Originally posted by Otei@Apr 30 2004, 12:48 AM

I thought about trying to make it a genuine pressurised airbox,but in reality,these things only really make gains when used on something like a jet aircraft.

What i've developed will be more of a force feed of cool dense air into the new larger airbox,as the stock system just doesn't breathe properly at all..i mean the entrance to the airbox faces the arse end of the bike for christs sake!..what were they thinking? :smile: plus there are 2 air intakes on the side,and only one of them feeds anything...and even then it's through tiny holes in the frame rail!

Well, it's a bike that was designed in the 1990s....

Really cool seeing your sub-frame mounted fuel tank and a "RAM" air design.

Envious of the effort and resources allocated to your GSXR400RR.

Hope it turns out well! :cheeky:

And hope your season on the RS250 better than the last!

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

• Replies 296

Originally posted by Otei@Apr 30 2004, 12:48 AM

I thought about trying to make it a genuine pressurised airbox,but in reality,these things only really make gains when used on something like a jet aircraft.

What i've developed will be more of a force feed of cool dense air into the new larger airbox,as the stock system just doesn't breathe properly at all..i mean the entrance to the airbox faces the arse end of the bike for christs sake!..what were they thinking? :smile: plus there are 2 air intakes on the side,and only one of them feeds anything...and even then it's through tiny holes in the frame rail!

Yeah, would really like to take a look at your ram air design......

Damn shag, had a hard time stripping all the calipers and brake line, gave them a through clean and scrub. Changing all the brake lines to Steel braided but didnt feel much difference.. Is my brake piston faulty? How do I check my brake piston or my brake valve..

Anyone had any idea which tyre is the best for our bike?Bridgestone BT090 pro Radial or Dunlop Gpr70?heard tat tis 2 are the best.Or any other brand to intro?:thumb:

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by IceZ@May 1 2004, 05:16 PM

Anyone had any idea which tyre is the best for our bike?Bridgestone BT090 pro Radial or Dunlop Gpr70?heard tat tis 2 are the best.Or any other brand to intro?:thumb:

both are juz as good to me... but i'm kinda stuck to dunlop...

Originally posted by Ae86@May 1 2004, 02:56 AM

Damn shag, had a hard time stripping all the calipers and brake line, gave them a through clean and scrub. Changing all the brake lines to Steel braided but didnt feel much difference.. Is my brake piston faulty? How do I check my brake piston or my brake valve..

Provided that your brake caliper piston and your master cylinder piston is working properly, most probably could be bubbles in the hydraulic fluid. Proper bleeding

would involve at least 2 or 3 bleeding cycles.

How to check for faulty caliper piston or master cyliner piston ah.... Eh..

Check got leaking brake fluid from that area or not???

wah... ktkt... well said... do for him lar... he my good brother leh.... u stay east side, also must take care of my brother here from west mah...

Originally posted by RicKTM@May 3 2004, 11:22 PM

wah... ktkt... well said... do for him lar... he my good brother leh.... u stay east side, also must take care of my brother here from west mah...

WSCR has spoken.... I better disappear!!!

hi gixxer gurus... like to find out from you guys, what to look out for when inspecting a gixxer. I will like to get a gixxer very much but was highly discourage by my mech and friends, many said the gixxer is highly problematic and good condition one hard to find, problems include wiring (lots of piggy back) suspension problem and expensive to replace, CDI isn't cheap, wear and tear a lot higher compared to other sport bikes. Riding posture also tough... can someone advise me on the running cost and rebuilt cost plus trust worthy mech who can really work with a gixxer.....

Dear all, I am slowly copying replies on technical aspect form the previous GSX-R thread. Here goes:

Trouble Shooting for GSXR400RR

-----------------------------------------

1. Battery weak for no apparent reason.

Check wiring from rectifier to wiring harness. Most probably

socket melted..

2. Bike cant start no matter how hard or how far u try to push start.

Electrics all okay. Check Petrol in tank. Prime your Carb and open the

choke. If all else fail. Suspect your CDI faulty.

3. No electricity when turn on ignition. Open you rider seat.

Check your fuses. SHort circuit. Disconnect the main electrical

components like heatlights, taillights, rear signal light assembly. Look

out for molten wiring socket (rectifier).

4. If your bike cant start no matter what. Disconnect your headlights if

yours is directly linked to the ignition without a switch. This will allow

your battery to last longer when u repeaedly try to electric start your

bike.

addition to number 2:

-----------------------------

Take off the fuel tank(dun need to also can if u got e tools), unscrew 1 spark plug out together with ignition cable, bring the spark plug tip close to the engine case, thumb ur start button. if there is sparks, ur electrics are ok n most probably its fueling that giving u problem. if u dun see sparks, remove the spark plug, pull up the rubber of the ignition cable and bring the bare wire near the engine casing, if u see sparks, the spark plug is spoil, if u dun, u can then suspect the cdi or powser coil(spelling? its as correct as the malaysian mech's english who taught me this), or others etc(i dunno liao, can be alot of things)...

how to see if its cdi or powser coil?

---------------------------------------

first if u got a friend whos cdi(working condition) is the same manufacturer part number as urs and he is willing to lend u to troubleshoot, then u can straight away swap cdi to try start. (u can do this from the start and u can save alot of trouble, but beware u might fry his cdi as well, especially if ur fuses fry often )

to check powser coil(located inside clutch casing), if u notice from ur clutch casing area, there is a 2 wire coming out, follow it till u see a 2 pin connector. disconnect it and measure the resistance of the of the coil. if i dun remember wrongly it should be less then 120ohms(anyone to correct this?). if its higher, the coil has deteriorated but still usable i assume, if its spoiled most probably u will get open circuit result from ur multimeter.

1 problem of GSXR is electric. Due to wore out wiring and "old metal contacts in socket". One of the problem you will face is melt socket or warped socket. This is due to heat build up due to poor electric conductivity at the socket. Prone areas are (1)"Rectifier => wiring" socket, (2)"Wiring => Fuse Box" socket, (3) "Headlight => wiring" socket. Preventive measure is to take time and effort to unplug the sockets. Check the contact point, clean them with contact cleaner. Or cut away the socket. Replace with $0.50 wire lug.

GSXR is a bike that require daily riding. Leave it idle for 2-3 days and you have problem starting it or wun run as smooth. Best to have it parked in MSCP where temperature is warmer than open space carpark where it's exposed to rain and condensation in the morning. Once water vapour condense in your fuel tank, you have to rev your bike hard while riding to remove them b4 your bike run smooth again.

Heat is another issue. Due to wored out rubber tubing and dirt accumulated in the radiator. The cooling is not as efficient as b4 but still will suffice for normal use. If possible, dismantle and radiator and all the coolant tubing..look inside.. and give them a good scrub..

Faulty CDI is another issue which cannot be avoided. Due to old age, CDI tend to fail. A 2nd replacement cost around $200 but currently, I am looking for someone who is rumoured to be able to repair CDI..

Currently these are the few problems I encountered and solved.

1 modifcation I am looking into now is "Customised Wiring from CDI to Spark Plug"

Due to old age, our sparkplug are not firing as powerful as b4 due to wire age. I am looking for an electrician that know how to make a customised wiring with high conductivity material to link the CDI and Spark PLugs. Anyone interested to help?

Originally posted by Demues@May 4 2004, 10:21 PM

hi gixxer gurus... like to find out from you guys, what to look out for when inspecting a gixxer. I will like to get a gixxer very much but was highly discourage by my mech and friends, many said the gixxer is highly problematic and good condition one hard to find, problems include wiring (lots of piggy back) suspension problem and expensive to replace, CDI isn't cheap, wear and tear a lot higher compared to other sport bikes. Riding posture also tough... can someone advise me on the running cost and rebuilt cost plus trust worthy mech who can really work with a gixxer.....

There is an article in the forum relating to generic checklist on getting a 2nd hand bike. If you follow that, it should ensure that you'll get urself a fairly stable GSX-R.

As of GSX-R particular points to look out for.

1)Engine

-----------

A seemingly noisier engine than normal will indicate wear and tear in the cylinder head region. I.E, the valves and cams. It could also indicate that the cam chain and tensioner need replacing as a normal chain can last around 50,000 km.

