• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Jun 27 2005, 12:35 AM

onz ah......btw shoei.....this guy in garage sales might wanna exchange his 748 for a tiller leh.....u interested? hehe.....if he is i might wan to change sia....haha.....yumyum....

Sorry... but you guys should go read about this bike at the Ducati riders forum... I am not saying anything but judge for yourself.

Anyway the TLR will killl this Duc on a straight line... an even...on track probably..all else being equal... of coz, put any bike in my hand on track..and even a cub kia will beat me :help:

This 748 is an older "stock" version. If you want the better one, get the 748R, the same one me, ZX4, Roy and shoei saw parking beside us long time ago at Forum CoffeeBean.

Think for light track and weekend posing can lah.

Of course TLR can makan it. 748cc V vs 996cc V. Where can fight? Wat I want to know is can the TLR take on the 996 Duc? :p

I know the guy. Chatted with him before. He was looking for a V sports to exchange with his previous Harley. Almost made the trade (me, a HD? AHAHAHAHAHAH!!!).

But now his 748 quite attractive, especially the price. Had seriously considered it. As a poser rider, maybe. As a serious rider and tech head, not for me. Not to mention I'm gonna tear hair maintaining it.

748 is for poser only... the maintainence is hell...

you need very frequent carb syn, morning starting the idle speed vary alot, lots of small problem...

if you $$$ to spend, then buy it, if not, jap bike always better in terms of reliability...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Sev@Jun 27 2005, 11:10 AM

748 is for poser only... the maintainence is hell...

you need very frequent carb syn, morning starting the idle speed vary alot, lots of small problem...

if you $$$ to spend, then buy it, if not, jap bike always better in terms of reliability...

its carb or EFI?

Should be FI rite?

Coz if its carb, piangz, will start crying. Normally, the rule is big-bore carb bikes above 400cc are damn near impossible to tune. Sync can but tuning will cause premature hair-loss.

Originally posted by WildCard@Jun 27 2005, 11:41 AM

its carb or EFI?

Should be FI rite?

Coz if its carb, piangz, will start crying. Normally, the rule is big-bore carb bikes above 400cc are damn near impossible to tune. Sync can but tuning will cause premature hair-loss.

eh, sorry, it should be FI...

what i mention above is ST4, my fren ridign it... should be balance the throttle body, not carb tuning, typr too fast... :giddy:

duke has a lots small problem, need to keep a lots of cash in hand to own one duke...

Guest Demon_gal56
Originally posted by suzukiroy@Jun 27 2005, 04:10 AM

kopi? cfm not. when when when.

kopi again??? :lovestruck:

Originally posted by Sev@Jun 27 2005, 11:45 AM

eh, sorry, it should be FI...

what i mention above is ST4, my fren ridign it... should be balance the throttle body, not carb tuning, typr too fast... :giddy:

duke has a lots small problem, need to keep a lots of cash in hand to own one duke...

heh?

ST4 is carb?

Tot its EFI? ktkt in the forum is riding one (he's my supervisor) and he says its an EFI. He just bought a new EEPROM chip for the ECU.

Originally posted by WildCard@Jun 27 2005, 06:44 PM

heh?

ST4 is carb?

Tot its EFI? ktkt in the forum is riding one (he's my supervisor) and he says its an EFI. He just bought a new EEPROM chip for the ECU.

ehh, ST4 also EFI, i mean i typo error, both 748 and ST4 are EFI... :sweat: :sweat:

Originally posted by johntan@Jun 27 2005, 06:16 AM

Sorry... but you guys should go read about this bike at the Ducati riders forum... I am not saying anything but judge for yourself.

Anyway the TLR will killl this Duc on a straight line... an even...on track probably..all else being equal... of coz, put any bike in my hand on track..and even a cub kia will beat me :help:

but the ducati looks sweet

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Jun 28 2005, 01:42 PM

hey, i saw the video...its a ducati 916 manz...not a 748 leh...

anyway, TLR handling really seems quite jialat...that guy keep scolding f***...

The TLR needs to be taken by the scruff of the neck and pushed down hard... it's heavy and braking in a turn, the bike wants to stand up.

Not the best handling bike but OK lah... unless u can ride it 10/10.

That's why the bugger in the video kept running wide.. late and corner braking.

Originally posted by johntan@Jun 28 2005, 02:29 PM

The TLR needs to be taken by the scruff of the neck and pushed down hard... it's heavy and braking in a turn, the bike wants to stand up.

yup....i had problems when cornering sometimes too.....need to corner slow...safer

when i 1st got this bike, was really not used to it manz....everytime corner like cannot make it..wanna buang up the kerb like that manz.....hahaha

yeah i bet he needs ohlins shocks and brembo brakes

在绝望中坚强

ur bike wanna stand up when u brake during bends??

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by shoei@Jun 29 2005, 01:23 AM

quick, johntan

better get away from shoei before he starts giving you funny ideas such as full-floating discs and brembo calipers...

Originally posted by WildCard@Jun 29 2005, 04:07 PM

quick, johntan

better get away from shoei before he starts giving you funny ideas such as full-floating discs and brembo calipers...

ARRRRGGGHHHHHH...

Originally posted by shoei@Jun 29 2005, 01:23 AM

I sometimes (hmmm..many times) over-estimate my ability when entering a corner... so gotta scrub off speed in the bend and apply brakes mostly rear and front in desperate cases and that causes the bike to straighten up... ie; stand up... so it runs wide.

I went off into the grass at least twice in PG when I first (and only time so far) took it to the track; and I was soooo fast... even the spectators were overtaking me walking around the pit lane HAR HAR HAR

heh heh heh "stand up" not on one wheel unfortunately :cheeky:

i can't even control the tiller properly, even though i set the front preload and rebound the same but it seems to bounce differently when i'm cornering....damned......time to change to busa forks.....hehe....

btw, (aiyah, Johnson already knows).. I already ordered a Teka SFI ..time to play play with it when it arrives :slurp: