Hi Bro and Sis,

This is my first time posting to this forum. I am actually quite interested in getting Piaggio MP 3 400. I called the agent and ask around a few distributors however they do not have any display model at their showroom.

Any bro and sis owned this 3 wheel scooter? I would like to know the follows.

1) Hows the performance? I am not a speed person, but hoping that it has power to go up slopes and the pick up won't be sluggish.

2) Hows the fuel consumption like?

3) Any negative comment on this scooter on it's maintainance?

Thanks alot for any feedback.

• Replies 17

Dear fellow forumers, I am too considering this bike as i guess it would suit my needs for a transport riding to work.

Could I get some advise on this bike like on :

1) Performance (How stressed out is the engine on the expressway etc)

2) How's the fuel consumption

3) Maintence related (how much EO, anything that is needed to take extra care of)

Really apprciate any feedback.

Dead thread?

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

Whoa.... Really dead thread....

None but the brave deserve the fair

My SERIOUS Rides:

WR 200 : Dec 2000 til Dec 2010

Varadero 125 : Feb 2007 til Dec 2009

XR450R : Dec 2008 til Jun 2011

BMW R1200GSA : Nov 2010 til present

BMW G450X : Dec 2010 til present

Hi bro

I have bought a Piaggo Mp3 125(Oct 2011), its a bit under power but serves well on the road, manouvering and braking is good but dont do it at corner with your rear brakes, gentle braking before reaching corners and on corners left or right it will handle well. Petrol for 50km is about 5 or 6 dollars, if your speed is at 100kmh, below will be more economical.

Might be good to have 250cc or 400cc as price differs at 1k plus from 125, 250, 400 depends on models with accessories, my coe was at 2019.00.

Service: at 1st service only cost at 29dollars plus. 2nd service about 50 dollars,..3rd havent reach...mileage yet...

Belt replacement estimate about 300(10K), might be with rollers & variators or etc parts.

The scooter is stable and weighs about 200kg, at stop look go, the front suspension can be lock on stop position for the bike to be at stand still position or ay any traffic lights .

Fuel capacity is about 18 liters, below seat and rear compartment is ideal for helmets, rain coats, etc.

Well you may want to go in the Piaggo Website or youtube and view more about the scooter.

Thankyou

Mike0277

Hi Bro and Sis,

This is my first time posting to this forum. I am actually quite interested in getting Piaggio MP 3 400. I called the agent and ask around a few distributors however they do not have any display model at their showroom.

Any bro and sis owned this 3 wheel scooter? I would like to know the follows.

1) Hows the performance? I am not a speed person, but hoping that it has power to go up slopes and the pick up won't be sluggish.

2) Hows the fuel consumption like?

3) Any negative comment on this scooter on it's maintainance?

Thanks alot for any feedback.

btw other experience...

my mp3 125cc,

i have tested the scooter to melaka (220km)and its very stable but a 250 or 400 will be much punch for power to overtake buses, trucks and cars. petrol cost me about 12 to 13 rgt only one way. its front aerodynamics cut winds easily at any straight or curvy roads.

well italian scooters also can cost when it comes to maintainence depending how well you take care of the scooter, save some money if you intend to have one.

well to be continued

thanks&regards

mike0277

there are part supplier for piaggo scooters in Sg and can easily get parts.

Hi guys...

To my experience...an MP3 is a pleasure to ride and commute.

NTUC income, SCDF and Cisco police somehow proves that this scooter can

tahan fairly hard trashing and "this is not my bike wat!!" kinda abuse.

The only 2 setbacks i reckon is

1. The price tag. To the last I remembered a brand new 125 cost around $12,500. and the 400 easily $2k more at around $14,500

(might be outdated pricings, correct me if I am wrong)

If for 125, just for comparison, perhaps not exactly but close rival is the PGO TR3, probably cost much less then 10k.

2. Cost of spares and the always "not in stock" by the agent ADH (aka Piaggio Service Centre).

Spares are comparatively more costly and the agent ADH always have a problem of holding enough spares for the market.

But internet is a common sourcing tools for spares and accessories. its easy to get them online.

However ADH does have a good workshop with some good mechanics in it.

For those who eyed 2nd hands...there are good mech outside Piaggio Service Centre who will do an equally good job.

the 125s are rare now, seems like ADH is reluctant to bring them in but call ADH to get some information (6547 4466)

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

If anyone is keen to get a new MP3 400 with me from ASphoon, please msg me. We can ask for a better price. I asked last week and it was $14700 on the road, everything in.

Ooo..! That's the best price so far.. Tempting..

• 8 months later...

i'm considering the mp3 250/400cc.

May i know is this bike problematic?

Is parts/maintenance really very costly? eg. a typical servicing how much?

appreciate your help :)

I bought a 2nd hand mp3 400. Power wish use 97 for smoother ride the 125 is underpowered 200 and 400 is better bet, and if you want even smoother take off change your belt and pulley to Malossi components you will feel the differences.

If you are buying 2nd hand watch out for the steering column bearing, you need to ride the bike on the expressway to feel it. Built up speed gradually to 80 or 90 Kmh and feel if there is any wobbling of the steering at any point of the time. If there is than the bearing is spoilt and need to be replace, and it is best to replace the steering bearing both left and right together. You might want to replace the right and left universal joint too as the wobbling will have cause damages to them. The whole replacement will set you back at about $500 excluding labour.

I would said this is a design problem, it will happen after every 3 to 4 years depending on how hard you rode your bike. Not forgetting the bike has 2 wheel in front so the suspension system and is very much different from a single wheel suspension. Overall the ride is wonderful and all bike will have some wear and tear it just that the mp3 has this problem.

Scooter Narcotics is a company that provides expertise in modifications, repairs and service solutions for all makes and models of scooters, including Piaggio, Yamaha, Honda, Kymco, Aprilia, SYM, Daelim, Peugeot and many more. A place where enthusiast gather to learn about scooter tuning. Our skills in tuning scooters today were meticulously imparted from professionals in Europe, providing you the best performance from second to none.

The online store on www.scooter-narcotics.com caters to all customers worldwide promotion, optimized with search engines to make a hassle free shopping wherever you are!

Our chain of supplies are mainly from Malossi, OEM original parts from factory, Polini, PM tuning, Stage6 and many more!

We are also proud partners with Scooter-Attack and other leading companies in the industry to bring you affordable prices for your adrenaline appetites!

Do also visit and like our Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/ScooternNarcotics?fref=ts

Should you have any enquiries, please do not hesitate to send us an email @ [email protected].

http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/w456/ScooterNarcotics/543672_382788441759549_183858111652584_1021489_1466028451_n.jpg

Full servicing, Custom Jobs, Motorcycle/Scooter Check, Modifications & Paintjobs at the MOST competitive rate. 10 Kaki Bukit Road 1 #01-03

Call 86878551