hi guys i just got my class 2B license last week, so im looking to get a bike now. i've searched forums and so far have shortlisted to two bikes: Honda CBR150 and Honda XR125. since im going to get my 2A license in a yr's time, im looking at 2nd hand bikes. my budget is ard 3.5k. do you have any good shops to recommend? any shops that specialise in 2nd hand bikes?

• Replies 18

recommended to get your bike from forum since you can straight cash to avoid those high interest rates in Bike shops.. but remember to ask those people who are riding the bikes that you are going to purchase.. You can get to know those guys from our main website...

Threads Posts

SingaporeBikes•Cubs

This section is for all underbone (aka Kup Kias, moped, Kupchais etc) rides in SingaporeBikes.com

SingaporeBikes•Scooters

This section is for Scooter Riders in SingaporeBikes.com

SingaporeBikes•Cruisers

This section is for Cruisers in SingaporeBikes.com

SingaporeBikes•Phantom Knights

A bunch of phantom riders gathered together so as to make riding more enjoyable as a group.

SingaporeBikes•Naked Bikes

This section is for Naked Bikers Bikes in SingaporeBikes.com

SingaporeBikes•CB400 Super Four

Home of Super Fours

SingaporeBikes•Scramblers

This section is for Dirtbikers in SingaporeBikes.com

SingaporeBikes•SportsBikes

A section for bikes with fairings, regardless of any make, displacement or license class differences.

SingaporeBikes•Tourer/Sport-Tourer

This section is for all Tourer & Sport-Tourer in SingaporeBikes.com

depending on the make of bikes you wan.. :) Good luck in your search and hope you get a good price for a good bike.. Not something that needs repair on your 1st few days of riding like my friend.. :(

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

u get from shop confirm kenna "tok" 1k +/-. But "gurantee" no issue with bike.

U get from forummer confirm save 1k +/-. But gurantee got some issue with bike.

not all la bro... u kinda like saying buy from forum-er kinda discourage...

cannot '1 bamboo hit all boats' la... :angel:

Join us at our Singapore Fazer Club Facebook Group! Only for Fazerians!

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SGFazerClub

FB/SBF PM me for member access..

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

Hi, I am just leveraging on this post. I had too got my 2B license 1 mth ago. But I have little to zero knowledge on looking for bikes. Just wanna know what are the things i need to look out for when buying bikes? Specifications? Price (COE, road tax)? Will appreciate if anyone can give me a gd summary on what to look out for. cause I went to search the selling of 2nd hand bike sessions, i am always being dazzled by the things they mention in it.

For me i just wan to get a 2nd hand bike as i will be going for 2A license 1 yr later and class 2 and so forth. I dont need a superb gd bike. Just wan something which can bring me ard. I dun hav plans to modify or zhng it. Jus wan a bike for me to ride on so i wun get rusty 1 yr later when i go for my class 2A. Many thanks for your comments and pardon me cause i am really a noob whom likes riding.

Suggestion:

1) decide what category of bikes you are interested in.

2) like that adesmond2 said, read up on the threads for that type of bike. (cruiser/ sports/ road/ cub/ naked bikes)

3) decide which bike model you are interested in.

4) do an advance search on threads selling the bike.

5) contact a few sellers & view bike. (plus if you have frens who are riding. get them to test bike also. if not, like me, you have to read up yourself) - check out the "#

# Buyer's Checklist for Checking an Used Bike for Purchase." under this link

Do at least 2 bike viewings. Do your homework on private sellers' threads & compare prices based on "Age of bike, mileage reading, condition". Getting from a private seller will save you $. Bike shop sure to markup. But be sure to read up on how to check when buying 2nd hand bikes, if not you might be cheated.

6) Decide which is the right bike & get it!

Hi, I am just leveraging on this post. I had too got my 2B license 1 mth ago. But I have little to zero knowledge on looking for bikes. Just wanna know what are the things i need to look out for when buying bikes? Specifications? Price (COE, road tax)? Will appreciate if anyone can give me a gd summary on what to look out for. cause I went to search the selling of 2nd hand bike sessions, i am always being dazzled by the things they mention in it.

For me i just wan to get a 2nd hand bike as i will be going for 2A license 1 yr later and class 2 and so forth. I dont need a superb gd bike. Just wan something which can bring me ard. I dun hav plans to modify or zhng it. Jus wan a bike for me to ride on so i wun get rusty 1 yr later when i go for my class 2A. Many thanks for your comments and pardon me cause i am really a noob whom likes riding.

Hello,

perhaps you wanna take a look at my bike?

u get from shop confirm kenna "tok" 1k +/-. But "gurantee" no issue with bike.

U get from forummer confirm save 1k +/-. But gurantee got some issue with bike.

From all the horror stories i have read, im sure its at a shop, u get "TOK" for admin charges. U also get "TOK" on the bike itself because the shop wouldnt know the bike history or the bike is a hastily repaired accident bike. Then u would get "TOK" on the repair costs as you have to keep going back to rectify issues.

For private sellers, you dun have admin charges, insurance is cheaper (as you can find the best quote as opposed to the shop tell u 1k means 1k!) and u can judge from the owner whether he is a sincere guy who takes care of his ride and also most importantly, the previous maintenance done. There will be bad eggs who just wanna get rid of their lemon but these are a minority.

From what i see, people who have full cash to PAy for a bike usually source from private owners and those who have only minimal sum for Down payment will go to shops hoping they will strike the lucky "TOTO" trouble free bike.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

sorry borrow thread, I am looking for a KR and planning to buy from shop. Anyone know of any reliable show to recommend ? preferably near north. if not, other place also possible. Thanks.

look around..not neccesary must be near your house or whatsoever then u can get the bike..bukit merah ubi all got. far is far..but in the long run its the money that matters not the convinence

Slow is smooth, smooth is fast

alamak...just a slang lah...

i don't get it...

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

hmmm, sorry to ask, anyone know where's the guide of buying 2nd that a forumer created? ( not those external link) . :cheeky::cheeky:

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3506/62342128949007155586100.jpg

人在åš, 天在看