Check for leaks around the engine and another area where there is excessive silicone glue. This indicate that the engine has been opened up and instead of OEM gasket, the owner or bike shop skimp by using cheap silicone glue.

Originally posted by Demues@May 4 2004, 10:21 PM

Yoz...great to hear that someone else is getting another gixxer. welcome to the family!!

First of all i would like to say that although many pple say that gixxers are very high maintainence due to old age blah blah blah, the fact is that all old bikes need higher maintainence due to worn out parts etc, even the cbrs are not spared from that, regardless of what you hear.....

Secondly, its not a matter of the model and type of bike but rather the condition of the bike that matters, even if u get a cbr but the condition is fooked you still need to get replacement parts so in the end the result is still the same...the only difference is in the resale value, sad to say, our gixxer does not have much of that.

Ae86 has juz included the few common problems that can be found on the bike but so far mine has only encountered one or two of them.... If u wanna take a look at some bikes, mabbe u can arrange a time wif us n we go down to take a look for you together....same time can chit chat n get to know each other....

Oh yah, n u dun haf to worry about getting a gd mech cos there is always one available n thats Guan Hoe, most of those riding gixxers n suzuki bikes go there for servicing cos thats the authorised repair shop for suzuki bikes. The prices there are slightly higher bu tyou can be assured of the workmanship, especially by the boss there.

One last thing...something new to add to Ae86's list:

If your bike happens to not be able to crank n everything is working fine and everytime your press on your start button you hear a "tiak tiak tiak" sound, you can take out your seat, use a smalle spanner or simply your hands to knock on the starter relay(if i'm not wrong that wad its called, the one that is found under your seat connected to your starter motor) n it should be able to start.

Ps: one point to note is that you should not be doing it too often else it will spoil something.....which part one i forgot liao.... paiseh...

Hi guys, I came across this ebay auction on GSXR 400R "parts book" It's something like the factory manual except that it's in japanese. Will like to go about ordering it. It in the form of a CD. I was wondering if any1 will be interested to get a copy and burn it for the rest. Then we can cut down cost.

I have no idea how to get stuff on Ebay. Wondering if any1 can help to get it to Singapore.

Ebay auction on GSX-R "parts book" CDROM

Ehhh...its juz a parts book.......u need to know part no.s? juz go down to guan hoe ah......tinks its not much of a use leh.......unless u got some use for it?

Guest slow-turtle

Sorry can I ask some question regarding my bike?

I'm riding a GSX 400 RP, when overnight I crank start very easily without throttle.

When I ride for short/long, start again will need to blow abit. Can someone please advice on the problem.

Originally posted by Ae86@May 5 2004, 10:17 PM

Hi guys, I came across this ebay auction on GSXR 400R "parts book" It's something like the factory manual except that it's in japanese. Will like to go about ordering it. It in the form of a CD. I was wondering if any1 will be interested to get a copy and burn it for the rest. Then we can cut down cost.

I have no idea how to get stuff on Ebay. Wondering if any1 can help to get it to Singapore.

Ebay auction on GSX-R "parts book" CDROM

I have the part manual. Schematic diagram breakdown of the bike part by part. Pretty useful if u like to take the bike apart. If u want, take mine and go and zap.

Originally posted by slow-turtle@May 6 2004, 01:44 AM

I'm riding a GSX 400 RP, when overnight I crank start very easily without throttle.

When I ride for short/long, start again will need to blow abit. Can someone please advice on the problem.

Most likely a jetting issue. A bike that starts well when cold and not when it's warm has it's jetting off.

Originally posted by slow-turtle@May 6 2004, 01:44 AM

i think its normal

mine has the same syntoms also.

when the bike is heated up, the starting tends to be weaker compared to when its totally cold.

even when i went to wash and set my carbs properly from guan ho, i still need to pull choke in the morning when its totally cold. how do u explain that then ?

Guest ZZR-Pilot

Anybody got info on the following (for GK76A):

1) Valve clearance - check interval

2) Valve clearance - values for intake & exhaust valves

3) Camchain & tensioner - replacement interval

4) Fork oil - capacity

Hey...juz wanna known can Rs250 rims fix on the G4?coz my frd did tat n it juz perfect.

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son