Cagiva Planet

Guest Zellus

HI guys,

i finally bought my Planet, quite easi to handle, but at first find it abit difficult to ride man, now okie liao, haha, aniwei my speedometer juz spoilt, darn, ani idea how much will it cost to repair it?

• Replies 1.2k

Originally posted by Zellus@Mar 3 2004, 08:55 PM

HI guys,

i finally bought my Planet, quite easi to handle, but at first find it abit difficult to ride man, now okie liao, haha, aniwei my speedometer juz spoilt, darn, ani idea how much will it cost to repair it?

if the needle is floating up and down, then look for a second hand one in the bike shops. can't fixed it. minerva @ 62984777 for a brand new one

if the needle doesn't move, check the speedo cable. should be broken. just get it changed. 20-30+

Originally posted by Zellus@Mar 3 2004, 08:55 PM

HI guys,

Haiz... me have e same porblem with my speedometer.

may be we can get it together.

Guest Zellus

hey guy!!!

need some advices, my part of my plastic cover melted onto my exhaust pipe, :cry:

ani idea on how to remove it?:confused:

Originally posted by Zellus@Mar 6 2004, 06:58 AM

hey guy!!!

need some advices, my part of my plastic cover melted onto my exhaust pipe, :cry:

ani idea on how to remove it?:confused:

slowly polish away with autosol. what to do?

change your bike cover to a better one. i always cover my bike immediately after riding. the cover has never melted before.

What about making this place the planet's resource page?

since there are so liitle of us left in sillypore and all of us are scatted ard.. kekek

maybe in the forum we can discover more of our kind?

cheers:cheer:

okie, start the ball rolling.

wash carb and valve = $40 at Excel

Top end servicing, includes cleaning of piston, change of bearings, change of gasket, change of coolant, cleaning of exhaust valve = $150 at Excel.

signal lights = $12 at Regina, can order if out of stock. Instrument bulbs are also available there.

Please feel free to post any tech question on the bike. Lets exchange our knowledge. :cheer:

and if you find your battery not charging or losing charge, check the rectifier 1st.

remove your seat and stand at the left side of the bike. you will see a hex like shape thing with a connector at the bottom. the connector has about 4 wires sticking out. the hex-shaped thing is the rectifier.

When batt is not charging, on the bike and observe the instrument lighting carefully, best to have volt-meter to measure at batt, but looking at the lights is a good gauge. the lights will not glow more brightly if the batt is not charging. If so, rev the bike, and move the connector a bit, if the lights brighten or the volt goes up, the connector is either loose or the connecting points are dirty.

unplug the connector from the rectifier, clean the points throughly with contact cleaner and plug it back. That should solve the problem.

great info on that Terry, most of our bikes either have starter problems and such....

i dun knoe if this happens to you guys or not, i found out that if i am not turning on my headlights, charging is at 13.5-14 V and with normal positional lights 13.5++ below 14, with headlights, its 12 V and with highbeam, it jumps into 11.8 ++. so when u are low on batt( ie ...bike can start recently) maybe turning off your headlight in the day could charge your batt up faster..... just my input....

if anyone needs a voltmeter for that purpose, i have got one. an analoge one though.

i dun have much technical info on my hands though, most of them are from the guys in this forum. so i have veri limited help.

terry, is changing of gasket changing the engine casing rite?

if so i was wondering , will changing of gasket fix my leaking black oil problem? up still now my baby is still wet man! whoa... looks like i got a long list of things to change man! gonna go broke again!

i also intend to lower my handle bars , meaning pushing down the metal holder that holds the 2 fork in place to go lower, going to try tonite and see wat happens, it seems to corner better for mi...

maybe we shld come out for kopi or just a mini meet up session to get to knoe each other and take a couple of pictures! keke

1st Unoffical cagiva planet mini gathering

just a meet up get to know other planteers

over lunch or dinner perhaps.

Date: [14/03 /2004]

Time: 1300 or 1700 hrs

Venue: to be confrimed ( u can suggest too! just overide it )

Duration: 1-2 Hours

Destinations:

maybe we go rounding in a grp? hahaa

01. ?

02. ?

Organiser(s):

A1. Gauntlet (my 1st time orgainsing.. dammed newbie at this horr..)

A2.

A3.

Participant List:

Pending List:

okie, for the leaking oil problem. where is the oil leak? if it is at the header where it joins the piston, the gasket is gone. 2 ways.

1) change the o-ring, comes in sets of 2 i think. fix problem permanently. around $50 bucks or less at Excel.

2) DIY style. remove the header, apply silcone gasket glue on the inside surface. thin layer will do. fix it back. dun start bike 1st. let it dry up. half a day to be very sure. i'm kiasu.

the springs can be remove with a long allen key. best to find a metal hook. remove all screws attaching the pipe to the bike.

for solution 2, i think sooner or later will start leaking again. but so far so good for me. heh heh. cheapo me.

if the leak is at the part where the endcan joins the header, change of gasket will do. go minerva buy. less than 4 bucks. very thin piece of paper like gasket.

- remove the 2 screws attaching the triangular metal cover next to the endcan. go buy extras. they round easily. can be bought from a shop behind a street near LAB.

- 3 nuts hold the endcan to the header, remove them. you will see the gasket. another 3 nut holds the endcan to the bike, remove them too.

- pull out endcan from the header, remove used gasket and replace with new gasket

- do the reverse to put back the endcan.

a leak at either place will cause a lean condition at high revs. not good at all. before fixing the leak, try not to rev the bike too high. check the colour of the plug to be sure.

lowering the handle bar may cause it to hit the tank when you turn. check before screwing the bar back.

and where are we going for the gathering?

and ya, changing the gasket is not the casing. when the block is opened up, there is a thin layer of gasket lining the inside of the block. the mech will carefully scrapped off the old gasket and replace it with new ones.

sorry arr endcan is the exhaust izzi? if not where is the end can and the header, i attached a pic of wat i think where the endcan and the header is..

with regards to where for gather.. i am open for suggestions.... hurmpp.. .maybe come local kopi tiam in the west or somethin..

i really dun know and there is like no one now in the list.....

1st Unoffical cagiva planet mini gathering

just a meet up get to know other planteers

over lunch or dinner perhaps.

Date: [14/03 /2004]

Time: 1300 or 1700 hrs

Venue: to be confrimed ( u can suggest too! just overide it )

Duration: 1-2 Hours

Destinations:

maybe we go rounding in a grp? hahaa

01. ?

02. ?

Organiser(s):

A1. Gauntlet (my 1st time orgainsing.. dammed newbie at this horr..)

A2.

A3.

Participant List:

Pending List:

01. hangten

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Mar 12 2004, 12:08 AM

last angle, maybe the endcan and header are somewhere in the pic.. ?

ok the big black thing that is horizontal at the bottom of your bike is your header

the end can is basically ur silver/chrome exhuast pipe.

so from your pics ur leakage is coming from your header to your engine/piston joint.

Better to be loved, than to hate...

yes, like BKTAN said, endcan is the chrome exhaust, header is the long black pipe coming out of your piston. Ooi, must learn the terms lah, or else very hard to communicate.

anyway, that leak is the header to piston joint. get the O-rings changed. small problem. like i said, about $50 or less than that. Or DIY lor. :)

nice to post pictures of your problem man.

dun go high rev. lean condition now.

when i'm free, i'll organise a DIY session on valve cleaning. stay tune. but not any sooner. :sorry:

dun go high rev. lean condition now.

ooo jia lat... have been reving quite high recently.. rushing from place to place..

thank your bktan, thank u terry for identifying my problem!

i guess bo pian.. have to make a trip to excel to find xiao boon rite?

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Mar 12 2004, 09:52 AM

ooo jia lat... have been reving quite high recently.. rushing from place to place..

thank your bktan, thank u terry for identifying my problem!

i guess bo pian.. have to make a trip to excel to find xiao boon rite?

go to your favourite mech anyway. jus make sure he knows what he is doing. if you go to excel, tell xiao boon terry said hi. call him 5566 and see what happens. :D

and dun tell him about my DIY. no mech likes to know his client DIY. conflict of interest. :nono:

and dun tell him about my DIY. no mech likes to know his client DIY. conflict of interest

hahha.. i also diy too... must mostly end up into trouble...

okie.. so i think i will go to my other mech.. and probably buy the part myself to let him do...

i just took a look at my bike... yar..

okie the header... is hell of leaking...

end can to header seems okie... header to piston is leaking, piston to the bottom part of the engine also leaking...

more of like a this setip side view rite?

endcan header piston carb airfilter/box

engine

the piston engine area also leaking.

doing repairs on these area wouldn't it mean i have to

1) remove the engine oil

2) remove radiator

3) flush coolant since u are gonna touch radiator?

4) and probably disassemble lots of other stuff?!

whoa! ....:giddy:

no lah, you siao ah, everywhere leaking. bike explode soon man!

the leak is only from the header to the piston area. it jus flows down. so it seems everywhere leaking. only that area is leaking. dun worry.

and Minerva claims they dun sell the O-rings. so when you call them, ask for ah Zhong aka Fatboy. he's clearer on the parts. but you must describe clearly to him too. when you go there, he would have a booklet on the bike diagram. point to him the part, he would know.

Excel already have the o-rings in stock. so it's up to you to choose how you want to go about doing it.

Guest Zellus

hmmm, where u guys gg gather at? i got quite a no. of issues with this bike, such as my signal lights ARE dropping off, my rear braking light connection is having problems, sumtimes hav light sumtimes dun, and my speedometer too is giving me problem, phew, so much for a stylish bike, and as i m still a newbie to riding, really like to know more on how to maintain a planet, hope we can meet up with each other too, and maybe i can learn sumthin frm u guys, :smile:

i think postpone to next week ba....

i suddenly not free... and response very poor....

at least we will have more time from tomolo to discuss where to meet. any suggestions Zellus?

Originally posted by bktan@Feb 20 2004, 12:12 AM

what's the difference? cant remember wht the letter stands for lieow.

titanium~