The GSXR 600,750 & 1000 Hangout. Where All GSXR Riders Chill And Gather!!

Christmas Eve Outing..

Date: 24 December 2006

Time: 8:30pm

Miting Place: Marina South SuperBowl

The "STEAMBOAT" beside the Bowling.

*Please add in yourself if your name is not in. And please add in before 24/12/06 5pm. Thanks!

Going List:

1) Alj & MiNMiN

2) Bsk_R103

3) Eric28 & GF

4) Saviour82

5) Xniner & GF

6) milan & GF

* Rider if you got pillion please include in.. Coz i need to know how many pax.. Thanks!

What say u :angel:

• Replies 82.9k

• milan

• TyrÃl

• lo-on

• MC28

Hi guys, we will be going for some time of rounding after our dinner and chit chat session at marina south.

But will eventually stop at some place (not decided yet) for the Christmas count down and maybe end at yishun dam before heading for home.

For those who are interested to join us for the rounding, please meet us at the Marina superbowl before 11pm. Thanks and Merry Christmas to everyone :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Originally posted by alj@Dec 24 2006, 01:08 PM

for certain parts, the prices will be better than the OEM ones .... 1 of the reason is the cost of manufacturing the OEM parts is higher than aftermarket ones. just like our titanium exhaust for lets say an 01 model cost 1.7k while the most expensive aftermarket street legal exhaust would cost only around 1.1k :smile:

lelong lelong!!! 06 OEM TITANIUM exhaust "cheap cheap" 1.5k nia!! buy 1 get 1 free! :sweat:

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg
Originally posted by slow_sp@Dec 21 2006, 06:37 PM

i also at home liao ler...:smile:

alvin!! i got new hobby liao. lets go around the forum lookin for people who bullshits! come join me!

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f7/keonni/small.png

Four Wheels Move The Body, Two Wheels Move The Soul..

Originally posted by alj@Dec 24 2006, 01:03 PM

hi hachi, what motor GP uses is those carbon fibre looks type of full floating disc brakes. Meaning that its braking power is far more even better than what braking or galfer brake disc can offer but its not legalised for on the road useage.

The advantages of those wavy brake disc is 1) to offer better braking power. 2) to prevent or minimise any highside when a rider is braking during a corner.

btw, for on the road and occasional track use, getting a semi-floating ones will be recommended than a full-floating ones as the full-floating ones is mainly for track usage and road usage will wear the pins out very fast ....

Offer better braking that I agree but prevent highside?? Other than rider control I wonder how can wave rotors prevent or minimize it? Maybe u can enlighten mi on that?

The articles I read is regarding wave rotors design, if they can use wave design on normal rotors in term provide better braking, then using it on full floater plus carbon rotors the braking would be better?

Wave rotors do offer more trailing and leading edges to provide better feel. Just like suzuki uses 4 brake pads per caliper, as small pads doesnt flex as well as providing more edges...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by Xniner@Dec 24 2006, 02:21 PM

lelong lelong!!! 06 OEM TITANIUM exhaust "cheap cheap" 1.5k nia!! buy 1 get 1 free! :sweat:

business opportunity huh :sweat:

wah sian... raining non stop at changi fr noon till now... hope later don rain.. if not spoilt the Xmas mood... :pray:

http://www.geocities.com/dennisang83/pic.jpg

rides since Jan 02 - June 07 (retired fr riding...)

Originally posted by hachi@Dec 24 2006, 02:53 PM

Offer better braking that I agree but prevent highside?? Other than rider control I wonder how can wave rotors prevent or minimize it? Maybe u can enlighten mi on that?

no need to talk about enlightenment lah :smile: reason why bikers "highside" is due to braking while cornering.

If u observe the thing about those aftermarket braking is that they tend to "shake a little" while u are shaking them with your fingers after installing them for a while, be it semi-floating or full-floating. It seems like they are spoil while actually the reason why they shake is to absorb the so call "highside" effect during braking.

To put it simple, when cornering, if u apply front braking, u will notice that your bike will shake and threaten to highside if u apply any more force on your brakes. To minimise or take away this bike shaking effect, that's the reason why these aftermarket brake disc "shakes". That is now the disc brakes will be the ones shaking rather than the bike itself. But of course, there is still a limit that the brake disc will dampen the highside effect :smile:

Originally posted by InsanE@Dec 24 2006, 03:18 PM

wah sian... raining non stop at changi fr noon till now... hope later don rain.. if not spoilt the Xmas mood... :pray:

ya lor ... now is 330pm ... hope the rain stops before 5pm will be nice liao ... :sian:

Highsides occurs when your rear tyre starts sliding whilst getting onto the throttle, Your natural survival reaction is to shut the throttle, doing so. The rear tyre regains a sudden big grip on the tarmac. And thus spitting you off the bike.

The "floating" effect allows the bike to be leant over whilst still on the brakes. No "floating" means the bike will tend to lift up more upon squeezing the front brakes.

Originally posted by eSPy`7@Dec 24 2006, 03:29 PM

Highsides occurs when your rear tyre starts sliding whilst getting onto the throttle, Your natural survival reaction is to shut the throttle, doing so. The rear tyre regains a sudden big grip on the tarmac. And thus spitting you off the bike.

The "floating" effect allows the bike to be leant over whilst still on the brakes. No "floating" means the bike will tend to lift up more upon squeezing the front brakes.

:thumb: a better explaination than mine

Originally posted by milan@Dec 23 2006, 08:27 PM

bro how many plates u put? aiya kena fine then kena fine lor.. its all fated.. i m sure the beast sound nice on trapps.

6 plates only.... not too loud. :cheeky:

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg
Originally posted by alj@Dec 24 2006, 01:45 PM

Hi guys, we will be going for some time of rounding after our dinner and chit chat session at marina south.

But will eventually stop at some place (not decided yet) for the Christmas count down and maybe end at yishun dam before heading for home.

For those who are interested to join us for the rounding, please meet us at the Marina superbowl before 11pm. Thanks and Merry Christmas to everyone :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Merry Xmas Everybody! hope e rain can stop early,so dat u guys can go out soon...:cheer:

http://http//www.leblogmoto.com/images/yamaha_fjr_1300_7_2.jpg
Originally posted by Xniner@Dec 24 2006, 12:17 PM

lol, so fast u know liao. anyway dun "korkor" me leh

btw u know any good spray shops? need to spray the seater :sweat:

how much u buy

just finish wash bike..

then rain liao..

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

Rain Locations......

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/legend.gif

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg
Originally posted by eSPy`7@Dec 24 2006, 03:29 PM

There are three types of brake rotors: solid, semifloating, and full floating. With a solid rotor a single piece of metal is bolted to the wheel. With semifloating, you have a center piece and a separate outer part that the brake pads touch and the two are connected by a bunch of round "buttons" that allow a small amount of movement between the two. With full floating, the braking surface is relatively loose so that it can move around to hopefully become in perfect alignment with the pads. Full floating rotors are less likely to pulse than solid or semifloating rotors. Most race bikes have full floating rotors. Full floating rotors make noise at low speeds as the parts move around, since they're kind of loose. Semifloating rotors don't make the noise.

I looked through the web, there is nothing about how full floater can minimizing highside...Regarding bike will "lift up" more upon squeezing the front brake? How the bike

lift up??Wat i mean usually the bike will dive down....

We dont usually brake during corners unless trail braking which I dont think many of us can do it...Cos I tried is hard to control throttle and brake as the same time....

I read an article about racer using brake quick and hard because braking will increase timing, only acceleration will reduce it...

Is a good debate so we can learn from each other....No offence guys..

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Floating rotors are not "attached" to the rotor carrier. There are "half holes" in the rotor and in the carrier and there are rivets that keep the rotor positioned in the carrier. They have a slight amount of wiggle room. The REASON is so that when they get hot, they can expand without warping because nothing is NAILED down.

So if you are talking about weight and heat advantages I would agree but minimizing highside I still dont understand...

Originally posted by hachi@Dec 24 2006, 06:28 PM

There are three types of brake rotors: solid, semifloating, and full floating. With a solid rotor a single piece of metal is bolted to the wheel. With semifloating, you have a center piece and a separate outer part that the brake pads touch and the two are connected by a bunch of round "buttons" that allow a small amount of movement between the two. With full floating, the braking surface is relatively loose so that it can move around to hopefully become in perfect alignment with the pads. Full floating rotors are less likely to pulse than solid or semifloating rotors. Most race bikes have full floating rotors. Full floating rotors make noise at low speeds as the parts move around, since they're kind of loose. Semifloating rotors don't make the noise.

I looked through the web, there is nothing about how full floater can minimizing highside...Regarding bike will "lift up" more upon squeezing the front brake? How the bike

We dont usually brake during corners unless trail braking which I dont think many of us can do it...Cos I tried is hard to control throttle and brake as the same time....

I read an article about racer using brake quick and hard because braking will increase timing, only acceleration will reduce it...

Sorry, I am not the person who said floating rotors will minimise highside.

Try tapping the front brakes when you're leant over, the bike will lift up instead of holding the lean. With floating rotors; this effect is reduced.

I am only a newbie. :sorry:

But I know there are many who can trail brake.

Originally posted by hachi@Dec 24 2006, 05:28 PM

no the floating pins will not help to prevent highside..

highside is caused as per what espy previously quoted..

ur rear slides when ur tyres starts giving way or u open more throttle and powerslide..

unless u love to powerslide like capirossi, normal reaction would be to close throttle..

sudden grip to tarmac.. then u become like lizard on bike.. and thrown off..

floating pins

allow u to lean while still pulling in ur front brakes..

normal pins

engaging the front brakes in a corner, it will try to pull u back up to upright bike posture..

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

sianz... still raining...!!

2007 FEB -YZF R1 2004&WaVe S 125 wiT Audio SyS.---- YZF-R1 Puig Clear Windshield, HEL brake lines, GPR Twin Exhaust with Y-pipe, Bagster Tank Bra, ACumen Gear Indicator, Motivation Sliders-Balancers, Power Boosters, Harris Racing Footrest, Ohlin Damper and Corsa tyres

http://photos-754.friendster.com/e1/photos/45/71/3041754/1_204611127l.jpg