told me its my wheel bearing. Told him about the screeching sound and the mechanic opened up the belting compartment to check on the noise. Things replaced was the belting and front wheel bearing and he cleaned up/grease the belting compartment. We'll see how tomorrow goes. Next will be new tyres.

I just got a 2010 swt400 this morning.

The spring from the plastic fuel lid came loose and popped out (maybe to welcome me haha).

Can sifus here teach me how to fix back ??

Edited by Prawntoe

The spring from the plastic fuel lid came loose and popped out (maybe to welcome me haha).

Also i find when cornering, the rear is quite unstable and very soft (like got too much grip). Anything to check or adjust to improve stability ?

Hhmm got spring ah? Mine like don't have lei... and while riding that thing flip up and down and can be a bit distracting hahah... btw i just got mine last week on the 24th Feb.

Also i find when cornering, the rear is quite unstable and very soft (like got too much grip). Anything to check or adjust to improve stability ?

I have this issue few month back. One of the shaft that hold the spring broke. Went to FJT and order a replacement ($10). waited 3 weeks for the part to arrive. Make sure you still have the spring. If missing, must pay more for replacement.

20150305_172933.jpg

Edited by speedcannon

Hi folks,

With COE still high, where are good places to buy a second hand Silverwing? 👌😅

I am a newbie here. Tks in advance! 🙏

I have this issue few month back. One of the shaft that hold the spring broke. Went to FJT and order a replacement ($10). waited 3 weeks for the part to arrive. Make sure you still have the spring. If missing, must pay more for replacement.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]320297[/ATTACH]

Thanks for reply bro.

If not too troublesome can send pix of how the spring is to be attached ??

I try to fabricate the broken piece.

welcome to the SW community

spring... first, you check if any part of the plastic lid assembly broke off.

if nothing is broken, maybe can squeeze spring back in. dunno how, can go AC Motor and seek help from Ah Choong... he's the handy man.

if broken, then consider replace lid, or can also live with no spring since it does not affect safety at all (can open and close properly can liow).

rear suspension... if no change by honda, stock setting is 3 for the rear shocks.

suggest you try various settings from 1 to 5 (stiffest) to find your preferred stiffness for the rear shocks, since every rider has different weight and preferences. btw, many of us are using 5.

how to change setting? very easily DIY.

if brand new bike, you should receive the owner's manual and a tool kit (remember to ask from shop if they didn't give you). in the tool kit, there's a pin spanner for turning the "preload ring" of SW's rear suspension; looks like a small curved level with a hook at the front. instructions are listed in the manual at section for "Servicing your Honda", sub-section "Suspension", at page 133 of this link.

http://owners.honda.com/assets/OWNER...0_FSC600_A.PDF

however, most of us don't use that spanner... simple grip the ring tight with both hands and turn towards left (for higher) or towards right (lower) setting will do :p

check out this link if you wanna see other versions of manual online

* SW Owners Manual

the SW Tech Corner has lots of info for your reading/understanding about your new ride, do check it out ya

Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner

another thing is, we gather every Thurs at Rail Mall CB Clubhouse...

feel free to pop by if got time, let the gang poison you with "add-ons" and tour bugs :lol:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips: