Product : Tyre Review

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jan 1 2006, 12:12 AM

I see Continental getting more popular....few months back when I was asking about the ContiForce Max, not a lot of riders whom I know actually knew Continental already started to make motorcycle tyres.

Though my ContiForce Max still pretty deep grooved from 2 track days, I'm looking forward to the Sports Attack already :slurp:

Hi, I am also very interesting to have Conti Sport Attack for my ZX9.

These are some of the review that I have found and like to share with all bikers from SBF. Happy New Year.

Continental - Conti Sport Attack

http://www.conti-tyres.co.uk/contibike/tyres/images/sportattack_pic.jpg

http://www.conti-tyres.co.uk/contibike/tyres/images/SBlogo.jpg

Superbike Sept 05

Tester: Jon Pearson

Bike: Various

"I know as I sit down to write this, I know that you will take some convincing there is a new tyre seriously worth fitting to a modern sports bike, but the times they are a changing, and manufacturers like Continental are finally tapping into the idea that sports bike rider's cash is worth having.

The trouble is that we are rightly fussy about our tyres and so are modern bikes. When a GSX-R1000 is dishing out the punishment a tyre has to be good and the ContiSport Attack is up to the task primarily because it makes you feel confident and feels entirely neutral, whatever bike its fitted to.

Hopping from test bike to test bike showed the ContiSport Attacks were consistent in feel, the Attacks have an even profile making the transitions from upright to kneedown a neutral one.

The pegs were down early on most bikes and the limit on how far to push became my nerves rather than tyre grip.... Considering it was raging sunshine, It seemed like madness when they took us down to the Contidrome wet handling course. The tarmac surface is the same as normal road tarmac but ground away (or polished off might be a better description).

That makes it about as slippery as riding on wet metal. It?s useful in showing how the tread pattern disperses the water and showing how neutral the tyre behaves when you have to be ultra smooth.

When we got out on the road the Attacks were just as good. Continental claim very rapid warm up times, as the tyre was developed last winter in Germany we'll assume cold and wet weather performance was an important consideration.

I couldn't ultimately say how the tyre will behave on a bumpy UK B-road but half an hour on a ZX-10R behaving like a scalded cat showed the Kawasaki's maniac front end behaviour wasn't quite as lively as it is on OE rubber.

The Sport Attack falls impressively in line with the SuperBike tyre test winning Pilot Power. For my money it could well pip the slightly out-dated but popular 020 or Diablo.

The fact is I did hundreds of miles on these tyres, on different types of roads, a dry test track, a wet test track and even a 45 degree banked oval and they stood up to it all better than a road tyre has any right to do.

If a Suzuki GSX-R1000 can?t beat a rear tyre into oblivion or a Yamaha R6 can?t demolish a front after all that then we all need to re-think our views on this German brand"

http://www.conti-tyres.co.uk/contibike/tyres/images/TWO.jpg

Two Wheels Only Sept 05

Tester: Simon "Jim" Bowen

"Having already added the capable ContiRoad Attack all season sport/touring tyre to the range, the German manufactuer is out to prove it can mix it with the more glamorous names in rubber.

With Continental hosting the ContiSport Attack launch at their own Contidrom test facility, I wanted to get a good indication of the performance potential before trying them at home in familiar surroundings.

First stop was the twisty track, flat and not too demanding on the chassis, but with excellent high side potential, I opted for the feisty ZX-10R and brutal GSX-R1000 as either would prise a bogus tyre from the asphalt within a split second, with potentially hilarious consequences.

Neither managed it. More impressively the ContiSport Attacks were extremely stable under severe acceleration and braking. OK, I'm officially impressed now!

http://www.conti-tyres.co.uk/contibike/tyres/images/MSLlogo.jpg

Motorcycle Sport and Leisure Sept 05

Tester: Simon Swan

Designed and manufactured entirely in Europe, the ContiSport Attack is aimed squarely at the performance end of the two wheeled market.

This is a beefy and potentially extremely lucrative market, but only if you get things right.

Given the competition which is tougher in this sector than any other, its fair to say that continental had its work cut out in producing a hoop with the kudos to prise cuctomers away from the established big guns.

Four 20 min sessions around the fast handling circuit, each time on a different machine, were enough to confirm that Continental has done its homework. Given that I was riding much harder on the closed circuit than I would ever attempt on the road, the rubber was excellent.

Under aggressive braking the feedback from the front tyre was good and at full lean the side grip was impressive.

Under hard acceleration the rear played ball, redusing to yeild to the 150 odd horsepower trying oh,so hard to make it spin.

Lap after lap the Conti's instilled more confidence which was reflected in my riding. This was all on dry tarmac of course, but part of real-world performance is the wet stuff so we switched our collective attention to the wet handling circuit.

I was in a sulk because I'm not fond of the wet and this course certainly promised plenty of that, hosepipes run parallel to the slippery tarmac (polished) and continuously shower it with water.

I needn't have worried, Conti isn't fibbing when it claims "excellent wet grip" for the ContiSport Attack. The tyres were far better than I imagined, allowing a good degree of surefootedness.

It was time to head out on to the road which turned out to be a 350+ mile road trip , split I'm happy to say by an overnight stop.

Most of those miles were spent on the autobahn, giving us a chance to check out the high speed stability on the road, and once again the ContiSport Attacks were difficult to fault.

Back at the Contidrom, I had a good look at the tyres, they'd been subjected to two days of hard riding-fast handling track, the Contidrom, the wet handling circuit and the autobahn.

The tyres still loooked reasonably fresh. I expected to see obvious wear signs, frayed edges and even some squaring off, especially ont the tyres fitted to the litre bikes, which have a relentless thirst for rubber.

The Conti's proved more than a match for those absurdly powerful machines and looked good for another few thousand miles.

Continental have succeded in producing exactly what it set out to do; produce a sports tyre that is a match for anything out there, if not better, in a package that looks as good as it performs.

• Replies 1.4k

Yamaha R1 and Ninja ZX9,

U guys both from bikeshop huh??? Posting seems very similiar in style leh....

Oh please lah, I've been reading these reviews from the Conti Website until I sian liao.....As the saying goes, which manufacturer would put bad reviews by other testers on their product website or catalogue???

I've been emphasising about reviews by fellow riders.....

I've asked the Tech rep from Continental about using the ContiForce Max on track, and the reply was pretty positive. He told me he tried ContiForce Max and Road Attack on the track before and the ContiForce Max is more confidence inspiring. He's riding a ZX-9 too. But I was advised by him to run the tyre at street pressure for track!?!?!? Huh??? Sure or not???

The highest I'm gonna even try is at most 34F and 36R, pretty similiar to BT012ss and Diablo Corsa, definately not at 36F and 42R for track. @ 32F and 34R, these tyres can be ridden for fun, but not confidence enuff to push. The rear seems to slide once in a while. Will try 32F&R for my 3rd track day.

Now this is what I call review. Reviews from "normal" riders like everyone else, not reviews choosen by manufacturers to let the consumers read.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jan 1 2006, 11:22 AM

Yamaha R1 and Ninja ZX9,

U guys both from bikeshop huh??? Posting seems very similiar in style leh....

Oh please lah, I've been reading these reviews from the Conti Website until I sian liao.....As the saying goes, which manufacturer would put bad reviews by other testers on their product website or catalogue???

I've been emphasising about reviews by fellow riders.....

I've asked the Tech rep from Continental about using the ContiForce Max on track, and the reply was pretty positive. He told me he tried ContiForce Max and Road Attack on the track before and the ContiForce Max is more confidence inspiring. He's riding a ZX-9 too. But I was advised by him to run the tyre at street pressure for track!?!?!? Huh??? Sure or not???

The highest I'm gonna even try is at most 34F and 36R, pretty similiar to BT012ss and Diablo Corsa, definately not at 36F and 42R for track. @ 32F and 34R, these tyres can be ridden for fun, but not confidence enuff to push. The rear seems to slide once in a while. Will try 32F&R for my 3rd track day.

Now this is what I call review. Reviews from "normal" riders like everyone else, not reviews choosen by manufacturers to let the consumers read.

Sorry men, I not from bike shop.

How many bikes knows Continental brand defore you ? I have saw this new brand since last week at HKL. Wish to find out more info and reviews for this new brand prepare to change for my on bike.

Just wanted to share new info with all SBF that I have found from the website.

Originally posted by Yamaha R1@Jan 2 2006, 10:45 AM

Sorry men, I not from bike shop.

How many bikes knows Continental brand defore you ? I have saw this new brand since last week at HKL. Wish to find out more info and reviews for this new brand prepare to change for my on bike.

Just wanted to share new info with all SBF that I have found from the website.

First of all, I would like to wish all bikers from SBF a very Happy New Year.

I have changed my tyres ( Conti Road Attack ) at De Xing - Bukit Batok 3 weeks ago due to coming inspection for my bike.

I have no idea for this new brand-Continental but to change because De Xing salesman strongly recommended this with reasonable price and claim that Continental is the OEM tyres for BMW for this model.

After trying for these few weeks, i found that Road Attack warm up time was faster that my prevoius BT014. Grip is better and the best thing is that i need not have to lower the tyres PSI for some track practice.

Wish to thanks NoLogicOne and R1 for they kind sharing of reviews and details spec for this new brand - Continental.

With the advices and reviews from you guys, i have more confidence and better understanding for my new tyres. ( De Xing salesman can't gave me these info and spec )

Appreciate and hope to read more news from you guys in the forums.

Keep it up :thumb:

guys, so which one (ContiSports Attack/ContiForce Max/ContiRoad Attack)is the equivalent to sportec M1? :confused:

Send me a sign, wanna leave it all behind

I'll be leaving the hands of doom...

Rearrange the master plan, take the future in my hands

To be free and not trapped anymore...

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Originally posted by 2wheels@Jan 2 2006, 12:21 PM

guys, so which one (ContiSports Attack/ContiForce Max/ContiRoad Attack)is the equivalent to sportec M1? :confused:

Need help,

Went to LAB but they said no more stock for ContiSport Attack. Keep pushing BT014 for my R6.

Which shop selling at the best price ?

Originally posted by 2wheels@Jan 2 2006, 12:21 PM

I emailed the tech rep from Continental until he dun wanna entertain me anymore :lol:

Anyways, his information for me is that ContiForce Max is the comparable to Michelin Pilot Powers (the rd version, not the Race category) and Pirelli Diablo. Sportec M1 is around this range, at least I was told by a fren from JR.

My biggest doubt is that, is the Sports Attack "better"??? Was attracted to the Contiforce Max because 1" of slick rubber at the either side :lovestruck: So was expecting a lot a lot from this tyre, hoping it would be better than Diablo Corsa but I felt Diablo Corsa's compound is softer.

Nevertheless, it's good enuff for someone like me who just go down to the track to waste time, petrol and rubber (commented by a bike service advisor :D)

Originally posted by il4@Jan 2 2006, 03:01 PM

Dear Big Bike(Reg 2 Jan '06), Yamaha XJR400 (Reg 30 Dec '05), Yamaha R1 (Reg 23 Dec '05), Phantom 200 (Reg 29 Dec '05), Bike X9 (Reg 23 Dec '05), Hayabusa 1300 Power (Reg 29 Dec '05), Ninja ZX9 (Reg 31 Dec '05), lmk (Reg 2 Jan '06)

and maybe even sps (Reg 2 Jan '06). A total of 9 userid you created recently, and still counting....:help:

How many more new userids you want to create to discuss about your product?

This discussion board is one of the best media to market, promote and advertise new products. However to give the best coverage for your product, you have to go thru the proper channel.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/advertise/advertise.gif

http://www.singaporebikes.com/advertise/index.php

Contact Andy, he is the man with a business solution to your problem.

PS: you have many bikes, damn envy :thumb:

:clapping:

Man you are good..... :bow:

Originally posted by sps@Jan 2 2006, 01:11 PM

Need help,

Went to LAB but they said no more stock for ContiSport Attack. Keep pushing BT014 for my R6.

Which shop selling at the best price ?

Hello!!!

Recently, there's a couple of new HP sports tyres that just launched.....

ContiSports Attack, and the Dunlop Qualifier. You could try to opt for the latter one. However, when I saw the Qualifier, it's model name is GPR something which I just could not seems to find on the net.

Will have to go bikeshop kpo again to get the info. I'm kindda stuck between the Sports Attack and the Qualifier for my next change.

Try HKL???

For Sports Attack, you could try KinTai along Deskar Rd. They are the dealer for Continental but they do not do installation. I guess it would be a bit more dear to order them to your fav shop and pay the labour there, but if you really want these tyres, that's the option, should no more bikeshop hold stock.

I did that for my ContiForce Max.

Hope this helps.

Originally posted by Yamaha R1@Jan 2 2006, 10:45 AM

How many bikes knows Continental brand defore you ?

U could be right about explosure to Continental motorcycle tyres in Sg is not so high as the rest of the brands. I showed catalogue to many frens and they thought I get commissions :faint:

I wanted to try Continental then because no one has reviews on it, and they made a good name in car tyres and especially bicycle tyres which I was pretty impressed of the latter. Very expensive even....

Anyways, there's a "blindfold tyre review" done by some bike magazine and sad to say, ContiForce Max is rated not so good compared to DC, Sportec M1, BT014. I do agree with the magazine's review that the front is pretty good, lots of grip but can't really say the same for the rear.

me currently on sportec m1, centre thread finishing soon. so now looking to either change to bt14(neber try b4) or sportec m1(good grip for me for rd use) or Conti brand(neber hear b4).

decisions, decisions, decisions :sweat:

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

nologicone: ure on a busa rite? how much does a pair of contiforce max costs with installation?(120f and 180r). do u feel confident playing corners(singapore roads) on these? :sweat:

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

i`m using dunlop sportmax 120/70/17 rear and IRC WiNgS 80/90/17 front for my ZX150.

Awana, Bukit Tinggi, KL street roads, Klawang, Fraser and SIC everthing PERFECT!!!!

Its Not WHAT you ride, its HOW you ride

Burn Rubber Not Your Soul

Malaysian Kawasaki KRRZX150 rider.

Faster racing machine are made by the rider

http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/1826/armandpic28rh.jpghttp://img83.imageshack.us/img83/9395/mpn22426qj.jpghttp://img147.imageshack.us/img147/6691/armandpic49yv.jpg

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jan 2 2006, 03:10 PM

Hello!!!

Recently, there's a couple of new HP sports tyres that just launched.....

ContiSports Attack, and the Dunlop Qualifier. You could try to opt for the latter one. However, when I saw the Qualifier, it's model name is GPR something which I just could not seems to find on the net.

Will have to go bikeshop kpo again to get the info. I'm kindda stuck between the Sports Attack and the Qualifier for my next change.

Try HKL???

For Sports Attack, you could try KinTai along Deskar Rd. They are the dealer for Continental but they do not do installation. I guess it would be a bit more dear to order them to your fav shop and pay the labour there, but if you really want these tyres, that's the option, should no more bikeshop hold stock.

I did that for my ContiForce Max.

Hope this helps.

Tks, Pro

Originally posted by 2wheels@Jan 2 2006, 04:46 PM

nologicone: ure on a busa rite? how much does a pair of contiforce max costs with installation?(120f and 180r). do u feel confident playing corners(singapore roads) on these? :sweat:

Aiyah, you never read my post properly leh :cheeky:

$400 a pair from KinTai, $50 labour at my fav shop.....a bit ex I should say, but I really want the ContiForce Max so I dun mind paying more. Maybe you could try HKL to see if they could get a pair from you at a better price since they are selling some Contis now.

I'm not on a busa....a perticuliar 750cc V Twin. I would say turn in seems a bit slower than DC, grip on local street is good, wear is minimal (lasting). I took a trip to Mersing to scrub these tyres but the wear seems very little. But honestly, since I go PG, I hardly play corners on the street liao. But I do admit I still "enjoy" a few certain local corners and the U turn at GP 2nd link. These tyres works fine for me, especially the slick portion during dry.

BUT I was expecting more from these tyres on track, so a little disappointed. Maybe I would try a 2.2Bar front and 2.5Bar rear as per recommended by Continental for street/track and the usual 2.2bar front and rear to see if there's any differences.

Read the link on my post above to get some feedbacks. Quite a neutral feedback.

Originally posted by sps@Jan 2 2006, 08:49 PM

Tks, Pro

Sorry, I'm no pro....just a common street commuter and a track hogger :sweat: Giving some personal views rather than "Oh so wholesome best tyres" tyre manufacturer reviews :thumb:

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Jan 3 2006, 07:05 PM

Aiyah, you never read my post properly leh :cheeky:

$400 a pair from KinTai, $50 labour at my fav shop.....a bit ex I should say, but I really want the ContiForce Max so I dun mind paying more. Maybe you could try HKL to see if they could get a pair from you at a better price since they are selling some Contis now.

I'm not on a busa....a perticuliar 750cc V Twin. I would say turn in seems a bit slower than DC, grip on local street is good, wear is minimal (lasting). I took a trip to Mersing to scrub these tyres but the wear seems very little. But honestly, since I go PG, I hardly play corners on the street liao. But I do admit I still "enjoy" a few certain local corners and the U turn at GP 2nd link. These tyres works fine for me, especially the slick portion during dry.

BUT I was expecting more from these tyres on track, so a little disappointed. Maybe I would try a 2.2Bar front and 2.5Bar rear as per recommended by Continental for street/track and the usual 2.2bar front and rear to see if there's any differences.

Read the link on my post above to get some feedbacks. Quite a neutral feedback.

sorry ah :sweat: neber read properly, got mixed up between contiforce n contisports. hmm....might give this tyre a chance to be on my bike when my sportec runs out (provided it cost less than sportec ah at hkl :sweat:)

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Originally posted by 2wheels@Jan 2 2006, 03:38 PM

me currently on sportec m1, centre thread finishing soon. so now looking to either change to bt14(neber try b4) or sportec m1(good grip for me for rd use) or Conti brand(neber hear b4).

decisions, decisions, decisions :sweat:

eh how long your M1 last ah?

schoolmate on R1 say his lasted only 6 months from very regular road use, but his second pair of M1 now into its 6th month with less regular riding still doing fine. the fella rates it very highly.

i feel like getting michelin pilot sport or pirelli, but very steep. and i rather not change tyres more frequently than once a year.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Jan 3 2006, 09:30 PM

eh how long your M1 last ah?

schoolmate on R1 say his lasted only 6 months from very regular road use, but his second pair of M1 now into its 6th month with less regular riding still doing fine. the fella rates it very highly.

i feel like getting michelin pilot sport or pirelli, but very steep. and i rather not change tyres more frequently than once a year.

current M1 been using it for 8 mths (clock 10000km on it). rear centre thread finishing soon i guess. front still ok but i changed as set one. always felt confident diving into my fav corners (in the dry). but one thing im concerned with is that this particular brand like nails/screws so much. me n my fren got nails/screws on every single metzeler tyres we owned. then again mayb we r just suay :sian:

btw M1 would do u just fine since u dun clock high mileage on a daily basis.

if u wan cheap....bt14 shld be the ans. abt the grip, u need to ask ArWen cos hes using it nw

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Originally posted by 2wheels@Jan 3 2006, 09:59 PM

current M1 been using it for 8 mths (clock 10000km on it). rear centre thread finishing soon i guess. front still ok but i changed as set one. always felt confident diving into my fav corners (in the dry). but one thing im concerned with is that this particular brand like nails/screws so much. me n my fren got nails/screws on every single metzeler tyres we owned. then again mayb we r just suay :sian:

btw M1 would do u just fine since u dun clock high mileage on a daily basis.

if u wan cheap....bt14 shld be the ans. abt the grip, u need to ask ArWen cos hes using it nw

BT-014 came stock on the little guy's G6K5, and he says its slippery especially in the wet, even occasionally when banking hard in the dry. which i find rather weird coz every mag i read condemned the hell out of my stock D218 yet i dun find any probs, except banking over standing water, and BT-014 supposed to be much better budget option than the D218.

ah well. see how much performance bonus in march. my D218 is still fine after 6 months and 6000km.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Jan 3 2006, 10:31 PM

BT-014 came stock on the little guy's G6K5, and he says its slippery especially in the wet, even occasionally when banking hard in the dry. which i find rather weird coz every mag i read condemned the hell out of my stock D218 yet i dun find any probs, except banking over standing water, and BT-014 supposed to be much better budget option than the D218.

ah well. see how much performance bonus in march. my D218 is still fine after 6 months and 6000km.

on the str8s, any tyres will do just fine in the wet (just dun do hard braking). in corners........... i nvr attempted to corner in the wet on any tyres, will try to run wide when tarmac is wet :giddy:

if u wanna change tyres end of this month lemme know. mayb go bikeshop together get discounts :D

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Originally posted by 2wheels@Jan 3 2006, 09:03 PM

sorry ah :sweat: neber read properly, got mixed up between contiforce n contisports. hmm....might give this tyre a chance to be on my bike when my sportec runs out (provided it cost less than sportec ah at hkl :sweat:)

Kekeke...no prob lah, fren.

Oh, just to be sure, dun get mixed up....

ContiForce - Sports Touring.

ContiForce Max - Sports tyre with 20% more grip than ContiForce (Manufacturer said so on their webbie).

ContiRoad Attack - Sports Touring, supposed to be grippier than ContiForce.

ContiSports Attack - Sports tyre...compared with ContiForce Max, this I also wanna know.

Originally posted by mechwira@Jan 3 2006, 10:31 PM

Yup, my colleague on a 929 running BT014 complains the wet is not good. His first trip to the tracks at PG, he's tremendously happy with it. He could drop 2 gears before a corner and just open without any slides.....but now his tyres 50% worn, he told me start to feel sliding, and have to be more relax. He's a bit disappointed. As he rides the bike daily, he only enjoyed the tyres for 2 - 3 track sessions :lol:

The wet grip was his main complaint since day 1 he got these tyres and now it's raining season, so imagine my ears, ha ha ha :D

Coincidentally, I have another fren riding the same bike with the same tyres. I could ask that fren if he felt the same thing or not.