BMW Motorcycles

Drawmer

Originally posted by PL@Jun 8 2005, 02:20 PM

I changed my RT's headlight bulb to PIAA H-4 55W Platinum Super White Halogen Bulb recently. I hope you are not referring to HID instead. For me, the PIAA bulb is brighter than my original bulb. When it's pitch dark (like on NS-highway), you can see the difference.

Legal Issue? No issue. I just passed my inspection last week.

But if you are talking abt HID, then I have no comments coz I got no experience.

Ever tried BOSCH white base bulb, blew after less than 3months usage, tried another - blue, can't remember the brand, seem like from Japan, also blew after a short usuage, no choice, stick to the dim yellowish original bulb and the bulb is on the bike since the day I took over, got another Geniue bulb (still sealed up for emergency use during tour, no chance to replace till now, wonder if it works).

Heard - heard - heard, some1 uses the white bulb (brand unknown) and blew up the whole wiring. Wonder if it is true? :confused:

Hmmm, you might suggest I might hv touches the bulb with bare hand tt cos the reduced lifespan, no, I uses thick cotton glove when changing bulb.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 04:58 PM

Hmmm, you might suggest I might hv touches the bulb with bare hand tt cos the reduced lifespan, no, I uses thick cotton glove when changing bulb.

Oh sh*t...I used bare hand.....

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

Guest koma
Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 12:39 PM

Spy news : More people are spraying their bike to yellow as 1 member in SBF forum had proven that Yellow bike can perform better, faster and kup corners lower than bike with any colour. But many didn't know that bike without PIAA lights won't work.

hhahaha~~!! gd 1 sdr :thumb: yah me eyeing those piaa lights too~~cyclop that time u got for how much??

Guest koma
Originally posted by PL@Jun 8 2005, 05:06 PM

Oh sh*t...I used bare hand.....

nber touch the glass part of the bulb when changing ur fingerprints will leave some oil on it causing the bulb to heat up excessively n reduce the lifespan of the bulb

Originally posted by PL@Jun 8 2005, 05:44 PM

but i was careful not to touch the glass though, only the base...

Think base okay lah, never touch the glass, even house "spot" light, unless yr MRS Baja lights. That 1, don't use glove, must be bare hands. hehehe.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

Originally posted by koma@Jun 8 2005, 05:13 PM

hhahaha~~!! gd 1 sdr :thumb: yah me eyeing those piaa lights too~~cyclop that time u got for how much??

so u r re-spraying to yellow? hmmm, yrs not nice with yellow, just make sure yr green GS with PIAA lights is even better than yellow, then more people will start to spray to green colour. :cheeky:

Alamak, war coming,

Yoda (Green) http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/itschy.gif Big Bird (Yellow)

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 06:24 PM

Think base okay lah, never touch the glass, even house "spot" light, unless yr MRS Baja lights. That 1, don't use glove, must be bare hands. hehehe.

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/nono.gif http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/peach.gif

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

Originally posted by PL@Jun 8 2005, 04:12 PM

Takes abt 3-4 weeks.

From the manual, as long as I use any bulb that has these wattage, I'm fine:

Input = 55W

Output=110W

The PIAA bulbs that I ordered matches this. So, shouldn't have any problem.

I also confirmed it with the parts manager at Sierra before ordering.

I dunno abt yours, u got to check ur manual for ur bike.

hehe bro i mean the output is 110w....will the heat b a prob??

anyway did the bulb come in pair right??

hmm like tat i will have spare la.....cause mine is H1 n H7 each side.....:cry: :cry:

mid96-end'96 RD350

end'96-1999 CBR hurricane

1999-2000 S4 vtec

2000-2002 R1

2002-2005 XRV750

2005-;) bm Rseries

Originally posted by GSJohn@Jun 8 2005, 12:36 PM

Hi AfricanTwin75

Can go to Stamford Motor at AMK Autopoint 5/F, look for the boss Ah Fook.

He repairs many BMW bikes :)

John

keep an open mind, look around first and find out more before u decide:smile:

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 12:25 PM

Is that the Virgin motorcycle taxi service in UK?

Nope, they use FJRs.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 12:39 PM

...... But many didn't know that bike without PIAA lights won't work.

Baby you can light my Fire........light my Fire, light my Fire...http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gif http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/lol8.gif

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 12:47 PM

Funny, I think it looks great for 2 tones white/red. Old liao, getting more and more biang. Have been buying bright colours Ts recently and wife said it's a sign of old age.

Or Mid Life crisis http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/gerg.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by GSGabes@Jun 8 2005, 02:29 PM

How much did u buy the PIAA Bulbs? hehehe... dunno whether I am wrong... White light brighter than conventional lights? :confused:

Yellow tint gives better contrast and penetration, making them good as driving lights.

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by koma@Jun 8 2005, 05:13 PM

Got mine at USD245. But these guys are offering it cheaper:

http://www.autobarn.net/xxx52series.html

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 8 2005, 06:29 PM

so u r re-spraying to yellow? hmmm, yrs not nice with yellow, just make sure yr green GS with PIAA lights is even better than yellow, then more people will start to spray to green colour. :cheeky:

Alamak, war coming,

Yoda (Green) http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/itschy.gif Big Bird (Yellow)

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/sid.gif "There's always a bigger fish." —Qui-Gon Jinn on the Gungan Bongo Sub when they are attacked by sea monsters

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/sid.gif Yoda: "Always two there are, no more, no less: a master and an apprentice."

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/sid.gif Mace Windu: "But which was destroyed? The master or the apprentice?"

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/sid.gif "War does not make one great." —Yoda

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/sid.gif "You’re going to find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view." —Obi-Wan Kenobi

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Jun 6 2005, 02:26 PM

Now I am quite sure I can use car synthetic oil on my bike, but now the question is: can I use the Syn oil from Carrefour? I am still not able to find out where the hell they brought in the oil.

Have stopped using for the last few years as bike wasn't ridden hard enough, oil change at interval of 3months and usually less than 1k km. Felt quite a waste of $. If you are switching, pls read following :

The Auto Industry's Best Kept Secret

The oil I am going to use may not be the best but it is one of the oil I have been using with trust for a long time, following is a chart for your reference :

Four Ball Wear Scar Testing

The Smaller the Wear Scar, The Better the Protection!

http://www.guarding-our-earth.com/amsoil/images/0w30-wearscar.gif

hi, if anyone of you are interested in AMSOIL, i can introduced my friend to you and the rest is between the you and him. i'm not sure he brings in 0/30W or not thought, but 10/40W he does have.

xr 250 ...

cbr 919 ...

super 4 - project big 1 ...

vtr - sp1 ...

fjr ...

stx ...

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Jun 8 2005, 09:57 PM

Yellow tint gives better contrast and penetration, making them good as driving lights.

U confirmed it!! :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by africatwin75@Jun 8 2005, 10:35 PM

hi bro PL

so is ur piaa shows white as wat its claim...??

Yeah, it is whiter than my original yellow bulb.

But not as white and bright as those Lexus or BMW cars HID lamps though.

Originally posted by PL@Jun 9 2005, 10:35 AM

Yeah, it is whiter than my original yellow bulb.

But not as white and bright as those Lexus or BMW cars HID lamps though.

hmmm, saw Mustafa selling a pair of blue / white HID light for $13+, any difference?

Articles on lights that mentioned yellow vs white lights:

motorcycleinfo.calsci.com - Motorcycle Driving and Fog Lights

vclassics.com - All About Fog Lights

Based on article, the whiteness is produced by combining blue and yellow light, no wonder I can see a slight bluish light. Looks like mine is a 'fake' white bulb.

"Red, orange, and yellow light penetrates fog far better than blue light."

"Orange or yellow wide-dispersion fog lamps can dramatically increase your range of vision in fog"

"White lights augment your headlights, giving you extra illumination that adds to your safety margin in very dark places. "

So, yellow - see further, white - see more.