Originally posted by mickccm@Mar 5 2006, 02:57 PM

huh?? ohh no.. that doesn't sound too gd... hhmm.. but how do i check?? i have no idea leh.. and i thought i have to run in first b4 i can ram the engine... then how?? any advices??:giddy:

well according to ah xiong and ah pui from unity...they told me its more like manufacturer defects. well its the 1st batch ma...although it does nt affect the performance at the time being...but its just like a pain in de ass...and u do no know it might affect the performance in the long run... so better ask hongleong if u encounter any prob in the beginning...

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by Naz@Mar 5 2006, 04:05 PM

How to detect if the rectifier is gonna give way?

When I just got my bike, the low-beam will only switch on one headlight. High-beam will switch on both.

Within three weeks of changing the bulb, the bulb which lights up upon low beam kinda blown. Then I was using high-beam all the way till yesterday, one of the high beam bulbs blew as well.

Is this a case of a gone rectifier?

Anyone please?

Many thanks.

To wat i know, symptoms of rectifier faulty:

1) Batt weak/ faulty

2) Iregular charging (voltmeter) thus flickering light and suchs

3) Electrical components kept getting burned and damaged

sometimes its the charing coil faulty also...but seldom la...

Thanks for the advice guys :thumb:

:btw: Gary, any ideas how much Jimmy will charge? I know he's good but so far havent had the chance to see him.

And how much will re-jetting my bike back to stock cost me? Any rough gauges?

Thanks again and sorry for asking too much..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

anyone know the owner of the G4 FK4500? if you're here, mind give me a PM? i would like to know more about your fairing. thanks!

Nothing to lose.

Originally posted by snk@Mar 5 2006, 07:22 PM

well according to ah xiong and ah pui from unity...they told me its more like manufacturer defects. well its the 1st batch ma...although it does nt affect the performance at the time being...but its just like a pain in de ass...and u do no know it might affect the performance in the long run... so better ask hongleong if u encounter any prob in the beginning...

but then in the first place i am afraid that i might not be able to detect any faults coz i am not that good at bikes, and am afraid that i might not be able to hear anything wrong...

do u have any advices?? btw, can i rev abt 4-5 rpm be4 i finish running in?? coz i scared of revving too hard..

Originally posted by 168km/h@Mar 4 2006, 11:02 PM

another last minute outing . . . . just came back from there le. Seems like the chairman is very bz nowadayz , now who is the deputy-chairman ? no outings very bored le .e.e.e.e.e.e.

:sweat: sori brudder...yah been buzi recently...stay tune...gonna be an outing soon....

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by mickccm@Mar 5 2006, 08:35 PM

but then in the first place i am afraid that i might not be able to detect any faults coz i am not that good at bikes, and am afraid that i might not be able to hear anything wrong...

do u have any advices?? btw, can i rev abt 4-5 rpm be4 i finish running in?? coz i scared of revving too hard..

Saw some oversea webby told us actually no need to run in the bike. Just take and rev the bike.....they say its good...

But myself, i still dun approve this....:smile:

Its still up to yourself.

Get a pro to take the bike with you.

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Originally posted by IceZ@Mar 5 2006, 09:04 PM

:sweat: sori brudder...yah been buzi recently...stay tune...gonna be an outing soon....

you got 3-some mah...ICE......sure buzy one mah.

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Originally posted by Naz@Mar 5 2006, 07:40 PM

Thanks for the advice guys :thumb:

:btw: Gary, any ideas how much Jimmy will charge? I know he's good but so far havent had the chance to see him.

And how much will re-jetting my bike back to stock cost me? Any rough gauges?

Thanks again and sorry for asking too much..

No idea how much he will charge, it depends on what's spoilt.

Rejet to stock condition will depends on what the previous owner has changed. If bike is running fine, just leave it.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by TnT@Mar 5 2006, 09:10 PM

Saw some oversea webby told us actually no need to run in the bike. Just take and rev the bike.....they say its good...

But myself, i still dun approve this....:smile:

Its still up to yourself.

Get a pro to take the bike with you.

peter r u refering to high speed run-in?

i heard of it before but dun really understand the theory behind it...haha...

anyway just bring a expert along with u when u collect ur bike...we gt dozens of pros here...

btw i wanna survey wat's the top speed of a stock G4? cos i tested mine stucked at 180km at 10k rpm...i smell something fishy...couldn't be that slow...

Originally posted by snk@Mar 6 2006, 07:03 PM

btw i wanna survey wat's the top speed of a stock G4? cos i tested mine stucked at 180km at 10k rpm...i smell something fishy...couldn't be that slow...

mine at 200, still can up.

I tried 170 liddat at 10K rpm.

But I suspect my sparkplug got problem.

And I also very the suspect my carburettor.

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

Definitely more den 200km/h

yo ozzar.... saw your bike at the carpark.... :thumb:

Ow OW..

wanna ask..

I cannot push to redline also. Everytime go till 12K, STUCK. Then like wanna go don wanna go liddat the needle.

How come ah?

Last time I rode my scrambler, its because main jet too big liao. Made the bike bogs at high rev. Is it any similiar to this bike?

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

hmmm...time to down size the sprockets... have to play with the ratio...so guys wat's the most optimum ratio for g4? 16 - 42 ? or wat? any comments?

k my father is thinking of getting me gsx400...

any things that i should look out for..?

dont really know much bout this bike... hehehe :sweat:

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

But I can't seem to forget

When you came along

Ingenue, I just don't know what to do

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/joe_007/bikerchick2.jpg

-KENANGAN MOTO TERCINTA-

Originally posted by FuLL of SoRRoW@Mar 6 2006, 11:59 PM

lucky u....

i was wondering how my dad wish to burn my gsxr400 instead!

take note of the carb and engine area, see any oil leakage or heavy petrol smell from any area, including tank area. front fork see got any scratch. see if idling is consistent.

rear suspension wise, not really necessary as long the tension is still there. Not like those u sit on it can immediately feel the sinking effect.

Originally posted by Addictive@Mar 6 2006, 11:35 PM

GSXR400 Parts for sale

yoz bro, might be interested in the front rotors.....

You have a cool dad man.....

I wished my dad would force me to buy a busa......

Anyway, the usual.... engine no leak, suspension, brake rotors, any funny sounds while moving.......

Best get a couple of guys familiar with the bike to go along wif ya when you view bikes.... n dun immediately jump at the 1st bike you see at motordiams..... even if its dirt cheap and the warranty they promise you the moon and the stars.

:cheeky: buy me one also~~ no $$ to buy bike :cry: