Originally posted by cyclop@Jan 24 2005, 11:09 AM

Hey Koma, I've heard of this Yellow 1150GS that is being out up for sale. Low milage, fully accessorised with Ohlins, Staintune, Cobin etc...... Owner initially asking for 27 but was told to be more realistic. Now he's willing to negotiate. Usually when a bike is offered for sale, what other aftermarket parts, the original owners' insurance and road tax should not be featured into the pricing, only the bike price is being considered. I can help you link up with the guy if you wanna have a look see. :thumb:

Hey Cyclops, is the Yellow GS1150 from one of the guys from Easyrider ?

If yes, that bike quite a gd deal cos got lots of accessories. Particularly I like his lowered exhaust cos he put in two full size panniers n eliminates the need for top box (depending on your luggage ) :smile:

For those who were with me last Fri, well u all know what happened. Our Bah Kut Teh trip got canceled half-way due to my bike acting-up. Coming to the first traffic light at Tmn Perling after exiting 2nd link highway, I lost my front brake. Luckily, I wasn't speeding. More luckily, my rear brake still worked. Thanks to SDR n wife, GSxxer for accompanying me and my Mrs while we waited for the tow truck. Thank you all for keeping the mood light, provide jokes for laughter for an otherwise shitty day. Oh, and the large Amy Yip 'pau' helped too.

Well, at least we know the BMW Rescue hotline works. Funny how we were just discussing abt it the night b4, during our first gathering. Didn't expect will be needing it so....... bloody SOON. Tow Truck from JB came in abt an hour. Transported the bike to the middle of the Causeway to be transferred to another tow truck from SG side. The bike was then transported back to PML workshop. All in, the whole operation took about 3 hours. You guys should see the ppl looking at us transferring the bike from one truck to another. Feels kinda hillarious. Tow truck driver was nice enough to send us back home afterwards. While at home, received call from the BMW Rescue hotline, telling me my Bertha has reached the workshop safely, and they will look into it the next day, Sat, and that somebody from the workshop will call me. No, I'm not getting charged for the tow truck. Confirmed that with Jolyn, the girl from BMW Rescue hotline who picked up my call.

The next day, met up with some friends, played badminton, went out for breakfast together, but no calls even though it's already 2pm. Called the hotline again to enquire. Call center said they have no idea why I have not received a call. Agreed to my request that they leave a message to the workshop ppl to call me back on Mon. I wait.....

Mon morning...this morning, our dear Kriss called, and asked me what happened. I told him abt my brake, and he said he will have a look and get back to me. Now, I know you guys have been demanding for blood (LOL!). But, in this case, I chickened out. Decided to go for the 'diplomatic' way. Mainly because I'm at a disadvantage due to my lack of knowledge, so I don't want any outburst to backfire on me and suffer embarrassment. I mean, want to scold or be nasty, must do homework first beforehand mah. But for me, I dont even know what bullet to use. haha

Anyway, he called back to tell me my brake hose burst. His explanation, after repairing my brake master pump and changing my brake fluid, must be my old brake hose cannot take the pressure and burst. Not been changed since day 1, wear and tear, that's the cause. Ok, I asked him how come you recommended me to change my clutch cable and my throttle cable, but not my brake hose? Clutch cable, I was the one who asked him to check the last time it was changed. And since it was 10,000km ago, I asked him to change. Throttle cable, he was the one who saw the wear and tear, so recommended me to change. I agreed. But the brake hose, it looks fine when they were working on the brake master pump. He said he didn't want to give me the impression that he's getting me to spend money changing every single things he can think of. He claimed that he has customer whose brake hose has not been changed until 120,000km (or is it 150,000km? cant rem) later. For mine, it was fine when the mechs test rode Bertha after working on it. It was fine when he himself test rode it. He said he even 'work' the ABS hard during the test ride. And it was fine when I went to pick up the bike on Wed, rode to work on Thursday, rode it back home, and then went all the way to Changi Village to meet up you guys and back. So, since it really seems like something unforeseen, I let the matter rest. Asked him to get the brake hose changed. Just one glitch, they have no more parts. They ran out of it last week, changed for one other bike. But Kriss said he already placed an urgent order this morning when he saw what happened. The parts should arrive tomorrow afternoon. I asked him for a favour, to check whatever they serviced or touched on last week. After something like this happens, it's unnerving. He started talking about the risk of getting a 2nd-hand bike. He can only do preventive maintenance, not eliminate problems entirely, he cannot guarantee. I said I'm not pinning any responsibilities on him. Don't talk about those parts that they did not touch or dismantle. I don't expect him to take out my engine and make sure every single parts are in tip-top conditions. I said that if there's a 90% chance of something happening, then hopefully he can help me reduce it to 80%. I don't expect him to eliminate everything down to 0%. Then he started telling me again about their test rides after all servicing. He said he can make all the recommendation, but ultimately it's up to the owners to decide whether to replace, or repair, or leave it. I said I'm making it known to him I'm a beginner when it comes to BMW bikes, so appreciate a little of his help here. After a couple more talks that ding-dong between me being a beginner needing his help and them doing test rides after any work on our bikes, he finally said he will walk thru with me personally on what they do when i come to pick up my bike. He will explain to me why certain parts they can't just open them up to check (engine being one of them) when i send in my bike for servicing. He will walk thru with me on what to look out for. I said, ok fair enough. So, will wait for him to update me.

Then I recall him telling me brake fluid is very corrosive when exposed to the air, so asked him to do something about my engine, shock absorber, undercarriage and my mud guard that got splattered all over. He said he already have them cleaned up.

So, with that, we ended our conversation.

I'm without Bertha for a few days ... again....sigh.....

Somebody mentioned that in the beginning, there will always be some teething problem when buying a used-bike. So I guess this is normal. SDR's wife said it could've been worse, stranded somewhere further, or some place I don't even know the name. How true. And plus, I'm not alone this time. Imagine being alone, on a dark and eerie night, at some remote area. Well, I wanted adventure, I got what I asked for. hahahaha

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by ashenZ+Jan 21 2005, 08:55 AM-->
QUOTE (ashenZ @ Jan 21 2005, 08:55 AM)
Aiyahh.. sorry guyzz.....

cun join u all..... tiz morning wake up den see the threaD... i wan BAK KUH TEH~!~!~

2nd link there got bak kuh teh mehh?? where where???? alamak.....

nxt time meet up with ya guyz den..... :weep: [/b]

Not at 2nd link lah. It's somewhere at Taman Sentosa. But we chose to travel by 2nd link, even though it's so far away. It's just us finding another excuse to ride our bikes :cheeky:

Originally posted by GS1200@Jan 21 2005, 06:37 PM

Hey Pinglong, r u aware that u should never use high pressure jet to wash Bertha. If not, pls take note that the high pressure jet can damage the hall sensor n oso the electronic stuff of your dash board  :giddy: When washing, just sponge it n rinse with water. Yes, the hall sensor problem is indeed a headache. Its is normally caused by the wire harness breaking up after the years n water shorting it. So, to be safe, change it every 2 yrs. The other thing is abt the price of BMW spare parts.... it normally appreciates. So, better to buy the spare sensor....if.....u r keeping the bike. Cost abt $400 now. Bought mine 1 yr ago at $370.

Yeap, I'm aware abt all that. Got plenty of advice from here already :smile:

Thanks to all you wonderful ppl here.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by cyclop@Jan 24 2005, 11:09 AM

Hey Koma, I've heard of this Yellow 1150GS that is being out up for sale. Low milage, fully accessorised with Ohlins, Staintune, Cobin etc...... Owner initially asking for 27 but was told to be more realistic. Now he's willing to negotiate. Usually when a bike is offered for sale, what other aftermarket parts, the original owners' insurance and road tax should not be featured into the pricing, only the bike price is being considered. I can help you link up with the guy if you wanna have a look see. :thumb:

hi cyclop how much is the owner willin 2 let go now?? any details bout the bike like yr of reg,accessores,parts replaced etc. thanks ;) personnally i find 15k for a 4yr old gs1100 quite ok cause i tested the bike myself n of course comes with the no plate. juz checked the export price with my mech, he say round 10-11k so wun lose much if i sell within 2 yrs

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 24 2005, 02:32 AM

koma, r u sure u wanna to keep this last batch of GS? u may not be able to sell it after 2yrs or bike may just cost a mere $7k or less with all the new models rolling out fm BM and it's really pain to keep old bikes.

but if u r ready for above, then I believe you should also set aside at least 5k for hipups. if no hipups, then it's saving for old age (you or your bike).hehehe.

i don't hv 1 and hv no experience with 4vv, I can't really advise on repair or tech things, all i can say is, if u hv set ur mind, then u should go for it. get 1 with the best outlook and performance, think 15k+ a bit high, some1 got his GS1150 for 19k so should neg further.

as for e 4vv engine, think not to worry, saw on a magazine many years ago, BMW tested this engine for dont know how many hours, can't recall, wonder if it was 30,000 or 300,000hrs, exhaust turned white (red 1st then white), but engine still works. Gearbox, hv not heard of any1 changing it (esp the 4vv), infact, according to PML, I was the only 1 changed the gearbox in singapore, another guy owning the 2vv engine GSPD also set another record, he changed his engine - was told $6k - don't know if this price in/excludes workmanship (guess the rest of the 2vv owners prefer scrap to repair).

as long it is not the very 1st batch, think should be ok, an Australian bike magazine reported the left side joint holding the engine near the rider footpeg cracked, engine oil always leak due to overheat, BMW improved both on their later batch. all my magazines are in my mum's place, wonder if they're still there, if they are, next time, i will bring it out to show u (she accidentally throw away my file containing all PML invoices, 1 spare key and 3 pannier locks).

ok thanks sdr will get the mags next time frm u on the next outing

Originally posted by GS1200@Jan 24 2005, 02:29 PM

hey koma, If I m not wrong, the bike tat u r looking at is a red GS with the no. plate FK*C. This bike is the first batch of the GS11 tat came in n featured no ABS n a plastic tank. Wat I know is the current owner replaced the whole shaft piece not long after he got it cos it gave up. Abt the convoy, is it the one done on 21 Jan 04 for a couple riding the GS1150 ? If yes, i was there too :smile:

Well, if u r willing to set a aside a couple Gs to tahan any breakdowns, i would say, go with your heart babe :smile: Price wise is quite rock bottom oredi :cheeky:

yah tat was my fren, he also sort of emotionally attached to the bike so bo bian hv 2 find my own beemer again...hai~~~ btw u tink worth the 15k for the bike?? cause still 6yrs coe left

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 24 2005, 02:32 AM

koma, r u sure u wanna to keep this last batch of GS? u may not be able to sell it after 2yrs or bike may just cost a mere $7k or less with all the new models rolling out fm BM and it's really pain to keep old bikes.

but if u r ready for above, then I believe you should also set aside at least 5k for hipups. if no hipups, then it's saving for old age (you or your bike).hehehe.

i don't hv 1 and hv no experience with 4vv, I can't really advise on repair or tech things, all i can say is, if u hv set ur mind, then u should go for it. get 1 with the best outlook and performance, think 15k+ a bit high, some1 got his GS1150 for 19k so should neg further.

as for e 4vv engine, think not to worry, saw on a magazine many years ago, BMW tested this engine for dont know how many hours, can't recall, wonder if it was 30,000 or 300,000hrs, exhaust turned white (red 1st then white), but engine still works. Gearbox, hv not heard of any1 changing it (esp the 4vv), infact, according to PML, I was the only 1 changed the gearbox in singapore, another guy owning the 2vv engine GSPD also set another record, he changed his engine - was told $6k - don't know if this price in/excludes workmanship (guess the rest of the 2vv owners prefer scrap to repair).

as long it is not the very 1st batch, think should be ok, an Australian bike magazine reported the left side joint holding the engine near the rider footpeg cracked, engine oil always leak due to overheat, BMW improved both on their later batch. all my magazines are in my mum's place, wonder if they're still there, if they are, next time, i will bring it out to show u (she accidentally throw away my file containing all PML invoices, 1 spare key and 3 pannier locks).

koma....

i tink SDR has a point there... tink u shud consider his advice......... lao jiao ehh... all the experiences learned not for nuthing... :thumb:

no rush to get into buying the R1100GS... juz look around... u nvr know there r better offerzzz.... BEst u get SDR help u test ride/check out the bike lahh~~

sure win~ :lol:

2 cents worth~

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 24 2005, 03:28 PM

For those who were with me last Fri, well u all know what happened. Our Bah Kut Teh trip got canceled half-way due to my bike acting-up. Coming to the first traffic light at Tmn Perling after exiting 2nd link highway, I lost my front brake. Luckily, I wasn't speeding. More luckily, my rear brake still worked. Thanks to SDR n wife, GSxxer for accompanying me and my Mrs while we waited for the tow truck. Thank you all for keeping the mood light, provide jokes for laughter for an otherwise shitty day. Oh, and the large Amy Yip 'pau' helped too.

Well, at least we know the BMW Rescue hotline works. Funny how we were just discussing abt it the night b4, during our first gathering. Didn't expect will be needing it so....... bloody SOON. Tow Truck from JB came in abt an hour. Transported the bike to the middle of the Causeway to be transferred to another tow truck from SG side. The bike was then transported back to PML workshop. All in, the whole operation took about 3 hours. You guys should see the ppl looking at us transferring the bike from one truck to another. Feels kinda hillarious. Tow truck driver was nice enough to send us back home afterwards. While at home, received call from the BMW Rescue hotline, telling me my Bertha has reached the workshop safely, and they will look into it the next day, Sat, and that somebody from the workshop will call me. No, I'm not getting charged for the tow truck. Confirmed that with Jolyn, the girl from BMW Rescue hotline who picked up my call.

The next day, met up with some friends, played badminton, went out for breakfast together, but no calls even though it's already 2pm. Called the hotline again to enquire. Call center said they have no idea why I have not received a call. Agreed to my request that they leave a message to the workshop ppl to call me back on Mon. I wait.....

Mon morning...this morning, our dear Kriss called, and asked me what happened. I told him abt my brake, and he said he will have a look and get back to me. Now, I know you guys have been demanding for blood (LOL!). But, in this case, I chickened out. Decided to go for the 'diplomatic' way. Mainly because I'm at a disadvantage due to my lack of knowledge, so I don't want any outburst to backfire on me and suffer embarrassment. I mean, want to scold or be nasty, must do homework first beforehand mah. But for me, I dont even know what bullet to use. haha

Anyway, he called back to tell me my brake hose burst. His explanation, after repairing my brake master pump and changing my brake fluid, must be my old brake hose cannot take the pressure and burst. Not been changed since day 1, wear and tear, that's the cause. Ok, I asked him how come you recommended me to change my clutch cable and my throttle cable, but not my brake hose? Clutch cable, I was the one who asked him to check the last time it was changed. And since it was 10,000km ago, I asked him to change. Throttle cable, he was the one who saw the wear and tear, so recommended me to change. I agreed. But the brake hose, it looks fine when they were working on the brake master pump. He said he didn't want to give me the impression that he's getting me to spend money changing every single things he can think of. He claimed that he has customer whose brake hose has not been changed until 120,000km (or is it 150,000km? cant rem) later. For mine, it was fine when the mechs test rode Bertha after working on it. It was fine when he himself test rode it. He said he even 'work' the ABS hard during the test ride. And it was fine when I went to pick up the bike on Wed, rode to work on Thursday, rode it back home, and then went all the way to Changi Village to meet up you guys and back. So, since it really seems like something unforeseen, I let the matter rest. Asked him to get the brake hose changed. Just one glitch, they have no more parts. They ran out of it last week, changed for one other bike. But Kriss said he already placed an urgent order this morning when he saw what happened. The parts should arrive tomorrow afternoon. I asked him for a favour, to check whatever they serviced or touched on last week. After something like this happens, it's unnerving. He started talking about the risk of getting a 2nd-hand bike. He can only do preventive maintenance, not eliminate problems entirely, he cannot guarantee. I said I'm not pinning any responsibilities on him. Don't talk about those parts that they did not touch or dismantle. I don't expect him to take out my engine and make sure every single parts are in tip-top conditions. I said that if there's a 90% chance of something happening, then hopefully he can help me reduce it to 80%. I don't expect him to eliminate everything down to 0%. Then he started telling me again about their test rides after all servicing. He said he can make all the recommendation, but ultimately it's up to the owners to decide whether to replace, or repair, or leave it. I said I'm making it known to him I'm a beginner when it comes to BMW bikes, so appreciate a little of his help here. After a couple more talks that ding-dong between me being a beginner needing his help and them doing test rides after any work on our bikes, he finally said he will walk thru with me personally on what they do when i come to pick up my bike. He will explain to me why certain parts they can't just open them up to check (engine being one of them) when i send in my bike for servicing. He will walk thru with me on what to look out for. I said, ok fair enough. So, will wait for him to update me.

Then I recall him telling me brake fluid is very corrosive when exposed to the air, so asked him to do something about my engine, shock absorber, undercarriage and my mud guard that got splattered all over. He said he already have them cleaned up.

So, with that, we ended our conversation.

I'm without Bertha for a few days ... again....sigh.....

Somebody mentioned that in the beginning, there will always be some teething problem when buying a used-bike. So I guess this is normal. SDR's wife said it could've been worse, stranded somewhere further, or some place I don't even know the name. How true. And plus, I'm not alone this time. Imagine being alone, on a dark and eerie night, at some remote area. Well, I wanted adventure, I got what I asked for. hahahaha

hey bro... u r realli heng ehh~~ muz thanx ur lucky stars...... Just imagine.... if this happenz during one of ur solo trips up KL????? :giddy:

dats y dun try to go on trips alone unless necessary....... but u realli heng heng arr... hhhehee.. tink the Beemer starting to live up to itz reputation : Bring More Worries... :cheeky:

Hope u get back ur Bertha soon...... Cun wait to join ya guyz for the nxt Kopi Session~ :bouncefire:

Anyway.. juz wana share my experience of buying an old 2nd hand bike....

My ST1100 is around 6yrs old... with about 105K km mileage on it when i buy over.... the exterior was in good condition... but what worries mi is the engine interior n all the stuff.....

At the initial month of getting my ST11... i olready spend $1K++.... servicing... changing... all the wear n tear parts like coolant pump, thermostat... timing belt... all the bearings... brake pads... all the oils and all the cables n hoses...

Recently... spend another $1K hanging the tyres (rear tyre harden) and rear suspension (wear n tear.. suspension koyak liao)...

I spend so much servicing my bike till i lost count how much.... shud be around $2-3K after riding for 8mths....

Dats the headache of getting an old bike... (Koma hope u are reading this too) but muz tink mine's a Jap bike... wot would it cost u... if itz ya BMW????? :confused:

Even till now... everytime before i go for trips... i would get a mechanic to look at my bike abit... den i check tru myself juz in case anything happenz.... Even when im on the trip.. i always have tiz fear of it breaking down half way.... only when i return... i would thank my trusty STallion for bringing me back in one piece~ :thumb:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

ashenz dun worry i test rode the bike engine is in veri gd condtion,got full service record frm the owner the bike is veri well taken care of exceot exterior abit dirty(the wat the gs was meant 2 look like :p) i not worried of the drop in value cause i knoe the export value of the bike n somemore can sell the number plate n i am lookin for a gd condition gs1100 instead of the 1150. actually my mechanic wanted to buy over n export the bike 1 juz tok 2 him juz now he say for the price n condtion quite ok.

SDR> I rode my GS 1100 for 4 yrs repair twice change once n now is giving problems again. Think original BMW brake pumps suck. Also thinking of changing to aftermarket brake pump but got problem with the switches. Unable to get any aftermarket switches for BMW. Think of modify the switches becos of the signal still have not found a solution for it.

To add on to the ceramic clutch. True the clutch will last a lifetime but wat abt the friction plate and the pressure plate. These two items will wear off also, so eventually one still have to change the friction plate n the pressure plate. Tats y when they change the clutch, it comes in a set. If changing the clutch only will cost abt $100++ for the clutch excluding the labour. If changing the whole set is ard $600++ excluding labour. Sori cant remember the exact price.

Hope this info helps.

Pinglong> Since u going to change the brake hose y not change to stainless steel braided. Performance will be willing to help u change. Just need to pay the labour n the hose is most lasting than the original. Just my 2 cents worth.

Originally posted by koma@Jan 24 2005, 01:27 AM

thanks sdr n for ur answers, actually my fren was lettin gop at 7.5k only but tat day he did the wedding convoy he sort of feel attached to the bike so not sellin liao. anyway reason i gettin a beemer cause i be using it for a long term most prob not goin 2 sell it. myvfr i knoe i be lettin go bout 2 yrs dwn the road. maybe i gettin old dun need high speed thrills liao :p reason i gettin the 1100 cause its proven 2 be the most reliable of the gs range n i believe its not longer in production liao. but i tested out the machine tis mornin the engine is really gd better than my fren's bike. so any more advice guys cause i tried out another gs juz now fp plate reg nov 97 with full ohlins front n back,plus a few cosmetic accessories haggled the price dwn 2 12k. so which 1 is the better deal, personally i find the 15k bike more of a gd deal.

hey koma,

seems like you have plenty 'lobangs' for the GS 1100..and you may be spoilt for choice too considering the no. you keep viewing..

you noe of any 1150 worth getting and wats the current price for say a 2 yr old one perhaps?

Looks like the price isn't falling much even though the GS 1200 is out and it isn't really selling like hot cakes.. perhaps some people waiting for the later batch to come?

Originally posted by elws@Jan 25 2005, 12:22 AM

Pinglong> Since u going to change the brake hose y not change to stainless steel braided. Performance will be willing to help u change. Just need to pay the labour n the hose is most lasting than the original. Just my 2 cents worth.

Do I get these elsewhere or from PML itself? thanks.

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 25 2005, 01:45 PM

$40K for a bike, isn't it abit high?, you can get a CAR for $49K or less with 10yrs loan and 2% interest.  Monthly instalment as low as $300+, heard some other brands as low as $200+ for weekend car.

Guess the price is stopping the potential buyers in Singapore and/or after reading our posts here.  LOL.

I don't think we can argue on practicality, or economical when buying a bm bike. We will surely lose.

It's the unexplainable desire and passion, to the point of being irrational, insanity and lunacy. :smile:

If you're the type that starts creating an MS Excel worksheet to count $$$ and balance pros and cons everytime u want to make a big purchase, a BM bike will never be on your shortlist. heh

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 25 2005, 04:53 PM

Bad suggestion, I can't test ride, potential owners have to do it themselve, my bike is 1 of the worst to ride, think if I ride on any bike, it will be heaven. LOL.

May be you should ride on my bike and you will appreciate your bike more.

SMSed u just now.... where do I get a set of Racket wrench tools?:cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by RT@Jan 25 2005, 12:26 AM

hey koma,

seems like you have plenty 'lobangs' for the GS 1100..and you may be spoilt for choice too considering the no. you keep viewing..

you noe of any 1150 worth getting and wats the current price for say a 2 yr old one perhaps?

Looks like the price isn't falling much even though the GS 1200 is out and it isn't really selling like hot cakes.. perhaps some people waiting for the later batch to come?

saw a few ads all askin for 22-25k for 2-3yr old gs1150 out of my budget bout 7k-8k. dun wan 2 too siong every mth pay installment cause i got another bike liao. anyway i still prefer the gs1100(when u luv it u juz got 2 hav it ;)) juz faxed everytin to hitachi for loan 2dae will get an answer in 3 days. wish me luck guys ;)

Originally posted by koma@Jan 25 2005, 10:04 PM

saw a few ads all askin for 22-25k for 2-3yr old gs1150 out of my budget bout 7k-8k. dun wan 2 too siong every mth pay installment cause i got another bike liao. anyway i still prefer the gs1100(when u luv it u juz got 2 hav it ;)) juz faxed everytin to hitachi for loan 2dae will get an answer in 3 days. wish me luck guys ;)

Well, you fell in love. You got to have it. What else can we say... good luck! :thumb:

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 25 2005, 10:12 PM

Well, you fell in love. You got to have it. What else can we say... good luck! :thumb:

yah thanks man hope 2 get everytin done bfore cny

Originally posted by koma@Jan 25 2005, 10:04 PM

Yeah Good luck to you..

So let me guess, I think you probably going for the 15K bike ., rite?:smile:

When you see a bike you like , its hard not to think about it day and nite till you see your name on the bike's log card...hee hee..

Really hope you get wat you want ..

On a side note, was told by PML that they have stopped production of the basic R1150GS, only the adventure model is still sold alongside the new 1200GS.. but for how long no one knows..However the price is almost the same for both..about $40K.

Yeah, that's a lot of money, like SDR said: can almost get you a decent car.

but then again it ain't a BMW GS!

nuff said :cheeky:

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 25 2005, 05:56 PM

Sorry, Cyclops, know you had just bought yours.

after spending some times reading all the posts here, I saw 1 of your post mentioned that mark-up in spore is high, so think you are well aware of the situation and you have accepted it. afterall, there's nothing we can do, remember a bike shop did parallel import some GS in the late 90s or early 2000s, think not so successful after some try, reason, I don't know, so to all potential GS buyers, if you want to avoid buying a parallel imported GS, try to avoid GS without Fuel/temp guage and the 1 with white & blue strip in colour or best check with PML if they imported that particular bike.

I should correct my statement and I shouldn't hv compare orange to apple.

Statement : "S$40k for a R1200GS?"

Okay, following is FJR1300 ABS price listed in UK OTR

http://www.carrickyamaha.com/prices.htm

If you aware, FJR "OTR" in spore is S$28K +/-.

following link is R1200GS price listed in UK - OTR not mentioned, so should add 1-2k to balance the comparision.

http://www.bmbikes.co.uk/specpages/R1200GS.htm

and price in spore is S$40k - OTR, m i rite?.

if you follow the link, guess you should know what I mean. This things has been bothering me for a long time, eversince I started owning this 2vv. I am not saying that BMW is a lousy bike, I am suprised to learn that BMW is actually not that expensive in other country, if I am in UK, without hestitation, I will go for BMW, it is priced the same as the FJR.

some might says Euros increase, fyi, Yen increase against US dollars and Singdollars as well. many Japanese here are buying yen.

*some may says price differ due to freight, insurance and etc.. this sum up to quite min, can't be about 12K.

Am I being too particular or too calculative? May be I am.

To avoid any misunderstanding here, I hereby clarify to all that above article is not to provoke any1 here or to raise any concern or complains or comparision against any party or company. It's just my own ignorant curiosity.

No apology necessary Bro, this is an open forum, we are all entittled to put forward our own opinion and all participants must respect that.

We all make our own decision and have our own value system. For me, I know that if I really look forward to something and then decides to settle for something else, there will always be this doubt somewhere back in the mind, affecting the overall experiences, a constant "what if" that keeps intruding into the conciousness, a buzzing mosquito around the ear that won't go away.

Biking to me is a lifestyle, something that I enjoy very much. The overall enjoyment, experience to me is most important. Money we can make, we can save, we can put aside. But to me, we only walk this way once, enjoy youth for such a short period, so how to put a price tag on that......

I'm in total agreement with you, I think their mark up is at least 10K no matter what else is factored in. :faint: But its their market, its more of a take it or leave it situation.

Hmm.... I wonder when Malaysia will unpeg their ringgit to the greenback.... know what I mean.......hek hek

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Hey guys, GS1200 and I planning to meet up at M-Technics this coming Friday evening and maybe kopi thereafter...wanna join us for TCSS session? Plan still tentative for I'm attempting to send me bike in for 1K servicing this Thursday. Will go ahead only if I can get the bike back in time :thumb:

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by vmaxxmadness@Jan 23 2005, 11:13 AM

cyclop!!! congrates on your 6 months wait for the GS, well at least it arrives.... :thumb:

Yo Bro, need to pass you some mags on the Yamaha MT-01 like promised. Mixed opinion from different mags but sure ain't no Vmax replacement....heh heh

Wonder who came up with such names.... MT-01.....Empty One....... :giddy:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by koma@Jan 25 2005, 10:34 PM

yah thanks man hope 2 get everytin done bfore cny

Eh Koma, throughout your posts you kept on mentioning your mechs. Which mechs from which workshop? Are they any good? Good mechanics and workshop, must share with us here. So that we can have possible alternatives to PML.

Cyclop, I'm interested, tentatively. But my bike is still at PML. Dunno can make it or not.

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 25 2005, 11:26 PM

Eh Koma, throughout your posts you kept on mentioning your mechs. Which mechs from which workshop? Are they any good? Good mechanics and workshop, must share with us here. So that we can have possible alternatives to PML.

Cyclop, I'm interested, tentatively. But my bike is still at PML. Dunno can make it or not.

Yah lor, tried to call PML to make appointment today but Kris is on MC and no one else can accept booking till he comes back..... wah... iron grip over his workshop....

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by cyclop@Jan 25 2005, 11:34 PM

Yah lor, tried to call PML to make appointment today but Kris is on MC and no one else can accept booking till he comes back..... wah... iron grip over his workshop....

The more I think about it, the more I feel something is wrong.

I had my bike for more than a month, went all the way to Endau once, went to KL twice, no problem at all. Sent in for servicing, two days later brake hose burst. It was something they dismantled while servicing my brake master pump. So how can they have got nothing to do with it? Beginning to sound like negligence on their part.... If only we have some sort of independent 3rd-party assessment... something like if you're sick, u go to another doctor for 2nd opinion....

Its kinda sad hearing all the negative points. Anyway I shant think too much. :nono:

I will be doing a ride to Cherating or might be somewhere else. I dunno.. still thinking. Maybe Cameron.

I'm wondering anyone wishes to join me.

Duration: 10th Feb - 12th Feb.

Air ur views!!!

Kopi session this Friday? erm.... can make it only after 8.... will look out here....:thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel: