Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Mar 24 2005, 03:03 PM

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

Yo brothers!....something to share...could you believe this...my mileage for a full tank is 39km per litre....i pump at JB....then i go exploring Gelang patah...on the way back to Singapore...at GP...i pump again..this time around my mileage was 35km per litre....WOW! ....Double jump from my previous reading which is 24km per liter....Huz can be my witness!....ehheheheheh......:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Daniyal

You sure your computation is accurate ? Our bike's tank capacity is 17.7 l of which 2.7 is reserved. I have been trying to compute the comsumption and averaging only about 28 km/l.

Someone correct me if i am wrong, but I can only top up max 14-15litres after tank goes into reserve, and runninng another 10-15 km.

Unless i got my numbers wrong, otherwise, would like to know what you did to your bike to achieve such mileage man..........

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

• Replies 24.2k

Originally posted by Beb@Mar 27 2005, 12:33 PM

Pro Dero>>No lah bro....I'm not richie rich..Company giving some Bonus..

Hmm.... u in the civil service izzit?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Originally posted by Chow@Mar 27 2005, 03:09 PM

Daniyal

You sure your computation is accurate ? Our bike's tank capacity is 17.7 l of which 2.7 is reserved. I have been trying to compute the comsumption and averaging only about 28 km/l.

Someone correct me if i am wrong, but I can only top up max 14-15litres after tank goes into reserve, and runninng another 10-15 km.

Unless i got my numbers wrong, otherwise, would like to know what you did to your bike to achieve such mileage man..........

our fuel tank is 17litre including 2litre of reserve

once i tried 450km without reserve which is 15litre, so is 30km/litre

tt time is with shell 98

now my average stil 29-30km/litre

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

visual--> well thanks for the info....i'm still considering with this 2 bikes (will still take my 2A just for the sake of taking...then 2A)

my idea was to change to a more comfortable ride, loan for bout 2 - 3 yrs, then keep bike and buy car (starting a family soon). vara125 seems to be the most comfortable and suitable ride for it's class for me and cb400 is the only 2A bike i like. ....but diff is...vara 125 is 2B bike...so insurance, rd tax, and maintenance is slightly cheaper.....in terms of price i think it's more or less the same.

daniyal

make 3 chiong scottoiler ah....hehehe! abt drippin n switch i hv no idea, but if it keep my chains goin den i am on but not too pricey of course.... :smile:

LTC

ya rite abt keepin da stock horn cuz even electric horn is not ok for LTA, as for mixmaster air totally illegal.....i almost got a heart attack dat time a cab cut behind n mixmaster was behind....ya should see da awkward cabby face....hahaha...tinkin it was a truck :cheeky:

aikon

no worries bro i got almost all da snap on tools but patience n brain to work on da bike its not my way ah bro....cuz gotta bring home my work n try to squeeze my bikin hobby is a big challenge....

some more me doin my pc project, diy from scratch all hdd, ram, 3d cards, etc den learning how strip laptop n strugglin wif software conflicts....wow...can jump down from petronas towers oredi....so many things but too lil time....hehehe!

beb

if only we rich ah but i tink i would be ridin an evo8 instead...dream on ah me...hehehe!

dmizrahi

bro any 2b would struggle at slope if ya carrying heavy load n pillion at low speed, but try to gear down n full throttle b4 climbin da slope at least ya wont be laggin da rd.....well like me always fill up my panniers wif groceries from angsana jb or seng song still can go on maybe cuz got superione n mod air filter n lowered suspension, etc....gotta try den u know....

but if ya wanna look like big trailie den save money on petrol, rd tax n insurance den vara125

otherwise if ya want ez n popular s4 lah.....hehehe! enjoys!

chow

hope this help, full tank till reserve for my bike is 360km, reserved another 40km,

top up v-power jb RM22 = 16litre all da way till da tank neck....cheers to dat....hehehe!

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Daniyal

i thought there was something wrong with his meter also...

but when he first top up at GP.....370km with 10l only.....that amounts to about 37km/l......so we reset and test again till we get back....

when we were going back at Petronas again....his reading and mine was about the same......this time round...Daniyal's was about 35km/l......

So in conclusion...the fuel max really works....after like a couple of months of usage.....

another option is that since he change his tyre and the speedo meter just seems to be in order......the mileage track might not be accurate.....

will check on this again when we go long distance again>>>>>Cherating....

it the Fuel Max really works.....i think my bike can hit 40-45km/l.....

mine currently running at 28 - 31km/l.....

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Originally posted by dmizrahi@Mar 27 2005, 04:09 PM

visual--> well thanks for the info....i'm still considering with this 2 bikes (will still take my 2A just for the sake of taking...then 2A)

my idea was to change to a more comfortable ride, loan for bout 2 - 3 yrs, then keep bike and buy car (starting a family soon). vara125 seems to be the most comfortable and suitable ride for it's class for me and cb400 is the only 2A bike i like. ....but diff is...vara 125 is 2B bike...so insurance, rd tax, and maintenance is slightly cheaper.....in terms of price i think it's more or less the same.

it i'm not wrong....insurance on S4 and Vara 125 not much difference....any idea?

anyway if u got Class 2A...why spent the same amount of money on a 2b bike when u can get a 400cc bike for the same price......

but Vara is indeed comfortable and the fuel consumption is better...

just to highlight something here.....in terms of maintanence.....S4 is cheaper than Vara...Vara original parts are harder to get......

Although it is a Honda....it is not Japanese made.....this bike is Spanish/European....most of the original parts are $$$...

Daniyal

Chow>>> how come ur reserve only can hit 10-15km only...

2.7l can easily hit 50km at least....

Anyway i've tried hitting about 437km till reserve....then still using my reserve till 470 before i top up a bit....

my vara125 can go for 400km w/o using reserve. fuel consumption is 29-30/litre.

using v-power... n hvn't tried how much can my reserve go lah...

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/16/50/3840561/431433897m.jpg http://photos.friendster.com/photos/16/50/3840561/9161646232047s.jpg

Outriders ALL-4-1, 1-4-ALL

Riding Fast Doesn't always means arriving 1st, Ride Safe confirms a place for U @ the Finishing Line.

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@Mar 27 2005, 04:44 PM

So in conclusion...the fuel max really works....after like a couple of months of usage.....

another option is that since he change his tyre and the speedo meter just seems to be in order......the mileage track might not be accurate.....

This Fuel Max thing... is it an additive?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Originally posted by Niti@Mar 27 2005, 05:25 PM

This Fuel Max thing... is it an additive?

it is something clip on to the fuel line if i'm not wrong...

next time can take a look at Daniyal's..

Originally posted by Niti@Mar 24 2005, 11:15 AM

Stargate ---> Congrats bro that u got a job! I didn't know that u can drive a bus. Amacam, drive bus go cherating can?! :cheeky:

Niti > Since I ve only class 2b and 3, the bus coy will (after training) grant me a 4A licence to drive their buses within Spore only. If I leave the coy, 4A must be returned to them.

PD Trip on Visual website: Provided u and Visual agree, I can write up a short report and u post the pix to Visual..amacam ?

Petrol Filter and SW Motech crashbar Last week when I installed the crashbar..I tot I looked for the petrol filter..well guys..there isn't one. even took out the tank to see if it is hidden (boo to the Honda engineers). Guess all the muck in tank goes straight to the carb..

Also it is said that the crashbar bend inward after a fall..I think it is designed this way to absord the impact..anyway it can be easily removed and bend back

Aikon > U ask my opinion abt recond parts . Firstly I think new riders (especially w/new bike) shoud not get the impression that recond and mod are the norm. They should get to know their bike first, study what others hv done and do their research. Secondly, recond parts are Ok provided u are a seasoned rider and know what's going on. At best they save u money by prolonging its use but there come a time u must change it altogether. Sometime we must take what mechanic says with a pinch of salt (petrol ?) Remember they need to make a living . Some gives good advise n u go back to them habitually n he's happy. Some gives shitty advise, inept at fixing things and at best yr bike suffers.

Beb > u wanna know what's ScottOiler.. http://www.scottoiler.com is their website

niti

its like superione but different brand, btw i tink i set my rpm at 1.7 350km really eat up my fuel more eh compared to 1.5 can hit 400km or is it my riding style...hehehe!

al-simmons

s4 & v125 got alot of difference if ya age & experience, like mine used to be $680 3rd party fire & theft den use my uncles its only $250 same policy oso....for v125

abt s4 insurance maybe i will ask once i do my 2a on april....hehehe! since i can get s4 under $8k now days kinda cheap...

varamax

ya dude when ya wanna go wif 2 ssdc? how is ya lil girl doin from dat flu?

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

Chow>>> To be honest...i cant be wrong...Alsimmons was there with me...He even computed for me....My meter works prefectly fine after the tyre changed....except that...it will reset by itself...but hey...Alsimmons computed my mileage based on his speedo anyway...All i can say is I am very glad...Last time i used to have pretty bad mileage...24km per litre for SG road...but once in Malaysia...that is!...i am a goner...19km per liter....anyway...our bike on average should clock 28 - 31 km per liter....btw...our bike is 17Liters tank including 2 liters of reserve...

Fuel Max is a magnetic device which i bought roughly 3 years ago...cost me $166...thot of putting it into my dad's car...but...my dad's car needed 8 of those things...coz it is a 1.8liter car....Initially when i fixed it...my mileage doesnt improve...after i changed air filter...it went up 26km per liter....after the PD trip...i am clocking 35km per liter...thats what i did...

dmizrahi>>> To be honest...vara125 is not that powerful and not that weak either...125cc is divided into 2 coz of the V-twin engine...every output is only 60cc...but hei...our bike been to top of Genting....ecp slope...no problem for me...even with pillion except not on cruising gear....it depends on how you want to look at it...anyway...i think it is best if you could join us for a cup of teh or kopi...we can talk over it and we can explain better in person...u can see our bikes...dun worry bro...we wont bite you!...MEOW!!!!....

beb>>> If you install a scotoiler...it will keep your chains lubricated everytime you ride...and it will prolonged your life span of your chains by 7 times...u dun have to worry about chain spray ur chain once a week....

LTC>>> thanks for your advice....i feel i need a louder horn...so as to horn at those inconsiderate drivers.....

prodero>>> bro..of coz lah...we also want cheap and good products...eheheh...will update you regarding about this project after the cherating trip...

stargate>>> petrol filter?...are you refering to oil filter?....:confused: ...i believe i havent congratulate you on your new job...CONGRATULATIONS!....:cheer: ....

niti>>> picture powerful!....

Al-simmons>>> Black knight...power!...wait for white knight...in 3 months...he is coming....ehehehhehe....:cheeky:

Varamax>>> you should try to go for a reserve...at least you know that your reserve valve is working....if not...chialat liao!...:smile:

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Anyway Stargate what service number u driving?

or which part of Singapore will u be driving....maybe next time i take a ride in ur bus.....

Al-Simmons > I terrorise all by driving feeder buses servicing Jurong factories. The other day one rider was inching and squeezing thru on my left and I was abt to turn left..nearly made him 2 dimensional..whew.

When u board my bus..say the magic word - Outriders and u ride for free..inspector come.. jump out quickly

DaniYal > I ve seen the air filter, oil filter but no petrol filter. Petrol filter traps impurities from tank before going into the carb. Guess one can install one but the space is tight and one should be able to view and change it w/o removing the tank. Thinking back I should hv check the valve mechanism attached to the tank..maybe there is some filtering there ??

dun think bike got pertol filter cos never came across yet. hehehee

if have, shd b near the carb but i dun see any...

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Originally posted by stargate@Mar 27 2005, 06:38 PM

PD Trip on Visual website: Provided u and Visual agree, I can write up a short report and u post the pix to Visual..amacam ?

just send the pic (if you could resize them to 640x480 and save as JPG) and include writeup in the email, send to ([email protected])

would be able to upload them.. once i have the time..

ledang pic (niti sent.. ive yet to upload.. will do it soon...)

Originally posted by dmizrahi@Mar 27 2005, 04:09 PM

i got the same intention as you man.. i too plan to keep my vara125 for about 203 yrs.. hopefully by then, would be able to maintain, a car...

i too was thinking of finishing 2A and 2... to get the ultimate bike.. fazer... ;)

but then i think of maintanence.. actually s4 is also a neat.. bike.. but again.. maintanence...

and well s4.. u cant get ntic insurance.. so price is higher...

maintanence.. well im sure everyone know.. s4 is bit more.. in terms of oil and sparkplugs...

so guess that why.. i stick to my vara125.. anywyaws. as a city comute bike.. i works damm well.. and yep its a damm comfortable ride..

anyways.. if your really really serious about getting it.. and really wanna test ride.. as mention.. maybe u can join us to 2nd link to top up petrol..

hey guys...thanx so much....i find that the vara community is really very helpful.

post a qn....within a day got so many replies :smile: ....anyway i learn quite a bit today already and hope to find out more....

when i pass abt a yr ago was also contemplating what bike to get....then decided on a scram....cause i don't want to end up regretting.....can't afford a ktm so end up with a wr....but no regrets....and that time vara125 was still very new...so can't find out much

visual & daniyal .....thanx for the offer....will b happy to join u guys for kopi or jb to top up....

