Which Internet Service Provider to use  

12 members have voted

1. 1. Which Internet Service Provider to use

• Starhub Cable
    • Singnet Broadband
    • M1 Broadband
    • Others

hi...

I'm moving house.. so now considering to use Starhub or Singnet for internet.

I've use Singnet for life and 1 year of Starhub...

Singnet does have problem once in awhile when connection cuts off completely.

starhub i feel... it's slow in my area.. as compare to feedback from my friends.

moreover...

now if i use starhub, no need to pay phone line bills...

but then.. no phone line... means no miotv, no EPL...

or.. do you all every consider those other smaller players in the market

like M1 or others?

* Honda Varadero XL125V2 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 08 * Honda Foresight FES250 * BMW F650GS K72 * Honda Super4 Revo CB400 NC42 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 12 * BMW R1200GS LC K50 *

• Replies 26

just scan for unsecured internet signal, and ride on it. Free :clapping:

erm... cannot like that lar...

no good leh...

at home i still have 2 other ppl also wanna use....

* Honda Varadero XL125V2 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 08 * Honda Foresight FES250 * BMW F650GS K72 * Honda Super4 Revo CB400 NC42 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 12 * BMW R1200GS LC K50 *

If you want stable high speed connection, maxonline is your only choice. Since most households are already wired for that, you might as well subscribe for maxonline, and get the free fixed line.

Even if you want to watch EPL, you would still need dedicated phone line for your MIO, and internet.

So get maxonline for internet and phone, and use existing phone line for MIO TV if you want EPL.

thanks...

i guess... it's really starhub...

then watch epl thru streaming... o_O

- Undertail exhaust. It was not the Ducati 916 (as may people think) that was the first production bike with such a design, but the NR750.

- Single-side swingarm. Actually, this was not a new concept on the NR750. But it was not a new concept on the Ducati 916 (again, as many people think) either! The RC30 race bike and 1988 Honda Hawk GT Had it!

arhh.... i'm still thinking... and considering....

m1 bb user here.. previously maxonline user.

although both using cable, but price wise, speed stability wise, overall experience wise. m1 wins.

im on 15mbps plan using router. $42/mth.

starhub can never give me this kind of speed at night.

even if im on 30mbps starhub plan, i get only 1-2mbps at night. crap.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/914830707.png

http://i.imgur.com/SSSud.gif

i wonder if starhub will let us know how their nodes are connected...

Just asking can i watch Formula one and motogp on SCV now?

nope.

F1 is under Star Sports, under mio TV now o_O

At least MotoGP is on SuperSports, still on StarHub.. :thumb:

There is also an incredibly wide selection of crap that comes with StarHub sports package! Choose from forgotten and totally unimportant football matches, hours of golf, snooker, table tennis, badminton and even darts championships!

Great time guaranteed! :D

WE'RE NOT HERE FOR A LONG TIME, WE'RE HERE FOR A GOOD TIME.

talking about fibre...

think it will still be some time before the start of any content provider

i wanted to install the fibre point while doing my renov...

email and call opennet but no one reply or ans... really WTF!

starhub sports is good... just that........

haiz........ EPL....... :sian:

I'd rather go for starhub...as i previously used starhub and currently singtel...Singtel so many problems...fix up the phone filter to ur cordless phone and it will be rendered useless! Even connected to a normal phone, there is a lot of static whenever u pick up the phone..Aftersales service, hopeless..everything oso want money..juz call and tell them a problem, they straight away say we will send a technician down but have to charge $30..Starhub no such problems, no nid for a phone filter too! Any probs, they will assist u thru the fone, and hopefully can solve the matter...step by step...unless its a major problem, only then they will send a tech down...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

Re: Fibre-Optics

I think this option is available. A colleague of mine had someone knocking on his door with an offer to install fibre-optics, something like first 10 metres free and then pay per metre or something.. That said, this option is only available to those who live in a handful of developments with the fibre-optics provisions already in place.

Re: Singtel vs Starhub

Generally speaking, internet in Singapore sucks. It sucks badly, be it Singtel or Starhub. But at Singtel it sucks more...

I tried them both and ended up staying with Starhub - almost no connectivity headaches and/or lame conversations (if you are lucky to get through) with the 'Technical Support' lemmings and you can have your cable TV too.. :)

Ride safe!

WE'RE NOT HERE FOR A LONG TIME, WE'RE HERE FOR A GOOD TIME.

Starhub operates in a pool bandwidth where you are sharing the available bandwidth with others at your proximity. Starhub can be slow at times even with 100mbps. 100mbps simply means you can potentially hit 100mbps if not much ppl is using the bandwidth. You need to share with others, especially at night, when every tom and harry are surfing or worse still BT-ing. You might potentially get 2mbps or less.

SingTel offers dedicated line, mean you get 10mbps all for your line. No disturbance, or slow bandwidth. But the downside is that you need to subscriber for a phoneline, which means extra cost.

The bottomline is cost and speed. Vote SingTel for reliable speed and Starhub for low cost. You decide yourself.

SingTel offers dedicated line, mean you get 10mbps all for your line. No disturbance, or slow bandwidth. But the downside is that you need to subscriber for a phoneline, which means extra cost.

The bottomline is cost and speed. Vote SingTel for reliable speed and Starhub for low cost. You decide yourself.

Or for some consumers, the plan which includes free and ultra-cool laptop :deal: :D

Hey guys & gals,

- currently, i hav Starhub Cable Vision, Maxonline & Wireless Homeline package, which tap frm e starhub box in e services duct.

- can i add on with e current M1 promotion (M1 broadband + handphone plan + free notebook)? by tapping frm e same box & home wireless line?

- checked with M1 CSC, they say canot!

- checked wwww, it states

-> if using cable network for broadband, 1 jus hav 2 tap from e starhub box.

-> if using ADSL/fibre network for broadband, 1 needs 2 hav e singtel box & home fixed line.

- my frnd hm hav starhub cable vision, MIO TV, singnet & singtel home fixed line. How 2 explain?

- any kind soul can clear my doubts?

Thks.

http://img37.imagefra.me/img/img37/8/6/25/jacky777/f_13rlvwexjb5m_fd68df1.jpg
can i add on with e current M1 promotion (M1 broadband + handphone plan + free notebook)? by tapping frm e same box & home wireless line?

- checked with M1 CSC, they say canot!

- checked wwww, it states

-> if using cable network for broadband, 1 jus hav 2 tap from e starhub box.

-> if using ADSL/fibre network for broadband, 1 needs 2 hav e singtel box & home fixed line.

- my frnd hm hav starhub cable vision, MIO TV, singnet & singtel home fixed line. How 2 explain?

- any kind soul can clear my doubts?

Thks.

It is possible.

In every home in Singapore you will find these common 3 access points:

[#1] Cable TV (+ internet) access point

[#2] 'Ordinary phone' wall jack

[#3] Next-generation national fibre broadband access point

Your friend may have signed up with Starhub Cable. That's how he gets Starhub cable TV on one of his televisions. The cable TV box connects to #1 above for this purpose.

He/she may also have signed up with Singnet. Singnet provides customers with a free modem (usually white in colour, is an ADSL modem, and the brand is 2Wire). This ADSL modem connects to #2 above. Most cases, #2 is also shared by an ordinary house phone as well using a small splitter [click >>here

All computers tap onto this ADSL modem for Internet access.

Furthermore, if your friend also signs up for MIO TV, he will be given a MIO TV box, which also taps onto this ADSL modem. He then can connect his second television to this MIO TV box.

====

Now that we got this scenario in, let's put ourselves into your friend's shoes:

Let's say if your friend wants to sign up for M1.

M1 provides 3 kinds of internet accesses:

• M1 ADSL - Your friend cannot sign up for M1 ADSL internet. Access point #2 is already registered on a Singtel+MIO TV subscription
  • M1 Cable - Your friend cannot sign up for M1 Cable internet. Access #1 is already occupied by a Starhub Cable Vision box
  • M1 High-speed Fibre Broadband - Your friend can sign up for this. Because nothing is using #3

======

Bottom line, make sure your access points are not already occupied or registered on some sort of internet subscription. One company per access point allowed only.

Hope all is not too confusing.

Edited by redbeacon

definitely definitely NOT starhub... they're pretty dependent on the number of users in your block, the more the number of users AND power plan users, the slower your connection. i didn't see any improvement when i upgraded my plan from a 2mbps plan to a 8 mbps plan!

in any area the lesser ppl who use the network, the better it is for u. it's true regardless of cable or dsl or mobile.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?