Just found by accident that our rear shock can be adjusted with just bare hands. Loosening from any higher number (spring setting) to a lower can easily be done using one hand to twist it.

Adjusting from a lower number to higher will require both hands and using force upward to compress the spring and twisting at the same time.

The right hand side of the suspension is just beside the exhaust hence even with the special tool, turning is very difficult and will cause slippage and scratch the hole. Twisting with hands is easier.

Exercise with caution but it can be done.

*Do not turn from setting 5 to 1. Manual says that it'll damage the absorber.

I don't see why it is so since the adjustment is to the spring tension not the internal of the absorber.

Anyone care to enlighten me? :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/7b4c89e6.jpg

Maybe they are referring to the case where your setting have been at 5 and now you want to switch to 1.

Mine is currently at 4 from the normal 3. But I guess no one really sets it to 1 though as that would make the ride too soft.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

• Replies 6.1k

Yes, it means if want to go from 5 to 1 must do in sequence 5,4,3,2,1 and cannot from 5 straight to 1.

3 is not soft but bottom out most of the time over hump low speed.

4 don't bottom out but is hard and bumpy.

I use the over hump as an idication that if I ever encounter a bump on the road it won't bottom out with higher speed.

There is the question of static sag also.

Have some static sag the scoot bottom out.

Won't bottom out but no static sag.

Not that it's a sport bike but the concept of a good setup.

Don't know how to explain ha ha.

Maybe something to do with the damping?

Between setting 3&4, 3 is too bouncy for me. Haha. Not that it bottoms out, but the ride just never seem to settle.

4 is a better bet, though I haven't tried 5 yet. Haha.

Can't imagine how 1&2 will be like. Anybody tried it yet at that setting?? If I'm not wrong, my DT125i came with 3 as default setting.

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Hi Juanpauk.

How's your fuel consumption like now with the new variator and clutch??

What's the fuel price in UK now??

And have you heard of BKS Helmets?? Thinking of getting their Techno Full Face helmet.

FC still the same, similar to Parotae's, fuel prices are going down somehow at the moment is £1.33 a litre.

What is so special about those Helmets, I am thinking to replace mine soon.

There is nothing special about BKS. Haha. In fact, I don't think it's a brand on its own, but rather a brand that is sold by J&S (I'm guessing that's an online retailer for motorbike related stuff in UK).

I'm only interested in it cos it's cheap. Haha. S$168 VS 119.99 UK Pounds.

Just changed my spark plugs to Denso ($8) and transmission oil ($5) at an outside workshop (also a Kymco Workshop, but not from the distributor).

If they're right, they actually don't recommend Iridium for my DownTown 125i. Reason being -> Not needed for a scooter, waste of money, and it may actually bring more harm than good in terms of the sparking.

They change very fast though (mainly cos I'm the only scoot there). Took only 15mins (Gotta let the scoot cool down for a while to change the hot spark plugs). Haha.

Below are some pics:

WP_001137.jpg

(Transmission oil apparently grey color with "sludge" is very normal. If it's black color, then it's considered dirty.... Haha)

WP_001138.jpg

(The old CR8E NGK normal spark plugs I last changed for $11 at MS - they say the middle part is gone already. If I rode any further, the scoot may not be able to start. Was quite surprised.)

WP_001139.jpg

WP_001140_1.jpg

(New brand spark plugs changed for $8)

This new Denso is very eager to rev from 4-6k rpm. It's able to hold higher rpms, thus acceleration off the line is just that bit faster. At least the engine doesn't feel draggy anymore.

Will see how long this Denso spark plug will last.

Thanks to Mr Desmond of Malossi Singapore, the mystery of the 2 different part number for Downtown 300i is solved.

The 2 Article number for 2 Downtown being SK60 and SK60A (2012 model or 2012 model before year 2012 or model with hazard light switch as standard)

SK60 Art. 5114238 (6 HTRoll Ø 23x18 gr.20) 6114240B MOVABLE HALF-PULLEY for MULTIVAR 2000 and 2913316.W0 WHITE VARIATOR ADJUSTER SPRING

SK60A Art. 5114730 (6 HTRoll Ø 23x18 gr.18) 6114731B MOVABLE HALF-PULLEY for MULTIVAR 2000 and 2914712.W0 WHITE VARIATOR ADJUSTER SPRING

The different article number are because of the weight difference on the roller that came with it and also the movable half-pulley (Variator for the roller) and WHITE VARIATOR ADJUSTER SPRING

Apparently the SK60A has a lower power hence a lighter roller. Lesser by 12g.

Now there are 2 different parts beside the roller. I can't just buy 2 and try!

Haiz, pay with my own money for doing experiment which KYMCO didn't do.

Shame on you KYMCO!

Having a newer and lower power and drink more petrol than the previous batch. Improvement like having a higher full-stand to prevent scraping the road now me faces with scraping the lower fairing/garnish and exhaust cover.

Improvement that lead to another problem! What are the tester doing??? Just testing the engine??? What about handling??? Wait for customer to feed back???

See the pics below with the new scoot K-XCT on test in Taiwan. (Taken from Jorsindo Taiwanese's forum)

Test on road but end of the day the scoot delivered and come with simple problems that shouldn't happen just boggles me ha ha.

Above are just my view but having said about the crappy KYMCO R&D. I don't mind having the Xciting 400i (If i can) to find fault with it.

It's like a love hate relationship here.

For those with the older batch of downtown, you've got yourself an excellent scoot and for those with the latest batch without any problems, you've got yourself a mango.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/P1110554.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/P1110552.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/P1110553.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/142302z4t6ddrzf96xg7rd.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/142256k01vak2vdkk6kvv6.jpg

Edited by parotae

Just realize the tyre center bald but side still have some thread.

What it means is they didn't play corner and so didn't fall and because didn't fall, they don't know what to improve.

Scooter not for cornering, then how to turn? Scooter not for cornering low then put signs that warns the owner mah!

"This scooter are not tested for low lean angles, do not attempt to lean low. Failure to follow instruction may result in personal injuries or can even cause death"

Signs like this mah!!!

True hor. How come the XCT-300 on test the tires centre bald but still have the sides?? Kymco's test is uncomprehensive?? haha.

Hmm, so the Downtown 300i with lesser power for the newer models cannot have the same 20g weight rollers cos it'll be too slow for it? So gotta cut the weight down to 18g to cope with the lower power huh??

I may wanna try out Dr Pulley rollers as the stock rollers on me DT125i is gonna wear out soon. TaiHin has 11g and 13g for DT125i for $45/set. The lighter the roller the higher the rpm it'll rev, the faster the acceleration, but also it'll drink more.... But really, I don't mind trying lah - to be extreme to go for 11g. Afterall, gotta replace every 12,000km (which is covered in 8 months for me) for Dr Pulley rollers.

I'll be changing me rollers for variator this weekend, as I think mine is worn already -> making weird noises.

Looking to getting Dr Pulley rollers from TaiHin@$45/set: They have 11g and 13g rollers. From what I read, lighter rollers will not only increase acceleration, but will lose it fast as well when 1- going up inclines, 2- release throttle while cruising. Also, the engine rpm will be higher than current, which means an increase in fuel consumption.

But I really don't mind being the guinea pig and try out for all the DT125i riders here. =D

Ok. Finally installed the Dr Pulley bought from TaiHin for $45/set and installed it at my own mechanics'.

It has really improved the DT125i's acceleration from 0-80kph. It used to be 11s, but now, it's 9s. This is due to the lighter rollers being able to get to a higher rpm faster.

However, once it touches 9000rpm, it drops right down to 7500rpm, then it starts to accelerate upwards slowly. Can anyone rectify this?

Also, the engine tends to hold on to a higher rpm now (5-6k rpm) even when I release the throttle. This means I have to use more of my brakes now.

Will be keeping note on the fuel consumption. Haha.

Hi all, i have a used Kymco 300/125i downtown whole seat for sale at $120. a little bit of stain, all you need to do is to rewrap and it's good to go! call me at 94592391!

Sold!

to me :D

Having read the link, hmm. I'm still having my doubts on Michelin tires. I don't think it's here yet too. Haha. Wonder what the cost will be like. They can say all they want, but ultimately, general consumers will be swayed by the price of tires. Haha!

Anyways, I've been seeing more Daelim B-Bone on the road. Haha. That super exposed scooter! Really interesting.

Hey all, my front tires need replacing soon. The wear thread is starting to show already. Haha.

I know Pirelli owns Metzeler now. However, I'm still not convinced that the Italians know better than the Germans. Haha. And tire prices are climbing up as well. Just got a quote for Pirelli Diablo Sport for $230 including installation.

The only thing is with Metzeler, there's a chance that there will be no ready stock, as compared to the much more popular Pirelli's. Haha.

Hong Kong Part Chrome Edition

http://www.bikehk.com/report/2011/r4744/

Whoa! It's an overkill. It'll be really hard to polish all the chrome....

Especially given our dusty environment now with all the constructions up and running.... Not worth it. Haha.

Whoa! It's an overkill. It'll be really hard to polish all the chrome....

Especially given our dusty environment now with all the constructions up and running.... Not worth it. Haha.

This chrome don't think can polish, only can wipe off the dirt.

Erm, then those Harley Davidson with all the chrome?? I always see them polishing leh. Haha.

Also get dirty easily also lah of course. Haha. High maintenance in essence.