Originally posted by dmizrahi@Mar 27 2005, 11:37 PM

when i pass abt a yr ago was also contemplating what bike to get....then decided on a scram....cause i don't want to end up regretting.....can't afford a ktm so end up with a wr....but no regrets....and that time vara125 was still very new...so can't find out much

When i took my 2b, i also thought of getting a KTM. But I heard KTM can really drink petrol like a thirsty camel. So I looked elsewhere and saw Vara125....

It was love at 1st sight already. Till today no regrets. Yup, no power. Some people even say it runs like snail, ceh!! But nvm, at least I ride with style brader!!!! :sweat:

Catch the buggaarr....!!

niti

which knn dude said our bike run like snail? haha! very funny, try putting on fully loaded side pannier n go riding wif me instead, rain or shine we will see who got da balls 4 it yeah bro.....hehehe!

visual

hv ya really repent from all da sinful comments ya did on VARA ppl? :p

hope all will go well, no more crappy fights, btw why ask dmizrahi to go via 2nd link, let him join me & my hell riders; riddick, mixmaster, werxguy, azerin, boy_melayu squeeze thru jb causeway...hehehe!

ya quote:

i got the same intention as you man.. i too plan to keep my vara125 for about 203 yrs.. hopefully by then, would be able to maintain, a car...

wah farid ya can really ride till 203yrs...hahaha!

abt car dun bother unless u got alot of $$$ or big family brother? :p

btw when ya gonna do ya 2a ah dude?

thrown ya p-plate but haven do 2a.....yet? come on ah do wif me n varamax at ssdc....hehehe!

al-simmon

ya free 2moro 2 pass me my worm kit back...thanks, arigato, kamsiah, terima kasih.....

Hi..all Vara bros,Peace..

Originally posted by stargate@Mar 27 2005, 06:38 PM

Petrol Filter and SW Motech crashbar Last week when I installed the crashbar..I tot I looked for the petrol filter..well guys..there isn't one. even took out the tank to see if it is hidden (boo to the Honda engineers). Guess all the muck in tank goes straight to the carb..

Also it is said that the crashbar bend inward after a fall..I think it is designed this way to absord the impact..anyway it can be easily removed and bend back

Aikon > U ask my opinion abt recond parts . Firstly I think new riders (especially w/new bike) shoud not get the impression that recond and mod are the norm. They should get to know their bike first, study what others hv done and do their research. Secondly, recond parts are Ok provided u are a seasoned rider and know what's going on. At best they save u money by prolonging its use but there come a time u must change it altogether. Sometime we must take what mechanic says with a pinch of salt (petrol ?) Remember they need to make a living . Some gives good advise n u go back to them habitually n he's happy. Some gives shitty advise, inept at fixing things and at best yr bike suffers.

Stargate >> Arrh senioer professorey good to have you .... like me said..recond parts its just an option for emergency spare ..not meant for normal use though... btw, new bikes are usually under warranty so no issue.....abt that oil/petrol filter....hhmm ever heard of nano technology..? you'll be surprised where this stuff could be hidden :faint:

dmizrahi >> bro,enuff said just do it....get a vara....best value for money :thumb:

adios amigo

you know if you go

Brosz,,

Can i have a list of shop that have our bike accessories?

Thinking to have crashbar ,handle bar change and ect...but not one shot ah...bancrupt....

Thankzzz.....

Originally posted by visual@Mar 27 2005, 11:19 PM

just send the pic (if you could resize them to 640x480 and save as JPG) and include writeup in the email, send to ([email protected])

would be able to upload them.. once i have the time..

ledang pic (niti sent.. ive yet to upload.. will do it soon...)

Visual > I just emailed u the PD trip report

Niti > Great if u could sent Visual some PD Pix.

FORUM REVAMP

Administrator restores back original forum due to hiccups..then again look at the index page to see news of his next attempt to upgrade..as he says some postings near the next upgrade will not be migrated over