Hope no offence to any1 here, just a review and personal opinion from a writer comparing FJR and K12 which I find it very interesting and wonder does his opinion can be applied here :

Why You Might Want a K12 Instead

I think the K12 is a great bike, and in comparing them, here are the things I'd put at the top of the list to sway me toward the BMW:

First, you get to take a test ride. That's cool.

Second, there's a BMW dealer network out there with generally good knowledge and support.

Third, the integrated cruise control is just great. There are after market solutions for the FJR, by the way, but I suspect they are not the same.

Fourth, the K12 is a proven performer. There are no surprises.

Fifth, the build quality on the BMW is probably a tad higher, though the FJR is no slouch.

Thanks for your time telling us about your impressions, David. I saw an FJR parked outside at my local espresso shop just a few weeks ago and had a chance to talk to the new owner. He had just bought it that week and had less than a thousand miles on it. It looked very nice from an ergo and layout perspective. Awwww, who'm I trying to fool here.

She looked hot. I wanted her right there.

When I got home, I felt a little guilty as I entered my garage and cast a loving eye on my sweet ole RT, plugged into the maintenance charger, waiting for her next ride. When I left the dealership with her four years ago, I swore to love, honor, and cherish her, until one of us could no longer ride. That's still the plan, but if she is ever stolen, or her tranny grenades, or hmmmnnnn . . .

Well, if I was to replace my RT today, It would be with an FJR. No question. I want to have that motor.

The dealer network issue is a non-issue to me. I no longer let dealers do any work on my RT, and my Honda has never seen the inside of a dealer since the day I laid eyes on her, and probably never will. It's not a money thing, or even a service quality thing, although both are involved. It's just the combination of everything required to be sure that my rides run better than new. I need to be sure of it by doing it myself.

FWIW, my local Honda dealership (who seem like reasonably good guys) is also my local Yamaha dealer, and I've never seen an FJR on the floor or an ST1300 for that matter.

All I can say is that it's a good thing that I'm saving money to put my sons through college, and spending all the rest on my house. If not, that FJR might be a bit too tempting.

Three days from now, my RT and I will be on our way to Torrey! As Russell says: "Woo Hoo"!

FJR REVIEW ON A BMW FORUM

Quite an interesting forum, read it if you have time.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by PL@Jun 13 2005, 11:35 AM

Hiyee fellas. I'm back from Lumut. Not anywhere near as fun as the Trans-MY, but still, quite a ride. It was a torture to ride on NS-highway with the sun shining directly on you though. But for the sake of charity (and the excuse to ride..somewhere. hehehe), it was worth it. Took some photos. Waiting for more photos from another rider, gng to collate them, post them, then share it out with you guys yeah. There're more M'sian BMW bikers than us. And they have more variety of models than us. I saw a GT, K1, The Scarver, some other models I don't recognize, and and and ... a Boxer Cup replica!!! One of only two in Malaysia, none in SG. Stay tuned for photos....

hey yesterday when i go tru 2nd link ard 4pm... saw some group of BMW bikes tru the casueway...

saw a RT looking at mi... issit you??

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jun 13 2005, 05:23 PM

hey yesterday when i go tru 2nd link ard 4pm... saw some group of BMW bikes tru the casueway...

saw a RT looking at mi... issit you??

Nope. I got separated from the rest at KL - went to meet my wife for lunch before continuing my journey back to SG on my own. I didn't take the Causeway. Must've been one of the rest :smile:

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

causeway = 2nd link bridge...

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jun 13 2005, 08:22 PM

causeway = 2nd link bridge...

no. causeway is the one where you have to go thru JB town.

2nd link is the one at Tuas.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by SDR@Jun 13 2005, 09:52 AM

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-13370.jpg

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/bowdown.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/bowdown.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/bowdown.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

ROYAL ENFIELD coming to spore. :cheer:

UNIVERSAL MOTOR PTE LTD

Hope they can make it, this is a super bullet proof bike from UK.

http://www.umpl.com.sg/ref/ref.jpg

:lovestruck: love this the most.

http://auction-air.com/auction_2003_aug/images/royal_enfield_350T2_w400.jpg

http://www.vintagebike.co.uk/Bike%20Directories/Royal%20Enfield%20Bikes/images/Royal%20Enfield%20Indian.jpg

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

How do you like this?

Spotted during one of our fuel-stop in MY.

http://predator.bikepics.com/pics/honda-c70-80-bikepics-373572.jpg

http://predator.bikepics.com/pics/honda-c70-80-bikepics-373573.jpg

Royal Enfield are the GOD in India.

