arrange with the fella to come out and join us for a kopi session lor. Basically different Owners have their own expectation of the bike, so the answer you get might differ. All in all, things to look out for :

1. Exhaust pipe condition

2. Any scratches on the bike?

3. Can the bike start easily

4. Tire condition - to find out whether the Owner do lots of cornering or not.

5. Chain Slack

6. Breaks

7. Engine sound - this I'm not very good, maybe Aiya san and Katana san or Gixxer san or Pauche san can help in this area.

-any reason why the Owner wish to sell after 9 mths?

good luck.

Romans 11:29 For the gifts and the calling of God is irrevocable.

• Replies 2.1k

Heard that this bike can't stand in the traffic jam

So his balls got cooked in a everyday traffic jam...lah.

That's why...

He's selling it for now.

Which i don't want to be one of those to happen to me.:smile:

"It is one of the most beautiful compensations of this life that no man can sincerely try to help another without helping himself." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

"The most beautiful things in life cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart." - Helen Keller

"Life is either a daring adventure,or nothing." - Helen Keller

Guest night hawk

Thks for your quick reply on what to look for in the 9mth Fazer.

What is Item 6: Breaks...

U mean broken Parts?

How about the Price... 15K

Was quote 17.8K brand new.(I'm > 30yrs)

Will check with the seller why he is releasing such a nice bike.

Colour Silver.

Fw 7***

Any of u own this bike?

Rgds

Originally posted by x_00_x@Mar 8 2004, 11:53 PM

arrange with the fella to come out and join us for a kopi session lor. Basically different Owners have their own expectation of the bike, so the answer you get might differ. All in all, things to look out for :

1. Exhaust pipe condition

2. Any scratches on the bike?

3. Can the bike start easily

4. Tire condition - to find out whether the Owner do lots of cornering or not.

5. Chain Slack

6. Breaks

7. Engine sound - this I'm not very good, maybe Aiya san and Katana san or Gixxer san or Pauche san can help in this area.

-any reason why the Owner wish to sell after 9 mths?

good luck.

also do look out for:

1) handlebar ends (see if bike drop before)

2) footpegs (hardcore corner siao)

3) swingarm (crashed b4?)

4) handlebar (turn end to end, any obstruction due to crash)

5) engine casing (is it welded due to crash?)

6) most impt (any dents on mainframe)

Originally posted by night hawk@Mar 9 2004, 07:26 AM

Thks for your quick reply on what to look for in the 9mth Fazer.

What is Item 6: Breaks...

U mean broken Parts?

How about the Price... 15K

Was quote 17.8K brand new.(I'm > 30yrs)

Will check with the seller why he is releasing such a nice bike.

Colour Silver.

Fw 7***

Any of u own this bike?

Rgds

wooo, same same FW7**** no. plate with mi

dunno can 1 to 1 exchange or not

Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 8 2004, 10:11 PM

OOh, thanks for the info.

How about signal lights? I found that the Fazer's signal light not really attractive, was contemplating changing the fronts to cateyes.

saw once a fz1 fitted the cateye

but i think the original one is much better

just my point of view

is there really a class bike that doesn't generate as much heat as BBand Fazer? pardon me for my ignorance, but my assumptions on these bikes (Class 2) are normally hot due to their large engine and radiator.

pls comment

Romans 11:29 For the gifts and the calling of God is irrevocable.

why don t we plan to meet on Fridays (every alternate week) between 2000hrs to 2300hrs. Starting on 19th March 2004.

i m sure that from here, we soon be able to organise activities such as , trips.......and could broaden our knowledge on biking.

Guest night hawk

Thks...

Pauche & katana for your post.

Are your bikes insured 2nd or 3rd party.

Which is the normal coverage.

And how much are u paying?

Looks like the price may not include insurance.

rgds.

I am covered with 1st party.. basically, the price is OK, as long as you are more then 30.. not that bad.. if you have to make a reloan,. check out any agreemenr fees.. thats the onli component that makes the buy very UN-attractive...

Guest night hawk

Thks for all the help.

All your experiences sure goes a long way...

Let u know the outcome. :sweat:

Hi guys

I am currently riding a CB400 specII and thinking of changing to either the Fazer 600, 1000 or a CBR954. I don’t do track and use the bike mainly for commuting, but like some power on my bike. Weekend joyrides are always looked forward to. I tend to use the expressways quite a lot, but can get caught in city traffic too. I carry a pillion at times, though not often.

I like the look and power of the Fazer 1000, but my main concern is its weight, bulk and height. I am not tall, only about 1.67m and weight about 65 kg. Did anyone ride a CB400 before changing to this bike, and did you have much of a problem with the bigger bike? I’m not even sure if I can put both feet on the ground.

The specII I’m riding is already quite sufficient for most of my needs (maybe 70%), although deep in my heart, I would just like more power. The Fazer 600 may seem suitable for me, but I think I’d be itching to upgrade again before too long if I got the 600cc instead of the litre bike.

I’m over 40, so I think insurance is not such a big issue. However, does anyone know what the difference is like between the Fazer 600 and 1000?

The CBR? Well, that’s another story… always wanted to ride a sportsbike, just not sure whether my body can take the punishing crouching posture. Still dreaming…

Lots of factors and considerations, but would anyone have any advice for me please? Thanks!

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Originally posted by night hawk@Mar 9 2004, 02:57 PM

Thks...

Pauche & katana for your post.

Are your bikes insured 2nd or 3rd party.

Which is the normal coverage.

And how much are u paying?

Looks like the price may not include insurance.

rgds.

when buying check and ensure that they dun charge you extra for things like GST, agreement fee, IU set, hire purchase fee, service charge, insurance loading, road tax, COE, etc.

Check what you are paying for and if possible, request for things like free number plate, free oil + labour servicing, helmet, bike cover, box, etc. u never ask u never know what they have for u!

Originally posted by sfowner@Mar 9 2004, 03:39 PM

Hi guys

I am currently riding a CB400 specII and thinking of changing to either the Fazer 600, 1000 or a CBR954. I don’t do track and use the bike mainly for commuting, but like some power on my bike. Weekend joyrides are always looked forward to. I tend to use the expressways quite a lot, but can get caught in city traffic too. I carry a pillion at times, though not often.

I like the look and power of the Fazer 1000, but my main concern is its weight, bulk and height. I am not tall, only about 1.67m and weight about 65 kg. Did anyone ride a CB400 before changing to this bike, and did you have much of a problem with the bigger bike? I’m not even sure if I can put both feet on the ground.

The specII I’m riding is already quite sufficient for most of my needs (maybe 70%), although deep in my heart, I would just like more power. The Fazer 600 may seem suitable for me, but I think I’d be itching to upgrade again before too long if I got the 600cc instead of the litre bike.

I’m over 40, so I think insurance is not such a big issue. However, does anyone know what the difference is like between the Fazer 600 and 1000?

The CBR? Well, that’s another story… always wanted to ride a sportsbike, just not sure whether my body can take the punishing crouching posture. Still dreaming…

Lots of factors and considerations, but would anyone have any advice for me please? Thanks!

The 1000 is a very powerful bike but its power can be tamed when u get used to it fast. At tight traffic, the 1000 is like riding a pig but on the expressway its great. The 600 with the R6 FI engine shd be great for both the tight traffic and expressway. I've heard its a very nimble bike. The 1000 can pose a problem for your height b'cos of the tall seat height. But then again, I've seen shorter guys on scrambler.

The 954 though a sportbike has a very comfortable seating position when compared to other sportbike like the R1 or GSX1000. Its just a matter of getting used to the position.

Whatever u get u make the choice b'cos u're riding it the way u want to.

Good luck. Take care. Ride fast but safe.

Sankar

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by sfowner@Mar 9 2004, 03:39 PM

Hi guys

i rode CB400 previously, now riding the FZS1, of cos in btw was on a BB.

Maybe I'd already gotten used to the weight of the BB, now handling the FZS1 is pretty easy.

I'm about the same weight and height as you, I need to tip toe(not alot though) with both feet when I'm riding alone, when I pillion I can put both feet flat.

Difference between FZS1 and FZ6 :

1) FZS1 have fully adjustable front forks, 04 FZ6 no, 03 & 02 I dunno

2) FZS1 have fully adjustable rear shock, FZ6 I dunno

3) FZS1 has higher torque and hp than FZ6 (ok this is unfair)

This is all I know

Originally posted by mokamoka@Mar 9 2004, 04:16 PM

ya ya.. just needed a confirmation.. haha.. KOK.. so positive.. regardless of weather??.. might be getting Kelvin along to get him more gained!!!... hahah

think cannot make it tonight man.. no bike leh...sigh..