dun mind me.

juz curious

i think since 99 busa ppl are already using aftermarket filter...

so what is the amt of dirt that is going into the engine and causing damage?

it is going to be a balance of all

bmc race allow more air and min air filter

knn allow slightly more air and more air filter compare to bmc

oem stock air and max air filter compare to all but also if u dun maintain after time the paper damage also same.

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
  • Replies 56.7k

• Nok97

• NormalAspirated

• HYB80Y

• quizesilver

dun mind me.

juz curious

i think since 99 busa ppl are already using aftermarket filter...

so what is the amt of dirt that is going into the engine and causing damage?

it is going to be a balance of all

bmc race allow more air and min air filter

knn allow slightly more air and more air filter compare to bmc

oem stock air and max air filter compare to all but also if u dun maintain after time the paper damage also same.

BMC flows better than K&N

and K&N flows the same as stock..

There's no replacement for displacement except for a blower

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/2142887179_265ff6ef3a_m.jpghttp://ionicdynamics.com/decal7.jpg

IBA Member #25269

if i am not wrong yr busa after the 1st yr no more waranty regardless if u use after market or oem.. i believe that every thing has its pros and cons.. nothing is all pro and nothing is all con. the aftermarket like u said allow more air but alo more dirt. but thats why they apply a layer of gel/oil on the filter to compensate in trappng dirt. by using stock oem filter no doubt u are on the safe side on the dirt issue.. but when u blast yr bike at high sppeds 200-300kmh are u sure u r supplying enought air to your engine? the stock/oem air filter may work in legal speeds at 80-100km/h but how much can it stand up to speeds above 200km/h??? by keeping the dirt way r u also keeping away the much need air??

try runing a sprint or marathon with face mask see how your body like it....

u are suforcating the engine and that doesn't make your engine any healthier doesnt it? so by using a aftermarket filter and maintaining it well by washing and apply new oil/gel on the filter in my opinion would be better that a stock air filter.

becos even with an oem airfilter i am sure its not 100% dirt proof some dirt will always get thru so that shows that little amount of dirt is acceptable.

just my humble opinion... does not represent anyone but myself..

cheers!! :thumb:

You allow me to disagree with your theory. NO any stock bike has such a problem. My point of view is not the extra performance of the bike but the maintainance of healthy bike. The "oily" filters need the oil to trap the dirty due to the "huge" openings. I never had problems with the air supplied in high speeds. My bike is comming to 2 years old and she performs exactly the same as she did almost 2 years ago. Such an unfounded theory about air supply is a myth created by the aftermarket makers and various shops. The prons and cons is that, if you modify your bike you will have better performance but the life span of your bike and its performance will shorten drastically. If you keep stock then the bike will last longer. No any air filter draps 100% dirt, to have 100% efficiency trapping the dirt you need to seal completely the airbox, i.e. no air passing throu at all.

In regards to expiration of guarantee i will say that, guarantee is to replace any parts that are faulty by the manufacturer. So far I've replaced fairing stickers, thermostat and fork tubes under guarantee. Expiration of guarantee does NOT means the bike is "now ready for mods". Once the bike pass the period of guarantee means that all the parts are in satisfactory condition as per manufacturer's specification.

To me there are 3 types of riders. Those who are crazy over mods and is something that they enjoy to do and they do utilize their mods, those who modify because the others do and they are thinking that "let the next buyer clear the sh@t", and those who purchase the bike because of the specs given by the manufacturer and keep their bikes to that levels. When I bought my bike, I bought it because I did like it as it was. If I did not like its specs I would not have purchase it.

The stock bike has a max speed for 300kmh. I'll ask you, how many in this forum has reached this speed and how often? To me is not worth to modify the bike in anticipation you only use its potential once in the blue moom. To be frank with you, I do not understand the mentality that buyers willing to pay more for a modified bike. Maybe is the calture, which is fine with me. I put up my bike for sale at S$19,000. I know is crazy price but this is what my bike is worth for the money and the time I've spend to maintain it stock and tip top condition. If I modify my bike the only way to do it is to put it an a container and ship it to Suzuki Japan and do it there. Of course that is too expensive and will never happen.

This is how I view it. I really have no problem with any one modifying his/her bike. Is their choise, but I have BIG problem when some riders giving advise to new comers how to modify without themselves has done a proper study and research. You might rightfully point out the breaks which I agree are not that good. But they are not bad either. Should I modify them? Well, no. I only modify my attitude against the bike. Is a machine demands respect and this is what I do.

Please do not get the wrong idea. What I wrote is not addressed to you personally but in general. It is my own point of view which does not necessary means is the correct one. I assume this forum is created for the riders ton exchange opinions and points of view.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg
BMC flows better than K&N

and K&N flows the same as stock..

yes sir.

noted.

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
New Hayabusa 2008 Model

- Machine Price : $24,000.00

- GST by the motorcycle shop 7% : $1,680.00

- COE (depends on that month) : ???

- Road Tax : $216 half year after rebate

- Insurance (depends on which type and age) : ???

- ERP unit : $150 or less (2nd hand half price)

* Admin charges are Bullshiit !

Anything I miss out ??? Please help ! :D

one more thing:

~ Interest of your loan to add up. :angel:

BMW R1200GS Adventure

Moto Guzzi V7 Racer

Good Idea!! :thumb:

Then I will have a side box on my left side for keeping stuff, and a side-cart on the right side for pillion-ing people. hmm... I can pillion three people somemore, one behind me, two in the side-cart... Then we can go Thailand using just one bike... hahaha... :cheeky: :cheeky:

u can setup XBOX system inhouse too..:dot:

ya ya ya!! off day can go Orchard Road there sell ice cream too! Yishun dam also nice place to sell ice cream! :angel:

all you can only think is ice-cream lah.. B@lls lah.. backside lah..massage your balls lah..

aiyoooo.. i believe hor.. last time when you were young boy.. did you kana all this ??:angel: :angel:

poor boy.. come come.. let me buy you some sweets..:p

You allow me to disagree with your theory. NO any stock bike has such a problem. My point of view is not the extra performance of the bike but the maintainance of healthy bike. The "oily" filters need the oil to trap the dirty due to the "huge" openings. I never had problems with the air supplied in high speeds. My bike is comming to 2 years old and she performs exactly the same as she did almost 2 years ago. Such an unfounded theory about air supply is a myth created by the aftermarket makers and various shops. The prons and cons is that, if you modify your bike you will have better performance but the life span of your bike and its performance will shorten drastically. If you keep stock then the bike will last longer. No any air filter draps 100% dirt, to have 100% efficiency trapping the dirt you need to seal completely the airbox, i.e. no air passing throu at all.

In regards to expiration of guarantee i will say that, guarantee is to replace any parts that are faulty by the manufacturer. So far I've replaced fairing stickers, thermostat and fork tubes under guarantee. Expiration of guarantee does NOT means the bike is "now ready for mods". Once the bike pass the period of guarantee means that all the parts are in satisfactory condition as per manufacturer's specification.

To me there are 3 types of riders. Those who are crazy over mods and is something that they enjoy to do and they do utilize their mods, those who modify because the others do and they are thinking that "let the next buyer clear the sh@t", and those who purchase the bike because of the specs given by the manufacturer and keep their bikes to that levels. When I bought my bike, I bought it because I did like it as it was. If I did not like its specs I would not have purchase it.

The stock bike has a max speed for 300kmh. I'll ask you, how many in this forum has reached this speed and how often? To me is not worth to modify the bike in anticipation you only use its potential once in the blue moom. To be frank with you, I do not understand the mentality that buyers willing to pay more for a modified bike. Maybe is the calture, which is fine with me. I put up my bike for sale at S$19,000. I know is crazy price but this is what my bike is worth for the money and the time I've spend to maintain it stock and tip top condition. If I modify my bike the only way to do it is to put it an a container and ship it to Suzuki Japan and do it there. Of course that is too expensive and will never happen.

This is how I view it. I really have no problem with any one modifying his/her bike. Is their choise, but I have BIG problem when some riders giving advise to new comers how to modify without themselves has done a proper study and research. You might rightfully point out the breaks which I agree are not that good. But they are not bad either. Should I modify them? Well, no. I only modify my attitude against the bike. Is a machine demands respect and this is what I do.

Please do not get the wrong idea. What I wrote is not addressed to you personally but in general. It is my own point of view which does not necessary means is the correct one. I assume this forum is created for the riders ton exchange opinions and points of view.

since u also agree that stock /oem do not filter out all the dirt why are u so concerned about the extra amout of dirt that pass thru after market air filters????

and also do u not agree that at higher speeds a better airflow is better for the engine?

http://motorride.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/2012-Kawasaki-D-Tracker.jpg

Nice speech.. i agree.. i got the bike 2nd hand instead of any other 1st hand bikes for its specs, 'fierce dun F with me factor'. I'ii juz go with stock parts. Im sure suzuki engineers knows what they are doing and make it optimal.

Aniway..to each his own.. mod or not, as long as its a gd buy to you..ur happy..dats all dat matters..

ive got a problem to share.. ive been ridin the bike nearly 2 yrs nw. but recently i feel that the bike is sort of losing power. also whenever i clutched in and go over a hump with gear engaged, my bike will stall. sometimes even after warming up, it will stall. ive tried increasing the timing but still happens.

mayb anione can advise?? Thanks. (im still learning..still newbie..)

intend to go for top overhaul soon.. roughly how much does top overhaul cost? ive been offered $800.

Aniway..to each his own.. mod or not, as long as its a gd buy to you..ur happy..dats all dat matters..

ive got a problem to share.. ive been ridin the bike nearly 2 yrs nw. but recently i feel that the bike is sort of losing power. also whenever i clutched in and go over a hump with gear engaged, my bike will stall. sometimes even after warming up, it will stall. ive tried increasing the timing but still happens.

mayb anione can advise?? Thanks. (im still learning..still newbie..)

intend to go for top overhaul soon.. roughly how much does top overhaul cost? ive been offered $800.

Idling rpm ?

since u also agree that stock /oem do not filter out all the dirt why are u so concerned about the extra amout of dirt that pass thru after market air filters????

and also do u not agree that at higher speeds a better airflow is better for the engine?

I'm concern because I do not want to increase the amount of dirt that the engine it takes.

More air flow is always better for an engine, BUT more airflow means more dirt. In regards to the air flow on high speeds is erelevant. What I'm trying to say is that, when the bike reach 300kmh its RPM should be around 10K-11k. Means to say that the engine has to be able to "breath" at that RPM regardless the speed of the vehicle. How abt if we have the 2nd or 3rd gear on and the RPM is at 11K, does this means the bike air intake is insufficient? If that was the case then no engine could had been possible to operate on certain speeds or relevant RPMs.

To conclude, when the bike rolls out of the show room has a speed tag of 300kmh. There is no any restriction from the manufacturer that you can reach such speed provided the air filter has to be changed or any other modifications needed. None as far as I know. There is no harm to the engine either. But lets see the K&N on that speeds. I think we both agree that the air pressure going throu the Air Filter is huge. Then let me ask you, is the oil on a K&N filter stays firm to the filter or is slowly "washed off" into the ingection system?

Let put our thinking hats.

P.S.: Lets ride next month to Malaysia, unfortunately I will not joint this month as on 29/10 I'll in Shanghai for business.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg