:cheer: Fishing is not a good hobby. Try to refrain from it.

http://www.vegetarian-society.org/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/4038205.stm

Here are excerpts from the article:

“World cereal consumption has more than doubled since 1970, and meat consumption has tripled since 1961. The global fish catch grew more than six times from 1950 to 1997.

So one question is whether the world can go on increasing its harvests at this rate - or even faster, to cater as well for the extra 75 million people born annually.

At the moment we are not on course to achieve the Millennium Development Goal of halving world hunger by 2015. Although the proportion of hungry people is coming down, population increase means the actual number continues to rise.

The world does produce enough to feed everyone. But the food is often in the wrong place, or unaffordable, or can't be stored long enough.

And meat usually demands far more than grain - water, land, grain itself (34% of world grain supplies are fed to livestock reared for meat). Yet, worldwide, the richer we grow the more we turn to meat.

Something's got to give - and not only our waistbands.”

In the perspective of Buddhism.

If one gives up taking life (any life form) then one will accomplish ten ways of being free from vexations. What are the ten?

i. One give universally to all beings without fear

ii. One always has a heart of great compassion towards all beings

iii. All habitual tendencies of hate in oneself will be cut off forever

iv. One's body is always free from illness

v. One's life is long

vi. One is constantly protected by non-human beings

vii. One is always without bad dreams, one sleeps and wakes happily

viii. The entanglement of enmity is eradicated and one is free from all hatred

ix. One is free from the dread of evil destinies

x. When one's life comes to an end one will be born as a deva

http://www.dizang.org/wd/cz/024.htm[/url]

Liao-Fan's Four Lessons: by Liao-Fan Yuan of the Ming Dynasty, Interpreted by Zhi-Hai Huang

http://www.dharmaweb.org/index.php/Liao-Fan%E2%80%99s_Four_Lessons:_by_Liao-Fan_Yuan_of_the_Ming_Dynasty,_Interpreted_by_Zhi-Hai_Huang

* 1 THE FIRST LESSON: LEARNING TO CREATE DESTINY

* 2 THE SECOND LESSON: WAYS TO REFORM

* 3 THE THIRD LESSON: WAYS TO CULTIVATE GOODNESS

* 4 THE FOURTH LESSON: BENEFITS OF THE VIRTUE OF HUMILITY

The following year I went to Nanjing. Before I was to enter the National University at Nanjing, I paid a visit to Master Yun-Gu, a venerable Zen Master at Qixia Mountain. We sat in meditation face to face in the Zen hall for three days and three nights without sleep. Master Yun-Gu said, ¡§The reason why ordinary people cannot become sages is because they have too many wandering thoughts running through their minds. In our three-day meditation, I have not observed a single thought arise in you. Why?¡¨

I replied that Mr. Kong had clearly predicted the entire outcome of my life. I had seen that the time of life, death, promotion and failure are all predestined. There was no use or need for me to think about it or to desire anything. The master smiled and replied, ¡§I thought you were someone of remarkable capabilities! Now I realize you are just an average, ordinary person¡¨!

Feeling confused by what Master Yun-Gu said, I asked him to explain. He told me that an ordinary person¡¦s mind is forever occupied by wandering and imaginary thoughts, so naturally their life is bound by chi, the energy of yin and yang as well as destiny. We cannot deny the fact that it exists, but only ordinary people are bound by it. Destiny cannot bind those who cultivate great kindness. Nor can destiny bind those who have committed flagrant bad deeds.

Master Yun-Gu said that Master Hui-Neng, the Sixth Patriarch of the Zen School taught, ¡§All the fields of merit are within one¡¦s own heart. If one seeks from the true mind within, one can be in touch with all one wishes for". By seeking inside ourselves, we will not only attain the inner qualities of virtue, responsibility and kindness, but we can also attain wealth, fame and prestige. To be able to attain both on the inside and on the outside is beneficial to our reward.

Master Yun-Gu then told me that if one cannot reflect inside one¡¦s own heart but instead blindly seeks fame, fortune and long life from outside sources, although one may pursue them by using intelligence, one can only attain at most what destiny had entitled one to. To do otherwise, one might lose both inner purity and what one was predestined to have. Then this seeking will have been in vain.

