haha, i know. will do it up once got extra $ on hand...

maybe will go bikeshop on sat to see how they can solve it, then maybe end of the mth push in.

some just bullsh it, i cant tahan.. lol.

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

bros, i want to know what's this round thing that connect to the red (+) wire. k, when i press the start, only tick tock sound coming from that round thing, carbon starter no sound. bike just wont start. i want to know what's wrong before i can ask to service. cos the problem dont always come but once it comes, i'm damn jialat. need to count on luck to start it up!! where's the alternator? i think its the thing inside the round cover @ the bottom fairing. that cover was gone when i got into accident recently..

160720101959.jpg

160720101960.jpg

160720101961.jpg

Edited by ben2306
ben, ur bike fc really bad, i can confirm its ur air fuel ratio n ur electrode damn dirty. mine too was like that when i first got the bike. after i clean, wash the carb n tune- fc went up back to bout bout 19.

bout ur bike cant start, u need to elaborate more . if u rev it a lil, can u start it?

anyway i suggest u also to check if there is any spark when u starting it. the carbon starter seldom spoil actually. I'm still using the same one that came with the bike since the first day.

where you service your bike?
its the tip of the spark plug..the part that is creating the spark...and if its like what bro yoshitei described...i would believe that the combustion ain't complete..hope i'm not wrong :cheeky:
what you mean by combustion ain't complete?
bros, i want to know what's this round thing that connect to the red (+) wire. k, when i press the start, only tick tock sound coming from that round thing, carbon starter no sound. bike just wont start. i want to know what's wrong before i can ask to service. cos the problem dont always come but once it comes, i'm damn jialat. need to count on luck to start it up!! where's the alternator? i think its the thing inside the round cover @ the bottom fairing. that cover was gone when i got into accident recently..

Hmm...

That looks like the starter solenoid.

I can see from the picture you've got 4 additional wires connected to the positive (+) terminal of your battery or the positive (+) terminal of your starter solenoid.

One of these is for your IU (white & black pair) but what are the other 3 for? Namely the red, brown and braided purple?

Now, if the starter solenoid receives insufficient power from the battery, it will; in your case produce a rapid clicking or clacking sound and fail to start the engine. The insufficient power can be caused by the following:

1) A low or dead battery

2) Corroded or loose connections

3) Damaged positive (+) cable from the battery

If the issue is intermittent, that might rule out your battery but do check your wiring. Your excess wiring may be the source of the problem.

what you mean by combustion ain't complete?

Your air / fuel ratio is incomplete. Do the plug chop to verify.

Hmm...

That looks like the starter solenoid.

I can see from the picture you've got 4 additional wires connected to the positive (+) terminal of your battery or the positive (+) terminal of your starter solenoid.

One of these is for your IU (white & black pair) but what are the other 3 for? Namely the red, brown and braided purple?

Now, if the starter solenoid receives insufficient power from the battery, it will; in your case produce a rapid clicking or clacking sound and fail to start the engine. The insufficient power can be caused by the following:

1) A low or dead battery

2) Corroded or loose connections

3) Damaged positive (+) cable from the battery

If the issue is intermittent, that might rule out your battery but do check your wiring. Your excess wiring may be the source of the problem.

Your air / fuel ratio is incomplete. Do the plug chop to verify.

batt just changed.

brown i think was for my alarm system but i told bikesop to take out for me already but dont know why the wire stll there.

as for the braided purple, its connected to the fuse, not to the (+). when i took over, its already like that, that fuse blew, bike cant start @ all.

as for the red, hahaha, till now i never figured out, thought it was headlights.

ok, maybe i'll strip it 1day to check everything out.

will the shop you recommend be able to Do the plug chop? maybe tml i'm going there to see what they say before decide on whether letting them do it.:thumb:

1)clean carb, change o-rings

2)check valve clearance

3)do plug chop

anybody knows roughly how much all these cost? should be less than 200, right?

should really meet up soon organise an outing... :D

ride safe play when theres no one..

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs750.ash1/164147_1879018014895_1224627836_2288376_4890403_n.jpg

sounds close to $300 even before u add in eo or filter change

usually i just do all at the same time

erm... that's around my budget.

you know, throwing in alot of $ on bike @ a shot is what i'll never do. i need to see changes in it before proceed to other problems.:thumb:

bro, valve clearance and eo/filter + carb syn

or in short anything to do wif the well being of the bike, dun play better.

i rather do these up, have a healthy engine then to pay $ for it to look nice.

some time ago, i recall a poorly mantained cbr piston jam at t12 of pg.

oil spill all over, caused a duke rider behind to crash and total. :(

bro, valve clearance and eo/filter + carb syn

or in short anything to do wif the well being of the bike, dun play better.

i rather do these up, have a healthy engine then to pay $ for it to look nice.

some time ago, i recall a poorly mantained cbr piston jam at t12 of pg.

oil spill all over, caused a duke rider behind to crash and total. :(

ya, i know. just came back from bikeshop. yoshitel was right, running too rich...

anybody out there ever changed the needle & float set in carbs? price? cos i was quoted $70+ per set,

+ wash carb already around $400... o rings still not included. unless needle not spoil, still can adjust..

any help?:(

as for bike cant start, he also said its the carbon starter.. why? cos carbon all stuck inside as time passed..

use something long to knock x2 should be okay liao..

Edited by ben2306

anybody out there ever changed the needle & float set in carbs? price? cos i was quoted $70+ per set,

+ wash carb already around $400... o rings still not included. unless needle not spoil, still can adjust..

as for bike cant start, he also said its the carbon starter.. why? cos carbon all stuck inside as time passed..

I paid around AU$65 for a Mikuni needle and seat set.

Your carbon brush could be worn; they should be at least 3.5mm, have them checked if really they're work, have them replaced.

I paid around AU$65 for a Mikuni needle and seat set.

Your carbon brush could be worn; they should be at least 3.5mm, have them checked if really they're work, have them replaced.

erm, ok...
ya, i know. just came back from bikeshop. yoshitel was right, running too rich...

go guan ho?

mr Han is a nice gentleman. should be cheaper.

go guan ho?

mr Han is a nice gentleman. should be cheaper.

i've met him before.. maybe will make a trip there too. but who has ever let him really worked out those carbs? & he only entertain carbs on wkdays, i'm only free on wkends..:faint:

Pay a bit more and get them fixed proper?

i'm quite happy with what the mech told me. boss not around.. dont worry, bro i wont save that little $. i'll get them all back when my fc is fixed..:thumb:
Your bike doesn't have a throttle body.
is it?? no wonder i cant google... told my frend about my bike problem, he told me throttle body dirty..

asked me go k&t ask. lucky that time i never go.. thanks, bro!!

is it?? no wonder i cant google... told my frend about my bike problem, he told me throttle body dirty..

asked me go k&t ask. lucky that time i never go.. thanks, bro!!

Throttle bodies only apply to vehicles with fuel injection.

I suppose he meant your carburetors are dirty.

I have a 08 GSX and the warmers are weak. My finger tips freeze in the mornings and it takes a long time for the grips to warm up. On my Viper the warmers were super hot, I had to turn them down or burn. I am considering looking into Hot Grips.
????:?:?????

hi guys, going to take my 2A soon and considering this bike for my next ride then let my girlfriend take over my SP.... thought i should ask some GSX lao jiaos for some words of wisdom before i proceed...

1) what is the FC for this bike like?

2) how much does it cost to maintain this bike (EO, plugs, oil filter)

3) are spare parts readily available and the pricing?

4) what are the common problem associated with this bike?

considering between this, a cbr400 and a RVF, would appreciate any input you guys have...

thanks in advance!

Cheap + fast = no good

Cheap + good = not fast

Good + fast = not cheap

>>>(wise words from ahduck)<<<

hey rocklobster,

i think all your queries is stated soem where in the forum. u can just do a quick search.

anyway fc depend on bike. usually about 18 - 22 per liter depend on ride style.

maintainence is standard. 2.9l e.o.

parts easily available but see ur budget.

bike problem - depend on bike n previous rider. for me its a work horse.

lastly, dun compare with the rest. all bike got different advantage & disadvantages. See which 1 u like. u can try the seating position , look and feel of all 3 beofr eu buy. but g4 is by far cheapest n the market for the cc its offering. but dun just buy coz its cheap. its an old bike afterall need tlc