Hi All Bike Riders Out there !!

I know the procedures to Buy,Transfer and lay up the bike without Insurance and Roadtax. (OWNER NOT RIDING)

I Turning 17 Soon. Planning to Get out one bike out soon.

Not to Play around with the bike. But Getting a bike and slowly Mod it to Track setup.

I just one to Know if i were to Buy from Direct owner Full cash and lay up under my name. The bike displacement is it 200cc max? or can lay up 400cc also?

Hope You Guys can give me some information. Thanks :)

** I do Know the consequences if i were to ride it on rode or test bike in carpark.**

• Replies 31

If I'm correct the bike can be any bike. No limits on the displacement since you're not riding. But why get a 400cc when you can only ride a max 200cc next year?

hhmmm.... if its for track use onli... den any displacement shldn b a prob... but if u wanna ride on the road tink its best u get below 200cc cos ur v first bike licence can onli allow u to ride a bike below tt displacement...

its been so long...

consequence like what?

Alot of racers all over the world are not even legal age to take road license.

Including motogp series and malaysian series.

But we are Singaporean and are abide by law especally when u crash during track.

Edited by lauhs8
Errrr....... but there's a lot of consequence to look into leh.

consequence like what?

Including motogp series and malaysian series.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
consequence like what?

Including motogp series and malaysian series.[/quote

But we are Singaporean thus please read the rule & regular especially after a crash.

consequence like what?

Including motogp series and malaysian series.[/quote

But we are Singaporean thus please read the rule & regular especially after a crash.

we are singaporean but now we go track not in singapore.

very recently singapore got track, but i dunno whether need road license to ride or not.

can you show me the rule & regular so i can read?

Guest IceLkipz

You can purchase a bike without license. :)

If the bike is solely for track usage,just get a bike which you like.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

Guest IceLkipz
Ah here we go again.......

Here we go again,same old s..t again.Up and down this avenue,two more years and we be thru.

yah lah juz like our tyre valve.. Go up down up down still there only.

N like go track ride round and round lap after lap.

Hi bros, i also would like to ask. If lets say im not holding a lisence yet, but i wanted to buy a 2nd hand bike from fellow forumer here, izit possible??and if yes, what are the steps i have to go through??thanks a bunch =)

Finally found a relevant thread to post what I have managed to find out (as "instructed" by moderator @biting_point :p).

The answer is "Yes, it is possible!". But you will need to get a trusted and Singaporean Citizen friend with valid licence to be a named rider when purchasing the insurance cover for the bike.

I am in the same situation as you. No Class 2 yet (but very soon, I hope), but have already agreed to buy over a Class 2 bike. The enlightenment that I have been trying to seek since last weekend for my own case is as such:

[Pl bear with me if it seems too lor sor]

Called my current insurer (Commercial Agency Pte Ltd for MSIG) and explained my situation, and got the full picture from the friendly old chap handling MSIG.

Step by step in sequence:

1) Get insurance for the Class 2 bike under my name (but I am registered as a non-rider) and my friend as a named rider - Strictly, I am not allowed to ride the bike but my friend can. The premium will be based on the younger of the ages, but was told since we are both above 31, so this is not a big issue for me. Can save some $$ here, and for the first time, being an Old Ginger is not bad at all.

For this step, I will only need my friend's details: 1) IC no. no need actual IC but bring a copy of it (front and back); 2) DOB; and 3) 2B licence pass date (a copy of the driving licence front and back). Why Class 2B? - In his words, "the first time he passed on two wheels since 2b is two wheels, and class 2 also two wheels, what's the difference?!") and he needn't be present when I drop by in person to get the insurance. There are the usual questions about the friend's past accident record, if any - which will affect the premium or coverage in case of (touch wood) any accident in the interrim. And also need to have the bike's details ready (obtainable electronically when checking transfer fees required with the registration plate number ready - go to www.onemotoring.com.sg).

2) On transfer day, the bike can be transferred to my name directly and once again, my friend needn't be present for the transfer process at LTA. [Note: This saves everyone, esp my friend, the hassle of transferring the bike to my friend's name first, and once I have the licence, transferring back to myself again, i.e. no need to go LTA twice. Chop chop currypok.

On a practical note, the seller of the bike will be bringing it to LTA to effect the transfer, and hence my friend has to be present to help me ride the bike home with me as tompang :(! I will remember to buy a drink or two, plus makan for my kind friend. You should too.

Just to sidetrack a bit, my bike comes with an aftermarket street legal pipe, and I can also go to the pipe's authorised dealer to effect a transfer of the pipe from the previous owner (I have asked him to provide a copy of his IC, original documentation re the pipe - details of which I believe is already discussed on a separate thread http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/171698-Aftermarket-Exhaust-Inspection-Procedures) on my own, and my friend or previous owner needn't be present.

3) Once I get the Class 2 licence, I can choose to add myself as another rider in the insurance cover with a top-up in premium, or choose to cancel my friend's name from the policy, ie only me, myself and @fatboypin on the policy. Up to me, entirely.

Once again, my friend needn't be present for the cancellation, etc since the insurance is already under my name in the first place.

4) Re NCD, I will first need to sell off my current bike first and then request for the NCD from that policy to be transferred to the new Class 2 bike's policy, but subject to approval.

I think the above should apply to any other insurance policies by other companies. But I need to caveat first: I am only sharing what I have been told by the insurance company for my situation, and I shall not be responsible or held liable for any misinfomation. Do not take my words as gospel.

For your respective situations/cases, it is best and 100% advisable for you to speak to the insurance company that you wish to get a quote from, or to purchase a policy from and get the full details/procedures, etc.

We should always be mindful that the information that has been provided on this forum may not fully definitive, but should suffice to guide anyone towards a certain direction in seeking "enlightenment". However, the individual should be responsible enough and make the effort to find out the actual information him/herself.

Pls do not PM or reply to this post with more queries as I have already shared whatever I have managed to find. Details, like I mentioned, is best left to the professionals to answer. So, go on, pick up the phone, be polite and enquire all you want, and in return, they will be equally happy to respond.

P/S - I am also putting my trusty 2B bike up for sale. Pls see http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/335720-Available-2009-Derbi-Terra-125, and help bump up this sale thread if you have found the contents above informative. If interested, pls PM me. Mucho gracias.

Edited by fatboypin
Grammar and Spelling edits

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=224954

2B(8/09);2A(10/10);2(12/11)

Derbi "Black Maverick" Terra 125 (8/09-9/12)

Honda "Burly Bison" Varadero XL1000V1 (10/11-12/12)

Ducati "Banded Mustang" Hypermotard 1100 EVO SP (12/12-)

Vespa "Vicki" GT200 (05/14-)

"Brothers, what we do in life echoes in eternity."

1) Get insurance for the Class 2 bike under my name (but I am registered as a non-rider) and my friend as a named rider - Strictly, I am not allowed to ride the bike but my friend can. The premium will be based on the younger of the ages, but was told since we are both above 31, so this is not a big issue for me. Can save some $$ here, and for the first time, being an Old Ginger is not bad at all.

For this step, I will only need my friend's details: 1) IC no. no need actual IC but bring a copy of it (front and back); 2) DOB; and 3) 2B licence pass date (a copy of the driving licence front and back). Why Class 2B? - In his words, "the first time he passed on two wheels since 2b is two wheels, and class 2 also two wheels, what's the difference?!") and he needn't be present when I drop by in person to get the insurance. There are the usual questions about the friend's past accident record, if any - which will affect the premium or coverage in case of (touch wood) any accident in the interrim. And also need to have the bike's details ready (obtainable electronically when checking transfer fees required with the registration plate number ready - go to www.onemotoring.com.sg).

2) On transfer day, the bike can be transferred to my name directly and once again, my friend needn't be present for the transfer process at LTA. [Note: This saves everyone, esp my friend, the hassle of transferring the bike to my friend's name first, and once I have the licence, transferring back to myself again, i.e. no need to go LTA twice. Chop chop currypok.

The above is confirmed correct. Double-confirmed, if you like.

Finally found a relevant thread to post what I have managed to find out (as "instructed" by moderator @biting_point :p).

The answer is "Yes, it is possible!". But you will need to get a trusted and Singaporean Citizen friend with valid licence to be a named rider when purchasing the insurance cover for the bike.

I am in the same situation as you. No Class 2 yet (but very soon, I hope), but have already agreed to buy over a Class 2 bike. The enlightenment that I have been trying to seek since last weekend for my own case is as such:

[Pl bear with me if it seems too lor sor]

Called my current insurer (Commercial Agency Pte Ltd for MSIG) and explained my situation, and got the full picture from the friendly old chap handling MSIG.

Step by step in sequence:

1) Get insurance for the Class 2 bike.......................................................

thumbs up... so useful!!!

TA 200'02 | JUN 2008 - JUN 2010

S4 SPEC3'07 | JUN 2010 - MAY 2012

FZ6 S2'07 | MAY 2012 - CURRENT

http://i994.photobucket.com/albums/af70/heskeydal/signature1.jpg

thumbs up... so useful!!!

Thanks. As requested, do go to the sale thread below and leave your comment to help bump it up. And spread the word to your friends who may be interested.

Just to sidetrack a bit, my bike comes with an aftermarket street legal pipe, and I can also go to the pipe's authorised dealer to effect a transfer of the pipe from the previous owner (I have asked him to provide a copy of his IC, original documentation re the pipe - details of which I believe is already discussed on a separate thread http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/171698-Aftermarket-Exhaust-Inspection-Procedures) on my own, and my friend or previous owner needn't be present.

I am cutting and pasting what I had posted on aftermarket pipes inspection/transfer thread here for the benefit of LV pipes owners (after purchasing used bikes):

I called Gmax (mine are a pair of LV pipes that came with the bike) to check on transfer procedures, and was told by the angmoh-sounding dude on the other line that I will need to bring (1) the booklet (which is essentially the certificate from the manufacturer) that came with the pipes; (2) the bike with the installed pipes; and (3) the registered bike owner has to be present. The transfer fee is $53.50, and the transfer will be done on the spot. Chop chop chilli chop.

Note: Different dealers may have different practices/procedures. As such, better to call them directly with your query before proceeding down. Thanks.

I am cutting and pasting what I had posted on aftermarket pipes inspection/transfer thread here for the benefit of LV pipes owners (after purchasing used bikes):

I called Gmax (mine are a pair of LV pipes that came with the bike) to check on transfer procedures, and was told by the angmoh-sounding dude on the other line that I will need to bring (1) the booklet (which is essentially the certificate from the manufacturer) that came with the pipes; (2) the bike with the installed pipes; and (3) the registered bike owner has to be present. The transfer fee is $53.50, and the transfer will be done on the spot. Chop chop chilli chop.

Note: Different dealers may have different practices/procedures. As such, better to call them directly with your query before proceeding down. Thanks.

Pl see #247 of the following thread for the latest update:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/171698-Aftermarket-Exhaust-Inspection-Procedures

Hi All Bike Riders Out there !!

I know the procedures to Buy,Transfer and lay up the bike without Insurance and Roadtax. (OWNER NOT RIDING)

I Turning 17 Soon. Planning to Get out one bike out soon.

Not to Play around with the bike. But Getting a bike and slowly Mod it to Track setup.

I just one to Know if i were to Buy from Direct owner Full cash and lay up under my name. The bike displacement is it 200cc max? or can lay up 400cc also?

Hope You Guys can give me some information. Thanks :)

** I do Know the consequences if i were to ride it on rode or test bike in carpark.**

Wah last time when i was your age i kind of curious of planning to get what bike. planning to get KTM but in the end pass my 2B get RXZ. Lol. Sorry im not pulling you down la. But just want to ask you some question, and im actually not pretty sure if its possible to buy a bike without license.

Q. If you already gotten a bike which you plan laying it off for track use do you have your own garage? What i mean is to do mod you also need to travel to the bike shop am i right? Now im talking about your 17 years of age where you got no license.

Why don't you just wait for 1 more year and get your license and make things easier for you.

http://image.dirtrider.com/f/10124171/141_0808_02_z+ktm_xgames_14_race_report+supermoto_herfoss.jpg

Wah last time when i was your age i kind of curious of planning to get what bike. planning to get KTM but in the end pass my 2B get RXZ. Lol. Sorry im not pulling you down la. But just want to ask you some question, and im actually not pretty sure if its possible to buy a bike without license.

Q. If you already gotten a bike which you plan laying it off for track use do you have your own garage? What i mean is to do mod you also need to travel to the bike shop am i right? Now im talking about your 17 years of age where you got no license.

Why don't you just wait for 1 more year and get your license and make things easier for you.

It is possible to have a bike under your name even though you may not have licence (see my post #18 below). LTA doesnt care. And insurance company just need a named rider with a licence, thats all.

For mod, he can always get it towed via van/pickup to the bikeshop. He doesnt have to ride it.