my chain n sprocket are new...

never change tyres...

after using the new chain for 3-5 days...

there's also noise... mech say is normal leh...

how true is it ah? :confused:

- = Friendly, Young Newbie Learner = -

• Replies 394

Originally posted by s-t@Sep 12 2005, 06:03 PM

my chain n sprocket are new...

never change tyres...

after using the new chain for 3-5 days...

there's also noise... mech say is normal leh...

how true is it ah? :confused:

My chain and sprocket also new, less then a month. On that day after i changed, already notice got this "tsst tsst sound also" Only when i clutch in or close throttle then can hear the sound. Its actually quite soft .. sound like the chain is turning,thats why got this sound. But if in MSCP,can hear the sound clearly. At 1st thought its normal but recently my friend changed to DID X ring as well, no sound at all. Only difference is he using rear Steed sprocket. The mechanic say steed and vtec sprocket same de. Can use also. True?

Anyone knows whats wrong with my chain? :confused:

oh yeah.. for my case, ride fast or slow also got the "tsst tsst" sound lol...sianz

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/4260/dsc00054rn2.jpg

Above Kawasaki Z1000 Sporty StreetFighter for Sale!

Pm me for more info. Thanks.

Originally posted by NoobVtec2@Sep 12 2005, 06:15 PM

My chain and sprocket also new, less then a month. On that day after i changed, already notice got this "tsst tsst sound also" Only when i clutch in or close throttle then can hear the sound. Its actually quite soft .. sound like the chain is turning,thats why got this sound. But if in MSCP,can hear the sound clearly. At 1st thought its normal but recently my friend changed to DID X ring as well, no sound at all. Only difference is he using rear Steed sprocket. The mechanic say steed and vtec sprocket same de. Can use also. True?

oh yeah.. for my case, ride fast or slow also got the "tsst tsst" sound lol...sianz

yoz... my chain is oso becoming more noisy.. :giddy:

Never make someone a priority in your life when you are just an option in theirs~~

Don't just complain you hear noise. Sit on the bike, BEND DOWN and use your finger to check your chain whether its too tight!!! If you're scared of dirtying your finger then use a leaf or something....

I don't think its very difficult, but its expensive if you ignore it. You can use the best chains and sprockets, but overtighten it and the first bump you hit will permenantly destroy it.

Originally posted by nE0@Sep 13 2005, 12:24 AM

Don't just complain you hear noise. Sit on the bike, BEND DOWN and use your finger to check your chain whether its too tight!!! If you're scared of dirtying your finger then use a leaf or something....

I don't think its very difficult, but its expensive if you ignore it. You can use the best chains and sprockets, but overtighten it and the first bump you hit will permenantly destroy it.

how many CM is the correct tension ar? 3 cm is it?

Originally posted by NoobVtec2@Sep 13 2005, 11:33 AM

how many CM is the correct tension ar? 3 cm is it?

if im not wrong its 25mm max from the manual previous time i read.

Originally posted by NoobVtec2@Sep 12 2005, 06:15 PM

Is the steed sprocket the one with a rubber lining around it. If yes then of course no sound coz the rubber lining act as a cushion. If clutch in confirm got sound dats normal. :goodluck:

Originally posted by ValenYono@Sep 13 2005, 01:09 PM

Is the steed sprocket the one with a rubber lining around it. If yes then of course no sound coz the rubber lining act as a cushion. If clutch in confirm got sound dats normal. :goodluck:

its my fren who use the steed sprocket. No sound at all. While mine is thailand honda sprockets. By e way i don't notice any rubber lining at my friends steed sprocket, with rubber better?

Originally posted by NoobVtec2@Sep 13 2005, 02:16 PM

its my fren who use the steed sprocket. No sound at all. While mine is thailand honda sprockets. By e way i don't notice any rubber lining at my friends steed sprocket, with rubber better?

With the rubber lining it actually cushion the chain against the sprocket. Longer life for the chain, softer n smoother ride. The mech said its an italian one. The sprocket is dark brown in colour unlike the chrome colour stock sprocket. Mine is 42teeth(non-Vtec), not sure 45 have or not.

The chain sound is one of the trade marks of super 4.

Next time, try to hear when a super 4 goes past. You'll hear the chain more than you hear the exhaust (unless you change, of course).

Originally posted by William Tan@Sep 14 2005, 07:02 AM

The chain sound is one of the trade marks of super 4.

Next time, try to hear when a super 4 goes past. You'll hear the chain more than you hear the exhaust (unless you change, of course).

Yup I agree very much. Sound like scissor cutting to me(dats how I describe- pls don't flame me) :thumb: . Hehe..

"sshrack sshrack sshrack..." to me... :cheeky:

try lubing it more generously and more often,

we tend to be overly careful when we lube the chain (scared dirty loh), then our rainy weather tend to wash them away, look ard, u can see most bikes in s'pore dun get enough lubricating...

Originally posted by newbie@Sep 13 2005, 11:47 AM

if im not wrong its 25mm max from the manual previous time i read.

http://www.didchain.com/sag.gif

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by ValenYono@Sep 13 2005, 02:53 PM

With the rubber lining it actually cushion the chain against the sprocket. Longer life for the chain, softer n smoother ride. The mech said its an italian one. The sprocket is dark brown in colour unlike the chrome colour stock sprocket. Mine is 42teeth(non-Vtec), not sure 45 have or not.

I never see any sprocket with rubber cushion, but the new Honda bike come with a chain with rubber ring. Not sure the model available for CB400.

http://www.honda.co.jp/factbook/motor/cb1300sf/200301/images/011-002.jpg

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Problem solved today.

Replaced new sprocket and X-ring. But still got noise but .............. as William Tan said, its the normal Super 4 chain noise... Beautiful..... :lovestruck:

The greatest mistake is to repeat the same mistake

Originally posted by calyban@Sep 14 2005, 07:32 PM

"sshrack sshrack sshrack..." to me... :cheeky:

try lubing it more generously and more often,

we tend to be overly careful when we lube the chain (scared dirty loh), then our rainy weather tend to wash them away, look ard, u can see most bikes in s'pore dun get enough lubricating...

Overlubing is not good too.

It might cause excessive amount of dirt and grit to stick on the chain. The friction caused between the chain and sprocket with the grit in the center will cause your lifespan of your chain to decrease.

I lube my chain every 500km and always when the chain is warmed up (after riding around for a while) and will leave it to set (dry) over the night.

usually how long or how many kilometres. . bike now 24000km. found that nearly everyweek need to recalibrate the adjustment on the rear wheel. the chain always become too loose.

so need your guys feedback. is time to change to new ones??

its ard there ah bro. mine lasted for 22390km. b4 dat i keep tightening. also, i didnt take gd care of the chain. changed to DID X-ring and new sprocket. now 43000km.. still hvnt tighten, but now i lub constantly ah.