[Discussion] Technical - Air Filter

Which Air Filter is better?  

370 members have voted

1. 1. Which Air Filter is better?

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 17 2005, 06:21 PM

finally... haha... get oledi, come find me... do tuning and sync for you... hehe... one ice blended mocha... haha...

where to fine such cheap deals hor... hehe...

hmm.....since gotto treat u ice-mocha might as well ask u do everything!!!

1) earthing

2) change away all rusty screws n bolts

3) installation of belly-pan

4) installation of hugger

5) change to LED brake-light

6) wat else huh???

• Replies 958

Originally posted by eric78@May 17 2005, 06:42 PM

hmm.....since gotto treat u ice-mocha might as well ask u do everything!!!

1) earthing

2) change away all rusty screws n bolts

3) installation of belly-pan

4) installation of hugger

5) change to LED brake-light

6) wat else huh???

hahah... change bike???... hehe...

Anyway, if the horns are still original, change it... find ways to secure your rear shocks... sync your carb... get an alarm... practice wheelies... get used to the handling... check your chain... check your sprockets... check your tank whether rust oledi... oil all your cables...

And many more...

Originally posted by and@May 16 2005, 10:40 PM

juz changed k&n air filter. one thing to conclude :thumb:

bike response and performance better :cheer:

remember to retune ur carbs for better performance :cheer:

when replacing a new air filter,need it retune ur bike?:confused:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Is better to tune, but is ok not to tune as well if u just tuned ur bike I guess is ok to skip that step.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by ProjectD@May 17 2005, 09:11 PM

when replacing a new air filter,need it retune ur bike?:confused:

Replacing stock air filter, no nid to do anything...as KNN is a high flow air filter, the idling is likely to drop (probably need to adjust back to norm) and the fuel-air mixture ratio might differ and could be running lean rather than optimum. However, the difference isn't really that great..... :cheeky:

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 17 2005, 09:07 PM

Anyway, if the horns are still original, change it... find ways to secure your rear shocks... sync your carb... get an alarm... practice wheelies... get used to the handling... check your chain... check your sprockets... check your tank whether rust oledi... oil all your cables...

And many more...

i hv oredi bought the stebel magnum horns n ask the shop mechanic to fix for me....alarm still considering....will be given new chain....how to check whether tank rusting???

tink we r seriously :offtopic: :nono: :sorry:

Originally posted by anodise57@May 18 2005, 10:10 AM

welcome to da house of WOLVES eric!!!! hahahah may e force be with you... hahahha

waliew~~~simi house of wolves??? :giddy:

:sorry: for :offtopic: again.....

Originally posted by eric78@May 18 2005, 09:59 AM

i hv oredi bought the stebel magnum horns n ask the shop mechanic to fix for me....alarm still considering....will be given new chain....how to check whether tank rusting???

tink we r seriously :offtopic: :nono: :sorry:

haha... ok... lets try to stay "in-topic"

After you change your air filter, remember to tune and sync your carbs, meanwhile oil all your cables, make sure the mech change oil and oil filter for you, make sure you are confident of handling the bike with a pillion...

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 18 2005, 05:47 PM

After you change your air filter, remember to tune and sync your carbs, meanwhile oil all your cables, make sure the mech change oil and oil filter for you, make sure you are confident of handling the bike with a pillion...

oki bro....will jio u out for kopi after i get my bike.... :smile:

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 17 2005, 09:07 PM

And many more...

If oil tank rusty liao wad can be done ??

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 18 2005, 05:47 PM

Hi can u advise me how to oil the cables? Use what oil n lube which cables? How ah? :help:

Originally posted by Shawn--@May 19 2005, 05:35 PM

If oil tank rusty liao wad can be done ??

There are commercial products to remove the rust and coat a layer of chemical inside your tank to protect it from rusting... I think S750WP would know better then me in this aspect...

Originally posted by hilfiger@May 20 2005, 12:58 AM

Hi can u advise me how to oil the cables? Use what oil n lube which cables? How ah? :help:

any types of oil should be ok... not wax hor... try not to use WD40 also cos it feels more like a degreaser then oil...

just trace the source of the cables and start oiling from there... might have to remove some screws, but hten anyone can handle it...

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 20 2005, 01:14 AM

There are commercial products to remove the rust and coat a layer of chemical inside your tank to protect it from rusting... I think S750WP would know better then me in this aspect...

Hmm can list out some of da brand ? STP got this product?

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 20 2005, 01:16 AM

any types of oil should be ok... not wax hor... try not to use WD40 also cos it feels more like a degreaser then oil...

just trace the source of the cables and start oiling from there... might have to remove some screws, but hten anyone can handle it...

Can u suggest what brand of oil can be used?

And also do u mean cables like the clutch cable, brake cable? Any other cables?

So u mean only oil at the source as in what? Sorrie don't really understand...:giddy:

And which part must remove some screws? Thanks for help.. :thumb:

Originally posted by hilfiger@May 21 2005, 12:06 AM

Can u suggest what brand of oil can be used?

And also do u mean cables like the clutch cable, brake cable? Any other cables?

So u mean only oil at the source as in what? Sorrie don't really understand...:giddy:

And which part must remove some screws? Thanks for help.. :thumb:

use any oil. engine oil, chain lube, gear oil. wd40 is not so good unless u hardworking oil very frequently if not it'll be dry instead. so put some eo in a squirt bottle.

if u are oiling your cltuch cable, pull your clutch lever, u can see the metal opening or hole where the cable is inside. drop a few littlte drops in it then pull your lever to and fro. repeat a few times. careful not to spill eo to your tank, it'll spoil the paint work.

throttle cable........i dunno. must need mech help.

s4 no brake cable.

as for petrol tank rust prevention, it's good to keep the tank full most of the time u are not riding.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

i am not sure about the rusting, I see my spec III the tank inside looks like aluminium and not the usual steel. so not sure if it will rust or not.

any fellow spec III owners like to share?

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by kennethy@May 22 2005, 12:51 PM

i am not sure about the rusting, I see my spec III the tank inside looks like aluminium and not the usual steel. so not sure if it will rust or not.

any fellow spec III owners like to share?

maybe just a coat of sumtin, think its still normal steel, not aluminium.

If its alu... :thumb:

EnJoY Your RiDE