hi guy, need ur help. recently jus purchase a kr150, but when i reach gear 4 n 5, there some sound happen somewhr on my bike but i duno whr, seem like somewhr from belong my seat, duno is it de chain or de engine, but de sound is like metal rubbing against metal kind of sound. guy can anione tell me wad to do? or wad went wrong? thanks.

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

也ä¸ä¼šæŠŠè¿™å‡ å¹´å‘对你说的è¯è—在心上。

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee267/saDdy_J/Bike/img1146editted.jpg

• Replies 23

Timing chain? Do 2 stroke engine have valve controlled by timing chain???

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

could be gearbox...

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

@saDdy_J: a better description of your symptoms will get you better answers. there are many different metal rubbing against metal sounds. also, do share if there is anything else you observed other than the sound.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

sry guy, i reali duno how to said it in word, u oni can experience it during riding. but i try my best to give u de best info i can give. first de pick up n changing of gear is kind of hard to adapt. pick up is slow, but however my 1st gear can drag until 20km/h den can feel de speed (is it normal), den is like i cant use 2nd gear to go up hump. if i do so, once de bike go dwn frm de hump will start to jerk or engine will stall. i oni either use 1st gear half clutch to go thru de hump, or use 2nd gear half clutch to go thru which i ting dis is much more smoother (tried todae). when i'm in gear 4 n 5, de sound is kind of diff, is like wind passing thru a hole tt kind of hollow sound, den when in gear 6, which is de top gear, de sound change frm tt hollow sound to a metal-rubbing-metal sound, as if like de chain rubbing against a toothless sprocket. dis is de best description i can provide. if u have a ride u will definitely hear de sound veri obvious.

de same day when i get my bike, i went dwn to unique. i changed the spark plug, engine oil, sprocket n chain, wash carb, rear bearing, rear brake pad. i told them de problems i have den dey recommend me to do a top service which is ard 150. but to me is kind of ex since i currently supporting myself without relaying on my parent. i initially want to change my air filter, but de mechanic said de air filter i have is not a air box, so cant be change, oni can clean it. den oso ask me to get a air box as dis mushroom-like air filter i having nw will damage my engine pretty much. de carb he shown me oso got mod before, which de previous owner said de bike is STOCK. de mechanic said those stuff tt have been mod is meant for racing (is it true)? if wanna get a air box, it will cost ard 140 like tt.

guy so wad shall i do? sry i cant gve ur a gd description, but if ur dun mind like we meet up, i can pillon u n hear de sound. it veri obvious. ani one can help me pls? i wan my bike to be ok. sry guy for ur trouble. thanks.

Edited by saDdy_J

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

may be timing chain

sry fren, wad is timing chain? thanks.

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

why dont you just pay a visit to a bike mechanic?

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

why dont you just pay a visit to a bike mechanic?

i intend to but i duno wad to said to dem when i visit dem ah, beside i duno how to explain to them in word, cus hard to explain de situation tt i'm in. unless within their bike shop dey are able to let my bike run until gear 4-6.

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

just tell them u hear a weird sound at those gears, ask them to take ur bike for a spin..no worries about that, diagnosis is free what.

just make sure the shop u go to isnt out to chop u..good luck

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

go to a mech that somebody trusts...don't just go to any mech...and go with the somebody...whoever it is. i've sent you a pm in case you wanna use the guy i use.

sry guy, i reali duno how to said it in word, u oni can experience it during riding. but i try my best to give u de best info i can give. first de pick up n changing of gear is kind of hard to adapt. pick up is slow, but however my 1st gear can drag until 20km/h den can feel de speed (is it normal), den is like i cant use 2nd gear to go up hump. if i do so, once de bike go dwn frm de hump will start to jerk or engine will stall. i oni either use 1st gear half clutch to go thru de hump, or use 2nd gear half clutch to go thru which i ting dis is much more smoother (tried todae). when i'm in gear 4 n 5, de sound is kind of diff, is like wind passing thru a hole tt kind of hollow sound, den when in gear 6, which is de top gear, de sound change frm tt hollow sound to a metal-rubbing-metal sound, as if like de chain rubbing against a toothless sprocket. dis is de best description i can provide. if u have a ride u will definitely hear de sound veri obvious.

de same day when i get my bike, i went dwn to unique. i changed the spark plug, engine oil, sprocket n chain, wash carb, rear bearing, rear brake pad. i told them de problems i have den dey recommend me to do a top service which is ard 150. but to me is kind of ex since i currently supporting myself without relaying on my parent. i initially want to change my air filter, but de mechanic said de air filter i have is not a air box, so cant be change, oni can clean it. den oso ask me to get a air box as dis mushroom-like air filter i having nw will damage my engine pretty much. de carb he shown me oso got mod before, which de previous owner said de bike is STOCK. de mechanic said those stuff tt have been mod is meant for racing (is it true)? if wanna get a air box, it will cost ard 140 like tt.

guy so wad shall i do? sry i cant gve ur a gd description, but if ur dun mind like we meet up, i can pillon u n hear de sound. it veri obvious. ani one can help me pls? i wan my bike to be ok. sry guy for ur trouble. thanks.

air box 140?? problems like this and they say do a top service, for 150sgd??? bro seriously, go find another mech. If you can go jb. With a friend.

Good nature and honesty is often rewarded

Cheaters and liars are often compounded

karma watches, and remembers

i went to unqiue motorsport, but within their area it hard to speed up to high gear i suppose.

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

i went to unqiue motorsport, but within their area it hard to speed up to high gear i suppose.

Bro,i tnk is the piston ring lossen so power lost.For 2t bike normally is piston ring prob.Top overhaul is ok as it cleans up all the carbon and they will chg the piston or ring.There is no timing ring for Kr.Nor for sport bike prob is piston ring wear,coolant sealant crack due to wear and tear.And also they hv valve inside wher svc req as it turn on ur power output when it reaches ard 6.5rpm-7rpm.For airfilter is bcos carb mod,air inlet ned mre so they chg it.If to bcum nor req chg bk orig carb.Hope tis can help.

ty bro. so in other word, if i change back to de original air box, den i need to change my carb too? n oso, can i ask how much is top overhaul? cus de previous owner said he have top overhaul since aug which i duno is true or not cus he nv show receipt. n so in dis case wad shall i nd to change? if change back to normal carb n normal air box, how much wud be de total price? if i dun wan to change de carb n filter, wad is de correct method tt i nd to ride? and if i do a top overhaul or even change to original carb n air box, will it reali solve de problem i having? ty.

Edited by saDdy_J

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

bro, u shld go to jb or planet motor in sg and ask the mechanic try the bike...ur one since it is gear 4 onwards then got problem maybe is the gearbox the teeth of the gear worn our or crack. this is worse case scenario..go to afew shops to ask and not just one...dun do top overhaul or service in singapore. its a pure waste of money when in jb the same stuff can be done for half the price...

pickup all those slow could be because the setting is not done properly...do not ask friends to help u set as mostly they dunno then anyhow act pro..go to a proper mechanic..for kr i would recomend planet motor ah chong..he is pretty good at tuning carb for kr...

Don't dress for the ride.Dress for the crash.:thumb:

bro, u shld go to jb or planet motor in sg and ask the mechanic try the bike...ur one since it is gear 4 onwards then got problem maybe is the gearbox the teeth of the gear worn our or crack. this is worse case scenario..go to afew shops to ask and not just one...dun do top overhaul or service in singapore. its a pure waste of money when in jb the same stuff can be done for half the price...

pickup all those slow could be because the setting is not done properly...do not ask friends to help u set as mostly they dunno then anyhow act pro..go to a proper mechanic..for kr i would recomend planet motor ah chong..he is pretty good at tuning carb for kr...

oic. ty bro, ytd i just went to a mechanic whom was intro by a veri nice guy and he said is bcus sth wrong wid de clutch plate den need to change 6 of them, plus the housing, the gasket. den he said aft those is change wun have de problem le. he sound pretty confident, but i still have doubt cus scare later de problem still appear. so i nv give him a confirm ans whether wan to change anot. he willing to do for $180 including engine oil n coolant. shud i ask ard first before giving him an ans? my fren oso intro planet de boss ah chong to me. he said he veri pro. reali? perhap shud i give a try at there?

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

How come must change the housing? I thought change the clutch plates enough?

I'm not a mechanic nor do i ride a kr but gear oil and coolant very cheap, max 50 bucks?

So roughly $130 for clutch plate, housing and gasket? Hmm...

never change anything until you are prepared to trust the person giving the advice, especially if you are doing it the first time with the person. the only problem is...there really isn't anyone you can trust...until you get something done right the first time by that person...because everyone will have a different answer/opinion/experience. catch 22 huh?

that's what happened to me with a bike shop that i will not mention which brought me to my mech eventually. you can read my blog entry on "how my bike got a name" on my situation.

well, all the best!

never change anything until you are prepared to trust the person giving the advice, especially if you are doing it the first time with the person. the only problem is...there really isn't anyone you can trust...until you get something done right the first time by that person...because everyone will have a different answer/opinion/experience. catch 22 huh?

that's what happened to me with a bike shop that i will not mention which brought me to my mech eventually. you can read my blog entry on "how my bike got a name" on my situation.

well, all the best!

oic. bro, i have a enjoyable reading of ur blog. aniwei, how u get to noe dis mechanic tt u intro me? ty. :)

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

by chance!

i went to him when my battery got flat and he changed one for me at a good cheap price.

then when my piston seized (read about it in my blog lah) i went to him to open up engine to check and do it back up.

then everytime i have some niggle i go to him for a quick fix...usually fast and many times with no charge...guess because i am now a regular.

then i intro several people who had problems with their rides after other mechs did not do a thorough job.

heck...even my most resourceful biker friend (for cheap stuff) in this forum tells me his prices are reasonable when i had to change my chain and sprockets!

then i see so many people go to him and when i speak to them all of them had nothing but good things to say. did you see the uncle yesterday?

i think if you find a good mech, you will keep going back. i'm sure there are others around. but for me, he is honest and reliable...and just across the street. hard to beat lah :)

oic. ty bro, ytd i just went to a mechanic whom was intro by a veri nice guy and he said is bcus sth wrong wid de clutch plate den need to change 6 of them, plus the housing, the gasket. den he said aft those is change wun have de problem le. he sound pretty confident, but i still have doubt cus scare later de problem still appear. so i nv give him a confirm ans whether wan to change anot. he willing to do for $180 including engine oil n coolant. shud i ask ard first before giving him an ans? my fren oso intro planet de boss ah chong to me. he said he veri pro. reali? perhap shud i give a try at there?

just because someone is nice, doesnt mean they necessarily want the best for ur bike. if ur asking whether u need a 2nd opinion, i strongly advise u to go to planet.

why?

ah chong really cares about the engine, and is excellent at diagnosing bike problems.

best of all, planet is one of the rare bike shops which practice honesty and integrity. rest assured he will not try to carrot u.

how can i say this?

as a gullible newbie ive been chopped before, yet ah chong is honest enough to advise me on which 'upgrades' are just a waste of money.

in return, he has gained my trust like no one else.

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

ty for ur wonderful help guy. ting i try go dwn to planet dis week n see how. hopfully my problem can be solve dis week. reali wan to have a great ride on my bike asap. ty for ur wonderful help. ty.

如果能让我回到过去,

我ä¸ä¼šå†ä¸¢å¤±ä»»ä½•的机会,

我会紧紧抓ç€ä½ çš„æ‰‹ï¼Œ

抱ç€ä½ ï¼Œå¯¹ä½ è¯´å£°ï¼š

“我爱你ï¼â€

As said before by a fellow forumer go to Planet..Let Ah Chong test your bike and diagnose it..Its really very hard to know whats wrong with your bike until we(anyone) gets to test ride it..Just by describin it we can only think of a few problems that might affect it..However the description you gave us is too vague and very hard to comprehend..If unsure of the pricin of services or parts try consultin a second or third shop..If the price is still within the same range quoted by the other shops then it should be just about the standard pricin..:cool: