[Discussion] Do You Wear Gear?

Do U wear gear when riding  

102 members have voted

1. 1. Do U wear gear when riding

• Replies 217

Guest simone

hi i wanna know where to get good armoured jacket....... cos i had a nasty fall...

anyone interested to buy one... its worth the effort

Originally posted by sigg4@Mar 12 2004, 04:44 PM

if you are going back to reservice than you can use your 11-b to buy lor.last time i go reservice also bought a pair when going home it rains but inside the boots still dry dry leh... :smile: :smile: :smile:

yup..

but consider this, Army gortex dun have shin shield. =)

a average riding boots have.

for wat? to prevent any injuries on your shin in an even of accient.

the ankle protection of a army boots is not good as a average riding boots.

for daily commuting, army boots is okie..

but if u go a bit more than riding, i suggest u get the riding boots.

not asking ppl to change the concept but there is a different in both boots itself

Originally posted by simone@Mar 13 2004, 05:40 AM

hi i wanna know where to get good armoured jacket....... cos i had a nasty fall...

anyone interested to buy one... its worth the effort

for a coffee i tell u? :cheeky:

joking..

as i mention earlier in the posts, go to motoX.

they carry a series of HELD jackets at an affordable price..

same u can go to motoworld. they also have some range of riding amoured jacket.

Guest Supertoad76

I remember once I went to a kopitiam with my mates after a ride. All of us were in gear (i.e armoured jacket, gloves and boots...etc). One of my mate commented that one particular group in that kopitiam were snarling at us, passing remarks like "Oh, Look like wearing long 4", and generally giggling like the girlies in their group. :mad:

Apparently one guy in the group is riding an r1 and good lord, he just had a full face, denim jacket thats all, his pillion wearing a nice sleeveless tank and jeans with high heels. I think my group look pretty good decked up in gear. But why does the other group view us in distain?

So let analysis what wrong . Most spends a bomb on there bike but yet does not protect himself and his loved ones.

Yet he laughs at us, but isn't he laughing at himself?

So his life and limb are cheaper then his bike?:confused:

Oh I know, he has the classic " It will never happen to me" Theory because he thinks he riding a bigger bike therefore he has better skill.

I am deeply sadden by those who ride yet laugh at others who take pains to protect themself, after all the later group wants to live to ride another day.

Originally posted by Supertoad76@Mar 13 2004, 11:56 AM

I remember once I went to a kopitiam with my mates after a ride. All of us were in gear (i.e armoured jacket, gloves and boots...etc). One of my mate commented that one particular group in that kopitiam were snarling at us, passing remarks like "Oh, Look like wearing long 4", and generally giggling like the girlies in their group. :mad:

Apparently one guy in the group is riding an r1 and good lord, he just had a full face, denim jacket thats all, his pillion wearing a nice sleeveless tank and jeans with high heels. I think my group look pretty good decked up in gear. But why does the other group view us in distain?

So let analysis what wrong . Most spends a bomb on there bike but yet does not protect himself and his loved ones.

Oh I know, he has the classic " It will never happen to me" Theory because he thinks he riding a bigger bike therefore he has better skill.

I am deeply sadden by those who ride yet laugh at others who take pains to protect themself, after all the later group wants to live to ride another day.

guess it juz boils down to pure immaturity or juz MEBE , just jealousy ... coz can't afford the gears mah , after splurging all the money on the bike ....

:cool: rempiticon #76

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/photos/LG8O8616.jpg

hahaha..

as long as we do wat is right and safe, we need not care how other look at us..

Only one word can describe their behavior, FOOLISH :smile: :goodluck:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

used to love riding bicycle so i know how does it feel like to fall when going fast.

so after i got my license, i went out to buy a ff, jacket and gloves. afterall, the speed of a bike is much faster than that of a bicycle's.

my friends just laughed and asked me why i waste $$$, but after they all had accidents and scars all over, i just think to myself "look who's laughing now"

Phantom 200: Aug 2002 - Jan 2005

Overseas :cry: : Jan 2005 - Dec 2012

Fuoco 500ie: Dec 2012 - Present

I know how it feels to fly at 40km/h in teeshirt, shorts and slippers.

Those were my bicycle days man.

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by nE0@Mar 14 2004, 10:59 PM

I know how it feels to fly at 40km/h in teeshirt, shorts and slippers.

Those were my bicycle days man.

morale of the story? WEAR GEAR!

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by BlackPhantomRider@Mar 14 2004, 11:09 PM

started to wear my army half gloves today

feel a bit more secure guess is psychology

try to get a proper pair of full gloves loh

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by BlackPhantomRider@Mar 14 2004, 11:25 PM

hmmm.....

as soon as i get my next pay which is nx month 10th

Originally posted by CookieSoL@Mar 14 2004, 11:25 PM

i just bought a pair of gloves i dunno consider expensive a not leh. The glove is a full gloves the brand is bell than it cost me near to s$30 like that...can any one please tell me if i got kennah chop? :giddy:

no active trips since 2006

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by sigg4@Mar 14 2004, 11:30 PM

i just bought a pair of gloves i dunno consider expensive a not leh. The glove is a full gloves the brand is bell than it cost me near to s$30 like that...can any one please tell me if i got kennah chop? :giddy:

never see, feel, know whats the material and armour, how to comment?

but i rather get a pair of decent armoured gloves at 219. for $40

Originally posted by CookieSoL@Mar 14 2004, 11:36 PM

never see, feel, know whats the material and armour, how to comment?

but i rather get a pair of decent armoured gloves at 219. for $40

nevermind this wed got come out mah than i let you see feel and put on lot than you can tell me if it is worth it or not... can??? :smile:

Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by sigg4@Mar 14 2004, 11:44 PM

nevermind this wed got come out mah than i let you see feel and put on lot than you can tell me if it is worth it or not... can??? :smile:

eh.... not gloves expert. might not be going also.

better get the real experts to check out

Originally posted by william_liu@Mar 12 2004, 11:01 AM

But your open face can buy two HJC full-face woh... :p

but if u met a accident...10 ff helmet cant buy back ur head..:smile:

[<u>SIZE=7]FALLEN BUT CONTROLLED KNIGHTS[/size]</u>

I got one 2nd hand Alpinestars one for $70, retails for $130+ I think. Is it worth it? I dunno... How does it compare to a $30 glove? Unless I crash test both, no one will know, but its assuring to know I'm wearing something good that will protect my hands against road rash.

Wear gear when riding bicycle? Hai yo... Noneed la. I buy one helmet cost more than the bicycle itself liao.

th bell $30 is the cloth one rite??

diff btw the alpinestars leather gloves and the $40 gloves are basically the qualoty i guess..

MAYBE the latter could only survive one serious accident while teh former could last more..

but bottomline is tat no matter the price of it, it stills protects u...

Think I'll go get a pair for my gal soon.... :sian:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by xanc@Mar 15 2004, 10:12 AM

th bell $30 is the cloth one rite??

diff btw the alpinestars leather gloves and the $40 gloves are basically the qualoty i guess..

MAYBE the latter could only survive one serious accident while teh former could last more..

but bottomline is tat no matter the price of it, it stills protects u...

yup yup..it is the cloth one. is it too expensive??

Originally posted by sigg4@Mar 15 2004, 12:17 PM

yup yup..it is the cloth one. is it too expensive??

thats the normal i guess.

cloths one is normally that price.

its not very good to get cloth as it will tore when u hit the tarmac