• Replies 3.3k

yup made a quick buck at 2.30 but its all sentiment play long term its book value @ 1.5x do not return good value so happy to make a quick buck...

Me ish disappointed that I didn't get my lots in. :(

Could have made a quick buck! That was what I was looking for. :angel:

Oh well. Move onwards. :p

What? lower?

The IPO is already 1.55x book value. But I tried my luck anyway, didn't get even a lot in.

Dude, they purposedly priced it lower than expected.

They could have priced it easily 1.8 times book value.

by "lower" i dont mean below book.

no one is crazy to price below book for IPO, otherwise no point to IPO right?

1.8x must be crazy i won't buy for that, almost twice book value liao leh..

1.55x is still high but still acceptable 1 1/2 times BV

I think fair value is 1.3 as seen in capland and their sg trust...

1.8x must be crazy i won't buy for that, almost twice book value liao leh..

1.55x is still high but still acceptable 1 1/2 times BV

I think fair value is 1.3 as seen in capland and their sg trust...

haha, high or low, it all depends on how things are represented and presented.

Of course no one would price it below book. But 1.8x?? Ridiculous. Reasonable would be 1.2x. Already at 1.55x, there were a lot of skeptics, me among them, so I queued up for only a couple of lots.

Apparently it opened lower than some analysts :D expected (2.50 to 2.80), and now it's testing support at 2.24.

I did wish I had gotten my lots though. Selling it off immediately at opening would have been nice.

But if it had seen 2.50 opening, it would have been better. :D

Oh well, all that is conjecture.

Just curious if anyone in here trades based on Technicals?

or anyone here trades in US stocks/Indices/Futures, other than SG stocks?

Edited by n@kan0

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Just curious if anyone in here trades based on Technicals?

or anyone here trades in US stocks/Indices/Futures, other than SG stocks?

Yea I do you want to post some chart for discussion.

Looking at the retail play, high margin consumer goods.

Winter in US will not be so cold this yr careful on energy and SG export...

Yea I do you want to post some chart for discussion.

Looking at the retail play, high margin consumer goods.

Winter in US will not be so cold this yr careful on energy and SG export...

I do look at the ES & EX, as well as the GC, also stocks like AAPL, LVS & SPY. I'm primarily a Fibonacci-based TA-trader.... thus looking to see if there's any like-minded people here.... :cheers:

GC - Weekly SUPP.jpg

GC - Monthly OP.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Fibonacci retracements are never fully certain. In these more uncertain times, sometimes movements don't even make sense.

I tend to look at the price/volume, time/sales and trade summaries to get a feel of market sentiment, some hearsay and the news.

These days it seems everything is driven by sentiments anyway... It's like throwing a dice.

i just close my eys and point.....so far so lucky......hee hee

Fibonacci retracements are never fully certain. In these more uncertain times, sometimes movements don't even make sense.

I tend to look at the price/volume, time/sales and trade summaries to get a feel of market sentiment, some hearsay and the news.

These days it seems everything is driven by sentiments anyway... It's like throwing a dice.

to perhaps put things in perspective, NOTHING is certain in this world.... besides using Fib retracements to look for Supp/Resist, there's alot of other factors in-play, which i've no wish to go into details over here.... just seeing if there's anyone here that trades in a similar fashion....

"These days it seems everything is driven by sentiments anyway..."

it seems U take rather short term positions, thus that statement above, but its true, and I agree with you. But for long-term investors like Warren Buffet, he'd refute that statement...

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

U mean you throw your famous dice?

BUY/SELL/HOLD/Smoke a Cigar

haha yes,

recently i got a better device.

it's a decision roulette.

just spin and stop it. where it stops , you will find the answer.....

hyek hyek

anyway, my strategy is still to continue to take profits, i have made back almost all of what i lost in 2008 by averaging some during early part of this year. so i'm thankful.

I do look at the ES & EX, as well as the GC, also stocks like AAPL, LVS & SPY. I'm primarily a Fibonacci-based TA-trader.... thus looking to see if there's any like-minded people here.... :cheers:

Dinapoli levels, fibnodes? while i don't use them, can share how's the consistency of using your setups? thanks!

i doubt it will be useful in SGX market. maybe better in larger & more liquid markets like US, UK, HKSE

Dubai Port World restructuring of bond issue is sending shivers down the market.

a shadow of cloud cast over a recovering world economy.

if DP world defaults, the ripple effects may be quite drastic, shattering confidence and bringing back memories of an over leveraged country gone wrong.

very negative sentiment will darken the investment landscape.

beware

thanks throttle! u r certainly up-to-date

no wonder currencies were so volatile this morning

so finally dollar have an excuse to rebound?

i rather not be, after the news came out on wed nite and hit our shores thursday morning, people were scrambling to react.

DP world bond drop 15cts to a dollar and Nakheel bonds crashed by almost 30cts to a dollar.

luckily, we all took profits of 20cts to a dollar months ago.

I must say I got out not becos I was smarter than others or anything but by just not being too greedy and taking profits, escaped a crash. thats how i prefer to deal with financial positions in general.

Edited by Throttle
Interesting how 1 company's news affected indexes world wide...

it's not just a company. it's sovereign guarantee.

imagine if Temasek gives a press conference and request its creditors for 6 mths extension to pay off debts. STI will crash. Properties will plummet.

'Foreign money which makes a big part of our financial system will move out within short time. immediate flight to safety.

in this case, fear of ripple effect and fresh memories of subprime is causing anxiety.

our economy is still fragile yet people think all is well and fine, buy on high loan etc... take extra risk etc... unrealistic optimism.

dont get me wrong, i also want economy to be good and things to be stable.

bonus fat fat, every year change sportscar, every few years buy new property.

but....... we gotta be real. IT's pure liquidity driving the economy now. that simply is NOT sustainable. So govts are trying to make sure that during this period where liquidity is artificially propping up the markets, they start rebuilding things again.

slow and steady wins the race, always.

i repeat, always

it's not just a company. it's sovereign guarantee.

imagine if Temasek gives a press conference and request its creditors for 6 mths extension to pay off debts. STI will crash. Properties will plummet.

'Foreign money which makes a big part of our financial system will move out within short time. immediate flight to safety.

in this case, fear of ripple effect and fresh memories of subprime is causing anxiety.

our economy is still fragile yet people think all is well and fine, buy on high loan etc... take extra risk etc... unrealistic optimism.

dont get me wrong, i also want economy to be good and things to be stable.

bonus fat fat, every year change sportscar, every few years buy new property.

but....... we gotta be real. IT's pure liquidity driving the economy now. that simply is NOT sustainable. So govts are trying to make sure that during this period where liquidity is artificially propping up the markets, they start rebuilding things again.

slow and steady wins the race, always.

i repeat, always

Lol.. yeah.. and i just bought 10lots of some penny shares earlier this week.. my very first trade... Lol. now i think i'l sit conner suck thump until the whole thing reach somewhere near 2 bottom and den whack again..

no prob lah, at most lose $10k.

unlikely anyway.

good luck to all on Monday.

Who would (especially for small investors like me) have saw that coming?

lucky to close my HK positions for a small profit in the morning, so now waiting for the smog to clear first. o_O

i hope someone made some attempt to calm the market during the weekends. otherwise, it maybe a bloody monday.

Surprisingly FTSE, DAX made a comeback, so I guess some "pep talks" must be happening :p

i rather not be, after the news came out on wed nite and hit our shores thursday morning, people were scrambling to react.

DP world bond drop 15cts to a dollar and Nakheel bonds crashed by almost 30cts to a dollar.

luckily, we all took profits of 20cts to a dollar months ago.

I must say I got out not becos I was smarter than others or anything but by just not being too greedy and taking profits, escaped a crash. thats how i prefer to deal with financial positions in general.