Please check with your distributor will they bring in the Diesel version.

Petrol version not selling well in India but Diesel version is the top selling and more expensive.

A car is a transport, a motorcycle is fun, but a scooter is the Romance Holidays on Wheels. ~Davis, 1997~

Originally posted by DAViS@Jun 14 2005, 12:44 PM

Royal Enfield are the GOD in India.

Please check with your distributor will they bring in the Diesel version.

Petrol version not selling well in India but Diesel version is the top selling and more expensive.

Royal Enfield from India? I don't know. Diesel engine in Spore, ask LTA if they will approve it. I don't think so.

Originally posted by PL@Jun 14 2005, 10:53 AM

How do you like this?

Spotted during one of our fuel-stop in MY.

this is the classic kup kia, the owner is really very careful. I am still doing up the SDR. You should consider to do up your yamaha dirtbike in malaysia, it's a classic, don't waste.

last sunday went to kukup with GSGABES and the gang, on our way, there are many kampong houses, saw 1 very beautiful Black Mini Mark I or II inside one of the kampong houses. Very well taken care.

Gabes, lookit, ze bumble bee paint scheme! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/naughty.gif

http://afekete.smugmug.com/photos/24877758-M.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 14 2005, 01:36 PM

this is the classic kup kia, the owner is really very careful. I am still doing up the SDR. You should consider to do up your yamaha dirtbike in malaysia, it's a classic, don't waste.

last sunday went to kukup with GSGABES and the gang, on our way, there are many kampong houses, saw 1 very beautiful Black Mini Mark I or II inside one of the kampong houses. Very well taken care.

Got meh?? Why never comms me??? then we can stop to take a look. :cry:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jun 14 2005, 01:51 PM

Gabes, lookit, ze bumble bee paint scheme! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/naughty.gif

http://afekete.smugmug.com/photos/24877758-M.jpg

Wow.... looks good. But I still prefer the Alpine Blue / Silver!! :cry: :cry:

I think I will get my priorities right first.... to get the internals tip-top, spending too much $ already.

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Yo SDR, sofa for your tender bum!!!

http://www.day-long.com/newImages_10_25_04/BMW_R80GS.jpg

http://www.day-long.com/newImages_10_25_04/BMW_R80GS_2.jpg

Also check out his panniers http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/icon10.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jun 14 2005, 01:54 PM

Got meh?? Why never comms me??? then we can stop to take a look. :cry:

aiyo, you only interested if there is any mei mei wearing sarong lah, comm you also no use.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jun 14 2005, 02:02 PM

Yo SDR, sofa for your tender bum!!!

Also check out his panniers

http://www.alaskaleather.com/images/bike%20photos/Goldwing.jpg

Won't consider others than above. Looks more comfortable than my director's chair.

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jun 14 2005, 01:56 PM

Wow.... looks good. But I still prefer the Alpine Blue / Silver!! :cry: :cry:

I think I will get my priorities right first.... to get the internals tip-top, spending too much $ already.

2nd you, since you have a tankbra that covers up whatever spray or pattern underneath. don't bother to spend $ on cosmetic lah. unless you intend to ride "braless". hehehe.

http://users.snowcrest.net/ctc/fantasy/unicorns/unicorn-topless_nite_ride.jpg

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 14 2005, 02:57 PM

aiyo, you only interested if there is any mei mei wearing sarong lah, comm you also no use.

:faint: Am i that jia lat? :cheeky:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jun 14 2005, 04:22 PM

:faint: Am i that jia lat? :cheeky:

yes

Originally posted by PL@Jun 14 2005, 04:48 PM

yes

Gone case http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/cover.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jun 14 2005, 04:53 PM

Gone case http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/cover.gif

Well, he's the only one among us not married/attached (or am i wrong??), so it's normal to behave so "jia-lat"-ly

Originally posted by PL@Jun 14 2005, 05:13 PM

Well, he's the only one among us not married/attached (or am i wrong??), so it's normal to behave so "jia-lat"-ly

probably so, bio clock must be ticking.

Wait a minute, we don't see Koma behaving strangely, do we?!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/peepwall.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jun 14 2005, 05:20 PM

probably so, bio clock must be ticking.

Wait a minute, we don't see Koma behaving strangely, do we?!! http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/peepwall.gif

Koma married lar

Originally posted by PL@Jun 14 2005, 05:23 PM

Koma married lar

Yah hor.... doh! http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/homer.gif

The years thunder by.