2 pt/3pt Crash Bar, Engine Guard, Sliders, etc...

Oh ok.. Thanx.. Neway i tink i got e bruise fr e suspension protector.. rounded behind e knee.. Yup i agree wif u..gd shoes for protection too..

So in sliding cases(touch wood)e crash bar will protect ur legs fr cushioning e impact of ur bike..theoretically speaking..den how come some pple say possibly oso crash bars will make it worse.. i had a fren hu buang his phantom n lucky e crash bar cushion e bike instead of his leg..

so it depends on e strength of e crash bar oso rite.. wats e diff btw 2 pt n 3 pt crash bars? any gd bargains out there?

• Replies 331

it is important. one time i cub corner den i drop. lucky got the cash bar tahan it if not the low part or the engine cover gone liao. now i bought a new pair to replace it loh. :thumb:

Originally posted by Jibet@Apr 27 2005, 01:36 PM

Oh ok.. Thanx.. Neway i tink i got e bruise fr e suspension protector.. rounded behind e knee.. Yup i agree wif u..gd shoes for protection too..

So in sliding cases(touch wood)e crash bar will protect ur legs fr cushioning e impact of ur bike..theoretically speaking..den how come some pple say possibly oso crash bars will make it worse.. i had a fren hu buang his phantom n lucky e crash bar cushion e bike instead of his leg..

so it depends on e strength of e crash bar oso rite.. wats e diff btw 2 pt n 3 pt crash bars? any gd bargains out there?

were u the cockster who fell at Hall 10 in NTU? hahahahaha...

Originally posted by newbie@Apr 27 2005, 07:54 PM

What happen there? Share Share Leh.... :cheeky:

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Apr 27 2005, 08:01 PM

What happen there? Share Share Leh.... :cheeky:

hahaha... wait till he c dis... c wad he say ah...

y must u always invade ppl posts hah? so free meh? i tink go study MP2002 better rite..

Originally posted by Goodfella@Apr 27 2005, 08:54 PM

y must u always invade ppl posts hah? so free meh? i tink go study MP2002 better rite..

nabeh u... MP2002 kanasai lah MP2002... u A ady action rite?

No im not the cockster.. Im e hero who went to help e cockster hu's 2 mth old tyre pancit near jln bahar.. den come back fell like clown..

Originally posted by Jibet@Apr 27 2005, 01:36 PM

yup, not all crash bars are the same.

Former using ah boy's crash bar... buang left side, the right side can also be broken... Then again, its $60 only

Now using seng kang's $240... heart pain, but I know if i need it, its there for me. ^^

Pple say crash bar no use becos their expentations are different. They install the crash bar, expecting it to fully protect their bike and themselves in a crash. When it does not, they say no use...

But a crash bar is to protect in the event of a drop, and to minise the damage in a slide

Ask ur fren honestly, if without the crashbar, would his legs be worst? Though his legs were also injured, it was not the first point of contact. Imagine wat happens if no crash bar.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid93/pc583423301d0eeaec1cdc614deb298dc/fa468109.jpg

think should always wear shoes while riding lor... and no short or simi de.. jeans best..

rather bike scratch then injuries to urself right??

anyway, for crash bar, u can check the component list lor.. as provided link above... there are different kinds.. (colours, material, 2pt/3pt) up to individual pref.

2002 - 2003 : Gilera Runner VXR

2004 - 2005 : Honda Super4

2006 - 2008 : Honda WaveS

2010 - Current : Ducati Monster 696

Just custom fitted a set of crash bars at Seng Kwang. Cost $450. I know that is expensive. Had to leave the bike there overnight. Not the standard bars that you see on S4. These protrude out a bit more. Will protect the engine and legs. Hopefully I will never have the chance to test that. As what someone in the forum said " crash bars are only useful when you crash". If you go down to the shop, you might be able to see similiar set installed on William's (the 2nd brother) Suzuki 400.

Biking is great fun but do whatever you can to protect yourself.

Originally posted by CAT@Apr 28 2005, 07:31 PM

Just custom fitted a set of crash bars at Seng Kwang. Cost $450. I know that is expensive. Had to leave the bike there overnight. Not the standard bars that you see on S4. These protrude out a bit more. Will protect the engine and legs. Hopefully I will never have the chance to test that. As what someone in the forum said " crash bars are only useful when you crash". If you go down to the shop, you might be able to see similiar set installed on William's (the 2nd brother) Suzuki 400.

i think this set of crash bar from sk is tested and proven - flying rider and flying bike still around to tell the tale :sweat:

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

but i think u really over spend for the crush bar. y not u get yourself jacket boots and gloves . i think this is better .

cos the main purpose of the crush bar is to protect the bike due to fall when at slow speed or stationary . and slow speed mean 20-30 kmh . crush bar will disappoint u if u intend to relie on that to protect ur legs

which mean when u buang most probably u will be throw off your bike.

*** Signature too big, please resize.

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

2005 - tio toto buy rvc211

Already got FF Helmet, armoured jacket and pants, boots and gloves.

Safety is serious business to me. Will spare no expense.

Originally posted by CAT@Apr 29 2005, 10:40 AM

building a cage around you next? :cheeky:

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Originally posted by CAT@Apr 29 2005, 10:40 AM

tat is good

*** Signature too big, please resize.

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

2005 - tio toto buy rvc211

Wah $450 eh? so expensive leh..I noe shdnt compromise $$ for safety..but $450 is wayyyy out of my budget..not working onli tution not enuf to cover dat man..But thanx for e info..Tink i'll scout ard n hope to get a gd one..We can protect as much as possible n jus hope luck n fate is on our side when we ride..

Look at the bikes at training schools. Front and rear crash bars. I believed it prevented and lessened many injuries to the students, not forgetting the damage to the bike itself!

http://www.honda.co.jp/CB1300SF/gallery/page13/4025958-2/image/4025958-2-m.jpg

Hi has anyone installed SK's stainless steel engine guard for their s4?

Heard price is $240! But got warranty like if got minor scratches they can restore it for free. But not for major dents. It is said to offer better protection for engine in a drop bec of its design.

Heard these r the pros. But are there any cons to it? Can advise me pls? Thanks! :smile:

Originally posted by hilfiger@May 28 2005, 01:34 AM

Hi has anyone installed SK's stainless steel engine guard for their s4?

Heard price is $240! But got warranty like if got minor scratches they can restore it for free. But not for major dents. It is said to offer better protection for engine in a drop bec of its design.

Heard these r the pros. But are there any cons to it? Can advise me pls? Thanks! :smile:

to what i know theirs is different as the guard is solid one... not like those cheaper ones which is hollow inside...

i also want to save manee for that.... will ask them to powder coat for me black colour.... they told me 250.. =)

if yOu NeVeR tRy, YoU nEvEr LiVeD

live ToDaY to tHe fullest, FoR yOu will NeVeR see it again once iTs gone