http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2788/4250916353_4e3741c3f8_o.gif

Date : 30 Dec 09 - 17 Jan 10

Distance : 6200km (100% riding)

Ride : Daelim Roadwin R125

Expense : In Thai, average medium-range hotel is 400 baht, for me average petrol per day is 800 baht (abt 33 baht per litre for gasohol 95)... so the rest depends on how u spent... but the most for eating only is 100 baht per day

http://i45.tinypic.com/2gv0qqq.jpg

Decided to set off for my North Thai trip even though I am solo. Will update this thread as and when I am free in Thai. Hope that it will help for those wishing to go for the trip.

I do not have any fixed itinerary, and my final destination will be Mae Hong Son loop. So I will stop & go depends on timing, and will bypass Bangkok and Chiang Mai because I have been there before, and would want to go for places I would never go by plane or train.

30 Dec 2009 (Wed)

Singapore - Hatyai

Thanks Alan for the sending off. Really appreciate it.

http://i50.tinypic.com/2cmsuop.jpg

http://i47.tinypic.com/30s9a1l.jpg

(photo by Alan)

Had night riding towards Hatyai, left Singapore at 6.30pm and reached Hatyai (900 km) at 6am. Safe journey but was totally sleepy around 5am, not recommended for new rider.

4 Jan 2010 (Mon)

Hatyai - Chumphon

I was in Hatyai for 4 days (31 Dec - 3 Jan), mainly was to celebrate my fren Justin birthday there, haha...

Well... life has to goes on, and I forced myself to leave there today (justin & frens stil in Hatyai)... woke up at 10am and rode super slowly towards Hua Hin, but my speed was too slow so i decided to stay my night in Chumphon (1380 km) at 6pm.

Thai road is ok, newly paved road, just alot of dead & live snake on road, disgusting right?

Happy Family Outing @ MK

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2717/4244776662_9a5514e36e.jpg

Desmond & Justin... thanks for "initialising" my good start from Hatyai... love u guys n realy miss u guy jing jing... good buddy u r... forever...

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2753/4244802508_ed9c64805c.jpg

and there I go... charming Chumphon for today...

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2679/4244037621_1cb1d680a8.jpg

5 Jan 2010 (Tues)

Chumphon - Suphonburi

Today woke up early, so set off at 7am. Surprised that few days of riding I need top up my EO for 100ml. Reached near to Hua Hin at noon, after some relax I decided to go off again to earn back some "lost" time. Traveled highway 4 all the way and bypass Bangkok by Rachaburi. And since the time was still early I zoom all the way to a place in central thai call Suphonburi (1930 km). The thing funny about the map is they show the central thai as a very big area but easily I reached my place in very short time.

Suphonburi is quite a big city but it was not written in my Rough Guide book, so its not a tourist place. The cute thing here is the chicken mascot which seems to be their city symbol and they do worship it. And it is a very Chinese city with lots of Chinese influences.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2761/4250814800_7607099606.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2760/4250771324_b88dc63dfd.jpg

They do not even have a 7-eleven here, but thanks God there is one internet cafe (15 baht/chuamong).

Tml will set off to Kamphaeng Phet.

Edited by ninjapura
  • Replies 57

ARRGHH!! Wished i could join u!! anywayz, i dun have dat luxury to apply leave dat long. hope u have a safe trip. i did however, during dec's 09, solo tripped up 2 KL, selangor n Perak to visit my relatives there. bro, 1 day if i can take a very long leave, wish i could travel more. again u take care n have a safe trip!!

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

6 Jan 2010 (Wed)

Suphonburi - Mae Sot

Set off today from Suphonburi (1930km) at 6.30am. Reached Kamphaeng Phet by noon as it was quite near. Visited the UNESCO world heritage site the Historical Park (entrance fee 100 baht) and it was nice to ride inside the park with my bike.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2794/4249966749_afe8e39280.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4010/4250781160_81c4096b07.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4045/4256737044_8077d6ed13.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4070/4255986811_66c6068523.jpg

After that proceeded my journey towards Tak, saw the signage saying Myanmar bridge so I go to Mae Sot. And it is the scariest 80km journey I had so far.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2773/4249978987_f178f80473.jpg

About 50km onwards I found out that my bike has kicked into reserve (last 4 litre). It is not possible to turn back because I know there is not petrol station on sight while I came. So I asked the police and some said Mae Sot have, some not sure. So I decided to ride extra slow towards Mae Sot with maybe 2 litre of petrol left and plus it is mountain road (steep and windy) and somemore... it rain! Pray that my bike has enuf petrol to push on, and also worry that there is no petrol station in Mae Sot.

But... hola... once I reached Mae Sot (2347 km) found that it is a big city... everything also have. At first I thought it is a very small border town with a Myanmar bridge.

Tml will explore this area again, peep into Myanmar maybe? Then will be on my 400km journey towards Mae Hong Son.

Edited by ninjapura

Hi, bring any GPS device along?

maybe take down some interesting point for future riders reference?

Ride safe biker.

Wow.. Ninjapura.

You look like Patrick Tse Yin photocopy version. :lovestruck::lovestruck:

Happy traveling :cheeky:

Lc/Rd/Mito/Rvf/BlackBird/Zxr6/Hayabusa/Rxz/S4/Vfr/Dragster/GS11/X9/Vxr/Gts/Atlantic/ Use Legs power currently!

Next? :pray: Tio 4D/Toto :pray:

You the man....! upzz for your venture. :thumb:

Don.... " MAN " too much! Afterwards leg soft soft, then cannot balance bike again.

I know there got lots to hump... or was that, lots of humps...??? :faint:

whatever..... :bounce:

Cheers and enjoy your ride. :clapping:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=371&pictureid=2275 IF U C ME... YOU SEE ME

ride safe and becareful ya. cheers! put some pictures and stories down.

07 Jan 2010 (Thurs)

Mae Sot - Mae Sariang

Left hotel at 9am, easily found my way to the Thai-Myanmar border. Thai and Myanmar only separated by Moei river. And it is a dry river bank now and Burmese could easily walk across the river to Thailand, And I did see many Burmese stood along the bank at Thai side to sell things such as tobacco and drug (yes!!).

Walked to the friendship bridge immigration post and had a chat with the Custom Chief over a cup of coffee. He told me he was from Padang Besar post 3 yrs ago and now posted here as a Narcotic unit chief. And also heard from him that Myanmar do not allow any motorcycle to go into, even the Thai registered one. Anyway he advised me not to go into Myanmar now due to the infighting between Burmese and Karen army now. Also got info from him that it is better for me to pass the border strectch between Mae Sot to Mae Sariang (route 105) asap because it is not safe due to the illegal Burmese immigrant and the rampant drug and weapon there... arghh... I will find out later.

Left Mae Sot and rode by route 105 towards Mae Sariang. For the whole 260km there was very limited network coverage, only had it in some village, so if anything happen... you are on your own. And the route was totally like the Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde style to the max. For the first 100km or so, I really enjoyed it to the max cos the road was wide, nicely paved, and not that steep or curvy. And also the weather was just nice, no sun but cloudy and cooling. But for the next 100km or so, after the rest point, the route suddenly become so so evil that it is the worst road I have ever traveled so far. The road was full of pothole, gravel, and !!! road tar!!! Maybe leftover from the repairing of landslide. It was so stressful to ride because only a few second lost of concentration I could hit into a pothole and skidded. And to make the matter worst, it started to rain very very heavily, according to locals it is the only day that rain heavy this month (thanks...). I was not able to push on for long so decided to rest my day at Mae Sariang at 4pm today.

Just a few metre away from Myanmar. In Mae Sot there are so many Burmese, and they did look fierce to me, for girl they like to apply thick thick powder on face, and unlike thai, they apply it very ghostly. For guy often very unkempt looking with long hair, long moustache, and grinding the special leave (pinlang??) and showed me their bloody color teeth. Feeling so uneasy here I decided to leave here for good.

The Immigration Officer and the Custom Chief in blue shirt. Gave me a legal baton as a self-defense weapon for my trip, with custom-stamped paper.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2742/4256757462_00e946457c.jpg

First part of the nice route 105.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4035/4256766840_d1ee9a173e.jpg

Along the way, saw the very breathtaking sight of Karen huts. It was actually the refugee camp. Since here was separated from Thai mainland by mountain so the Burmese can live freely here, and along the road there are many checkpoint to make sure no refugee is out of here. Trust me, it is not easy to escape by mountain route.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4066/4256024487_07b6f531bc.jpg

The Alaskan NGO caught a snake... -_-"

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2787/4256794824_e9ba4f79b4.jpg

Evil part of the route 105 %^^&^$@#$%%^&*(*&^%$#@#$%^&... rode at most 40km/h...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4005/4256042263_b475eccf0a.jpg

Finally reached Mae Sariang (2609km), very the wet... according to local this type of rain is super rare in this period... huat ah...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4030/4256814892_d86699c9b2.jpg

Language note

One thing I learnt today was, if u speak to a Thai in English, very often they will show u a very cold face because most of the educated one dun study English in school. Those who do know actually upgrade themselve from friend or work. So it is not that they unfriendly, cos by Thai culture it is important not to lose face, so if they duno English they will just pretend to be cold to u. But one thing is, if u do make effort to learn some thai words, and try anyhow anysay, just string the vocab to let them understand, immediately they will accept u as their "kakilang" and will even try to speak slowly or mix with their limited capalang english, malay, chinese to let u understand. And in the process u can learn some words and improve too. So now, everyday I will just try to anyhow speak and say and ask what this and that, and thats the best way to learn a new language too. Also, can make lots of friends.

08 Jan 2010 (Fri)

Mae Sariang - Mae Hong Son

Wanted to leave early but couldn't wake up on time. So left at 7.30am, but the weather is very nice compared to yesterday. It was a blessing because very soon I gonna go enjoy the legendary Mae Hong Son 1864 curves.

Btw mission completed to Mae Hong Son, and the officer there had a special cert presentation ceremony for me... cos they know I love thaiger... haha

(more story tml... tired liao la)

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4062/4256074897_ca5300ed91.jpg

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_kNlwWh41X00/S0c_IWQse9I/AAAAAAAAD90/lO2r2fR8_oQ/s1600/P1080286.JPG

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2704/4256013347_e1b2843423.jpg

Very good puan of mine working as an artist in MHS... pls look for him when u there in padongc shop...

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_kNlwWh41X00/S0dMlxQNIxI/AAAAAAAAD98/WapK7XA-7cA/s1600/P1080365.JPG

p/s: I am quite impressed with the internet connection in Thai, cos it is basically flooded... almost everywhere sure have an internet cafe, if not, just switch on ur wireless connection and tap tap...

Edited by ninjapura

Wow you adventure so shiok. Wishing I was there with you man! Have a good ride my friend.

History

25th March 2009 - Passed 2B

1st April 2009 - Bought 1st bike, a 2nd hand TA200 Honda Phantom cruiser (Still riding it)

6th Aug 2009 - Bought a used but overhauled Suzuki DR200se scrambler (Scrapped in 2010)

Congrats on your accomplishment... U the man! :bow:

But why you so decent... still can see both your hands, when recieving the certificate! :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=371&pictureid=2275 IF U C ME... YOU SEE ME
Congrats on your accomplishment... U the man! :bow:

But why you so decent... still can see both your hands, when recieving the certificate! :cheeky:

hahaha I always decent one lei... if my hand not holding the cert where shld I hold lei... (actually I was thinking too where should I hold...)... hahahhaa u noe me so well HOR... :angel:

Hello.. I got gf one hor... no play play na...

hahaha I always decent one lei... if my hand not holding the cert where shld I hold lei... (actually I was thinking too where should I hold...)... hahahhaa u noe me so well HOR... :angel:

Hello.. I got gf one hor... no play play na...

Ya, RIGHT! o_O

Then....

there is gf TWO

there is gf THREE

there is gf FOUR.... :bounce:

the cute looking one sitting with you is number what har? :angel:

Sorry hor.... lost count already. :faint:

Whatever... enjoy yourself.

You deserve the "reward" for your efforts.

Ya, RIGHT! o_O

Then....

there is gf TWO

there is gf THREE

there is gf FOUR.... :bounce:

the cute looking one sitting with you is number what har? :angel:

Sorry hor.... lost count already. :faint:

Whatever... enjoy yourself.

You deserve the "reward" for your efforts.

oh she is my now n only gf lar... aiyo u ah... dun contaminate me hor later she come in n see jialat hor... :angel:

Orh... ok sorry la. :sorry:

How I know she will come in and read postings. :faint:

But, but then hor.... I think she don need to read anything hor, she see the pic enuf already. :angry:

Think she will break both your legs.... sorry, I mean all three of your legs! :gun:

wahahaha :cheeky:

Orh... ok sorry la. :sorry:

How I know she will come in and read postings. :faint:

But, but then hor.... I think she don need to read anything hor, she see the pic enuf already. :angry:

Think she will break both your legs.... sorry, I mean all three of your legs! :gun:

wahahaha :cheeky:

no worry, cos she 100% thai na duno how to read or speak english... if she see any pic i tell her ni tuk kon bphen puan pom... (all of them my fren... LAR>>)...

Wow!!The gal presenting the cert nt bad leh..worth a trip there to see...lol..anyway, ride safe..hope to see u in Bkk nxt wk or when u r bak in Spore..

"Life is just a cycle, what comes around go around."

Wow!!The gal presenting the cert nt bad leh..worth a trip there to see...lol..anyway, ride safe..hope to see u in Bkk nxt wk or when u r bak in Spore..

*nod head*

i also want cert.. muahaha

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

Wow nice write up and pics with pretty ladies ... !!

Looking forward for more :thumb:

24 Oct 2009 - Current: Honda CBR600 RR 04 FBA8**8P

Class 2 - 03 Feb 2009

14 Mar 2009 - 26 April 2010: Honda CB400 SPEC III FY2993T

Class 2A - 20 Dec 2005

25 Mar 2002 - 9 Mar 2009: KIA Spectra HB 1.6 SDR1499X

Class 3 - 29 Nov 2001

Wah.... Mr Ninja, looks like after your trip, u can be an OR-KUI-NIZER already. :clap:

All of them so interested in the certificate... but I think give them a certificate, is got chance......, but not the presenter. :bounce: