Originally posted by Rikk@Mar 28 2006, 10:59 PM

hmm but i read from this thread that for my age 24yrs 3rd party will cost ard 800+

well maybe will wait till im older.. but st is still the ultimate man.. :thumb:

Rikk,

will do.. let me know if u require more info before u commit to it. :smile:

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

• Replies 6.6k

not so ex la....800 when i ride ST11 my age 22-23 it was 500+ leh!!! u check again with AXA or NTUC. mine is the latter.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 29 2006, 01:29 AM

not so ex la....800 when i ride ST11 my age 22-23 it was 500+ leh!!! u check again with AXA or NTUC. mine is the latter.

Hi guys long time no see liao. Yr insurance so cheap??? Me 23 yrs old, jan 2006 just renew my insurance with NTUC and it cost me about 800++ inculding NCB of 15%.

Anyway guys just only yesterday my clutch suddenly feel kinda funny. Its like the vibration can feel very strong. Then when 1st gear half clutch can feel the engine vibration. Can anyone tell me what wrong with it??

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Mar 26 2006, 11:48 PM

rajeh_bp,

ur plugs could be caused by condensed petrol fume moisted, to prevent it from happening, the next time u have ur plug change change it when ur engine is cool(parked overnite).

very simple DIY:

- with a plug wrench firmly seat in fresh new plugs into engine block untill spark plug's sealing washer firmly contacted, then with a spanner generously give it a firm crisp of 1/4 turn in, that's it..!

future plm with spark plugs resulting to 'mis-fire' should be able to be eliminated. :smile:

Sometimes also have problem. Time to check the carburettor. Maybe fuel overflow and not burning properly, that's why you will feel the 'SA KAN HUA' feeling, like not all the cylinder is working. Have asked around, to service and change the overflow jet and also change the carburettor manifold, you have to prepare about $200 ++. If not, ask Simon when DIY. :smile:

Thomas

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

Originally posted by Rikk@Mar 28 2006, 10:59 PM

hmm but i read from this thread that for my age 24yrs 3rd party will cost ard 800+

well maybe will wait till im older.. but st is still the ultimate man.. :thumb:

oh you same age as mine... well... my premium is $1050.

5% discount (direct from NTUC)

20% NCD

so now abt $780. BTW, mine is 3rd party F&T.

If 3rd party only, I think 700+ (b4 all those discount).

rogerfock_BlueST

STOC# 6188

Hmm... so is there any DIY session or get around session so we can know more about each other and our ST?? keke...

Mr Simon -> how much is the protector for the side box ar?

rogerfock_BlueST

STOC# 6188

Originally posted by rogerfock@Mar 29 2006, 06:05 PM

20% NCD

so cheap??? :confused: which insurance company u using???:confused:

Originally posted by rogerfock@Mar 29 2006, 06:05 PM

20% NCD

wah so ex ah.. i try to play ard with the ntuc webbie online quotation and they quote 3rd party $359 wor..

if so cheap i sure buy st, wa ha ha..

but base on your figures, guess the online one is not accurate.. sianz..

Originally posted by Lancerlord@Mar 29 2006, 07:07 PM

so cheap??? :confused: which insurance company u using???:confused:

Oh is NTUC... I just got my insurance few weeks ago... so should be quite accurate bah..

Think Anda insurance is a bit more exp for younger riders...

you can request for quotation to know more...

rogerfock_BlueST

STOC# 6188

Originally posted by Lancerlord@Mar 29 2006, 12:47 PM

Anyway guys just only yesterday my clutch suddenly feel kinda funny. Its like the vibration can feel very strong. Then when 1st gear half clutch can feel the engine vibration. Can anyone tell me what wrong with it??

Lancerlord,

have we met..?

btw, ur bike plm could be:

- fuel quality.

- minor spark plug missed firing plm.

- or it's time to bleed ur clutch fluid.

- inspect ur 'auto fuel cork' for leak OR chork in fuel flow.

can be other causes to it.

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Mar 30 2006, 02:24 AM

Lancerlord,

have we met..?

btw, ur bike plm could be:

- fuel quality.

- minor spark plug missed firing plm.

- or it's time to bleed ur clutch fluid.

- inspect ur 'auto fuel cork' for leak OR chork in fuel flow.

can be other causes to it.

Its me darwin!! I forgot i changed my nick liao. Sorry.....:cheeky:

For the problem so many possibility.....wonder have to spend how much to rectify the problem.:sian:

Anyway just another question. I went to gopa recently he told me i should change my themostat to allow the fan to be turn off earlier. Is it a necessary. Will petrol consumption be higher due to more power is used to power the fan?? Thanks:cheeky: :bouncefire:

Just now on my way back home, saw another fellow ST who horned and waved at me. Didnt get a chance to wave at him cause he was to fast and I was taking out my rain coat. Heavy rain at ang mo kio area. In such cold and heavy rain he did not wear his raincoat such a hero. Guess he dont feel cold. heeee....... :offtopic: :offtopic: :sweat:

Originally posted by Lancerlord@Mar 30 2006, 05:44 PM

For the problem so many possibility.....wonder have to spend how much to rectify the problem.:sian:

Anyway just another question. I went to gopa recently he told me i should change my themostat to allow the fan to be turn off earlier. Is it a necessary. Will petrol consumption be higher due to more power is used to power the fan?? Thanks:cheeky: :bouncefire:

Hi Darwin,

Long time never see u liao... how r u....

Anyway for me i usually do/check thing that no need $$$ or spend little $$$ b4 go into big $$$ repair...

u can try the fellowing step.....

1. check ur fuel cork is there any leak if yes get it change might be the cause of ur problem,

2. if fuel ok, change ur spark plug those normal one will do and after change liao then ok but after sometime the problem came back take out spark plug and take notice any of the plug turn dark black and wet so high chances that u need to change ur float needles as wat thomas said,

3. if spark plug ok, check ur clutch. if clutch in and slowly lose of pressure then it time for u to change ur clutch master pump, check the level of fluid and and sign to leakage at the clutch slave pump.

As for the thermostat, think is the fan switch which will on earlier which is good when u are caught in the traffic jam or heavy traffic. FC will not that much as it does not consume lots of power

Hope this help u and other guys might have the same problem.

Originally posted by Lancerlord@Mar 30 2006, 05:44 PM

Darwin ar...... bring u & ur machine come LC let me 'hear, see & look' for u lah.... :lol:

Simon Soh

haiz..... i skidded this week on mon journey to work... the freaking metzler z4 really has poor grip during wet weather. luckily minor damage, juz scratch on my side crashbar plastic cover, no car behind me.... a friendly green zx636 cover my lane and help me up. heard from a few stoc guys tis tire sucks big time but gd lifespan.. vice versa..hahhaa.. so guys, recommendation on any decent tires in terms of price, mileage and grip?? hehehe also how much 2 replace the plastic cover for the crashbar?

thankz bros!!! btw simon, had my fren lite fixed, juz the connector came off. btw his our new st11 rider, hidden agenda.

save riding, cheers!

fazlee

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Sorry to heard that.

I will said none of the tires have wat we want for our ST. Either u have gd grip or gd mileages. And most tyre don't grip well in wet weather, GP riders using top of the range tires will tends to skid during wet weather.

For me during wet weather i will reduce in speed, no sharp/hard corning, no hard braking & no hard throttle.

Currently I have tested 3 set of tyres and i have write some review on it on my point of view (u know where u can see) and now are looking at new set of tyre for my next testing.... who wanna sponsor me on ME Z6 :D which recently have size for our beast.

As for the cover I think is around $20 can remember the actual price

Ride safe

Hi Bros...

Got my my ST 3 days ago.... Wow cant describe da feeling... its like falling in love over and over again... Hehehe.. Btw just wanna clarify with u guys.... Is it true for US edition the odometer mileage is in Miles instead of KM... Coz mine at 250 shows reserve Which im sceptic... Check with my friend Funkychicken.. He said his dad also same.. Odometer reads 70000... In mles/KM...(which im not sure at all) thks again.... Hope to meet in the ext meet up with u guys.... BTw wer and when.. Appreciate da reply...

Good Day Mates.....:smile:

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Apr 1 2006, 01:04 AM

haiz..... i skidded this week on mon journey to work... the freaking metzler z4 really has poor grip during wet weather. luckily minor damage, juz scratch on my side crashbar plastic cover, no car behind me.... a friendly green zx636 cover my lane and help me up. heard from a few stoc guys tis tire sucks big time but gd lifespan.. vice versa..hahhaa.. so guys, recommendation on any decent tires in terms of price, mileage and grip?? hehehe also how much 2 replace the plastic cover for the crashbar?

thankz bros!!! btw simon, had my fren lite fixed, juz the connector came off. btw his our new st11 rider, hidden agenda.

save riding, cheers!

fazlee

i am using Z4 also....

during raining days try to avoid the road marking.... gana a few times liao.... veri hard to get back the beast back on the ride.. heng onli skidded a bit.. managed to get it movin without killin the road...

my next change will be BT020

if u want gd grip during raining days... i think u should try dragon... don know gopa still got stock a not... veri gd tires... but ex lo... n mileage is soso... abt the same as Z4...

anyway ST r not meant for cornering 1...

just becareful during raining days... since now keep on raining n raining...

last time i remember i kiss the road was, i was lookin at an accident.. then become i knock into the accident vech... i was travelling ard 30+km/hr onli...

my right mirror gone n signal gone also... sob sob

me hunting for a st now . need you guys to teach me more about the bike :D

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

Originally posted by Hidden_Agenda@Apr 1 2006, 12:52 PM

Hi Bros...

Got my my ST 3 days ago.... Wow cant describe da feeling... its like falling in love over and over again... Hehehe.. Btw just wanna clarify with u guys.... Is it true for US edition the odometer mileage is in Miles instead of KM... Coz mine at 250 shows reserve Which im sceptic... Check with my friend Funkychicken.. He said his dad also same.. Odometer reads 70000... In mles/KM...(which im not sure at all) thks again.... Hope to meet in the ext meet up with u guys.... BTw wer and when.. Appreciate da reply...

Good Day Mates.....:smile:

Believe your odometer hs two colours. One in WHITE and another in RED. RED shows KM and WHITE are all in miles. Therefore it is normal for the bike to hit reserve and the meter read 250, cause all the readings are in miles. So if want to calculate mileage/distance travelled, plaese miltiply by the required amount.

Thomas

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Apr 1 2006, 01:04 AM

save riding, cheers!

fazlee

Dragon is good on dry ground but not on wet. I guess road tires are not designed for wet ground. i do not think gopa has anymore dragon, he'll probably recommend Z4.

Hope someone can provide review on Z6 so, we may have another option in choosing tires. amen23, care to lead? :smile: :cheer:

Strongly agreed with Cool79,... with one suspension at the rear, i really doubt ST is good for cornering.

Happy April Fool Day

had a try on a st11 today.. feeling is hard to describe. Don't really feel the drag when turn on throttle, but speed went up damn fast. w/o notice it is already 110.. it this what supposed to be like on a st11?