Yo CYclops, SDR. Getting a bit too techy here... hahaha... stop it! :cheeky:

Too cheeem liao.... :faint:

PingLong, I am not too sure as well, how and why it melted. next time we meet i bring it out to show u guys.

I suspect it could be the prolong "ON" of the brake light or there could be a surge that fried the lead on the bulb thus causing high heat over a period of time that it melted the plastic around it. When I checked, the tailight/brakelight fuse was blown.

AND I realised my fuses in the fusebox are all of the wrong AMP ratings!!! According to specs, all fuses should be 15 AMP. The previous owner must have anyhow "GASAK". :faint:

Gonna buy fuses later....o_O

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 29 2005, 11:39 AM

GSGABES, heng u check, or u will be the one anyhow gasak the fuses. Remember to buy all Japanese made fuse. they are better as compare to German. I had very bad experience with German fuse, but of cos, the German fuse can be repair even if spoiled, I don't know if the new fuse can, mine using the old model 15A light blue in colour can. so now my fuses mostly japanese made, 4 only lah, kept 1 spare inside.

hope u hv not change the taillight plastic, think you should resolve the connection problem, think ur brake light didn't work, it just "on" all the way. funny problem, but you can alway find it only on bmw bikes.

good and bad. good, u gain plenty of knowledge ridding a bm, after few yrs, u get to learn the whole bike and can be a qualified mech, bad, pocket suffers.

Enjoy.

Yah.. gonna replace all to Japanese fuses. Hardware shop here i come.

I changed the tailight already. its a whole assembly including the bulb plus the connectors. :cry:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Hey Guys,

Just want some feedback on the R1100RS, any comments on this this bike, like performance, handling etc..they seems only a handful of them around..any Ex-owners here?.

Is it a bike worth getting? appreciate your tots.. Thxs.

Did not check with PML but do does anyone if they brought in the 1150 version? :smile:

dun knoe when i be gettin, need previous owner clear his finance then take back log back frm tokyo fianance should be 1 day cause not frm bike shop. transfer can straight away go lta transfer insurance buy straight frm ntuc. then heng mon owner off can go dwn hitacho sign the loan with me. hope can get bfore new yr ;)

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 29 2005, 05:27 PM

Let me KP KP here,i m not e present or ex-owner of this bike,but as i m quite keen on this model,think i may contribute abit.

Fm my understanding,this is e most powerful boxer with 98ponnies inside & sama sama or more powerful than e R1100S, of cos,gear ratio & engine spec, e S is much more superior.it has a very comfortable riding position unlike e S.think it was e 1st & only 1100-boxer ever paticipate on 1 of e endurance race in UK sponsored by BMW UK in e mid 90s, competing with super bikes.it didnt get e checker flag but managed to impress many riders with its outstanding performance as a sports tourer.

Racer comments : comfor is high but speed is low.

Of course e racer must be comparing with super bikes like DUCATI 916.

U r very right, only a handful in Spore, 2 best condition ever seen are e 75th anniversary version & guess it is e 1 & only 1 in Spore, another careful owner's bike is black in colour with bidded no.,staying somewhere in e NE.there's 1 in Team27,was told he uses it to travel to Thailand very often &-was told he speed all e way. & understand fm an ex owner said he regretted selling his for e new RT,he rode it to Thai very often too.Not a popular bike in Spore, wonder y too,may b bcos of its design-it is a love it or hate it design.

Dont think PML brought in e new R1150RS unless upon special request. it is exactly e same design as e 1100 with very small changes.

As all R1100 are sharing almost e same engine & etc...,they should share e same problem, if any.

U know anyone letting go? care to share e price, yr & colour of e bike? if it is e 75th version,hesitate no more,limited collectors' item,cant remember exactly but think only 75pc produced in e world,e least among all other models if i m not wrong.Think 750pcs for GS.

SDR, Thxs for your input..

Did see a white one at Bike Connection some time back but dun think its the limited edition you talking about. Anyway,Was told it was a parallel import so not keen liao cos PML probably either won't entertain such bikes or would charge higher for workmanship as such (correct me if I'm wrong).

My preference would still be a GS but am leaving my options open for as long as its a Boxer, its worth considering lor..

I think you are right about PML not bringing in the 1150 version cos so far have not chance upon one yet...

Saw another R100R at Combine just now but condition cannot fight with yours man!

However yours is a special model..

I was cleaning Bertha just now. Once done, before putting back the seat and side panniers, I stepped back to have a look. Suddenly, I realise this scene where I must capture on film. So quickly took a photo using my digital camera.

It's a scene of my old bike, together with current bike. I started with a 'small' Yamaha 125cc, and I've progressed to a BMW 1100cc. Up till today, it still feels surreal to me. I'm glad and thankful that I'm lucky and fortunate enough to have found one of the things that make my life so bloody interesting.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by GSGabes@Jan 29 2005, 10:06 AM

Yo CYclops, SDR. Getting a bit too techy here... hahaha... stop it! :cheeky:

Too cheeem liao.... :faint:

Kekekeke.... When SDR mentioned about BMW and aero engines, it immediately brought me back to my old schoolboy days of building plastic scale models. My favourite are the German WW2 propeller driven fighters like the Me109s, the FW190s and the Ta152s...... and among them all, the 801 radial which powered the Fw was my fav...... used to save whatever pocket money that I have for those models.........ah....... the bread and water days.........

Come to think of it, no difference now, only putting aside money for bigger toys.......Doh!!!! :cheeky:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 29 2005, 05:33 PM

Btwn,how many finance company in Spore tt provide bike loan?

Mines from Singapura Finance.

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 29 2005, 12:38 AM

Must.....control.......must......wait..............

Endure brother.......there's always a better bike around the corner. Enjoy the ride!!!! See me quote from ze Red Baron :thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 29 2005, 05:33 PM

Y hitachi loan?how much interest r they charging,may b helpful in future if i need loan.THANKS.

Btwn,how many finance company in Spore tt provide bike loan?

U r so close to getting it,dont worry lah.

hitachi loan 3yr loan 4.25% interest

3yr n above 4.75% interest

hope tis helps ok im off 2 kulai liao c u guys later ;)

Originally posted by koma@Jan 29 2005, 09:40 PM

hope tis helps ok im off 2 kulai liao c u guys later ;)

Kulai??? U guys going to Kulai???

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by SDR@Dec 30 2004, 10:45 AM

I am not sure about the final shaft problem, remember Mr Micheal Fong and his wife used the GSPD to tour the world in the late 90s?

Hey, is this the Singapore guy who went on a long ride with his ex-stewardess wife? Wrote a book too, right? Anyone know what is the title of the book and where I can get a copy?

Thanks..

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Hey guys, my fren is selling his GS1150, details as follows:

Price: $18,500 neg.

FS Plate

Sliver Colour with black seat

Mileage : 97k

Ownership: 2 yrs

Service Record: PML all the way

Repairs done: Change clutch plate as well as transmission for $3,000 4 mths ago

Accessories

1. Hepco n Becker full crash bars right up to beak

2. Original BMW Top Box

3. Touratech Tele-Lever Hard Part

4. Ventura Headlight Guards

Owner willing to touch up minor cosmetics.

Let me know if anyone interested n I will try to hook u up. Owner only work on weekends so viewing can be done even during day time on weekdays.

Originally posted by GS1200@Jan 30 2005, 01:05 AM

Owner only work on weekends ...........

Envy, envy, envy........... :bow:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by coolcat@Jan 30 2005, 12:32 AM

Hey, is this the Singapore guy who went on a long ride with his ex-stewardess wife? Wrote a book too, right? Anyone know what is the title of the book and where I can get a copy?

That's Michael and Sonia. They came back to Singapore half way, not sure if Michael subsequently continue the round the world trip.

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 30 2005, 10:53 AM

Heard an indian guy ridding 2 F650GS (yes, he got 2), that he is banned fm PML,

...hmmm....sounds like Raj...haaa:bounce:

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jan 29 2005, 01:51 AM

hahhaha tahan abit lah... xtra 100cc will cost ya big bucks~ :pray:

Yo, u still go to Esso GP to top up petrol every weekend?

Who else has this habit uh? LOL

I saw lots of bikes and a couple of sports car (I think ferrari) over at Esso GP on Sat morning. That's the Melaka trip u all were talking abt right? But I thought they're supposed to start at 7. When I pass by there, it was already 8 something.

So many bikes. At the custome chkpoint, one guy in a blue 1100RT asked me "Melaka uh?". I said nope. Not joining them. He looks...puzzled. hahaha. Got a couple of riders on Harley Davidson waved at me as well. And most of them brought their partner/gf/wives along. Imagine u r still riding a bike in your 40s or 50s, and your wife share your joy and passion, shiok uh. Just like SDR's wife. How many of us have gf/wife that actually sit down and talk about bikes with all the ppl around??? I bet she knows more abt bike than ME! haha.

Anybody here joined the Melaka ride, how's the experience like?

Originally posted by SDR@Jan 30 2005, 10:53 AM

Heard an indian guy ridding 2 F650GS (yes, he got 2), that he is banned fm PML, everytime, he trys to make an appointment, Kriss would delay or give excuses not to take his bike in. Wonder he is over sensitive or PML really ban him, or may be he is too "nasty" tt writes letter to PML to complain (sound like some1 here, LOL, don't worry, PingLong, just kidding, I wrote in 4yrs ago, but to BMW HQ in Germany) or he demands too much.

Hope your bike can roar soon man. The elusive bah kut teh awaits us :sian:

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 31 2005, 09:58 AM

Hope your bike can roar soon man. The elusive bah kut teh awaits us :sian:

yah man~~~ bah ku tek~~~~ :hungry:

goin dwn meet the owner of my gs later settle all the stuff hopefully can ride my new baby 2dae ;)

Hey Pinglong, you heading over to M-Tech to get your micro flooters fixeded today?? Me will go tomorrow. Just sent the bike in for its 1K servicing this morning. Saw another RT just ahead of me, same colour as yours. I told them to take their time and I'll collect the bike tomorrow. Also asked them to check on a few querks.

Guys, I realised that sometimes, especially when the engine is cold, I need to double clutch to get into first gear, and then smooth shifting thereafter.It only happened into first gear. Any insights? Told Kris about it, he looked quite serious.....was smiling before that....hmmmmmmm..... o_O

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by cyclop@Jan 31 2005, 12:35 PM

Hey Pinglong, you heading over to M-Tech to get your micro flooters fixeded today??

Guys, I realised that sometimes, especially when the engine is cold, I need to double clutch to get into first gear, and then smooth shifting thereafter.It only happened into first gear. Any insights? Told Kris about it, he looked quite serious.....was smiling before that....hmmmmmmm..... o_O

Micro-flooters? You mean those additional lamps, right?

Nope, Chua asked me to go on a Sat. Coz he needs at least half-a-day to complete the job.

Mine always goes into Neutral when I shift from 1st gear to 2nd. And the sound is quite....rough. Like ''kletaakk".

alas the bike i am not goin 2 get 2dae~~~:cry:

finance company need bout 1-2 days 2 release the log card then i n the owner onli free on fri 2 do all the necessary paperwork. really hope 2 collect the bike on fri the wait is makin me all mad liao :p

Originally posted by pinglong@Jan 31 2005, 09:52 AM

Yo, u still go to Esso GP to top up petrol every weekend?

Who else has this habit uh? LOL

I saw lots of bikes and a couple of sports car (I think ferrari) over at Esso GP on Sat morning. That's the Melaka trip u all were talking abt right? But I thought they're supposed to start at 7. When I pass by there, it was already 8 something.

So many bikes. At the custome chkpoint, one guy in a blue 1100RT asked me "Melaka uh?". I said nope. Not joining them. He looks...puzzled. hahaha. Got a couple of riders on Harley Davidson waved at me as well. And most of them brought their partner/gf/wives along. Imagine u r still riding a bike in your 40s or 50s, and your wife share your joy and passion, shiok uh. Just like SDR's wife. How many of us have gf/wife that actually sit down and talk about bikes with all the ppl around??? I bet she knows more abt bike than ME! haha.

Anybody here joined the Melaka ride, how's the experience like?

ya.. still goin in evry week or two to pump petrol @ 2nd link....... Although 1st link will be nearer n cheaper...

I hate the heavy traffic, lousy road conditions etc... @ the 1st link..... 2nd link is cosier n safer... dun nid to worry this n dat..... also big bikes like also wun kena scratch by the msia kups and lower chances of kena stolen.....

hehhehe.... mi goin in maibe tiz fri or sat....... wanna join me??

Originall goin for the Melaka Event... but no kakis end up nvr go... went fixed alarm instead @ Vector One....

Quite lucky 'cos heard the event abit to chaotic n screw up..... hehhee... but miss the chances to mix around with the msia big bikers or see how they customise their bikes..... :weep:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?