• Replies 123

n@beh i felt so demoralised........

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

Bro.. When I rode with u , I also feel safe cos I know cars can definitely see u !!:cheeky:

Wah song tia song tia bro! Johnny and I are in the same category too leh!!! It's like kena F**ked and still got to say thank you somemore sia!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

I accidentally did a stoppie last night on a deserted stretch of road. It was misty and some of the humps were not marked. Yes, that's right, stoppie OVER hump.

The fact that the two riders supposed to be following close behind failed to take notice made me go "meh". They decided to get scared of the dogs instead; where my exhaust note scares them all away. Go figure.

I accidentally did a stoppie last night on a deserted stretch of road. It was misty and some of the humps were not marked. Yes, that's right, stoppie OVER hump.

The fact that the two riders supposed to be following close behind failed to take notice made me go "meh". They decided to get scared of the dogs instead; where my exhaust note scares them all away. Go figure.

Ler kong si mi ?

LOL okay china version

I was at Pasir Ris bringing people along to explore some deserted ulu place.

Was going at normal speed looking in mirror seeing if other guys were keeping up. BUT NO they were like so far away!

Suddenly.... there was a camoflagued hump (black color, same as road) IMMEDIATELY JAM BRAKE

Backside become very light, I got thrown forward and the front wheel ground hard onto the hump as I flew over it. Back end crashed down a second later and I realised.

Phantom stoppie!

Luckily I was going completely straight and lots of cargo in my panniers. Or else flip over or something.

I stopped and asked the other two.

Did you see the Phantom do a stoppie!?

"No"

"No"

I was like -_-

[And believe me I wasn't trying to do a stunt, it was over before I realised it]

So, you did a stoppie on a rear-heavy Phantom with fully loaded panniers & you were going at normal speed.

With all due respect, that absolutely sounds like rubbish.

Bottomed out your forks probably, but stoppie? Absolutely no way.

Without going into a heated debate - let's just say by some freak of nature that it was indeed a stoppie... because I've done them deliberately before a long time ago. Likely the shock of the already loaded front wheel hitting the hump was enough to counter the rear weight. Also consider I'm not that light and the braking force leaned me forward into the handlebars in a split second. A fair bit of stuff was in my boxes but I wasn't carrying 50kg of depleted uranium for god's sake. I have bottomed out the front forks in normal E-brake before. So all I'm saying is, it's possible and no, we can't repeat the feat safely nor is it very healthy to so just leave the story as it is. Life's full of mysteries.

Indeed, we can agree to disagree. Some things need to be witnessed to be believed.

Until then, skepticism is unavoidable.

Hey guys, I just got into an accident last Saturday and need your opinions and advise on the matter. I crashed into a car from the rear on CTE and flew a few meters. I initially thought it was my fault and told the driver to claim my insurance and apologized to him. But after relating the incident to my friend he told me the driver might be in the wrong because 1) he is not supposed to stop on the expressway 2) he stopped in the middle of the lane (there was no road shoulder) 3) even if it was an engine breakdown he didn't place hazard signs 50m infront and behind his car.

Here is what happened as from the police report:

"On *** at about 1pm, I was riding my motorcycle *** along CTE towards SLE. After filtering my way towards the exit of AMK Ave 1, I spotted a motorcar *** stopped stationary on the most left lane of the exit. Hence I braked to avoid collision however to no avail. Thus, I collided on the rear of the said motorcar.

After the collision the driver alighted and exchanged particulars with me. Subsequently the driver drove off before the police arrived. I had sought medical treatment on my own and I was given 2 days medical leave.

I sustained abrasions on my left upper arm and laceration on my both palms. My motorcycle sustained damages on the front and side. My motorcycle was unable to start after the accident. The motorcar suffered dents on the rear of his vehicle.

I wish to state that there were no vehicle in front of the said motorcar and the traffic was clear at that point of time. The said motorcar was stopped stationary on the middle of the most left lane."

Some points that wasnt mentioned in the report was that i was at 80-90 km/h (road limit 90). I didn't see the car before filtering lane and I did the lane change safely. The car was parked 'near' the CTE exit, the reason why i filtered lane was because i wanted to exit.

Would appreciate your experiences and understanding and would like to know your honest opinion, even if you think its my fault. So who is wrong in this situation? and what should I do next?? I have already reported the accident to the insurance agency.

Many Thanks!

Hi Kangwei, thank you for the impartial and informative report.

Here is what I think;

It's good that the 80-90kph was not mentioned in the report because as you know us motorcyclists always lose in an argument on who's right or wrong. 80-90 is not even 'fast' anymore on SG roads but just because it's near the legal speed limit someone who hasn't rode a bike and unaware our speedos naturally over-read will ask "why are you going so fast when you exit E way?

The fault is obviously the driver's because stopping in the middle of an expressway without hazards, or other indicators is plain stupid. But you know some drivers, not sure where they're going and jam brake in the middle of the road. Some motorists (especially M'sian bikers) deliberately do this for whatever reason when someone is close behind them.

The problem is we will lose because "we are the one speeding and ramming into the other vehicle" and because we don't have the ballistic protection of a metal cage we bikers usually suffer more.

The 'prevention' here is the higher speed we go we must increase our awareness as far as possible and treat every other vehicle as a potential threat. In Singapore, a lot of people slow down when they're supposed to accelerate (ie, not checking blind spot when entering E-ways causing massive jam for no reason) and for this reason I don't trust any other rider/driver other than myself.

You got to be aggressive and you got to be able to overtake decisively to prevent ourselves being victims of drivers who can't maintain reasonable speeds on open roads.

And that's why I can't be bothered to ride at anything less than wide open throttle and hard braking when in traffic. I get out of everyone's way and get out of any hazardous situation before I'm forced into the defensive.

Hey guys, I just got into an accident last Saturday and need your opinions and advise on the matter. I crashed into a car from the rear on CTE and flew a few meters. I initially thought it was my fault and told the driver to claim my insurance and apologized to him. But after relating the incident to my friend he told me the driver might be in the wrong because 1) he is not supposed to stop on the expressway 2) he stopped in the middle of the lane (there was no road shoulder) 3) even if it was an engine breakdown he didn't place hazard signs 50m infront and behind his car.

Here is what happened as from the police report:

"On *** at about 1pm, I was riding my motorcycle *** along CTE towards SLE. After filtering my way towards the exit of AMK Ave 1, I spotted a motorcar *** stopped stationary on the most left lane of the exit. Hence I braked to avoid collision however to no avail. Thus, I collided on the rear of the said motorcar.

After the collision the driver alighted and exchanged particulars with me. Subsequently the driver drove off before the police arrived. I had sought medical treatment on my own and I was given 2 days medical leave.

I sustained abrasions on my left upper arm and laceration on my both palms. My motorcycle sustained damages on the front and side. My motorcycle was unable to start after the accident. The motorcar suffered dents on the rear of his vehicle.

I wish to state that there were no vehicle in front of the said motorcar and the traffic was clear at that point of time. The said motorcar was stopped stationary on the middle of the most left lane."

Some points that wasnt mentioned in the report was that i was at 80-90 km/h (road limit 90). I didn't see the car before filtering lane and I did the lane change safely. The car was parked 'near' the CTE exit, the reason why i filtered lane was because i wanted to exit.

Would appreciate your experiences and understanding and would like to know your honest opinion, even if you think its my fault. So who is wrong in this situation? and what should I do next?? I have already reported the accident to the insurance agency.

Many Thanks!

HI Kangwei,

i hope your wounds are healing well.

I guess the next step u can do is to tell ure insurance company that u wanna sue or claim against the other party.

Let the insurance people slug it out for it.

Heal Well.

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

Yo Kangwei, you can try logging a claim against him but he also can turn around and bite you hard too! In any case, I feel you are at a losing end as you 'kissed' his behind. Importantly for you is to rest and heal bro. Take care!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Hi Kangwei, thank you for the impartial and informative report.

Here is what I think;

It's good that the 80-90kph was not mentioned in the report because as you know us motorcyclists always lose in an argument on who's right or wrong. 80-90 is not even 'fast' anymore on SG roads but just because it's near the legal speed limit someone who hasn't rode a bike and unaware our speedos naturally over-read will ask "why are you going so fast when you exit E way?

The fault is obviously the driver's because stopping in the middle of an expressway without hazards, or other indicators is plain stupid. But you know some drivers, not sure where they're going and jam brake in the middle of the road. Some motorists (especially M'sian bikers) deliberately do this for whatever reason when someone is close behind them.

The problem is we will lose because "we are the one speeding and ramming into the other vehicle" and because we don't have the ballistic protection of a metal cage we bikers usually suffer more.

The 'prevention' here is the higher speed we go we must increase our awareness as far as possible and treat every other vehicle as a potential threat. In Singapore, a lot of people slow down when they're supposed to accelerate (ie, not checking blind spot when entering E-ways causing massive jam for no reason) and for this reason I don't trust any other rider/driver other than myself.

You got to be aggressive and you got to be able to overtake decisively to prevent ourselves being victims of drivers who can't maintain reasonable speeds on open roads.

And that's why I can't be bothered to ride at anything less than wide open throttle and hard braking when in traffic. I get out of everyone's way and get out of any hazardous situation before I'm forced into the defensive.

Hey Kalyan, thanks for your reply. Actually i thought i should have mentioned my speed because that was the exact reason why i was unable to stop in time. If you are travelling at 80-90 km/h and a stationary object just appears in front of you, there just issn't enough distance to stop safely. I already did my best to E-brake but the distance just wasn't enough. Thank god the collision speed was slow enough that i avoided death. Oh, by 'near' i meant close to the exit, there was still a couple hundereds of meters before the exit.

well...in the eyes of the law..u r right as he is at fault...thats what u reported..

i am not surprise if the other driver reported that u smash into him while he is slowing down on turning...

chances that the insurance tribunal will believe the driver rather than u...

how can u run into a stationary vehicle....ie.u did not keep a good look out..

but u make sure that u indicate that u want to claim him...not claiming inferrance that u r part of the problem..

imho..

take care bro..and get well fast...

most accidents occur at quiet roads, bends/corners , exits..

Thanks ezzyoiler, glad to know there are ppl who feel its not my fault. Ya, some of my friends told me its quite impossible to win the case too. Its just my words against his + he had 1 passenger. Dont think they will believe a 20 yr old P-plate.. Ya thanks, i mentioned that i want to claim him

HI Kangwei,

i hope your wounds are healing well.

I guess the next step u can do is to tell ure insurance company that u wanna sue or claim against the other party.

Let the insurance people slug it out for it.

Heal Well.

Thanks, my wounds are much better already. I'm not too sure what i can do next. Can I sue him?? I'm not sure how the whole process works too, the doctor recommended me to get a lawyer to fight my case, will that be to sue or for the claims. So far i have only made a report to the police and insurance company.

Yo Kangwei, you can try logging a claim against him but he also can turn around and bite you hard too! In any case, I feel you are at a losing end as you 'kissed' his behind. Importantly for you is to rest and heal bro. Take care!

Thanks pureice, i'm trying to claim against him now. Ya lor, as long as you kiss ppl butt quite gone case already. haha, now think if it im quite pissed, cant imagine i apologized and told him to claim from me. 1st thing he said after he got out was 'why you bang my car?? never see right??' 2) ' bla blahblah .. my car just came out from work shop' 3) I claiming your insurane easier, i dont think you have money to pay.. 4) you okay?

Wah, he's such an arrogant ******* ar? Den dun let him hao lian liao lor! Have all your medical receipts, MC, repair bills and all on hand as the insurance company will need them to log a claim. Yup, your words against his now! Good that your police report din mentioned about the speed thingy and that you'd mentioned that the car was "stopped stationary" & "the driver drove off before the police arrived". If you're going to claim, make sure you go all the way, and I think it's going to be a long case!

If you need to speak to a lawyer I work in a firm where we have two very capable litigation lawyers frequently handling clients who've had traffic accidents. No obligations just give us a call and see if you can get some advice.

Phone calls and short discussions there'll be no fees.

80-90km is on our phantom meter i assume? u sld actually highlight tt our meter is about 20km more than our actual speed too... glad u r alright, mayb u cld try asking ah chong help u do the claiming part? i was very unsure about claiming too, tts y go find him... he will take over ur bike for a few days and send to idac n claim for u etc(may even get xtra stuff =x), but its better for u to ask him personally about ur case, u will need ur medical billss, police report and pic if any... yea i guess u cld call kalyan's place as well

wah kang wei, juz talked with u last week ago at planet there, changed oil seal at fork then this happens. %*^##(#)^%)

get well soon bro. things like these really can kill our moods but dun loose hopes. tomorrow is always better. just like ur injuries, tomorrow definitely will get better than today de.

SBF Notice Announcement : KangWei89 is being morally supported by zpjohnny ^.^

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present