Kawasaki ZX4 riders

zasper

Hi OFFICIAL, I'm in Thailand now...so I'll be getting bike when I return in March...but meanwhile...wanna find out more info on the ZXR400 :smile:

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

• Replies 849

Originally posted by SK I@January 09, 2007 12:53 am

Hi Zasper and OFFICIAL...I plan to get my ZXR400 in March...so that makes 3 pf us liao! :cheer:

Somebody was selling a damn nice L7 on the forum few days back... u should grab it!!! Price damn good, bike damn original, can't get any better, unless the engine sux, this bike is a god-sent... :cheer:

Originally posted by zasper@January 09, 2007 05:37 pm

abt the settings of the suspension , i tink im gonna try coz i juz dnt feel right for the handling my zx4 ... i tink its too hard on the back suspension ... can any1 feel same as me ?? or i tink mayb im still nt use to it :giddy: :giddy:

Zasper, I read that ZXR400 has got a hard rear suspension as standard... and cos it's abt 160kg, if you break too hard stepping on the brakes, there's a tendency to lock the rear as well more easily than other bikes :giddy:

Guest OFFICIAL
Originally posted by k2kiwi@January 09, 2007 12:43 pm

Hey... i need the CDI! haha....

brakepads for our ninja a little tricky ah... not easy to find our model one

You sure you need it?

Yah the CDI is only for the restricted model. There should be 3 types of CDI's

Restricted is with Yellow Label P/N: 21119-1394 V

Non-Restrected is in BlueP/N: 21119-1332 M

or Red(SP Model.)

Guest OFFICIAL
Originally posted by SK I@January 09, 2007 06:50 pm

Zasper, I read that ZXR400 has got a hard rear suspension as standard... and cos it's abt 160kg, if you break too hard stepping on the brakes, there's a tendency to lock the rear as well more easily than other bikes :giddy:

True. But look at the brighter side. You can have a sharper turn, Better grip in corner with correct setting of damping. Currently i'm my rear damping is set to 4.

And i'm 90kg. Bring me out of a corner perfectly. No Dips no drift.

What i'm saying is learn your bike. Set it to you and your style.

Guest OFFICIAL
Originally posted by zasper@January 09, 2007 05:27 pm

i dunnoe mind is restricted anot leh ... how to check ? i planning to go dwn dam on friday or sat ... so offical , meet u there bro... anyway welcum SK I ...

No prob. Just Let me know. Think you'll know which bike to look out for.

Originally posted by zasper@January 09, 2007 07:37 pm

abt the settings of the suspension , i tink im gonna try coz i juz dnt feel right for the handling my zx4 ... i tink its too hard on the back suspension ... can any1 feel same as me ?? or i tink mayb im still nt use to it :giddy: :giddy:

The rear shock is overly damp by nature. maybe you like to set your Laden sag to your weight and set the rebound damping to 1st click to give you a plush ride.

Then what is the recommended front and rear suspension setting for a 60kg rider? And I'm below 1.6m...the bike can be lowered right?

Oh..and what type of rings do you recommend for the ZXR400? Rk? Did? O or X or other types if available? What's the price ranges and how long do they last?

Originally posted by k2kiwi@January 10, 2007 01:56 am

I've been using DID X-ring... very good so far. smooth as hell....

Where you bought it? LAB? How much? What model number?

Originally posted by k2kiwi@January 10, 2007 02:14 am

motorworld... not a big fan of LAB. their workmanship is questionable....

I see... :smile:

So the ZXR400 runs well with a DID X-ring.... er. how much does one cost? What length?

Originally posted by SK I@January 10, 2007 05:23 am

I see... :smile:

So the ZXR400 runs well with a DID X-ring.... er. how much does one cost? What length?

Dun worry about the length buddy... they'll cut according to your need. Chain size no worries too, this is one thing our bike that's not odd... haha

I really forgot about the cost... but cannot compare to normal chain. X-ring is so good they hardly give me any prob despite the fact that I always forgot to oil them. And it last longer too... I always believe in spending good money for longer run on moving parts.

Thanks! Will take note on this...

What are the most wear and tear parts on this bike besides tire and bike chain?

Guest OFFICIAL

Chain size is 525/120 for stock can cut down no prob.

But after market sprockets are usually 520/120 even the sun brand(Chiong one)

I myself using 520 D.I.D X-ring. with rental rear and afam front. 1st year and still smooth and not much slack at all.

I see... Chain, sprocket, EO...

the stock ZXR400 air filter costs how much? Can change to a K&N (washable) type? If can...how much too? :cheeky: And when changing EO...need to change oil filter as well? how much again? Many thanks :cheeky:

Originally posted by OFFICIAL@January 11, 2007 12:35 am

Chain size is 525/120 for stock can cut down no prob.

But after market sprockets are usually 520/120 even the sun brand(Chiong one)

I myself using 520 D.I.D X-ring. with rental rear and afam front. 1st year and still smooth and not much slack at all.

Meaning DID X-ring can use more than a year is it? How many km you travelled since changing? And you are lacer type rider or commuter type? Hahaa :sweat:

Guest OFFICIAL
Originally posted by SK I@January 11, 2007 12:41 am

Meaning DID X-ring can use more than a year is it? How many km you travelled since changing? And you are lacer type rider or commuter type? Hahaa :sweat:

If taken care properly can use quit long. Heard of some going to a 2year.

I'm a daily commute with occation tracks.