Which Bike Would You Buy?  

497 members have voted

1. 1. Which Bike Would You Buy?

• Replies 233

All the maintainence are the same...Nowdays the competitions are so close, you wouldnt feel any difference in the performance...Unless you are a champion racer, you wont use the bike to its fullest potential..So those HP bulls**t wont be relevant if you are a street rider or even if you do occational track days.... :goodluck: :goodluck:

Frankly, getting 600cc is a smart choice. Like what hafizdyfectra mentioned, you won't get to use the bike to its fullest potential unless you go onto a track with with long straights (like Sepang) or you frequent the NSH (and know the location of all the speed traps).

I've got litre-bike rider friends telling me that they can't even go to 5th gear often and if they open the throttle more in the lower gears and the front will lift off. "Very sian" "not shiok at all" are their common responses.

Not to mention, 600cc bikes drink less petrol and cost much less in insurance and road tax when compared to litre-bikes.

Personally I think GSXR600 and R6 come to a tie for track performance whereas CBR600RR has the looks and relative comfort. ZXR636 is touted as "good for track but not too friendly for road" by my friend who is riding one.

Performance factor: Juz look at the dynograph and decide for yourself.

Handling factor: Unless your are a hardcore racer will will be hard pressed to find a difference.

Ergonomics: Put it this way, after you been on the ZX6R the others all feel like sport tourers.

Maintenance factor: Other then the regular oil and filter change what other maintenance is there (All the bikes are fuel injected). Suzukis and Hondas seem to break down more often though

Looks factor: Honda - looks good but wats with the super 4 brake master pump

Suzuki - much better looking then the previous model but styling looks outdated compared to the rest, and I have to mention the ridiculous looking exhaust tip ( I'd rather they not slash cut it)

Yamaha - now thats a gorgeous bike...everything juz looks right.

Kawasaki - gorgeous bike oso

X - factor: Honda - underseat exhaust is cool

Suzuki - might be mistaken for 1000

Yamaha - headlights are the nuts and that SWINGARM

Kawasaki - induction roar that triggers car alarms

My opinion might be biased but to me the Kawasaki is the only choice, why ride something that everyone is riding when you can ride the meanest 600 around.

Sorry Guys THE ORIGINAL GOLD is no longer suitable for display

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

Lnad Tparrsont Ahitotury take that _|_

if u wan ur bike to give u comprehensive info , go for the cbr . the onli 600cc which has everything from clock , fuel gauge temp meter , etc

all bikes has clocks except r6 .

onli cbr600rr has not storage space .

in terms of high specs , go for the zx or suzuki .

fuel range wise , saw from magazines tat r6 is the most economical .

I would agree with all the above especially yammys threat. Nowadays the 600 and the 1000 bikes' technology is almost the same. If you really want to know the diff you got to ride all the bikes of the same class and feel the difference and of cos see and feel for yourself which bike is more for you. The only thing that singapore bike shop will not let you test ride the bike and let you feel which you like. The only thing is to trust your guts from mags and frens review whom they own the bike. As for maintenance wise, the harder you whack the higher the wear and tear and the more and faster you need to maintain your bike. The faster you want your bike to go the higher the fuel consumption the more relax on your bike the lesser the consumption. This applies to all bikes even when you ride hard on the RXZ the fuel consumption will also be high.

As for my personal prefrence i will go for kawa bikes if my budget permits me. I believe in every cents your pay is what you will get. Kawa bikes parts are indeed abit to the high side end of the day is the quality you get and the technology you get.

To end my long winded essay i wrote tonight I would say everyone got their own preference be it bike or gals/guys. So go for what you like and what you believe is good for ya. You only live once!!!!

I won't bet on the fuel consumption, r6/r1 more or less same, but power wise and 'any gear' drivability, can't beat the sheer torque of a litre bike that lets u chugg around in 6th all the time. Fren asked me "why I always see u changing gear? (riding a 600)" Ans: "If not cannot keep up with open class bike at 6th gear" Which is why many say litre bikes makes better street machines as it accomodates a lazy rider.

When getting a 600, bear in mind the bike begs to be revved, hard. Not just for the power to come, but also, for the anecdotal 'clear carbon'. Bike feels lousy after repeated city riding and loosens up noticably after every trip across the causeway. I guess the aggressive cam timing + high compression ratios, needed to produce that kind of peaky hp, makes them sh*t performers both power and economy wise when driven in city conditions and low rpms. It's addictively fun to rev the titties out of the motor, and it gets u into trouble easy with the law.

For an everyday bike, can't go wrong with the ergonomics of yamaha, which allows u to comfortably cruise one sec, and switch over to lacer mode the next.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Originally posted by Speedpass@Apr 19 2004, 07:03 PM

if u wan ur bike to give u comprehensive info , go for the cbr . the onli 600cc which has everything from clock , fuel gauge temp meter , etc

all bikes has clocks except r6 .

onli cbr600rr has not storage space .

in terms of high specs , go for the zx or suzuki .

fuel range wise , saw from magazines tat r6 is the most economical .

Hmm.. then how come my R6 has a digital clock on the speedo meter...

Buuuuuuuuuut, it all ends up to ur personal preference. If (example only hor) u like a honda, buy a honda and not a kawasaki. If u do buy a kawasaki, u may regret and would say, " sh*t! I should bought a honda instead." :sian:

If u ask me, since im a suzuki lover, BUY A SRAD K4!!!! :lovestruck:

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg
Guest OFFICIAL
Originally posted by Lmodel@Apr 20 2004, 12:18 PM

ZX636R has On board stop watch with lap counter. Adjustable Rev warning light setting and a everything in a view meter. what else you are asking for. If you are talking about handling i can say all bikes are the same it all lands you into which setting of the bike's suspendtion that counts. Nowadays almost all the bikes are so similar all thats is different is the engine and it's makes.

Originally posted by OFFICIAL@Apr 20 2004, 06:14 PM

ZX636R has On board stop watch with lap counter. Adjustable Rev warning light setting and a everything in a view meter. what else you are asking for. If you are talking about handling i can say all bikes are the same it all lands you into which setting of the bike's suspendtion that counts. Nowadays almost all the bikes are so similar all thats is different is the engine and it's makes.

I dun think all bikes are the same... irregardless of whether it is sitting position to handling to power or others, I can only say each bike got very different characteristics.

Originally posted by Lmodel@Apr 20 2004, 12:18 PM

onli applicable to the 03/04 model R6 . :smile:

I know these sportsbikes are not meant to be friendly to pillions, but if you had to choose one which your gf will complain less about (in terms of comfort), which bike would it be?

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Apr 19 2004, 10:44 PM

I won't bet on the fuel consumption, r6/r1 more or less same, but power wise and 'any gear' drivability, can't beat the sheer torque of a litre bike that lets u chugg around in 6th all the time. Fren asked me "why I always see u changing gear? (riding a 600)" Ans: "If not cannot keep up with open class bike at 6th gear" Which is why many say litre bikes makes better street machines as it accomodates a lazy rider.

When getting a 600, bear in mind the bike begs to be revved, hard. ...

It's addictively fun to rev the titties out of the motor, and it gets u into trouble easy with the law.

This is funny...I ride a litre bike and I think it is more fun to ride a 600! :smile:

I guess the grass is always greener on the other side. :smile:

I agree that on a litre bike, the torque is always there, so I hardly need to change gear and could leave it on 6 gear almost all the time. Precisely because of its huge power that makes the bike less fun to ride and less exciting. The bike's engine is so powerful and always so unstressed that it feels like it is going to yawn and fall asleep!

Very rarely can I make the big fella scream like motorgp or formula f1.

While u may wish that u had such big horsepower, if u really do have them, u r actually afraid to twist the throttle all the way. Scared get thrown off the bike.

If I do start all over, perhaps I will get a 600 instead :smile:

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Originally posted by endlessloop@Apr 21 2004, 09:44 PM

This is funny...I ride a litre bike and I think it is more fun to ride a 600! :smile:

I guess the grass is always greener on the other side. :smile:

I agree that on a litre bike, the torque is always there, so I hardly need to change gear and could leave it on 6 gear almost all the time. Precisely because of its huge power that makes the bike less fun to ride and less exciting. The bike's engine is so powerful and always so unstressed that it feels like it is going to yawn and fall asleep!

Very rarely can I make the big fella scream like motorgp or formula f1.

While u may wish that u had such big horsepower, if u really do have them, u r actually afraid to twist the throttle all the way. Scared get thrown off the bike.

If I do start all over, perhaps I will get a 600 instead :smile:

Lip Sing right? I know u envy my lil' 600 :cheeky: I totally agree on the fun factor and I'm not craving for anymore HP with the 600's supposedly cranking out ~100rwhp at full blast.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

Originally posted by TeePeePhobe@Apr 21 2004, 11:44 PM

Lip Sing right? I know u envy my lil' 600 :cheeky: I totally agree on the fun factor and I'm not craving for anymore HP with the 600's supposedly cranking out ~100rwhp at full blast.

Yap, it's me! :smile:

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Originally posted by sfowner@Apr 21 2004, 05:14 PM

I know these sportsbikes are not meant to be friendly to pillions, but if you had to choose one which your gf will complain less about (in terms of comfort), which bike would it be?

No advice, anyone?

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

Originally posted by sfowner@Apr 21 2004, 05:14 PM

Well, I believe in the 1st place all sportsbikes are not pillion-friendly due to its design & the posture that pillion has to lean abit to the front. But how often do u pillion? U buy a bike that u like, not bcoz whether the pillion will feel comfortable anot. Who knows ur gf might go for the outlook of the bike instead of comfort? But if really go for comfort, i tink a cruiser or a road bike would be a better choice. :smile: :smile:

Originally posted by Fata|@Apr 24 2004, 01:58 PM

Well, I believe in the 1st place all sportsbikes are not pillion-friendly due to its design & the posture that pillion has to lean abit to the front. But how often do u pillion? U buy a bike that u like, not bcoz whether the pillion will feel comfortable anot. Who knows ur gf might go for the outlook of the bike instead of comfort? But if really go for comfort, i tink a cruiser or a road bike would be a better choice. :smile: :smile:

I was afraid someone would say that. I pillion maybe 20% of the time, but think that I should still consider the comfort of my pillion. Much as I think the looks and performance are important, if it means suffering to sit on the back (as I see some sportbike pillions do), then you're prob right - no more CBR and R6, GSXR for me liao. :cry:

Originally posted by redname@Apr 25 2004, 07:45 PM

'04 GSXR 600 and CBR 600 :thumb:

heard GSXR 600 has veri gd braking system too

'04 GSXR 600 and CBR 600 :thumb:

but :thumb: bikes doesnt come cheap too.... :giddy:

What about 3yr old bikes???? Will there be a lot of wear and tear cost? What is the price range? New bikes are too ex. Any model to recommend and which to avoid.

Forever Friends

Sharktooth

"You only live life once. Don't make it too short."

Originally posted by Sharktooth@Apr 26 2004, 08:27 AM

What about 3yr old bikes???? Will there be a lot of wear and tear cost? What is the price range? New bikes are too ex. Any model to recommend and which to avoid.

i suggest the old cbr600f4i n the r6 , both should have 2nd hand .

most likely FT plates would be nice .

Originally posted by Sharktooth@Apr 26 2004, 08:27 AM

wear & tear actually depends on how the previous owner ride his bike. who knows if u r lucky, u might get a gd bike. Personally feel that for 2nd hand 600cc bikes, 2nd hand bikes doesnt come cheap too. accumulate up also not much different from 1st hand bikes. :smile: