Wow, this 400i will certainly take a big piece of class 2A scooter market here.

From the look of it, the design is up to date and surpassed most of the japanese numbers.

The japs are taking a hard hit recently in terms of everything, including our scooter context.

Prices are high, and there is nothing much more to expect to go along with the price hike, thus

more and more customers are losing confident and interest in getting the Japs...

To add oil to the fire burning the Japs, the taiwanese are taking this perfect timing to floor their

throttle on the R&D department of their scooters, which did have some incredible results...like this

Kymco 400i.

To be honest, even before this model comes, we are already being forwarned by some of the nicest

scooter models that came out from the KMT country beside the Land of the Rising Sun...

See Maxsym 400, which still made my jaw dropped, even i thought after all these years I have seen

the maxim of what the path the scooter trend can go...

Not forgetting the smaller models that comes from PGO, like Libra, which had a voltmeter built into

their meter!

But Kymco I must say, represents the coming of the Taiwanese.

Even BMW wants a piece of their technology for their upcoming Scooter 650GT.

(check link below)

KYMCO Signed a New Engine OEM Project with BMW

So makes you think...should I spend 25k on the 650GT or should I just spend a fraction of the

price and get the original model from Kymco?

hehehe that is however, still an open-ended question to most of us...

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

• Replies 6.1k

Hmm. Interesting, but was thinking the camera will be jutting out rather than lying flat on the handlebar itself. Haha!!!

Good suggestion. Thx!!

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

The front is still Xciting 300 though. Haha. No major changes. But that really looks like an aggressive insect through the rear view mirrors....

The underseat still can only take 1 helmet though, and not 2 which is a deal breaker for me.

Price will be an issue too. Estimated price is $13-14k. Anything more, it'll be too expensive to sell in huge numbers....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/1f31affb.jpg

Did u screw on it or glue on it.????

http://www.motopark.com.pl/uploads/images/pojazdy/skutery/2009-Majesty-400-ABS-action-01.jpg

Hey guys! Do your have this cable tied around the base plate/ rack of the DownTown?? Mine has leh. Is it a normal secure method??

Would a 50L top box be too huge for the DownTown?? Haha. Had always wanted a larger top box, though I could only afford Shad SH45i at $90.....

Hey guys! Do your have this cable tied around the base plate/ rack of the DownTown?? Mine has leh. Is it a normal secure method??

Would a 50L top box be too huge for the DownTown?? Haha. Had always wanted a larger top box, though I could only afford Shad SH45i at $90.....

The last 2 fuel consumption after installing the Dr Pulley rollers came to an average of 27.5km/L (VS 30.5km/L before). So including the $45 installation, and calculation based on 20,000km mileage traveled per year, I'd have spent an additional $2/L X 72L = $145/yr. Haha.

Whether or not that's worth the additional cost, is up to you guys to decide should your want to install Dr Pulley rollers, but for me, it's definitely worth the money, as the increment of acceleration from 60-90kph that I'm getting to me is priceless =D Hehe!!!

Getting a lighter roller increases the tendency for the engine to rev, which is useful for the DT 125 as it stays on the higher power band for more of the time, which gives me increased acceleration. But for those who are in Class 2A territory, I guess a heavier roller will be better as it gives lower rpm for the same speeds, but also slightly less acceleration of course.

Found that the 90 gear oil is not doing a good job lubricating the gears.

Decided to give 140 a try and see if there is any significant difference.

Autobacs $20.50

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/jeryll/34898787.jpg

Whoa. One bottle like that can last for at least 4 change of gear oil. Haha.

Anyways, I'm guessing me rollers have flipped. That's why it just won't reduce its rpm and alter its ratio after 90kph at 10,000rpm. It used to drop rpm from 10k to 8k rpm at 90kph, before carrying on to 120kph at 10k rpm.

For those interested, the Xciting 400 homologation unit is coming next month (July-early Aug). It'll be available for viewing in the showroom after the test is over by LTA.

Estimated OTR price including insurance is $14.5k (Factoring in $2.2k COE). First shipment should be in time for Christmas - that's December for you all folks!

It better go at least 170km/h ha ha.

Can't help feeling it's just a big bore DT 300cc.

This one cannot on par with Burgman 400 or Maxsym 400 or Majesty 400, Xciting can go fly kite.

I am really curious and wonder why the fuel tank capacity is so little.

That goes without saying the mileage.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

Just bought an Xciting 300 and hope I haven't make the wrong choice lol.....

Oh? I thought MS don't bring in Xciting 300 liao. Haha.

It's 2012 model... But I just saw from another thread they gonna bring in the 400 model? Damm....

Don't worry. Xciting 400 will be much more expensive, the front looks the same, size is the same overall as well. Haha.

What color is your Xciting 300Ri???

Don't worry. Xciting 400 will be much more expensive, the front looks the same, size is the same overall as well. Haha.

What color is your Xciting 300Ri???

Yea but coming from a Silver Wing, I was hoping not to downgrade the cc lol.

I got the titanium grey as I am not someone who will wash my bike often :p

But I have to say I'm impressive with the FC having clock about 31.5/l yesterday when I top up. Wover if the bike is as durable as their Japanese counterpart tho.

Edited by kongfu
Yea but coming from a Silver Wing, I was hoping not to downgrade the cc lol.

I got the titanium grey as I am not someone who will wash my bike often :p

But I have to say I'm impressive with the FC having clock about 31.5/l yesterday when I top up. Wover if the bike is as durable as their Japanese counterpart tho.

My Downtown 125 is also titanium color, as I don't wash my bike. I leave it to the rain to do that. Haha.

I used to get 35km/L on stock Maxxis tires, which I changed out at 3000km to Metzeler (softer compound - 30.5km/L) as it was really horrible in the rain/ wet weather performance. Now, my mileage is at 14k km. I just changed Dr Pulley rollers at 12.5k km, and that reduced my consumption to 27.5km/L. Haha. I ride a little faster luh. Hence the rather high fuel consumption. I've been to KL with the DT125i, and I must say, at 10k rpm, 120kph top speed for 1.5hrs straight, the consumption dropped to 20-22km/L..

Your Xcting 300Ri should be problem free as it has been in production for many years. As you know, new products tend to have quite a few problems, as manufacturers these days prefer to launch their products, then recall, than to test the product till its full proof.

Why did you sell off your Silverwing?? Bear in mind rollers, belts, air filter at least for me DT125i is required to change every 15k km. I gather that for Silverwing, it's 40-60k km instead right?

My Downtown 125 is also titanium color, as I don't wash my bike. I leave it to the rain to do that. Haha.

I used to get 35km/L on stock Maxxis tires, which I changed out at 3000km to Metzeler (softer compound - 30.5km/L) as it was really horrible in the rain/ wet weather performance. Now, my mileage is at 14k km. I just changed Dr Pulley rollers at 12.5k km, and that reduced my consumption to 27.5km/L. Haha. I ride a little faster luh. Hence the rather high fuel consumption. I've been to KL with the DT125i, and I must say, at 10k rpm, 120kph top speed for 1.5hrs straight, the consumption dropped to 20-22km/L..

Your Xcting 300Ri should be problem free as it has been in production for many years. As you know, new products tend to have quite a few problems, as manufacturers these days prefer to launch their products, then recall, than to test the product till its full proof.

Why did you sell off your Silverwing?? Bear in mind rollers, belts, air filter at least for me DT125i is required to change every 15k km. I gather that for Silverwing, it's 40-60k km instead right?

Wa the FC change so much by changing tyre alone? I wonder how will DL tyre affect mine???

Sold off my SW cos it's oredi 8+ yrs old liao... and seriously I din know there's these SW GT until I saw 1 the other day lol

belts yea..quite lasting for SW but also depends on rider style lor and what is rollers ha?? pardon me for the noob but I don't remember having change that all

these years while riding it :p

Wa the FC change so much by changing tyre alone? I wonder how will DL tyre affect mine???

Sold off my SW cos it's oredi 8+ yrs old liao... and seriously I din know there's these SW GT until I saw 1 the other day lol

belts yea..quite lasting for SW but also depends on rider style lor and what is rollers ha?? pardon me for the noob but I don't remember having change that all

these years while riding it :p

Whoa! You never change your rollers (this bearing thing in the variator)??? It's a wear and tear part leh, like the belt. Haha.

Oh I see. Ok. I think I heard about you through a fellow Xciting rider =D You got the Xciting from Ubi Motorsports - Ah Lau aka Vincent right??

It depends on the type of tires you use. The stock Maxxis tires are pretty hard IMO. That's why once wet weather, it'll start sliding and wobbling like crazy. Metzeler and Pirelli is softer compound, so for me 125cc, every bit of change will affect fuel consumption somewhat. Haha.

Anyways, it's hard to believe that the pre-facelift SilverWing since its launch in 2003 is a good 9yrs design already. I actually prefer the pre-facelift to the current SW-T which was launched since 2009.

Stock rollers for me DT125i takes 11s to get from 0-80kph, but after changing to Dr Pulley 13g rollers, it's now dropped to 9s. So the added performance (gives me more confidence to overtake), and a slight sacrifice in fuel consumption is worth it to me lah. Haha.

Whoa! You never change your rollers (this bearing thing in the variator)??? It's a wear and tear part leh, like the belt. Haha.

Oh I see. Ok. I think I heard about you through a fellow Xciting rider =D You got the Xciting from Ubi Motorsports - Ah Lau aka Vincent right??

It depends on the type of tires you use. The stock Maxxis tires are pretty hard IMO. That's why once wet weather, it'll start sliding and wobbling like crazy. Metzeler and Pirelli is softer compound, so for me 125cc, every bit of change will affect fuel consumption somewhat. Haha.

Anyways, it's hard to believe that the pre-facelift SilverWing since its launch in 2003 is a good 9yrs design already. I actually prefer the pre-facelift to the current SW-T which was launched since 2009.

Stock rollers for me DT125i takes 11s to get from 0-80kph, but after changing to Dr Pulley 13g rollers, it's now dropped to 9s. So the added performance (gives me more confidence to overtake), and a slight sacrifice in fuel consumption is worth it to me lah. Haha.

Er...never le I don't even know what's a roller until you mention it lol and nope I got mine from their showroom think u got de wrong guy :)

IMO the SW-T look nicer leh...

Hmm...think I'll change the roller to to boost the power too lol...Btw where do I change the roller ah?