Master Yun-Gu then asked what were Mr. Kong¡¦s predictions regarding my entire life. I honestly told him the whole story. He then asked if I felt that I deserved imperial appointments or a son. I reflected upon my previous deeds and attitudes in the past for a long time. Then I answered him that no, I did not feel that I deserved an imperial appointment or a son. Those who received imperial appointments all had the appearance of good fortune and I did not. I did not work towards accumulating virtues to build up my good fortune, either. I was very impatient and narrow-minded. Sometimes, I would show off my intelligence and talent in putting down others. I also behaved arbitrarily and spoke without any sense of restraint. These were all signs of scant good fortune and virtue. How could I possibly receive an imperial appointment?

There is an old saying, ¡§Life springs from the dirt of the earth. Clear water often harbors no fish¡¨. The first reason why I felt that I did not deserve a son was that I was overly attached to cleanliness. The second reason was that harmony is the cultivator of all life. But I was quick tempered and easily became angry. The third reason was based on the principle that loving-kindness is the root of reproduction and harshness is the root of sterility. I overly guarded my own reputation and could not sacrifice anything for the sake of others. The fourth reason was that I talked too much, which wasted a lot of chi or energy. The fifth reason was that I indulged in drinking. The sixth reason that I did not have a son was my habit of staying up nights, not knowing how to conserve my energy. Aside from these, I had many other faults that were too numerous to mention.

Master Yun-Gu then said, ¡§According to you then, there are many things in life you do not deserve, not only fame and a son! Those who have millions of dollars in this life must have cultivated the good fortune worthy of that amount in the past. Those who have thousands of dollars must also have good fortune, which is worthy of generating that sum. Those, who die of starvation were in fact were meant to die in that manner. The karmic result today is simply the fruit of their deeds. Heavenly beings do not have any intentions for us¡¨.

For example, if a person has accumulated enough merits and virtues for a hundred generations, then he or she will have descendants to last a hundred generations. One who accumulates enough merits and virtues to last ten generations will then have ten generations of descendants to live out that good fortune. The same goes for three generations or two generations. For those who have no descendants at all, it is because they have not accumulated enough good merits and virtues.

¡§Now that you recognize your own shortcomings, you need to put forth your utmost efforts into working to change and reforming your misdeeds, which cause you not to have a child or become an imperial official. You need to cultivate virtue and tolerance and to treat others with compassion and harmony. Also, to care for your health and conserve your energy and spirit. Live as though everything of the past dissolved yesterday and all of the future begins today. If you can accomplish this, then you are a person born anew, a person of virtue and sincerity¡¨.:cheer:

http://www.animated-gifs.eu/transportation-riders/0016.gif http://www.animated-gifs.eu/transportation-riders/0077.gif
  • Replies 1.3k

hey guys, any of you know where is the marina south fishing pond? i know the old one is closed down. but i heard that there is a new one there. anyone knows about it?

can't wait to fish this sun at ubin

so... did you catch any? which spot u fishing at ubin?

http://i683.photobucket.com/albums/vv191/jordan_liaw2001/bikepics-1692961-full.jpg

Can anyone teach me how to fish?

I mean using the fishing rod, baits, etc.......

I everytime follow my uncle fishing but i prefer to set up my own rather than get somebody to set up for me....

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

haha.. seriously.. if you wan someone to teach you fishing.. First thing.. head down to a fishing shop and ask the shop keeper, stating your estimated price you willing to pay. and they will get you a rod and reel.. :)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Why no CR over here?

Perhaps everyone can share their CR for their trips??

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/5838/hebesp4.gif

正在寻找属于自己专署的公主...

Share some Secret Spots lehhh....

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Do you guys organise fishing trips? Or just go to the pond here? or off the jetty?

Anyone go out on boat? Or charter as a group?

I miss fishing! if anyone has any interest in going boat fishing, PM me. I'm not a pro at fishing, I just enjoy the fight when catching a fish! Been fishing since I was a kid and miss it a lot. I used to fish at the beach at the back of my house and off a boat (bigger fish, much more fun to catch!).

I only catch to eat, I don't do any of this catch and release business. :)

So...any boat fishing outing...I'm in...that's if you don't mind a girl going along!

P.S. There's no room for people who think prawns/worms/fish/sotong are gross, ok? :D

:clap: Baking B!t(h at your service. :clap:

:lol: when i fish with my frens.. normally those live baits or worms.. i dun touch.. dunno why.. but phobia of an incident i guess... so no room for me?? :cry:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

aiyah, phobia? I show you how to gut the fish straight after you catch it! (while it's still wriggling in your hands)

Donno leh, see how many people interested, can go for a day trip?

:clap: Baking B!t(h at your service. :clap:

whahaha... no scare one.. just put it in lah.. there's FIRST time for EVERYTHING.. whahaha.. :D

boat fishing? Nah.. so far none.. normally i go bedok jetty/punggol end/17 ave or punggol jetty... Sometimes will go pond fishing.. at Pasir Ris.. :)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Since small i've been boat fishing with my dad.. but now both are too busy working... so once in a bluemoon den we go out to fish or maybe with family to just enjoy the open sea...

Perhaps can arrange one offshore outing.

Anyone game for it?

Any contacts?

I lost all my contacts of the boatman.. Last offshore was like 2 yrs back..

Miss all the fun in the fights.

正在寻找属于自己专署的公主...

for all this while ive been goin fishing and i never catch any man!! i mean big2 ones... but still im not sian... any of u guy know wen bedok jetty open back? and sorry 2 ask.. what's CR? Catch report??

"The road to success and the road to failure are almost exactly the same.â€

Fish in singapore all migrate to neighbouring country already...

for all this while ive been goin fishing and i never catch any man!! i mean big2 ones... but still im not sian... any of u guy know wen bedok jetty open back? and sorry 2 ask.. what's CR? Catch report??

If You wan fish small fish, try BJT.

So far, won't zero catch. but small fishes lah..:angel:

If wan big fish, I suggest pond fishing or Offshore fishing.

More fun..

Yup.

CR = Catch Report

正在寻找属于自己专署的公主...

Big Fish = Bigger Baits

Small Fish = Smaller Baits

Body so big, eat small bait where got full!!

Go changi and use live sotong for ur big game.. and bring those wriggly worms also so u wont be so bored waiting for some biggy.. :thumb:

Fish in singapore all migrate to neighbouring country already...

guess you have been contacting the fish and receive foreign numbers on your mobile.. lolx

Here's my CR (w/o pic up to individual to believe) *Sorry no bogar to weigh the fish but through my experience*

Date: 4 Feb 2009

Time: 10.40pm - 7.45am

Full tide: 2.4m @ 4am.

Moon: Half Moon

Water Temp: Cold

Strike 1 hour before full tide

Bait: Live "Sarong"

Fish landed: 400g - 500g Stingray *released unhurt*

Bait: Fresh Dead Prawn

Fish landed: 300g - 400g Gerut Gerut *released unhurt*

Fish landed: 50g -100g Pasir Pasir *released unhurt*

Strike at full tide

Fish landed: 500g - 700g Malabar Grouper

Fish landed: 300g - 400g Mengkerong *released unhurt*

Fish landed: 100g - 150g Usat *released unhurt*

Strike 2 hrs after full tide

Bait: Live Prawn

Fish landed: 900g - 1kg Barramundi / Siakap / KBL

Strike 3 hrs after full tide

Bait = Dead Prawn

Fish landed 300g - 450g Stingray *released a littlehurt*

Yamaha RXZ - 2007 till date

Yamaha YZF R6 2008 - Jan 08' - Nov 11'

Triumph Street Triple 2012 - Nov 11' - till date

Lucky singapore water no tongkol..only got here in SBF... :cheeky: Joking Eh...

Seems like a pretty good catch... seems like u fishing in a secret spot u dun wan to tell ah?? Share leh... Maybe this weekend i can go... :cheeky: