tdmrider,

U r absolutely right, engine guard sounds so much better.:smile:

The givi guard goes inside of the exaust, very neat & compact look.

Where is m-technic??

TIA

Give up that you cannot keep...and gain the gift you cannot earn!

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Originally posted by tdmrider@Mar 23 2004, 05:36 PM

-original yamaha engine guards from hong leong

-givi engine guards from chap lee/motor219

-hepco & becker engine guards from m-technic

-seng kwang custom made engine guards (u can design ur own engine guards)

personally im using the hepco and becker ones, and i find it quite tough and nice on the TDM :smile: givi and yamaha ones are more compact in size and finishing not as good in my opinion... all should cost around $220-300 depending on the exchange rate of euros :mad: hope this info helps...

just to add some info,

the engine guard from the three main player look kind of small.

they maybe able to protect the engine but not quite up to the task in protecting your fairing in case of ...touch wood.

personally am using the h&b engine guard too. True, they not wide enough to prevent scratches to my fairing. unless you able to slowly let the bike fall, prevent the bike from using the guard as a pivot to rock and roll :giddy: :sweat:

Boyz don't grow up, the toys just get bigger

hi lyechi,

i do agree that the givi engine guard is very neat and compact... but i find it too 'tiny' for my liking :smile:

FYI, m-technik is located at 5,jalan wangi. its along macpherson road, just go straight up past jackson food centre, when you pass by a child care centre, make a left turn, follow the road and u will see m-technik on your right side.

by the way, pufferfish, how was your tp test?

Originally posted by apogez@Mar 23 2004, 08:37 PM

just to add some info,

the engine guard from the three main player look kind of small.

they maybe able to protect the engine but not quite up to the task in protecting your fairing in case of ...touch wood.

personally am using the h&b engine guard too. True, they not wide enough to prevent scratches to my fairing. unless you able to slowly let the bike fall, prevent the bike from using the guard as a pivot to rock and roll :giddy: :sweat:

Just to add, putting side panniers on the TDM will save your expensive fairings and exhaust from damage. You can do without engine guards or sliders as long as you don't remove the panniers hahaha. Then again what r u willing to sacrifice in event of a drop? Scratched bar ends and panniers or cracked fairing and scratched exhaust? :giddy:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hello all, i finally passed class 2 today! So i went straight to Hong Leong, Dili, Loo's to check out the tdm. Hong Leong quoted $17800, the rest quoted more than $18000+.

I also look at other enduro-type bikes at Loo's and saw the V-strom 650, just like its 1000cc big brother but only single exhaust. However, TDM seemed more compact!

Originally posted by Pufferfish@Mar 23 2004, 11:38 PM

Hello all, i finally passed class 2 today!

congrats pufferfish :smile: i still remember when i passed my class2, someone told me the feeling is more shiok than kana 4d :smile: dunno whether u feel this way too?:smile: hope u can get a class2 bike u like soon :smile:

Hello all, i finally passed class 2 today! So i went straight to Hong Leong, Dili, Loo's to check out the tdm. Hong Leong quoted $17800, the rest quoted more than $18000+.

I also look at other enduro-type bikes at Loo's and saw the V-strom 650, just like its 1000cc big brother but only single exhaust.  However, TDM seemed more compact!

CONGRATULATIONS!!Pufferfish.

TDM 17.8K is it OTR?? Any goodies with this pr??

Did u get the pr for the Strom650?

Still deciding lah!!

TIA

I also look at other enduro-type bikes at Loo's and saw the V-strom 650, just like its 1000cc big brother but only single exhaust. However, TDM seemed more compact!

"Gong Xi! Gong Xi!"

Btw hong leong can trade in ur bike? if i not wrong they don't take in bikes rite? hong leong is the agent for Yamaha think thats y can give better price but only problem is they dont take ur bike later when u one to sell:sian:

compareing the V storm to TDM think its too bulky. unless u got some size if not think will look to big for a average guy. also if 1 2 go tour bigger cc bike more comfortable lah. think the 1000 should be better than the 650.

If u consider the power, economical n technology sense, the TDM is of couse the obvious chose :cheeky:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

...hmmm... how come price so high?

Btw wats ur age? is it due to ur age thats y ins. very high?

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by comics00@Mar 24 2004, 01:11 PM

...hmmm... how come price so high?

cosmic,

Why u think pr is high?

I asked 2-3 mths ago also this pr leh.:giddy:

U bought how much?? Share? :smile:

TIA

17.8k otr?

not high lah, considering the increase in GST.

got mine at 17.5k otr and that was in 2002

Boyz don't grow up, the toys just get bigger

http://www.givi.it/perlatuamoto/photos/348_campo_foto_12.jpg

Engine guard: Givi(top) & Hepco & Becker

Which 1 looks better to u guys? (function as well as obtrusiveness)

http://www.hepco-becker.de/_eng/images/fotos/schutzbuegel_13.jpg

http://accessories.yamaha-motor-europe.com/files/images/EU/5PSW074100_TH.jpg

Origina Yamaha.

Any more types out there??

do anyone feel that the shape of the tank and seat for the TDM look like a sperm?

BTW anyone got the spec like torque, max speed for the TDM?

Mel

Yamaha WR200

Honda Phantom TA200

Honda Superfour CB400

Honda Shadow 400

Suzuki V-Strom DL650

hi guys, like ur help regarding TDM850/900 (carb model). thanks.

i trying to decide which bike to get for my daily 80km from home to work to home.

TDM is among my choice. can verify with u guys on the spec.

2L tank with 4L (4.3 with oil filter change) engine oil. ave fuel consumption is 24km/l in singapore road.

is this correct? wat do u guys think about using this bike for daily 80km travel?

wat is the resale price now?

look like sperm... hmm... that's an interesting observation. suggesting of virility perhaps?

torque - official figures are in the first post of this thread.

max speed - rumoured to be at least 200kmh

carb model - 850

EFI - 900

Petrol capacity - official figures are in the first post of this thread.

Fuel consumption - depends on rider. 24km/l possible if you don't exceed 120km/h, highway only. JB to KL on 1 tank is NOT possible (for me).

80km travel - any motor bike.

resale - clueless.

Originally posted by vchua@Mar 29 2004, 10:43 AM

i trying to decide which bike to get for my daily 80km from home to work to home.

2L tank with 4L (4.3 with oil filter change) engine oil. ave fuel consumption is 24km/l in singapore road.

is this correct? wat do u guys think about using this bike for daily 80km travel?

TDM got carb n EFI model. i m riding the 900 EFI which got better mileage compare to carb. 1/2 the time i ride on the expressway between 80km/h - 120km/h mileage always ^24km/l

saw 1 in dili asking for $12,000. 2002 model no. plate FV5****.

80 km a day think any bike will do. btw i travel ~100km per day.

Originally posted by solo@Mar 29 2004, 12:59 PM

look like sperm... hmm... that's an interesting observation. suggesting of virility perhaps?

torque - official figures are in the first post of this thread.

max speed - rumoured to be at least 200kmh

carb model - 850

EFI - 900

Petrol capacity - official figures are in the first post of this thread.

Fuel consumption - depends on rider. 24km/l possible if you don't exceed 120km/h, highway only. JB to KL on 1 tank is NOT possible (for me).

80km travel - any motor bike.

resale - clueless.

the last time pump in JB i travel to and back Malacca one tank. resv lights up a few km just b4 reaching back into JB. maybe next trip can try c if can reach KL :goodluck:

btw my got no box. think those with boxes mileage affected ~20%:smile:

Originally posted by apogez@Mar 24 2004, 06:28 PM

17.8k otr?

not high lah, considering the increase in GST.

got mine at 17.5k otr and that was in 2002

Aiya! sorry didnt realised now 2004 liao the gst ^ to 5%. think ~$18000, sounds ok. i got my ~$17,500. after 20% discount from ins. ~$17,200

meet up with 4 other TDM owners last wed in pitstop. all 5 TDMs park along side n i realise not 1 is the same:thumb: first of all the diff between the 850 n 900, then all diff wind shield, diff engine guard, some dont have some have diff boxes, some dont have some diff handle guard, diff main stand ect. ect. didn't realise until then TDM got many 3 party after market parts! read that TDM is a very popular bike in Europe thus u can mail order many parts from the europeans wed sites.

:sian: got no $ to spare if not will full mob my TDM loh:weep:

Originally posted by vchua@Mar 29 2004, 10:43 AM

I refer to the TDM850 since I am riding one.

Total Engine oil capacity is 4.2L (From stock dry to full) 3.5L without oil filter change, 3.6L with oil filter change. This is taken from the offical YAMAHA workshop service manual that I have. Use the last 2 figures as a guide as we can't drain the engine till bone dry in normal circumstances.

Fuel capacity is 20L inclusive of 3.1L of reserve and at an average consumption of 18-20km/L gives a maximum mileage of 360km - 400km. Normally I hit reserve at abt 330km travelling on mixed type of roads. 50% expressway. (Change gears ard 3k-4k rpm with occasional blasts when some jokers think my bike is a vara125 :giddy:)

If you want to stretch 5 days a row at 80km a day without pumping then I dun think it is quite possible for the TDM850. Cosmic00's TDM900 is very economical, which you can consider.

Resale value like Solo has mentioned is not available as its not a common bike like super4 where you can get market rate. You do not really find 2nd hand TDMs in shops unless in rare cases. So its really up to the buyer and seller to neg a suitable price. Brand new bike prices are quite std with little variation so you might want to consider a new one too.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by comics00@Mar 30 2004, 01:03 PM

meet up with 4 other TDM owners last wed in pitstop. all 5 TDMs park along side n i realise not 1 is the same:thumb: first of all the diff between the 850 n 900, then all diff wind shield, diff engine guard, some dont have some have diff boxes, some dont have some diff handle guard, diff main stand ect. ect. didn't realise until then TDM got many 3 party after market parts! read that TDM is a very popular bike in Europe thus u can mail order many parts from the europeans wed sites.

:sian: got no $ to spare if not will full mob my TDM loh:weep:

I am sure you cannot find an identical TDM in our group if ALL of them turn up hahaha...so we will not hop on the wrong bike ;) apogez is pretty good at his DIY stuff on his TDM that I am pretty impressed, esp the splash guard for legs. Gonna be my project during my holidays :smile:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Yeah right, was quoted ~ $18000 for first party insur at Hong Leong. But no other goodies included, no accesories nothing, only 2 free oil change servicing. Is it the norm btw?

And I am wondering if possible to fix a givi top box/mount directly on the grab bar?

Pufferfish,

Givi (top) & Yamaha boxes.

With some mod, do u think u can mount it direct?

http://www.givi.it/perlatuamoto/photos/348_campo_foto_5.jpg

http://accessories.yamaha-motor-europe.com/files/images/EU/5JWW075440_HR.jpg

Originally posted by Pufferfish@Mar 31 2004, 01:36 AM

Yeah right, was quoted ~ $18000 for first party insur at Hong Leong. But no other goodies included, no accesories nothing, only 2 free oil change servicing. Is it the norm btw?

And I am wondering if possible to fix a givi top box/mount directly on the grab bar?

tried that when waiting for the wingrack. can be done but need the old type of plastic base plate with many holes and risk it slipping off. not recommended.