• Replies 6.1k

I'm oso eagerly waiting to see the real machine at Mah's soon. Looks like my initial concern about servicing and maintenance the bike at a good workshop can be solved by asking great opinion and advice from the bros here. I'm looking forward to getting a scoot soon but also sad to wave goodbye to my drive after CNY.

"----- I give up trying to lose weight------" :dot:

Mmmm...this is suppose to be a Kymco thread but surprisingly the feedback gathered is really making my head turn away.....but its exactly the truthful information i need to decide which scooter to get.....thanks to all bros for contributing ur thoughts.:thumb: Luckily I still got a month more before selling my car to make a decision.

Get a quotation from Kymco DT300i at $11500. inclusive of 1st party insurance, 6mth road tax, rear box. w/o IU unit.

will be checking out at Mah Pte Ltd next few days......:)

Wah Kymco and Sym mix together until i'm also lost. Don't know Kymco after sales service bad or Sym after sales service bad.

I own a Kymco so i can say something about Kymco agent Motorsport.

I don't own a Sym and so the things i know about the scoot and the agent are info from others.

First off Sym, the agent of Sym I feel don't have a proper store for Sym spare parts. They deal in other makes other than Sym.

To have a store to keep alot of Sym parts are not possible as the store also need to stock other parts.

Kymco on the other hand deal mainly in Kymco, so the parts they carry in their store are adequate. Don't have to worry about leaving the bike at bike shop for a few weeks or months like the Sym i read in the sym thread. I've seen spare parts shop carry Sym belt and rollers also.

In terms of spare parts Kymco should be better stock than Sym in Singapore.

Oh yes, forgot Sym got factory in Malaysia also. So maybe able to order from Malaysia too.

If you find Motorsport spare part price for Kymco may be expensive, there's always the internet. Like the belt, can opt for a cheaper option like Malossi.

I've heard from a few people who doesn't like dealing with Mah and they will avoid buying their bike there if possible. I also didn't ask why.

I have a very good experience with Kymco Motorsport boss Mr Herbert. He is very friendly and helpful. Those who are interested about Kymco scoot should call/visit and talk to him personally. Then you'll see what i mean.

He tried his best to solve my scoot problems and i am satisfied with him. My scoot was a power cut model and i am not happy, so keep bothering him to lend me parts to try and test. In the end the original parts is still the best.

Now already accept the scoot liao and i am enjoying the pleasure it brings. Power more than enough. Open throttle only it accelerate quickly.

Cornering very stable on even road, can coner very confidently without hesitation and worry unlike Nexus 300 that don't give me the confidence. Maybe Nexus seat too high ha ha.

I am also very impress with my Downtown engine. I really wack it full throttle whenever i can maintaining at speed between 130km/h -140km/h(max) during a trip up north as i am the only 300cc. The group i follow smallest cc is 500. I stress not to hold the group back so full throttle loh ha ha. I am very surprise the engine didn't blow up. So engine i can say very very good. Now still idle swee swee no funny or unusual sound whatsoever.

The problem i face now is the steering cone already spoil within 1 year. The Taiwanese change it to using japanese brand as they feel the steering cone quality not good. The Bottom of the engine has a small hole and some engine oil is leaking out. The hole maybe a breather, no biggie as the oil level is still the same after many months. Its just a patch of wet oil not those dripping kind. The last problem is the juddering of the clutch which is there since new. Have updated to the improved version and it was good for a while. On and off juddering. Not all the time but usually when very cold, rain or after high speed ride the day before.

I think I can live with DT3, my partner says she like DT3 very much and ask me not to sell. Good for shopping and going Malaysia ha ha.

With the resale/trade-in so low, i guess i have to keep it. Since it's working good and don't give me any problems so far, i don't see why i should sell it although i really like the Xciting 400i. Haiz Kymco ah Kymco (Motorsport ah Motorsport) why you no take back your scoot i buy from you at a a higher trade-in price??? Sell to bike shop also nobody want. Bikeshop want to take it in so low until i have to take off my pants. Guess i mind as well keep it then lost so much.

2hp in the scooter world is the very the alot loh.

Shorter wheel base better cornering/handling. How short? I don't know.

Variator sure can tahan.

Engine i can have total confidence in the reliabilty. Should be the same system as DT3, although my DT3 only 1 year 6mth.

Now the Question is:

Between MaxSym 400 and Xciting 400 which is a better choice/buy?

Finally, the Taiwanese are getting the MaxSym over there. They have been waiting for Maxsym 400 to be sold in Taiwan until their neck became so long ho ho ho.

Now i'm waiting to see these 2 scoot reliabilty, capability and which is a better scoot that the Taiwanese prefer/recommend.

Wah Kymco and Sym mix together until i'm also lost. Don't know Kymco after sales service bad or Sym after sales service bad.

I think I can live with DT3, my partner says she like DT3 very much and ask me not to sell. Good for shopping and going Malaysia ha ha.

With the resale/trade-in so low, i guess i have to keep it. Since it's working good and don't give me any problems so far, i don't see why i should sell it although i really like the Xciting 400i. Haiz Kymco ah Kymco (Motorsport ah Motorsport) why you no take back your scoot i buy from you at a a higher trade-in price??? Sell to bike shop also nobody want. Bikeshop want to take it in so low until i have to take off my pants. Guess i mind as well keep it then lost so much.

Wah bro....this part really scare me man....have to stick with same bike 10 yrs....any idea is the resale value of Sym also about the same fate?

Don't worry lah, if you buy any new bike/car the price will drop immediately. Only how much will it drop.

In this case Kymco will drop very low due to no demand and the brand image.

There maybe due to some background business practices that we do not see in the motorcycle trade in Singapore.

If you intend to ride for about 3-5years then new scoot should be ok. In this case, mind as well buy something like my scoot from $5K-$8K for a 1 Yr 6mth scoot and save yourself lots of money. Totally not worth buying a new one.

Maybe i'll just wait for a 2nd hand Xciting 400 in 1-2 years time and it may cost below $8K.

I was thinking......

If I sell a scooter brand called KingKong and only i sell this brand of scooter. I try not to let anyone sell this brand except me.

I sell My KingKong 300 scooter for say $12,000.

Buyer A buy my $12,000 scooter.

After a year, buyer A want to trade-in KingKong 300 for New KingTong 400.

I tell buyer A that I can only take in scooter KingKong 300 trade-in value of $5000 only because the machine price for KingKong 300 now is $8,000.

Is this consider shooting my own leg?

Then Buyer A ask: "If current KingKong 300 Machine price is $8000 and trade-in is $5,000, then what happened to the addition $4,000 that i also paid".

$8,000(Machine price)+$4000(GST,IU,COE,Insurance and etc)=$12,000

$8,000(New)-$5000(trade-in)=$2,000 (Depreciation)

Then $4,000(GST,IU,COE, Insurance and etc)+$2,000(Depreciation)=$6,000 loss.

How should I tell/explain to buyer A how all this whole thing works?

Edited by parotae

i own Xciting300i for 6 month.... not a bad scoot.. just dun like the power cut... like the sporty look most thats why i get it.... ^^

as for the new 400i, the front look still remain like Xciting300i, power wise really need someone review abt it... :)

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f360/eric288/tesseract.jpg

I dUn rIdE fAst,

I rIdE wIth skIll~

Yeap. Was quite disappointed to see that Xciting 400Ri front design is pretty much the same as Xciting 300Ri. However, since it looks so good, why change it right?? Haha.

2bhp more than Majesty probably ain't gonna make it pull away from the lights any faster. Having upgraded from 15bhp from DT125i to 34bhp on Majesty 400, that's a difference of 19bhp. 2bhp is only a small percentage increase.

The Xciting 400Ri should be able to do at least 23km/L, if not 25km/L to stand out for a 400cc sports-maxi-scooter.

Anything below 23km/L is totally unacceptable to me as I'm getting 21.24km/L and a fellow Majesty rider is getting 23km/L.

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Erh, by right COE should be factored into the used price as well.

You'd realize that Motorsports pockets almost $4k for each Downtown they sell.

OMV = $2.6k. Inclusive of all other registration fees and taxes + OMV = $3.7k

Machine Price = $7.8k.

Pocket = $4.1k..... That's heck a lot of money that one will throw down the drain buying a new DT200i.

Or it must be Singaporeans are really rich to throw $4.1k away just like that.....

$7k first year depreciation for KingKong scoots. Ouch!

I was thinking......

If I sell a scooter brand called KingKong and only i sell this brand of scooter. I try not to let anyone sell this brand except me.

I sell My KingKong 300 scooter for say $12,000.

Buyer A buy my $12,000 scooter.

After a year, buyer A want to trade-in KingKong 300 for New KingTong 400.

I tell buyer A that I can only take in scooter KingKong 300 trade-in value of $5000 only because the machine price for KingKong 300 now is $8,000.

Is this consider shooting my own leg?

Then Buyer A ask: "If current KingKong 300 Machine price is $8000 and trade-in is $5,000, then what happened to the addition $4,000 that i also paid".

$8,000(Machine price)+$4000(GST,IU,COE,Insurance and etc)=$12,000

$8,000(New)-$5000(trade-in)=$2,000 (Depreciation)

Then $4,000(GST,IU,COE, Insurance and etc)+$2,000(Depreciation)=$6,000 loss.

How should I tell/explain to buyer A how all this whole thing works?

thats true.. i riding Xciting300i is abt 25-27km/L... now still considering which to get.. too many choices for me liao... haha...

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f360/eric288/tesseract.jpg

I dUn rIdE fAst,

I rIdE wIth skIll~

How do I buy a motorcycle?

Engine, performance, outlook, practical usage, service interval, parts support, parts price and most important,I must like the bike.

$12k for a auto scooter is only $1.2k/year, $100/mth,$3.50/day.

What can you buy $3.50 now? Chicken rice+soya bean water?

Just ride all whole 10years and you be the winner.

Dt300i is consider a very good bike compare to 2b bikes as in price, servicing is almost the same, just that the parts are slightly More expensive.

sent from my Ericsson GH388.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

I have been riding DT300I for more than a year and now i find the bike pretty smooth while traveling below 100km/h. Fuel consumption on my riding style is about 27km/l on an average. Good pick up as well. This bike has got great understorage and together with a box, u really can go for your weekend market shopping.

Now here comes the not so good side of the bike. Firstly is the resale value, it really sucks. One way to counter that is to get a second hand? Next is that the bike has plenty of nitty gritty problems here and there like funny squeaky sound coming from inside the clutch to uneven power delivery at certain torque to nuts coming off resulting in exhaust cover hanging one side down and often scratching the tarmac. Now the worst technical problem with the bike is the steering cone which gave me problem at 7k mileage.

As for after sales service, one word, despaired. Which is the reason why all these problems still persist and i just had to live with it. This are my personal feel and i hope it does not affect your decision to get Kymco.

Mmmm...this is suppose to be a Kymco thread but surprisingly the feedback gathered is really making my head turn away.....but its exactly the truthful information i need to decide which scooter to get.....thanks to all bros for contributing ur thoughts.:thumb: Luckily I still got a month more before selling my car to make a decision.

Get a quotation from Kymco DT300i at $11500. inclusive of 1st party insurance, 6mth road tax, rear box. w/o IU unit.

will be checking out at Mah Pte Ltd next few days......:)

Yes. $$$$. That's the reason I'm switching back to riding again. I'm also thinking of getting a 2nd hand scooter which is not too old. Saw from another thread someone is selling Maxsym 400 which is 1yr old at around $9k for COI. Only downside is i'm not good at bike and thus duno how to spot any defacts.

Thanks everyone for contributing ur thoughts. :cheers:

Thing is, these nitty gritty problems are not major. What is disconcerting is the distributor's lack of sincerity and commitment to resolve the issues.

I have been riding DT300I for more than a year and now i find the bike pretty smooth while traveling below 100km/h. Fuel consumption on my riding style is about 27km/l on an average. Good pick up as well. This bike has got great understorage and together with a box, u really can go for your weekend market shopping.

Now here comes the not so good side of the bike. Firstly is the resale value, it really sucks. One way to counter that is to get a second hand? Next is that the bike has plenty of nitty gritty problems here and there like funny squeaky sound coming from inside the clutch to uneven power delivery at certain torque to nuts coming off resulting in exhaust cover hanging one side down and often scratching the tarmac. Now the worst technical problem with the bike is the steering cone which gave me problem at 7k mileage.

As for after sales service, one word, despaired. Which is the reason why all these problems still persist and i just had to live with it. This are my personal feel and i hope it does not affect your decision to get Kymco.

Haha.

Even though you are not a kymco owner, good to see that you are aware of such problems!! Its the attitude of how Motorsports treat us Kymco owners that pisses me off.

Ketok once to buy the scoot, ketok another to trade in, ketok third time buying their new bike!!!

Erh, by right COE should be factored into the used price as well.

You'd realize that Motorsports pockets almost $4k for each Downtown they sell.

OMV = $2.6k. Inclusive of all other registration fees and taxes + OMV = $3.7k

Machine Price = $7.8k.

Pocket = $4.1k..... That's heck a lot of money that one will throw down the drain buying a new DT200i.

Or it must be Singaporeans are really rich to throw $4.1k away just like that.....

Just imagine one day when the import/export process being digitized and networked, the 4.1k will become less and the trade middle man will disappear... Or maybe he will change to other roles and be humble and sincere...

Like I always buy things and compare products on the Internet... Network will speed up things and cut off the unnecessary cost...

Recommended "Must Read" Post:

How to "Live" with a Motorcycle in Singapore, a very detailed guide

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Well, I was fortunate enough to share the depreciation with my dad for my DT125i.

If Motorsports don't improve their management and sales, I probably wouldn't be going back to Kymco liao, at least for Singapore market.

Just received my Insurance and Road Tax renewal. Thus another month away to 2 years.

Thinking of itchy backside to change bike again.

Anyone keen to buy a Downtown 300i? Fully stocked, black colour. Only tiems changed were the engine oil, filter, spark plug and just last month, the battery.

Bike is currently 15000km, coming to 2 years. Sheltered car park. Proper break in done with lots of oil changes. I using fully synthetic oil and change less than 3000km interval with full records of work done and all refuelling. Fuel consumption nowadays constant 34km/litre of SHELL 95.

IU is installed.

Bike serviced only at Motorsports under my own watchful eyes.

Fixed with Kymco bracket, and with a Givi 450 Simply top box.

You will get a brand new number plate as I am retaining mine, so it's like you are getting a new bike.

Selling at $9500

Edited by paithorn
I still like my Kymco Downtown 300 though.

Fast, quick and nimble.

Can't agree more. For this price, what do you expect??

And which bike owners have no complaints after buying a bike? Is there a perfect machine? Not even the mighty BMWs....

Like what parotae said, the boss of MS (Herbert Teh) is a very nice gentleman. He will not play you out if you got a defective machine. So far he replied all my email queries, sms and forum postings. Not many motorshop bosses is like him. I will support him again if he has a bike I like.

Edited by paithorn